Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Harriann Upholstery

Founded 1929 • With Angi since June 2004

4.8

(57) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3537 W 44th St

Minneapolis, MN 55410

Description

Additional email - bobyablonski@yahoo.com.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Janice K.
5.0
03/05/2022
Excellent work and quality construction. Money spent at this business stays in the community economy versus seeking rock bottom pricing elsewhere.
Description of Work
Couch and lounger reupholster and restoration
Category
furniture repair, upholstery
Margaret M.
5.0
06/29/2018
I found them on yelp and received an enthusiastic and prompt response. He has a can do attitude and fixed it in a few minutes. Now I know where I will go when I need upholstery repair. What mattered was the attitude. It was quite a positive experience.
Description of Work
I have a padded golf travel bag that split at the seam.
Category
upholstery
Patricia V.
5.0
04/11/2018
Friendly helpful service. Everything done as promised.
Description of Work
Dining chair seats covered
Category
upholstery
William W.
5.0
08/17/2017
I went in there with my chair, the chair can be taken apart. I took it in with me to their office/ showroom on a Saturday, one of the days they are open. They ordered the material I left them wit the old cushion that had deteriorated, they used that as a pattern, they manufactured a cushion for the the chair. There was no time restraints or requirements. They certainly know what they are doing.
Description of Work
They provided upholstering services for a chair that I purchased 50 years ago.
Category
upholstery
Karen T.
5.0
08/04/2017
They were professional but they were too expensive for me.
Description of Work
Upholstery Services
Category
upholstery
Gary L.
4.0
06/21/2017
Easy to work with, chairs were ready when they said they would be. Had work done a few months ago and have had no issues with chairs. I cannot rate pricing since I did not get other estimates.
Description of Work
Had 2 chairs reupholstered.
Category
upholstery

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure working with you. Bob and Jean
Joann A.
5.0
03/20/2017
a little slow, but I was absolutely fine with that as I had a spare cushion and in no hurry. nice folks, so it was worth it.
Description of Work
stuffing of a cushion
Category
upholstery
Martha M.
5.0
03/13/2017
I got bids from 2 other places in Mpls and they all had the same base labor price but the others only offered very expensive fabric choices. I just wanted a plain tan color and Harriann owners helped me select a lovely fabric and a reasonable cost. I also wanted the back seat cushion to be separate and not attached to the back. They made this design change at no extra cost. The chair turned out beautiful and was done before the estimated time. I asked them to save my old fabric which they did. They picked up and delivered the chair to my home. I give them a top rating on all services & price. The only detail that could have been done better was the chair seat piping transitioned (changed where one piping length ended and another started on a front corner.) It would have been better for the transition to be on the back corner. It is not something anyone would notice. I would use them again.
Description of Work
I had a 1960's chair upholstered.
Category
upholstery
STEVEN B.
5.0
08/29/2016
Beautiful job!! Thrilled with the everything ..... they made three cushions into one, great fabric and craftsmanship! Would definitely use Bob again.
Description of Work
Sofa (that needed some structural repair) and chair
Category
upholstery
Jon B.
5.0
05/26/2016
It was great, I would definitely use them again and recommend others to use them!
Description of Work
They reupholstered a set of dining room chairs and a bar stool.
Category
upholstery
Lynn J.
5.0
05/07/2016
The chairs look fabulous and I am thrilled with the outcome! These chairs had been in my attic for years and I was going to put them in a reading room. I am so happy with the new look, I want to re-do my living room and put them to use there. I highly recommend Harriann and would use them again for any other upholstery needs. They have tons of fabric samples and you will find fabric for whatever your project entails. Go to their shop and see for yourself!
Description of Work
I had 2 retro chairs that were in desperate need of reupholstering. They helped me select the fabric, picked up the chairs from my house, completed the upholstery work and delivered the chairs back to me. It was very easy and accommodating to me with my work schedule.
Category
upholstery

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Removed Member Name]. It was a pleasure working with you and I must agree those are beautiful chairs. I'm so happy you decided to upholster them and I agree they should stay in your living room now.
Jeannie B.
5.0
09/27/2015
I dropped the chair off, in July, and chose a fabric. They had an incredible selection of fabrics to choose from, so it was a bit overwhelming, but they helped me find something in my price range. I was given an estimate of about 8 weeks to complete the job, and it turned out to be just about that. The chair was delivered to my home. It turned out great. My old worn out chair looks brand new. They did a great job. Thank you!
Description of Work
Reupholstered an old worn-out chair.
Category
upholstery
Julie G.
5.0
06/17/2015
They were good about picking up the chairs in my old home and delivered them to my new home. They were not flexible in the timing of the deliveries. I had to go along with their time schedule and not mine. Very happy with the quality of work however.
Description of Work
Covered 4 dining room chairs 2 stools and 2 cushions.
Category
upholstery

Service Provider Response

Happy you are pleased with your newly upholstered furniture. Hope you are enjoying your new home. Look forward to helping you with any additional projects (removed member name).
Kimberly K.
5.0
05/16/2015
Great! Fair price and great service
Description of Work
$600 to do 4 bar stools
Category
upholstery

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you.
Jennifer J.
5.0
03/16/2015
They were very nice however I ended up not using them for other reasons.
Description of Work
I purchased a deal with this company.
Category
upholstery

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your comment. We look forward to working with you in the future!
sue P.
5.0
02/10/2015
Excellent service and quality of service. Price fair. So pleasant to work with I've already taken more furniture to repair and have recovered. I've used providers for similar work for 20+ years--this has been my best experience.
Description of Work
Vintage chairs glued and finish enhanced, antique stool recovered.
Category
upholstery
Kathleen Marie B.
5.0
01/02/2015
The couple helped advise me on fabric, steered me to a better choice. When chairs were done they delivered them. Happy.
Description of Work
Re-glued and reupholstered five nice dining room chairs.
Category
upholstery

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much, (removed member name). We had fun helping you select your fabric and are so glad you're enjoying your dining room!
Susan M.
5.0
01/02/2015
Many years ago my mother-in-law gave us her favorite old chair. We used it until the upholstery fell apart then moved it to our basement and forgot about it. Recently I thought it would be nice to have the chair redone while my 92 year old mother-in-law could still appreciate it. I brought the chair to Harriann's two weeks before Christmas with the unlikely hope of getting it done before the holidays. I received a call two days before Christmas saying my chair was ready! The staff at Harriann's is knowledgeable, kind, helpful and fun. They helped me pick out appropriate fabric. The work Bob did was so impressive. He is a true craftsman. This old chair has been transformed. Our family couldn't be happier. I highly recommend Harriann's. I would never trust anyone else with my furniture.
Description of Work
Harriann's completely restored our favorite old chair! It is beautiful!
Category
upholstery
Marilyn M.
5.0
12/12/2014
They were very pleasant to work with and fast. The chair was finished earlier than expected. The workmanship was excellent. I did think the price was quite high and higher than anticipated.
Description of Work
Reupholstered an old chair that belonged to my husband's grandfather.
Category
upholstery
Rich R.
5.0
12/03/2014
We couldn't be happier with our new sofa! It exceeded our expectations, and the fabric and workmanship are beautiful. Knowing that we were eager to have our sofa back before Christmas, Bob made sure he could guarantee the time frame during this busy holiday season. Working with Bob and his wife Jean was a pleasure, and we highly recommend their services. Thanks so much, Bob and Jean!
Description of Work
Bob reupholstered a 90s white sofa with five loose pillow style back cushions. Per our request, he updated the sofa by replacing the back cushions with three structured cushions which line up with the three seat cushions. As requested, he also updated the ruched front panel at the base and gave it a nice, smooth finish.
Category
upholstery
Lynda G.
5.0
11/28/2014
They did a great job, had it done before I expected and were really personable. I'd definitely work with them again.
Description of Work
They recovered an antique foot stool from my grandparents.
Category
upholstery
Alan H.
5.0
11/06/2014
Wow! We had a leather mission chair that had serious damage to the fabric for a combination of reasons. Bob came out and did an estimate for us within a couple days of our original contact and made arrangements to pick up the furniture a few weeks later. We originally only estimated the chair, but asked him to re-do the ottoman as well, which he kindly did for us. I had purchased fabric from the IMS annual sale so did not purchase from him. He returned our furniture yesterday and I can hardly believe it! His work is beautiful. Every detail was attended to and the fabric handled well. Bob even touched up the oak itself- one arm had been chewed a bit by a temporary foster dog- and the area is hardly noticeable now. Bob seems like a straight-forward and honest craftsman who takes pride in his work. His time frame was generally on target regarding pick up and completion, Online communication is slower than what i am accustomed to, but he does stay in touch. I think his prices, although on the high side, reflect his experience and care. We have a stickley sofa that i will be having him work on next!
Description of Work
Bob recovered an ottoman and mission chair for us.
Category
upholstery
sandra N.
5.0
09/22/2014
Absolutely seamlessly! I went into their store for fabric selection, took my top choices home to narrow to a final selection, and with a phone call organized pick up and drop off to my home while I was having my carpet redone. Bob arrived right on time and did a beautiful job...While a little on the expensive side,it was worth every penny to keep the chairs I love and that fit so well in my sunroom. Bob was even kind enough to recommend a furniture repair man for my entertainment center. I highly recommend harrianns!
Description of Work
Restuffed and recovered two extra wide armchairs,pillows and ottoman
Category
upholstery
Laurie G.
5.0
08/26/2014
I had inherited these two old, well made, super comfy chairs that I loved but they were just really ugly. I was going to get rid of them, and buy new chairs and after shopping for weeks I realized that I couldn't find anything that was nearly as comfortable and well made that wasn't going to cost just as much money, if not more, than if I just had my old, comfy favorite chairs recovered. So I found Harriann Upholstery on Angie's List and went to their shop to find fabric and talk about my project. I knew I was going to be spending a lot of money, and was a little nervous, but Jean, the owner's wife (who runs the shop) was simply wonderful! She asked my budget, if I had animals (evidently some fabrics are better with animals), and when I found some choices she went through them with me to tell me the pros and cons of each. The fabric choice we made turned out to be perfect. If you're thinking about having something re-upholstered this is the place to go! When they delivered the chairs and Bob opened the back door of the truck, I almost started crying. The chairs were completely transformed. Every inch and every detail was done to perfection. This man is an artist - his work is just amazing! I wish I owned more furnture that I could have him transform into more beautiful pieces. I would recommend Harriann to anyone who is looking to have a old piece of furniture brought back to life!
Description of Work
Re-upholstered two large chairs
Category
upholstery

Service Provider Response

Thank you [removed member name]. It was a pleasure doing work for you and a pleasure to meet you. Enjoy your chairs!
Peter J.
5.0
07/13/2014
We have an original 1950s-era Contour (brand) lounge chair that belonged to my grandparents. We'd had it reupholstered in the late 1990s by a company who did not do a particularly good job. As part of a recent move, we wanted to restore this chair for use in our new home. I contacted Harriann Upholstery and had a very pleasant phone conversation with one of the owners, who indicated I could bring the chair in at any time. When we did that, we were given a quote for labor and help selecting new fabric. The price was somewhat high, but not out of line with what we were expecting, and given the sentimental value of the piece, it was not out of the question at all. We were told that it would take about a month to complete, but they finished the work earlier than that and delivered the finished piece directly to our home at no additional cost. We are extremely pleased with the quality of the work and our "new" chair is beautiful--exactly what we were hoping it would be. I recommend Harriann Upholstery strongly.
Description of Work
Restored a vintage 1950s Contour lounge chair to near-original condition.
Category
upholstery

    Other local Pros in your area

    PREMIER SUEDE/LEATHER & SPECIALTY CLEANERS

    We are located in California and do not offer regular dry-cleaning services. Premier is the nation's finest suede and leather garment cleaner. WE PREFER THAT YOU CALL US DIRECTLY WITH ANY REQUESTS OR QUESTIONS AT (949) 244-0943, OR E-MAIL US AT: leathergods@aol.com. IF YOU EMAIL US, PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR TELEPHONE NUMBER. Highly recommended by the finest retail stores in the U.S., including Nordstrom, Armani, Tom Ford, Gene Hiller, etc. Thousands of clients from all over the country who demand the finest quality and workmanship, ship garments to us directly for cleaning, dyeing, and repairs. Other services: purses cleaned and re-dyed, alterations and repairs, re-weaving of fabric garments, and area rug cleaning. Furniture cleaning and dyeing limited to Los Angeles, Orange, and San Diego Counties.  

    Angi Certified

    MINNEAPOLIS WINDOW SHADE COMPANY

    MINNEAPOLIS WINDOW SHADE HAS BEEN PROVIDING PERSONAL, PROFESSIONAL SERVICE SINCE 1914. WE ARE A FAMILY BUSINESS WITH AN EXTREMELY LOYAL CUSTOMER BASE - IN MANY CASES GOING BACK GENERATIONS. WE SERVE BOTH RESIDENTIAL AND SMALL COMMERCIAL CLIENTS - WHETHER IT IS ONE WINDOW OR YOUR ENTIRE PROPERTY. LET US PUT OUR EXPERIENCE TO WORK FOR YOU -WE DO FREE IN HOME CONSULTATIONS AND YOU CAN ALWAYS VISIT US AT OUR SHOWROOM. ESTIMATES ARE ALWAYS FREE AND WE ACCEPT ALL MAJOR CREDIT CARDS.  

    Angi Certified

    Niola Furniture Upholstery Service

    2018 and 2019 Super Service Award winner! Niola Furniture Upholstery Service is the furniture recovering service that you can trust in Minneapolis, MN. At Niola Furniture Upholstery Service they specialize in custom furniture, furniture repairs, upholstery services, and furniture restoration services. So when you're looking for a unique upholstery job or to repair that perfect piece, call Niola Furniture Upholstery Service in Minneapolis, MN. We will pick up your project at your home and delivery when finished for any project $500 or higher.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Antiques
    Furniture - Custom Made
    Furniture - Sales
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Furniture repair, recover & refinish, custom window treatments, bedding, pillows, cushions & slipcovers.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Harriann Upholstery

    How is Harriann Upholstery overall rated?

    Harriann Upholstery is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Harriann Upholstery open?

    Harriann Upholstery is open:

    Wednesday: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Harriann Upholstery provide

    Harriann Upholstery accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Harriann Upholstery offer free estimates?

    Yes, Harriann Upholstery offers free project estimates.

    Does Harriann Upholstery offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Harriann Upholstery does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Harriann Upholstery offer a senior discount?

    No, Harriann Upholstery does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Harriann Upholstery?

    Yes, Harriann Upholstery offers warranties.

    What services does Harriann Upholstery offer?

    Harriann Upholstery offers the following services: Furniture repair, recover & refinish, custom window treatments, bedding, pillows, cushions & slipcovers.