Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Roncor Custom Rebuilders

Founded 1979 • With Angi since August 2007

4.7

(74) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10740 Lyndale Ave S Ste 11E

Minneapolis, MN 55420

Description

Roncor is a well established professional home remodeling and restoration contractor, with over 30 years of experience and excellence in the field of construction. We have enjoyed a loyal following of customers that consider us to be their “remodeler for life.” We believe that the main reason why

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/29/2017


Tom V.

I have had this company provide service in the past and all experiences have been positive, professional and reasonable. The work was done in a timely manner, the cleanup was done after each work session, and the staff friendly and accomodating. I would not hesitate to have this company do perform future projects.

Description of Work
bathtub to walk-in shower conversion

Category home remodeling

1.0

09/20/2016


Kenneth B.

DO NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY. We read the reviews here and thought they were promising and professional. We had five contractors that we met with to bid on our projects, we checked references for the final two and really thought that we did our homework and chose a great company. They were horrible. The entire scope was budgeted for two to four weeks. The start date was rescheduled multiple times. At one point they asked to start the week between Christmas and New Years (?!). Communication during the course of the project was unclear. Lead carpenter was changed mid-project. Lots of attempts to add-on costs saying that we didn't contract for certain things--i.e. replacing trim when we contracted for finish carpentry (when the project cost was the second highest bid of all five to begin with). Actual scope changes we had no problem paying for when they weren't foreseeable. Finish carpentry was horrible--not level, lacking in mitered joints, bad stain job (and stain guy getting high off the fumes in the basement). Stain color wasn't matched room-to-room, assumed same color for all rooms despite one room clearly being darker than the other (and not having sunlight impact the stain color). When staining the finish carpentry, didn't tape and got stain all over finished walls. Had to repaint. When they took down the old decking, didn't do it correctly. Tore off the side of the house, yelled "timber" and whole house shook. Felt like a bomb went off. Neighbors were angry and rightfully so. Punch list was never completed. And that was SIX months after the project start. Fast forward three years: footing and post they replaced has failed. To fix it will cost us $5000. (Porch has sunk and now must be lifted to level & have to replace sliding door which has failed as a result). Haven't been able to put closet doors back on in the bedrooms because drywall isn't level and the trim work on the closets is also not level (I guess we now know why they didn't do it as part of the punch list!). In seeking to do other work on our home with a different contractor, discovered that final inspection for plumbing never occurred and the plumbing wasn't done correctly. Had to correct it after the fact and pay additional to get the permit finalized. We had no idea the extent of all the problems and only withheld the final progress payment since the punchlist and finish work was never completed. We attempted to speak to the owner on numerous occasions and never had our calls returned. This is the perfect example of why people are afraid to deal with contractors and home renovations.

Description of Work
Scope of work was to do framing, drywall, finish carpentry and some plumbing for a bathroom remodel and repair to two bedrooms after water damage. Replace footing, post and remove failing deck from exterior.

Category remodeling

5.0

04/02/2015


Bob L.

iThis is the fourth time in 19 years that we have used Roncor and each experience has been excellent. They are very competent and professional. I have recommended them to friends and family members. Their follow through is outstanding and their final billing has been as expected.

Description of Work
Most recently, Roncor installed six new windows, reinstalled six other windows, replaced the exterior cladding and painted the interior/exterior of the walls on our two-story home.

Category remodeling, replacement windows, house painters, interior painters

5.0

10/27/2014


Shannon M.

Roncor came in and measured the areas we are considering remodeling and then came up with several drawings for us to choose from.

Description of Work
Drew up remodeling plans for a kitchen/ family room area

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

07/08/2014


Lorie B.

I am confident on getting quality work every time and will definitely call them for my next project.

Description of Work
Built a beautiful 600sq ' custom cedar deck The design had to be changed due to the county set backs from the septic. Roncor came up with several options and in the end the deck design was much better than what I thought I originally wanted. I tried to get several companies to quote my project with many unprofessional responses. Roncor came out the very next day after I called. Soon after they had generated several design ideas that I review in their office with different 3D perspectives.

Category remodeling

5.0

06/03/2014


Keith S.

Excellent experience overall. Frustrations along the way were very minor, including a later than advertised start date due to jobs before us. Before contracting with Roncor, I checked four references. Every single one of them could not speak highly enough of Roncor, and all but one invited me over to their house to view Roncor's work. Roncor worked closely with us from the design phase, and offered a number of flexible designs in a variety of budgets. There was never any sales pressure. Once under contract, they were always responsive. Another minor frustration was that the job took twice as long as they had predicted, but this was partially due to bad winter weather. In the middle of the job, we had significant problems with window delivery from the window supplier. Roncor went to bat for us and got us a nice refund on the windows. The quality of the work was excellent throughout. Whenever I had a concern, the lead carpenter responded promptly and without complaint. All people that worked on the project were friendly, polite, and responsive. The job site was always left very clean. When the job was complete, there were a few minor things that they were unable to finish due to the harsh winter. They said they'd be back in the spring to complete the work along with doing any minor repairs or patches that were needed. We did not have to contact them this spring. They contacted us, scheduled the work, and came out promptly and finished it.

Description of Work
Four-season room addition + cedar deck with part of deck covered.

Category remodeling

5.0

04/19/2014


SUE N.

It was a pleasure to work with Roncor - they first listened to us in 2012 and were patient when we couldn't start the project until 2013. Plans were created, reviewed and adjusted several times based upon our feedback. Any changes made to the plan after the start of construction were well documented and cost disclosed. The project began in June 2013 with excavation. The workers were on time, professional and very neat. Roncor was very helpful in creating a vaulted ceiling design we had in mind - it was more difficult than anticipated but it looks great! The subcontractors they used were very professional. We did have trouble ordering the correct windows and doors from a local lumber yard, but that was an issue with the lumber yard's window specialist measuring the wrong size and ordering the wrong doors, not Roncor's fault. This did delay the project and finally completed in September 2013. We will use Roncor again for our remodeling projects as they allowed us to do some of the work ourselves in order to save money. They had a bit higher cost than other remodelers we looked at, but their professionalism and ability to complete the project the way we wanted was well worth it.

Description of Work
Roncor added a 12x20 three season porch and deck to the back of our home; removed a bay window and replaced with French doors and added a larger kitchen window. They also worked closely with the landscaping firm we chose for the base of the deck steps.

Category decks, remodeling, replacement windows, home builders, doors

5.0

03/17/2014


richard P.

They came and looked at the situation we had came up with a solution and a bid and completed the work In a timely manner and when they said they would.

Description of Work
Replaced a footing and reset exterior doo and repaired drywall and painted a complete room And repaired a deck

Category decks, drywall, remodeling, deck cleaning, interior painters, doors

1.0

01/30/2014


Yan K.

Met with a project manage / designer, invested over an hour discussing types of kitchen we wanted and what we liked and didn't like. After over a month finally heard back and met in their office to review different design options. Selected a design we liked and wanted to proceed to getting a bid for getting the work done. Never heard from again. Called the project manager several times, left messages each time. Once got on the phone, was told he would call me back the following day, and it never happened. Finally, left a message saying that if I don't hear anything in the next 24 hours, I am moving on to a different company... and now I am looking for a different company to do the work. Professional start, and a very disappointing finish.

Description of Work
Requested design services and pricing on a complete kitchen overhaul / remodel

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], At our initial meeting to discuss your kitchen project you expressed concern about paying $450 for design work, though as a consultant you understood the value of our time. I offered to put together a design for you and let you decide after seeing our presentation if it was worth it. The meeting went well, after going through the four designs I had put together for you and Julia, we worked together during the meeting to combine the elements you most liked into a fifth design. The designs were shown in ascending order of expense and the design that you were leaning towards was at the top end of that spectrum. You left that meeting with: - Five designs printed in a binder (one of which was customized by us together) - A range of budget options from just under $30K for Design A to the mid $70Ks for design E - I informed you that the next step was to have subcontractors to their house to evaluate the mechanicals. - Without paying for the designs. Yan, you never offered any availability to visit the house with the subcontractors, or to pay for the services you had already received. I regret that I did not better communicate that we could not give firmer pricing without having our subcontractor walk through and that we had reached the end of our free services to you. Tom MacNabb Roncor Custom Rebuilders
5.0

01/16/2014


Jane G.

Very professional, very customer-focused.

Description of Work
Did a site visit and gave us an approximate cost. Spent a great deal of time with us talking about the work needed. Offered a great deal of information and advice. We haven't moved forward with work yet, due to other issues, but would definitely contact them when the time comes.

Category remodeling

3.0

01/06/2014


Jerry F.

I got bids from four reputable contractors, including Roncor. Roncor's price was much higher than every other bid. Roncor assigned a senior sales person, not a carpenter, to spec out my project. The sales person was competent, but Roncor should have assigned an experienced carpenter to inspect my sagging garage roof and determine the necessary repairs. Roncor has a good reputation and perhaps would have done good work, but their high price and lack of direct carpenter involvement in the bid process caused me to choose another contractor.

Description of Work
Roncor bid on my roofing project that involved reinforcing a sagging garage roof, re-roofing the house and replacing the gutters, soffits and fascia. I selected a different contractor to do the work.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear Sir, I enjoyed helping you with your structural issues at your house. Roncor was disappointed to not earn your business. And possibly it was a simple misunderstanding. This project was reviewed by the Owner who has 30+ years building and remodeling experience. The plan we devised to make the necessary repairs where outlined in detailed wording in our proposal to you. In addition, we stated that when the building permit was applied for, that Roncor would provide detailed plans & sections as well as conduct of formal review with the City Official to avoid any possibly engineering costs. We are sorry that this did not meet your satisfaction, but we consider this good contraction practice to involve the Building Official on any nuance structural changes where existing conditions apply. This has nothing to do with our competence as a builder. We simply find that by working together with the inspectors, we can avoid unnecessary issues during construction. We thank you for your consideration and hope you call us for any future work. Regards, Brad Zielinski Sales | Design
4.0

12/06/2013


Cindy C.

They were responsive but not that creative. I have a lot of ideas and need someone to 'harness' those ideas and be as creative or more so. I expect someone that remodels all of the time to be able to add to or refine my ideas. I did not get that feeling from my Roncor reps. That said, they were very thorough on measurements and prep for a computer image of my house. I ultimately found another vendor to help me.

Description of Work
Estimate and plan a kitchen remodel.

Category home remodeling

4.0

11/01/2013


Kaye S.

Ron Baker is great. Very professional, knowledgeable, easy to deal with. Even though he was the nicest contractor we met with (by far!), we didn't go with Roncor for 3 reasons: 1. The price was 10% higher than everyone else. He did say that he felt that Roncor's quality was beyond that of his competitor's and that may be true. But the price differential was too wide and the contractor we chose also demonstrated an ability to provide very high quality; 2. Design. The "designer" at Roncor is a somewhat surly, quite young woman who did everything very fast, but listened very little. We were trying to explain to her what we wanted and she would only hear 1/2 of what we said. She never came close to getting the design right before we gave up and moved on. 3. Roncor's size may be a disadvantage in some cases. I know they have a large crew and they told us we would have a port-o-let sitting outside our house for the duration of the project. This may seem like a small thing, but yuck! I hated the idea. Goodness! We do have indoor plumbing here. Why would we want to have human waste next to our garage. (this may be just me, but I think other people might feel the same). The port-o-let wasn't the whole issue; I just envisioned this large group of people in and out. Again, maybe just me, but made me uncomfortable.

Description of Work
We discussed a kitchen/bath remodel with Ron. He gave us plans and an estimate.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

09/28/2013


David V.

We thoroughly enjoyed working with Roncor and we remember our experience as positive and thorough. The project managers as well as the workers worked together to provide a superior service. We would highly recommend Roncor, and we would be pleased to work with them again.

Description of Work
Provider completed our basement, which included creating a bathroom. Services provided included installing some sheetrock, two windows, closets, and carpet. In addition Roncor painted the space.

Category carpet installation, closet systems, drywall, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

4.0

07/15/2013


Cindy P.

Very well. Everyone we dealt with directly was courteous, professional and available. Any changes or concerns were dealt with quickly and correctly. The guys did a good job on the siding, checked in with us daily with updates and always left the site clean at the end of the day. We've had many compliments on the house and are very pleased with the way it turned out.

Description of Work
Vinyl siding for house

Category remodeling

5.0

05/15/2013


James R.

Though we only got an estimate from them, I found them to be friendly and professional. They listened to what I wanted to do in the refinish and were willing to work with us to keep the cost down.

Description of Work
We had three estimates given for our basement finishing and Roncor was one of them. They were very professional and worked with us to keep within our budget. I would check back with them for any future work!

Category basement remodeling

5.0

02/18/2013


Mike L.

Roncor has an A+ rating on the BBB, with zero complaints. After our experience we can see why they rate so highly. They have worked hard for this recognition & they deserve it. If you want people who are fun to work with, a job that is done right & a company that you can TRUST, then Roncor is the company for you. You get what you pay for. And when you pay for Roncor you get the BEST!

Description of Work
Our first experience with Roncor was the residing of our home in 2006. We were so impressed with the quality of their people and workmanship that we chose them again in 2012 to complete a major remodel of our home. The job consisted of gutting our 1st floor level & remodeling our kitchen, family room, powder room & laundry, plus installing new flooring throughout. We knew this could be a tremendous inconvenience, not to mention a stressful & chaotic experience. Roncor understood that. From our 1st meeting with Dick (our salesman) & Tom (head of design services) we knew we were in good hands. They are friendly, caring, professional & highly creative. Debbie (design consultant) is extremely talented & has tremendous vision in how a project turns out. And Bob, (our lead carpenter), is amazing! We had always feared hiring outside contractors because we felt as though no one cared about our house as much as we did. Bob (& Roncor in general) does! One day we found Bob on his knees trying to remove a piece of paper that had gotten stuck underneath our newly installed refrigerator legs for 15 minutes. You just don't find his kind of workmanship, expertise, dedication & attention to detail any more. Our end result was converting a 1980's outdated eyesore into a home that others have stated is right off of HGTV.

Category remodeling

4.0

01/26/2013


JOHN A.

They did a good job of understanding what we were looking for and epalining what was and was not included in the estimate. We have not yet selected a contractor for the bathroom remodel.

Description of Work
received estimate

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/07/2013


Barbara R.

Everything went very smoothly. RonCor always protects the rest of the house and cleans up every day.Their employees are very nice and professional. They work hard and come every day until the project is completed. Many companies do not do this. They are very honest.

Description of Work
Our latest project. was total window replacement. Overall we have done 6 remodeling projects including a full bathroom, an addition, flooring and insurance work.

Category remodeling

4.0

11/15/2012


Jason S.

We have not had them to come build it yet. We are waiting on their estimate. We are not sure if we are going through with them for the building part, but we did pay them for the design. I like more of the traditional Victorian elegance, and they are a little bit more on the modern-trendy side. They are not very traditional. They are very responsive. It is just that they do not have a lot of those extra things on their database for showing. I was kind of misled a little bit. I thought maybe that they would have all of these different designs, wood designs, and things in there. It was kind of more flat and general-based. They have a whole bunch of things that they had done, but it was not a vast array. The one thing that they had told me is that they have an interior decorator to help out with that, but I thought that it would go along with the design plans. It kind of implied that the interior decorator was an added cost. I would consider to use them if they get my design correct.

Description of Work
We had an interior design plan done by Roncor Custom Rebuilders.

Category interior designers, architect

2.0

06/16/2012


Melissa O.

At the start, we contacted them. They were slow to respond but we were able to set up an appointment where they provided us 3 options. The appointment was good; they had put together 3 different options for us to consider. After the meeting we requested estimates to allow us to evaluate the options. The were reluctant to give us any estimates - even very rough - and never called us back after that. We are interested in working with a company that is interested in working with us. Especially surprised with their lack of interest given that we were returning customers.

Description of Work
We had used RONCOR for a significant project about 15 years ago. We contacted them as we are now interested in doing a remodel with our porch. They provided us some options but would not give us any kind of estimate for us to discern the different options and never followed up with us. Basically, they communicated that our project was not worth their business.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, We fell terrible that you did not receive the service you expected from us, and worse that you did not contact us directly to ask why. We do not hard-sell customers, so after giving you a verbal ballpark price on a couple of design options we proposed, we were waiting for your response. We apologize that this low-pressure sales process did not meet your expectations. Please, feel free to contact us at any time to reconvene. Sincerely, Brad Zielinski Sales Manager
1.0

06/09/2012


Patricia K.

A sales rep. came to my home, looked at the bathroom, took measurements, made some suggestions and said he would get back to me in a week or so with an estimate. Two months later I have heard nothing more from them.

Description of Work
I had them come to my home to give me a bid for a bathroom remodel in April. Still have not heard anything from them.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you so much for your feedback. We pride ourselves on giving top quality and timely service. Unfortunately in your case our sales representative failed to do so. However since you have brought this to our attention I have asked him to get in touch with you make to amends. I hope you accept our and his apology and know that even if you do not choose us as your contractor please utilize Roncor as a resource if you have any further questions about this project or any others. Once again, I thank you for your feedback. Sincerely, Brad Zielinski Sales Manager
5.0

04/12/2012


Sarah F.

The experience was very good and I highly recommend them. Everyone was professional, prompt, and friendly. I live alone and I was always comfortable having them in my home. They replied promptly to every question that I had. I am planning on working with them for the rest of the remodel plans, once I am ready to start the next stage. I look forward to working with the Roncor team again.

Description of Work
I worked closely with Brad and Tom to develop a design for all of the remodeling that I would like done in the next 10 years. The design process and easy and we were able to go through many options and find the best one for me. They designed an expansion on the upstairs bathroom, a downstairs bath remodel, and the redesigned back of the house, which included a kitchen remodel and winterizing my 3 season porch. We split the project into manageable parts and determined the best place to start given the needs of the house and my budget. My garage foundation was bowing in and the roof needed resigning and repair, so we started with that and the upstairs bathroom expansion. Because my budget was tight, they would do the framing, insulation, electrical, & plumbing for the bathroom, while I would finish. My one concern was bringing a bathtub onto the second floor, and they agreed to return to get it up my very steep stairway. They were able to start ahead of schedule and finished on time and on budget. We ran into a few problems, which I expected with an older home, but the unforseen issues ran far less that the 10% I had budgetted to cover them. Kevin and his team showed up every morning on time and would inform me of a change in schedule. They were very helpful in answering any questions that I had, and once I took over the process myself, they were available for questions that came up along the way. A member of the team always returned my calls and e-mails within 24 hours, often less. The project included rebuilding the tuck-under garage wall, replacing the roof, removing the upstairs carpeting, building out the new wall for the bathroom, insulating the exterior wall, running the new plumbing supply lines and drains, and wiring in a new ceiling light, sconces and an electric floor. When it was time to install the fixtures, they returned and brought the cast iron bathtub onto the 2nd floor. They were able to make it within 2 days of my calling them.

Category remodeling, architect, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you for the kind words. Our team is so glad to hear that we made you at ease throughout each stage of the project. We look forward to working with you again! Sincerely, Brad Zielinski
5.0

03/23/2012


Frank G.

A pleasure from start to finish. Designer and interior decorator found ways to give us exactly what we wanted. All the workmen performed the work as if they were working on their own homes. We love our new bathrooms.

Description of Work
Complete remodel of two bathrooms and bedroom painting, ceiling, doors,hardware, windows and carpeting.

Category replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Dear Member Thank you for the feedback. It is nice to hear that the bathrooms we conceptualized early on in the design phase are meeting your everyday expectations. The tile work looks breathtaking, and you and Debbie did a wonderful job on the selections. It was a joy being able to work in your home. Thanks for your business…..and the baklava too! Sincerely, Brad Zielinski
5.0

02/12/2012


Pam H.

Every aspect of the project went so well. Our lead carpenter was great, and he kept us up-to-date on everything. They said the project would take about 12 weeks and it took 14. There were two people in the office who kept us up-to-date on everything. They addressed our concerns/needs immediately. When there was a concern about our garage issue, they brought in many people to consult and figure out what to do. Every worker that came into and worked on our house was respectful, friendly, professional and easy to work with. They were always concerned about us. The interior designer was absolutely invaluable.

Description of Work
Our project was gutting our whole first floor and changing it all, as well as, exterior work - roof, removing chimney, siding, drainspouts, windows. Walls were removed in the first floor to open it up, and the kitchen was reconfigured. We only bumped out a small portion of a wall in the kitchen. They added a pantry. The fireplace was removed on the first floor and a gas insert was installed. Included in the work was an interior designer, which was wonderful! She helped us through the phases of picking out our new cabinets, wood, granite, flooring, paint, linoleum, carpeting, etc. They also helped us with a cracking issue in the wall foundation of our garage.

Category remodeling, siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Dear Members We appreciate your response. We are always striving to add as much value to our projects as possible. Your house looks amazing and we hope you enjoy it for many, many years to come. Sincerely, Brad Zielinski

    Other local Pros in your area

    Rogers Masonry

    I started in the Masonry business in 1976 and have been working ever since. I started my business in 1980 and incorporated in 1986. We are a small company with an experienced crew. They've all worked with me for the last 20 years. Experienced with working with condo associations and large building tuck pointing, brickwork, and stone work.  

    Angi Certified

    Liberty Painting & Maintenance

    4 employees. No subs. Cost determined by the job. No travel charges.  

    Angi Certified

    Anderson Painting

    Anderson Painting winner of the Super Service Provider Award seven years in a row. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work and the cleanliness of our worksite. We service the eastern Twin Cities and western Wisconsin. My name is Daniel Anderson. I am the owner and I work on every one of the projects. If you mention you seen us on Angies List you will receive 10% off labor.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Architectural & Interior Design • Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling • Additions & Decks • Roofing • Windows • Siding • Interior & Exterior Painting • Light Commercial Build-outs

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Roncor Custom Rebuilders

    How is Roncor Custom Rebuilders overall rated?

    Roncor Custom Rebuilders is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Roncor Custom Rebuilders open?

    Roncor Custom Rebuilders is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Roncor Custom Rebuilders provide

    Roncor Custom Rebuilders accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express

    Does Roncor Custom Rebuilders offer free estimates?

    Yes, Roncor Custom Rebuilders offers free project estimates.

    Does Roncor Custom Rebuilders offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Roncor Custom Rebuilders offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Roncor Custom Rebuilders offer a senior discount?

    No, Roncor Custom Rebuilders does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Roncor Custom Rebuilders?

    Yes, Roncor Custom Rebuilders offers warranties.

    What services does Roncor Custom Rebuilders offer?

    Roncor Custom Rebuilders offers the following services: Architectural & Interior Design • Kitchen & Bathroom Remodeling • Additions & Decks • Roofing • Windows • Siding • Interior & Exterior Painting • Light Commercial Build-outs