Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Innovative Building & Design, LLC

Founded 1998 • With Angi since May 2010

Imagine how great it would feel to finally get those renovations that you've always wanted. Too many homeowners feel overwhelmed by the scope of a renovation project. You Deserve To Love Your Home. From design to build, Innovative Building & Design gives you the home you’ve always wanted. We know how frustrating it can be to spend precious years in a place that does not function well for your family’s needs. You know things could be so much better but who can you trust to do a great job? We understand how important it is to find the right company to do your home renovation project. We have a history of happy clients who know we stand behind our work, every time. Innovative Building & Design is a Licensed General Contractor located in Blaine, MN. We service the entire metro area, and western Wisconsin, and have even been hired on occasion to build out of state on specialty projects. We invite you to tour our website, see photos of our work and to gather ideas for your own project. www.InnovativeBuilding.com

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(29) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 29 reviews
Ishmael B.
5.0
03/07/2019
Innovative Building & Design repaired my roof and internal ceiling last year after a tree fell on the house. Exceptional work done in a timely manner. The staff was great with communication and ensuring any of my questions or concerns were answered immediately throughout the entire process.
Description of Work
Roof repair
Category
roofing
Art M.
5.0
11/14/2018
We had a hail storm and my son recommended Innovative. They were responsive, up front, honest and the team they had to do the work was professional from start to finish. Tony was superb at answering all of our questions and removing any roadblocks or worry we had. They worked with us and our insurance company (State Farm) and helped us understand and complete all of the necessary paper work and communication in order to settle the entire claim. Innovative is a pleasure to do business with and I highly recommend them to anyone needing work done on their home! Art M.
Description of Work
Roofing/siding for home, shed and referred to neighbors who also trusted in them and hired them
Category
roofing
Eric O.
5.0
05/15/2018
I had the pleasure of working with Justin and his team at Innovative Building & Design. Justin and his team helped me with a leaky roof caused by hail damage we sustained earlier in the year. I called them in the fall last year. Despite being in the middle of their busy season and my last minute planning, they were able to accommodate me and replace my roof along with downspouts. From handling the insurance side to the work itself, I could not have asked for a smoother process. They will definitely be my go-to company in the future. Thank you Justin!
Description of Work
Roof replacement
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Lori F.
5.0
03/07/2018
They replaced our roofing and siding that was damaged in the June 2017 storms. They were great to work with, both friendly and professional. They did not try to upsell us on anything, instead they listened to our needs and wants, and offered us options. The crew worked very hard to get the job done. I highly recommend this company! We plan to use them again on our remodeling projects in the near future.
Description of Work
Roofing and Siding
Category
egress windows, roofing, siding
David R.
5.0
01/15/2018
Awesome! I am extremely satisfied with the work. Justin was very professional and my concerns were eliminated. I never had to worry about the job as Justin worked with me and communicated during the process.
Description of Work
My roof and siding needed to be replaced. I also wanted a new patio door.
Category
roofing, siding, doors, stamped concrete
Anne R.
5.0
01/01/2018
When they removed the siding we discovered that our deck door had not been flashed when the house was built. The innovative team removed the rotted sheathing, flashed the door and replaced insulation. The cost was reasonable and we were so lucky to have found and fixed the problem before there was a mold issue. The siding is beautiful, better than the builder too!
Description of Work
Innovative replaced our roof and siding after a hail storm. We also had them add windows to our garage.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows
Peter P.
5.0
06/28/2017
Excellent work. The craftsmanship was topnotch. Building materials were of the best quality. Just a small complaint: sometimes there were gaps in the work process when one phase was done and the next phase was not started because of scheduling conflicts.
Description of Work
Remodel three seasons porch
Category
decks, stamped concrete
Melissa W.
5.0
06/13/2017
Justin and his team did a remarkable job. Professional, knowledgeable, personable, kept us informed through the entire process.
Description of Work
Roof replaced.
Category
roofing
Michael M.
5.0
06/04/2017
From start to finish it was a pleasant experience. After having my roof inspected it was obvious that it needed to be replaced. They are experts at dealing with insurance and are very knowledgeable when it comes to building code. So not only do they fix your house, but they fix it right. They stand behind their work and use the best product with the best warranties. My house looks amazing after the new roof was put on. I would reccomend them to family and friends.
Description of Work
Roof inspection and full replacement
Category
roofing
Robert P.
5.0
04/25/2017
Very well. Contractor was prompt to start project with pending cold weather and successfully completed project in a timely manner before the cold weather arrived. Project Supervisors maintained almost daily contact with me throughout the project. The Contractor made sure the area around the Guest House was cleaned and free of debris before leaving. I am very pleased with how everything worked out.
Description of Work
Removed existing roofing; installed new roofing of Guest House in accordance with State Building Codes; repaired roof damages from fallen tree; replaced damaged gutter.
Category
stamped concrete
Sara K.
5.0
10/16/2016
We had an inground pool installed by Innovated Building & Design and we could not be happier with the service we received, not to mention the beautiful finished product. From the start, Justin and his team were in constant contact with us, letting us know of the steps ahead and the selections we needed to make. I had many questions along the way and Justin was always welcoming of those and happy to answer. We have had so many compliments on our new pool and the stunning concrete surround. We now have an amazing backyard to create wonderful family memories in. I would highly recommend Innovative Building & Design to anyone contemplating a home improvement project.
Description of Work
Installed an inground pool with concrete surround as well as a stamped concrete fire pit.
Category
stamped concrete, swimming pools
Lauren H.
5.0
10/10/2016
What a relief it was to find a company like Innovative. I had contacted two other companies, each of whom had agreed and confirmed a start date to re-roof my house -- and neither one showed up! There was not even a phone call from these folks. I called three other companies, each one setting a review of the job for an estimate, but Innovative actually followed up immediately and the co-owner drove over (even though he was on his way to lunch with his wife!) to introduce himself and scan the job. As the interview progressed, I was completely satisfied with the professionalism and earnestness of the company. I hired them on the spot and called the other businesses to cancel the estimates. The job was completed in one day; the crew were highly professional, careful and efficient. When I had a question on one small part of the finished roof, Justin came over and reviewed the full job, helping me to understand the question I had. I highly recommend Innovative Building & Design. They show up, communicate, do fine work and leave the site in excellent condition. Kudos to this well-run company.
Description of Work
Roof replacement
Category
contractors, roofing
Mary H.
5.0
03/05/2016
I didn't have a timeline, so I think that made things less stressful for me. I was impressed by their willingness to make sure everything was just right. There was some miscommunication along the way, but they made it right. They ended up. Ripping up my year more than anticipated. They took full responsibility and resodded the entire area. There were also. A couple of other minor issues they noticed with my house and fixed thm without charge!
Description of Work
They built a 3-season porch for me
Category
decks, landscaping, sunrooms
Doreen P.
2.0
09/30/2015
kitchen floor good job and done in a timely manner. bathroom was a disaster and still is. We had the tub replaced and new tile. They had troubles with the tub and instead of cutting the sheet rock, the plummer actually pulled off the sheet rock in pieces (I have pictures) so the wall looked like someone took a slege hammer and just started making holes in the wall. They had to come back several times to fix things, for one thing the tub would not hold water, the stopper was not lined up properly. They had to put floor molding under the cabinet and around the rest of the bathroom and the floor molding is still uneven and unglued in spots They did not clean up after themselves. Overall very poor job
Description of Work
Install kitchen tile...good job bathroom remodeling....poor job.
Category
ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling, stamped concrete

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it very much. It is typical for sheetrock demo to be removed in large broken pieces. This is one of those tricky situations where the homeowner was trying to re-use some things, and not others, as well as self perform some of the work, and contract out for other parts. With this type of overlap in responsibilities it can create an environment for miscommunications and misunderstandings. We put floor molding in /base shoe, because the homeowner wanted to keep and leave existing cabinet in place, so we installed the new floor (vinyl flooring) around the cabinet. In order to trim this transition out, base shoe was required. I believe you got a really good deal for the $4,500 we were paid, for the amount of work and service you received. Again, we appreciate your feedback, and always strive to improve, Innovative Building & Design, LLC
Silvia C.
5.0
12/03/2014
They were very good they were here on time and we had no problem with them.
Description of Work
Roofing
Category
roofing
EVELINA C.
3.0
10/30/2014
When it came time to do it, we got bump. I was disappointed because of the inconvenient. My wife and I went around our schedules planning for them to come. Their exchange was very cordial and they were polite in explaining their case. However, this is not the way I do business. They changed the date after I made that it specifically clear that I needed it to be this specific date.
Description of Work
They were going to lay down concrete on our driveway
Category
stamped concrete

Service Provider Response

I appreciate your feedback. We try very hard to accommodate our customers schedules, however the weather does not always cooperate. In this case, the weather the prior week had been an issue, and we needed to finish the job we were currently working on before moving on to the next. We treat all of our customers the same, and give priority to the customers projects that we are currently working on before moving on to the next. In this case, that customer also added a small amount of additional work, and we like to accommodate those requests as they come up as well. I know it can be frustrating to get that call and have your start date rescheduled, and it can be hard for people outside of the construction industry to understand just some of these variables that we deal with, which is why we schedule "tentative start dates", and update all our customers as that such date gets closer. Again, thank you for your feedback. Innovative Building & Design, LLC
Kelly J.
5.0
10/27/2014
From front to back, the team at Innovative carefully explained the process and scope of work. We felt encouraged by their professionalism and demeanor. They performed the work on schedule and genuinely seemed to care about doing the job right and taking care of our needs as a family while the project was underway.
Description of Work
Total replacement of roof and kitchen remodel.
Category
roofing, home remodeling
jami S.
4.0
10/26/2013
Justin and Joe are great. They are professional, polite, and know their stuff. I am not sure that the rest of their crew is quite at their level though. If you want a great price and relatively quality work with excellent service, this is a great team. Although there were some snags - the stamping was not as clean as we expected and the crew broke one of our sprinkler heads and covered two others up with landscaping fabric - Joe and Justin took care of the issues promptly.
Description of Work
pour steps and stamped concrete patio with landscaping
Category
concrete repair, landscaping, stamped concrete
Susan G.
5.0
10/22/2013
First of all, Justin suggested a curved edge which I really liked (and hadn't even thought of). On the day of preparation, they were fast, neat, efficient & professional. They cleaned up the site unbelievably well when they were finished. On pouring day, they were extremely precise in every step. After the concrete had hardened, they returned to move the hot tub. They were efficient and made sure I was pleased with the placement--willing to move the tub inches until I was pleased.
Description of Work
Dug up sod, removed small scrubs, removed necessary concrete, moved hot tub, laid the concrete, moved the hot tub back in place
Category
concrete repair, stamped concrete
Mike R.
5.0
10/08/2013
My wife and I recently used Innovative Building & Design for a landscaping project in our back yard, and were really impressed. We contacted the company for an estimate and Justin offered to come to our house and talk through our plans. Justin was really great to work with. We discussed putting in a retaining wall, grading the back yard for more efficient runoff, replacing our old fence, and putting in sod and wood chips. Justin tactfully brought up ideas we hadn't thought of and we incorporated some of his suggestions into our final design. We received a quote within a couple days and decided to proceed with Innovative as our contractor. Joe and a team arrived at our house early and ready to work on the scheduled day. My wife and I are both gone all day, so we left them to it. Before lunch, Joe called my wife and asked to talk through some aspects of the design. When Heather arrived at the house, Joe had a couple of surprises. When they'd started on the grading, his team had discovered a foundation and an extra sidewalk buried in our yard - basically a truckload of concrete. Our house is over 100 years old, and I guess a few surprises go with the territory. The team hauled it away without a fuss. Joe also explained to my wife that the wall in our design wouldn't work with the grading we wanted. He suggested a great alternative that happened to be several thousand dollars cheaper than our original estimate. Our project came in thousands of dollars under budget and Innovative exceeded our expectations. Our yard looks better than it ever has. My wife and I shared a drink on the patio last night, and I can't express how great it is to have a yard we love. We are thoroughly impressed with Innovative, and will definitely call them when we do our siding and front yard landscaping next year!
Description of Work
We have used Innovative for two jobs so far: 1. The house we just purchased has a history of ice damming. In late 2011, we had Innovative repair quite a bit of damage and install heat cables and new gutters and downspouts to prevent future ice dams. This work was done very well at a satisfactory price. Winter 2012/2013 was a huge snow year. We had no issues at all, while we watched our neighbors' roofs nearly collapse. 2. This spring, we had them tear out our old fence, tear out and haul away old concrete garage foundation, grade the yard for better runoff, build a new fence, and install sod and wood chips.
Category
excavators, fencing, gutter repair, landscaping, mulch, woodworking
Scott S.
1.0
08/08/2013
As per the details above, we have heard nothing to date. We are very disappointed as we were looking forward to getting a bid and working with him this fall.
Description of Work
Justin came to our home on 7/9/13 to look at our patio concrete around our pool as well as the drainage problems we are having in our backyard. He was very pleasant and seemed knowledgeable about drainage, concrete and landscaping. We told him the issues we have been having with water in our yard, explained we'd like to replace the concrete patio around the pool as well as the brick around the pool, replace a small concrete slab by our walk-out door to our basement and address the drainage issues we are having. Justin said he was really busy, but this would be a good fall project for his crew and we were pleased with that since that is the time of year we'd like to have the work completed. Before he left, Justin said he'd get a bid to us in a week. That was a month ago. I left a voice mail for him and sent an email a couple of weeks ago, but have received no response. I asked him to let us know if he just wasn't interested in the work, but still no word. The dealership did not inform us that our vehicle was damaged. We only found out when my husband went in to pick up the car after the servicing was complete.
Category
concrete repair, pool cleaners
Rick C.
5.0
06/26/2013
We were planning a graduation party and wanted to get the work done prior to the party. Justin assured me they could do the work within our schedule. Dan and the crew were there per the schedule, and even though they had to work around some crazy weather patterns, the work was done on schedule, and it all looked perfect. The new concrete matched up evenly with the existing slabs. The NewLook sealer made our pool deck look brand new again. Justin did a great job of keeping me posted to what days the crew would be there. I couldn't be happier with the results.
Description of Work
They replaced the top panels of our driveway and side walk with new concrete. Applied Newlook sealer to the concrete of our pool deck.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways, pool cleaners, hardscaping
PATRICIA J.
5.0
12/29/2012
I couldn't have been more pleased with every aspect of this project. The project entailed pool renovations, patio renovations, and landscaping services. I had obtained estimates from multiple contractors. Innovative Pool & Landscape was the only contractor that was able to perform all of the services I needed, which was a huge benefit so that I wouldn't have to coordinate with different contractors regarding different types of services. In addition, it was very apparent after Justin's initial visit to look at the project that his extensive knowledge in regard to each and every aspect of this job far exceeded any other contractor I had previously contacted. He was very professional and friendly and took a lot of time discussing the various options available. I was not certain what type of patio I wanted to install around the pool (pavers, brushed concrete, stamped concrete, or a combination, etc.) He helped develop a plan that met what I was looking for aesthetically while providing the upgrades that I wanted, all within my project budget. I called Justin many times during the bid process with various questions and he often answered the phone immediately when I called or returned my call very promptly. The crew working on the project were extremely professional, courteous, and more than willing to answer any questions or concerns I had during the course of the project. As with any project, there were some unexpected issues that arose, however they were handled in a manner I was very pleased with. I also requested some additional services during the course of the project and Justin was again very informative with my options and the associated costs. Since project completion, I have called Justin a couple of times with questions and again he always responded promptly with the same level of exceptional customer service that he provided during the project. I have additional work that I would like to have done in the future and will definitely be contacting them again.
Description of Work
Remodel of existing pool, deck, and landscaping including: Demo and disposal of existing concrete deck and existing wood deck. New broomed concrete pool deck. Stamped & colored concrete pool border and fire pit/lounge area. Removal and disposal of existing vinyl liner. Dual corner steps and shallow end bench in pool. Installation of dual main drain system, new vinyl liner, underwater color changing LED light, and also a new diving board. Installation of undertrack auto pool cover. Landscaping services including removal of tree, sod restoration, and landscaping multiple mulch beds (new plants and mulch). Installation of stepping stone path in one of the mulch beds.
Category
landscaping, mulch, pool cleaners, tree service, hardscaping, stamped concrete, swimming pools
Marcia E.
5.0
08/03/2012
It went pretty good, but they did have to come back and raise up the counter top (didn't cover the area where the previous counter top had been on the back wall). We had a few issues, but we are working through them and I'm sure we will have a good outcome.
Description of Work
We had a granite counter top and new sink installed in our upstairs bathroom. The counter top is beautiful and is an excellent match to our existing wall tile and floor tile that we have had for many years. I also love the sink. It is a different shape than we had before and we both really like it. We were referred to a business out south and I picked out the counter top and sink myself, so I also have to congradulate myself for a job well done. I had nothing to match the granite top to other than my memory and my sister's help. It will be in our bathroom for as long as we live here and everyday I walk in the bathroom and love it all over again.
Category
countertops, marble & granite
Heather G.
5.0
06/20/2011
We have been using Innovative for years to help us transform our house and yard. Their teams continue to exceed our expectations on every project. This is a company that cares about the customer, and actually listens to what they want. They seem to really care about their environmental impact. They brought all of our old concrete to a special designated place that recycles the concrete instead of just hauling it to the dump. On several occasions I have seen employees sorting through the construction waste and pulling out cardboard boxes and paper to recycle it. We knew we had a good company when we saw employees not only pick up their own mess (), but actually pick up garbage that was just blowing by and put it in their own pocket. They always made sure our yard was as neat as possible at the end of every day. What has impressed me the most is their communication. It's rare to find a company that actually answers the phone yet alone one that returns your call's when you have a question or issue, but Innovative does just that. There was one time when I called Justin at 8 pm on a Saturday night with a pool light question, and not only did he actually answer the phone, but he took the time to walk me through diagnosing the issue and actually fixing the problem (which was a simple GFCI outlet that needed to be reset). All of the crew members have been very polite and courteous. This is a company that offers exceptional service at a reasonable price, and we will continue to use them in the future.
Description of Work
Innovative has performed several projects for us over the years including; Installing an in-ground swimming pool, pouring a stamped concrete patio, building a stone retaining wall, building an outdoor fire pit, building a custom outdoor wood burning fireplace, building a custom pondless waterfall, installing a New York blue stone patio, laying sod, lots of plantings and gardening including a cold hardy peach tree, three vanilla ice cream banana trees in large ceramic pots, two honey crisp apple trees, building a large addition on our home which included a covered porch overlooking our pool and landscaping, installing a new roof and siding, installing three sky lights, a full kitchen remodel with Granite countertops, remodeling our main bathroom, new carpet in our basement, and there are still a few projects on our list that we will be having Innovative complete for us.
Category
contractors, carpet installation, ceramic tile, concrete repair, countertops, decks, concrete driveways, egress windows, fencing, handyman service, landscaping, pool cleaners, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, skylights, marble & granite, home remodeling, doors, sunrooms, hardscaping, basement remodeling, stamped concrete, swimming pools

Phone

Address

1543 92nd Ln NE

Minneapolis, MN 55449

Other Information

Services offered

Roofing, Siding, Windows, Hail and Storm Repairs, Home Renovations, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement Remodeling, Commercial Construction, In-Ground Swimming Pools, and anything else you can think of!

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Innovative Building & Design, LLC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Innovative Building & Design, LLC is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Innovative Building & Design, LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Innovative Building & Design, LLC offers free project estimates.

Yes, Innovative Building & Design, LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Innovative Building & Design, LLC does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Innovative Building & Design, LLC offers emergency services.

Yes, Innovative Building & Design, LLC offers warranties.

Innovative Building & Design, LLC offers the following services: Roofing, Siding, Windows, Hail and Storm Repairs, Home Renovations, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Basement Remodeling, Commercial Construction, In-Ground Swimming Pools, and anything else you can think of!

Other Local Pros In Your Area

J&B Roofing

5.0

(36)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

J&B Roofing

J&B Roofing was established in the year 1984 in South Saint Paul, Minnesota, since we have remained a local and family owned business that focuses on quality and not volume. We install major roofing manufacturer products and we ensure that all of roofing projects meet customer and state requirements. We deliver the materials, protecting your landscape and property. We possess an extensive knowledge of the roofing industry necessary to provide the most economical solution to any roofing challenge you may have. Whatever your needs are: residential, commercial, apartments, multi-family dwellings, pitched room, or flat roofs. J&B Roofing has you covered. Each job we do has a specific plan on how to do your roof. With years of varied experience in both residential and commercial roofing- there is no job that is beyond our doing. We pride ourselves on providing our services in a timely, cost effective, and safe manner.  

Joco services llc

5.0

(1)

Angi Certified

Joco services llc

East central Minnesota based excavating company, anything dirt related we can do it. From digging foundations, ripping out trees to prepping your yard for seeding. established in 2019, and we've been in the business our whole careers.  

Bateman's Dirt Works

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

Bateman's Dirt Works

As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!