Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Security Fence & Construction Inc

Founded 1972 • With Angi since April 2004

4.7

(65) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1719 Madison St. Ne

Minneapolis, MN 55413

Description

Our Northeast Minneapolis fence company was established in 1972 and has been family owned and operated since 1993. We provide quality materials and experienced installation....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

08/17/2020


Lizzy L.

I'm glad I waited 10 years to write this review, as now the fence they installed has failed. At first it looked great, but I wish I had asked more questions and watched what they were doing at the time. The cedar posts were not treated in any way and they did not pour concrete footings for every post. They also used nails instead of screws on the panels and now nails are sticking out. When I called him recently to come back, I was disappointed that it was out of warranty. Our previous fence lasted 31 years! He gave me an estimate to fix the fence, then I called other companies for additional estimates and found out that they will not fix a fence they didn't install. So, I emailed Security Fence again to hire, but he never got back to me. Do not hire them unless you make sure they use treated posts, use screws instead of nails and make sure/watch them pour footings for every post. Now I have to either find handymen to fix my fence, or put up a new fence. If I put in a new one, I will choose vinyl this time. If Security Fence makes this right, I will update this review.

Description of Work
Install new 6' cedar privacy fence in backyard

Category fencing

5.0

08/28/2019


Andy H.

Great product, great pricing, did exactly what I asked! Great work!!

Description of Work
Privacy Fence

Category fencing

5.0

08/31/2018


Jan W.

The work was completed as I wanted. They even reduced the price a little because they found they didn’t need to replace as many posts as originally thought.

Description of Work
Our cedar fence started leaning over and needed repairs. I asked several fencing companies for estimates and Security Fence was the only one willing to do a smaller job.

Category fencing

5.0

05/26/2016


Laura R.

I am so happy with my new fence, thank you! It was a small job but I was treated great. The rain delayed the job by one day but the very next day the men were out. Impressed and I'll be calling again soon with a new request!

Description of Work
New fence installation.

Category fencing

5.0

05/09/2016


Molly D.

I was really pleased that Security Fence & Construction was willing to do a smaller maintenance job. I began calling companies in March in anticipation of the busy season, and some other companies wouldn't even return my messages. The guys did a great job. I noticed that they were very careful to walk on the sidewalk and to avoid plants and flowers. I will definitely use this company again and will recommend them to family, friends and co-workers.

Description of Work
Replace several cedar posts, re-staple post tops, adjusted gates.

Category fencing

5.0

11/03/2015


Janet J.

We contacted Security Fence to install a privacy/chain link fence. Ordering a fence at the busiest time, and so late in the season, Jim was able to get our installation done just in time for the arrival of our new dog. The process went quick (thou we did have a weather delay). One day the posts were installed and in a 1/2 day the fence was complete. From the quality of the material, competitive pricing, professional installation, we are very satisfied. We did shopped around and read countless reviews from other fencing companies. One of the key factors in our decision to choose Security Fence was the timely response. Highly recommend Security Fence.

Description of Work
Installed privacy and chain link fence.

Category fencing

5.0

11/20/2013


Jenni B.

They cleaned up stuff just that wasn't able to get to. They did an absolutely beautiful job.

Description of Work
Security Fence & Construction came and laid new fence. They repaired area that needed to be replaced as there was a total mess of the fence because of the building of the gentleman next door.

Category fencing

4.0

10/26/2013


laura J.

The project was great, the service to get answers and setup the apt were slow

Description of Work
Fence in yard for dogs

Category fencing

5.0

11/22/2012


PETER L.

Dakota Unlimited did an excellent job. I had to have the fence in by a certain date and was promised a date that would accomlish that. Each part of the process was handled professionally by their crews. The work was done and the area was cleaned up on time.

Description of Work
I had the small back yard of my home fenced in so my dog would have an area to run in and we would not have to take her out with a leash.

Category fencing

5.0

10/01/2012


Kathleen B.

We had really good luck with them; they were punctual and I was satisfied with their price. Everything they said they would do they took care of. They created a fence for me made of wood and galvanized steel based on a picture that I showed them.

Description of Work
They installed new fencing.

Category fencing

5.0

08/30/2012


Fred S.

They did an excellent job. We are very happy with it.

Description of Work
They put in a totally new fence all along one side of our yard. They also put a gate on another side.

Category fencing

5.0

08/29/2012


Elizabeth W.

It turned out very good. They were very accommodating and timely. They answered my questions and completed the project on time.

Description of Work
They built a fence.

Category fencing

5.0

03/26/2012


Debra R.

I called three different companies to get bids on enclosing my backyard with chain link fencing. I chose Security Fence as the people there, from estimate to install were very professional. Mike came to my home to find out what I wanted and to take measurments. I received his estimate before any other companies even called me back. The install was just as great. I only had to be home for the first few minutes to show them where I wanted different parts of the yard enclosed. I then went to work and came home to the install complete. I had no clean up to do at all, very efficient and trouble free.

Description of Work
Had 4' chain link fence installed in back and side yard.

Category fencing

5.0

01/11/2012


Greg R.

Overall a great experience from estimate to installation. We did have an issue with one of the gates the following summer but they came out and fixed it promptly.

Description of Work
We had Security Fence install a basic chain link fence with two gates in our backyard. They were prompt and the install was pretty fast.

Category fencing

5.0

11/21/2011


KERRY H.

The overall experience was excellent. They did a nice and good quality job. The price was very good. I would hire them again if I needed their services.

Description of Work
Security Fence & Construction put in our fence.

Category fencing

5.0

03/23/2010


JUDY N.

I called them and they gave me new tops for the posts. They seemed surprised that they came off, but the tops were very loose on several, so I glued them in. They gave me instructions for replacing them, and they popped right back in. I was very happy that they were able to provide replacements, and I have been happy with my fence overall.

Description of Work
I contacted them recently when the tops of my posts came off.

Category fencing

5.0

10/30/2008


KARIN H.

I had a black 5 foot chain link fence installed in my backyard. They were prompt, nice to work with, and very fast. This is the second fence I've had security fence install, and I was very happy with both of them.

Description of Work
Installed fence.

Category fencing

3.0

09/21/2008


JUDY N.

I was told the job would take 2-3 days. They started the job August 1st but did not finish until August 15th. I was told several times "it will be finished this Friday." After being told this the second time I called Mike. He was rude and said his workers had worked very hard, but gave no reason why it was not done or when it would be. He called me back 2 days later (August 11th by this time) and told me that not all the parts had came in for my fence, but he was ordering them overnight and when the job was finished he would do a walk through with me to be sure I was happy with everything. The fence was finally finished August 15th but I had to call him to have someone do a final inspection. Jim came out and fixed a few things and I am satisfied with the fence.

Description of Work
Removal of chain link fence and install vinyl fence.

Category fencing

5.0

08/27/2008


MARK J.

They responded to our phone call right away and came out and gave us a price. Some of the other people we called would not respond because they said job was too small. These people did an excellent job and we would use them again.

Description of Work
They built a small fence in our yard. It was a small job.

Category fencing

5.0

08/20/2008


LAURA E.

Security Fence called me back the next morning with a quote over the phone. This will be a temporary fence, I was looking for the cheapest option. Since this quote was not the cheapest so I did not choose him. Was very nice and called back promptly.

Description of Work
Left message to get a quote on 100' of chain link fencing.

Category fencing

5.0

08/01/2008


STEVE P.

They installed a beautiful fence. The start was a bit rocky because the sales person was not paying attention to the details. They installed the fence with high quality. They could have done a better job communicating the schedule to us (in the middle of the project). Bonus - the final bill was the quoted price.

Description of Work
Installed a new ornamental steel and cedar fence. They also removed the old falling down fence.

Category fencing

5.0

07/30/2008


KERRY H.

I would have to say my experience was great and excellent! Everything about this company was outstanding. The quality of work was the best. They were on time, cleaned up after themselves, and did everything that could be expected.

Description of Work
We had them install both wood fencing and chain link fencing.

Category fencing

5.0

07/07/2008


ANDREA H.

They were very responsive, they did a good job in discussing options with us. They did a really good job. They gave us an exact time line they would do it in and they upheld to there deal.

Description of Work
They came and fenced in the parts of our yard that were missing fences. They look very professional.

Category fencing

4.0

01/18/2008


KARIN P.

They used my neighbors yard without their permission and against my asking them to move. They even dumped the leftover cement here. The owner was not happy that they wasted this because he uses it as clean fill. Then they installed 4 foot posts instead of 5 foot posts and left them in there knowing they were wrong. I had to call them to tell them this. They came back out to fix this within the hour I had called. They still dumped the cement in my neighbors yard. The first time they dumped this I had to clean it up. If I hired them again, I would definitely check up on them while they worked.

Description of Work
They installed a fence in my yard.

Category fencing

5.0

10/17/2007


DONNA T.

They were $500 more than the other estimates I got for the job. Otherwise, he was very polite and professional. He was not a hard-sell salesman.

Description of Work
Got an estimate for a new fence.

Category fencing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Top Notch Fence

    Top Notch Fence descends from four generations of hands-on craftsmanship servicing all areas with any style of fence. Specialists in Custom Wood Fences, Chain Link Fences, Maintenance Free Fences and Ornamental Iron Fences. We can accommodate any residential or commercial fencing need. Call for a free estimates today! Top Notch Fence Co. offers the best quality products and installation available in fencing and arbors. We offer an extensive variety of fence types, styles and materials as well as custom work. From conception to completion, our innovative team will ensure that your new fence will provide you with lasting enjoyment.  

    Dakota Unlimited Inc

    We’re a family-owned Minnesota fence contractor company with hundreds of years of combined experience and are committed to providing the level of detail our competition can’t match. The owners, Tom and Chuck Engelmeier are brothers who work closely with their team so you can be assured every job receives the utmost care and quality. From initial design consultation right through the on-time completion of your minimally invasive installation, your complete satisfaction with your new fence is what we focus on. At Dakota Unlimited we take great pride in continuing our third generation of a family owned business. It is important to us to build strong relationships. After all it is the same way we build our fences - to last. Our people make the difference.  

    TOP LINE FENCE

    Dan Buranen founded Top Line Fence in 1991, but his passion for fences started long before his professional career. As a child, he spent hours building with Erector Sets and Lincoln Logs. This hobby evolved into subcontracting for fence companies, dabbling with fence projects for his own clients, and ultimately launching his own company. ADDITIONAL SERVICE AREAS: SHERBURNE COUNTY & PORTIONS OF BENTON, CHISAGO & ISANTI COUNTIES.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    fences

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Security Fence & Construction Inc

    How is Security Fence & Construction Inc overall rated?

    Security Fence & Construction Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Security Fence & Construction Inc open?

    Security Fence & Construction Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Security Fence & Construction Inc provide

    Security Fence & Construction Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Security Fence & Construction Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Security Fence & Construction Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Security Fence & Construction Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Security Fence & Construction Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Security Fence & Construction Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Security Fence & Construction Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Security Fence & Construction Inc?

    No, Security Fence & Construction Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Security Fence & Construction Inc offer?

    Security Fence & Construction Inc offers the following services: fences