Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

The Magic Painting Co

4.9

(213) Verified Reviews

Founded 1998 • With Angi since December 2000

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask
No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

4740 33Rd Ave N

Minneapolis, MN 55422

http://www.magicpainting.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

We are currently offering our full line of exterior services while our staff honor all CDC and State guidelines. We are also currently offer our full line of interior services for unoccupied personal residences.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

The Magic Painting Company is a custom residential house painting business specializing in working directly with homeowners. Our approach ensures successful project by attending to the whole of our client's experience. This includes service excellence, quality craftsmanship, high-end professionalism, valued investment and competent employees. Our services include: color and design, painting and staining, interior and exterior, traditional and artistic as well as repairs and maintenance. Since 1998, our customers have notably distinquished us for providing a valued balance of quality craftsmanship, comprehesive management and personalized service. We have been recognized with a Star Tribune article, multiple Angie’s List Super Service Awards and most recently by Five Star Rated as a premier painting company. Magic Painting is locally owned and operated offering year-round full service attention to the greater twin cities area. We employ top-notch individuals who exemplify impeccability in their well-being, teamwork and profession. Our attention to a positive work culture supports employee engagement, keeps the spirit of the work alive and assures quality of service and product. In addition, our employee certification program guarantees staff professionalism, conscientiousness and genuine service. By valuing and inspiring every customer, protecting and beautifying homes, balancing both process and product, and being socially responsible, we intend to be ambassadors of service and integrity in all we do....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(213) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

181

4

16

3

6

2

5

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

house painting (145)interior painting (93)handyman (29)woodworking (22)drywall (13)general contractors (11)plastering (7)cabinet refacing (3)wallpaper removal (3)interior decorators (3)ceiling fan installation (2)pressure washing (14)
Showing 1-10 of 213 reviews
5.0

01/14/2022


Aidan O.

We are happy, repeat customers of Magic Painting and will be back for more. The team is thorough, professional, and clear with communications. Our lead painter this round, Howard, accomplished a lot of work quite quickly and the high quality is what we have come to expect from Magic. (Photos show immaculately repaired and painted bedroom “after” and old, damaged plaster and lathe “before”.)

Description of Work
Painting one bedroom, two ceilings (water damage), and bathroom vanity

Category contractors,drywall,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/14/2022

Images

Review for The Magic Painting Co - 4740 33Rd Ave N, Minneapolis, MN - 39597728

+2 More

3.0

11/17/2021


Felix H.

They are fine they help us to paint but a little bit expensive but the work is good as well as the service

Description of Work
Exterior Painting

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2014

5.0

09/17/2021


Nancy L.

The MAGIC Painting company did excellent work on our house exterior - painting masonite siding, and a lot of trim (2 story 5 bdrm house with a front porch/overhang and back screened porch). They are detail orientated (which I really appreciated as I am too), picky, did thorough prep work and an excellent paint job, protected and cleaned up the site well. Howard, Sheldon, and Mosa all did great work. They were even proactive to tell me that they would need to correct some small item of work (touch-up) - I didn't have to point it out. Got fair pricing on some small adds I asked for. Owner John and crew provide great customer service - great communicators too. All these things are so hard to find in a contractor. They are not the cheapest, but this is definitely a case of you get what you pay for. It was well worth it to have such an excellent, non-stressful experience with a contractor. I would definitely hire them again and refer them to friends/family.

Description of Work
Exterior house and trim painting

Category house painters

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2021

5.0

07/30/2021


Ryan T.

Simply put, John and his team are absolutely amazing. We have a large 5000 square foot home that had not been painted in 10+ years. The cedar siding had hail and woodpecker damage and many areas, especially window sills, that had wood rot. I got a total of 4 estimates on painting our siding and windows. Although John's estimate was the highest, we picked the MPC team because of their commitment to detail, communication, and excellence. I have worked with enough contractors during COVID to know that communication is key. John uses a system to manage all the customer requests and those are communicated via an iPad so that the painting crew knows exactly what gets painted, repaired, etc. On top of that, the fantastic foreman Howard, checked in multiple times throughout the day to update my wife and I on any additional rot they found or suggestions they had for fixes along the way. We were kept in the loop, educated on options, and given clear timelines on when we needed to make decisions. Their team was here about 4 weeks due to the challenges of our project (back side of our home is a hill and it required large scafolding). During that time the John, the foreman Howard, Lucas, and the other crew members all became part of our family. We were actually sad when they finished up because we had grown close to them. We ended our project by having a lunch together on our newly painted deck. If you want the job done right, don't want to have to deal with a bunch of back of and forth, and like worked with friendly and personable professionals, then MPC are the painters for you.

Description of Work
Painting of exterior of home

Category contractors,deck cleaning,pressure washing,house painters

Cost $36,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2021

Images

Review for The Magic Painting Co - 4740 33Rd Ave N, Minneapolis, MN - 39423132

+5 More

5.0

06/02/2021


Eirene O.

I am so glad I hired Magic Painting! The level of professionalism is unmatched. John worked so hard to make sure I was comfortable with the scope of work we landed on and was very understanding of my budget limitations. He ensured we saved money wherever possible while maintaining the integrity of the project. My bathroom, office, and bedroom had been in rough shape (especially the woodwork and ceilings) and now they look absolutely beautiful thanks to the hard work of Howard, Lucas and Kale. They were so respectful of my condo building and of my space in particular. They even called me to double-check I liked the paint color I chose when they saw it looked more brown than anticipated in evening light.

Description of Work
Interior painting

Category interior painters

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2021

5.0

05/16/2021


CINDY and Carl N.

Excellent. Howard and Lucas did a great, professional job! John (owner) was a pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
Exterior painting

Category pressure washing,house painters

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2021

5.0

05/11/2021


Sue A.

We hired The Magic Painting Co to paint the interior of our home. From the first time that we met John, the owner, through the final day that John, the foreman, finished up our interior project and an add on project (painting both interior and exterior sides of two entrance doors), we were very satisfied with their work. John, the owner, gave us a very detailed bid about exactly what would be done when the crew would be in our home. We were impressed by this. Other bids that we received were only verbal or a few sentence email listing "interior painting" and the total cost. The crew, John, Nik, and Tanner were very considerate of being in our home and our property. With this work being done during the COVID-19 pandemic, each crew member wore a mask whenever they were in our home. The hardwood floors and trim boards were taped and covered. The furniture was covered as well. They were pleasant to work with. They answered all of our questions during the process. They worked around two of us who were working from home the entire that the crew was in our house. All off the crew members were involved with the painting. They also had their only specialties. Nik patched several holes (old hard wired phone jack and doorbell system) and cracks, from the house settling. One would never know that these ever existed in our home. The patching is well done and blends in with the texture of the walls very well. Tanner and John sanded and painted the walls and ceilings. The lines are clean and straight. Any paint that may have gotten on the woodwork in the process was cleaned up by the crew, We are very happy with the work that John, Tanner and Nik did. If we ever need painting services again, we will hire them! We have received complements from others who have seen the work that was done.

Description of Work
full interior house painting job

Category contractors,interior painters,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/26/2021

5.0

02/22/2021


Diane M.

It went great! Magic Painting just completed painting most of the interior of my two-story house. I am so pleased with their work. My 100-year-old house looks like new! The job involved plaster repairs, fixes to woodwork and painting. The quality of their craftsmanship is excellent. Everyone on the team — foreman Howard, John and Tanner — was knowledgeable, meticulous, professional and very pleasant. The whole process of working with them couldn’t have been better. They kept me informed and welcomed my questions.They were punctual and cleaned up the house daily. Magic Painting had been recommended to me by a friend who has used them for nearly 20 years for all their interior and exterior painting. I definitely recommend them and would use them again.

Description of Work
Plaster repairs, woodwork repairs and painting

Category contractors,plastering,interior painters

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/22/2021

5.0

10/07/2020


KATHLEEN J.

I cannot speak highly enough of the excellent work, the good communication, the professionalism and the work ethic of John Armstrong and all of his employees. This is the second time we used them, the last 7 years ago. They assess the needs for painting, don't just go after the whole thing if it doesn't need it, their work is thorough and beautiful!

Description of Work
Painting the exterior of our 106 year old home

Category house painters

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2020

Images

Review for The Magic Painting Co - 4740 33Rd Ave N, Minneapolis, MN - 38929944
5.0

10/06/2020


KAREN H.

We were extremely happy with Magic Painting. They removed the popcorn ceilings in all rooms (except closets) and painted all interior walls. This was a huge job over four weeks, and they were very accommodating to our schedule. They were able to do our bedrooms while we were on vacation. As they did the rest of the house they kept the work areas sealed off, minimizing dust and disruption. The staff was very professional, and we were especially pleased with how they cleaned up every day. And the end result was...fantastic! We were so pleased with the way it turned out. A week later we found a few small imperfections, and they came right out and fixed them. We were also very pleased with the price paid for all the great work. We liked them so much we hired them again for some exterior painting in the Spring.

Description of Work
Removed Popcorn Ceilings and Painted Entire Home Interior

Category plastering,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2020

Images

Review for The Magic Painting Co - 4740 33Rd Ave N, Minneapolis, MN - 38925718

Services Offered

Color & Design, Interior & Exterior, Painting & Staining, Traditional & Artistic, Repairs & Maintenance

Services Not Offered

Licensed Carpentry, Electrical, Plumbing, Roofing, Stuccoing, Heating, Cooling, Flooring, Windows, & Gutters

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal
Senior Discount
no
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Magic Painting Co

How is The Magic Painting Co overall rated?

The Magic Painting Co is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

What days are The Magic Painting Co open?

The Magic Painting Co is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

What payment options does The Magic Painting Co provide

The Magic Painting Co accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

Does The Magic Painting Co offer free estimates?

Yes, The Magic Painting Co offers free project estimates.

Does The Magic Painting Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, The Magic Painting Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does The Magic Painting Co offer a senior discount?

No, The Magic Painting Co does not offer a senior discount.

Are warranties offered by The Magic Painting Co?

Yes, The Magic Painting Co offers warranties.

What services does The Magic Painting Co offer?

The Magic Painting Co offers the following services: Color & Design, Interior & Exterior, Painting & Staining, Traditional & Artistic, Repairs & Maintenance

Are there any services The Magic Painting Co does not offer?

Licensed Carpentry, Electrical, Plumbing, Roofing, Stuccoing, Heating, Cooling, Flooring, Windows, & Gutters