Goodfellows Landscapes

About

Founded 2001 • With Angi since November 2006

Something that makes us unique is that the owner is on site at all jobs. We know how important this is to our customers. Goodfellows Landscapes is your hardscaping specialist with a focus on retaining walls, Natural Stone patios and walls, outdoor kitchens, water features, pondless waterfalls,

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Verified Reviews

4.9

(60) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

53

4

3

3

1

2

3

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

hardscaping (54)stone & gravel (8)mulch delivering (8)drain pipe installation (5)lawn & landscaping (24)Patios (16)lawn care (5)tree service (1)masonry (1)
Showing 1-25 of 60 reviews
5.0

01/13/2021


Carole C.

Al came out and gave us a bid. It was low to midrange but he was by far the most knowledgeable. He was easy to work with, personable, work done promptly and stayed within bid. Cannot say enough good things about this company. Also very knowledgeable about water - redirection, irrigation etc.

Description of Work
Regrading, drain tile, rock install

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, pavers, gravel, drain pipe

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2021

5.0

10/06/2017


Reed G.

The entire team at Goodfellows took our vision and made it a reality. They were timely, hard working and came in right on budget. Al and his team were responsive and communicated well throughout the process and continues to check in on the progress of our project (seed growth, watering, mowing, etc). We highly recommend Al and the team at Goodfellows!

Description of Work
We used Al at Goodfellows to remove a naturally landscaped yard. The project included grading a mounded portion of property and replacing most landscaped areas with sod/seed to create a family friendly yard. We also had Al and his team create a natural edge mulch bed along our fence, clean up overgrown planting beds and remove some worn stairs to replace with a rock wall. The rock wall was an add on once the project was underway and Al and his team we able to provide options to keep the additional work cost effect and tied in with the rest of the yard.

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2017

5.0

07/19/2017


Tisha K.

Excellent quality job, excellent customer service, an all around excellent experience

Description of Work
paver patio

Category hardscaping

Cost $4,050

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/12/2017

5.0

10/14/2016


Jeremy L.

It went really well. Al and Corey are both fantastic to work with. I moved into a house where the yard was in rough shape. I talked to several different landscaping companies and decided on Goodfellows after the initial meeting. Al had such great suggestions for tweaking the design and thinking about the project, that I knew I would regret it if I chose someone else. The customer service is really good. Many contractors I have worked with are almost impossible to get answers from, but Al was always on top of everything I asked. The install team worked very hard and took great care when working close to the house to ensure nothing was damaged. We are very happy with the work that was done and would definitely recommend Goodfellows, without reservation, to anybody considering a landscaping project.

Description of Work
Complete yard overhall for a SWMPLS lot. Fix grading, add clay brick patio with utility pad, grind out large stumps, add planting beds, fix retaining wall, and seed the yard.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2016

5.0

09/23/2016


Jeff B.

They were fast and efficient. The work was completed in under 3 days and the quality went beyond our expectations.

Description of Work
Added a 16'x22' paved patio and moved our sump pump drain in our backyard

Category hardscaping

Cost $6,345

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/06/2016

5.0

10/18/2015


David K.

Quick response to our inquiry; punctual for the appointments and to begin the project. Very professional and engaging. Al offered several great ideas and matched our project cost to our budget. Plan was to cut down all the weed growth on our cliff of a hill, spray everything with weed killer, cover the whole area with dormant seeded crown vetch which would germinate with the spring thaw and retake the hill with a solid ground cover. Unfortunately there is a crown vetch shortage so we are paused after phase 1. We will resume the project in the spring when hopefully the seed product is available.

Description of Work
Cut down our hill all the weed growth. Phase 1

Category lawn service, hardscaping

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2015

5.0

10/02/2015


Marc F.

Goodfellows was great to work with! They were always very responsive and clear in their communication. The cost was significantly less expensive than other estimates we received. The work was done on schedule and turned out great in the end, despite running into some unexpected issues due to the need to level out or yard, which was more of a slope than we originally thought.

Description of Work
The deck in our backyard was torn down and replaced with a paver stone patio. Then, sod was put down in the yard to replace areas that had previously been mulch.

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2015

4.0

05/06/2015


Wendy H.

I have been hesitant to write this review because I think Al and his team were tremendous people: punctual, honest, hardworking. I think they also did a pretty good job, but there is one thing that became clear to me soon after the job was done. I had asked--very clearly--for new, high quality growing soil. I have poor quality clay soil and things don't grow well in it. I was so clear that I wanted tons of new, high quality soil (which I paid for) to replace the clay (or be on top of the clay. I thought I received that, but I admit that I did not monitor every aspect of the job. Within several weeks of the job completion, previously planted perennials and bulbs started flowering. This would have been impossible had the soil been replaced, as some had quite shallow roots. Throughout that first gardening season, with the new landscaping, it was clear I had my old crappy soil. I did not contact Goodfellows to give them a chance to make it right, so that's my problem. Overall, many things worked out well: people worked quickly, they were pleasant, and they followed the design that I provided. I think the price we paid was on the high end (the $13,000 does not cover all the materials), but the job was big, involving half of our urban front yard. I don't know if corners were cut on the soil, but I had been emphatic about wanting a high-quality soil, so I was so disappointed when I clearly did not get it. . I am not sure if I would hire them again (one can only indicate YES or NO on the Angie's review). I think, like so many vendors, they have strengths and weaknesses.

Description of Work
Landscape front yard (small urban yard): installed chilton retaining wall, bluestone path, large north shore rocks, berns, etc.

Category hardscaping

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2012

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], with plants and bulbs coming thru the soil weeks after install can happen with construction turning up the soil, only way to avoid in use a kills all on all plant materials weeks before install. I do wish you had contact me on the new soil/old soil issue, would of been corrected. With our Minnesota weather freeze and thaw every winter soil pushes up, without excavating at 12 inches of existing soil, this will occur. If I remember right you had old trees roots in ground and also working on to save existing evergreeens along property line. I always encourage clients to call me if anything isn't right or just a question. [Member name removed] you were easy to work with, I would work for you again, thank you for the business! Al Rott, owner
5.0

05/01/2015


Allisyn D.

The project went very well. Al was very transparent from the beginning and always communicating. I still reach out to him for questions and he responds promptly. Good guy and a good business.

Description of Work
Installed a retaining wall with boulders. Installed drain tile to solve the water run-off issue. Regraded our entire lawn, brought in black dirt, seed and erosion mats.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2014

5.0

02/28/2015


Barbara W.

Al and his team are excellent to work with from the design stage, through installation and invoicing. They are knowledgeable, respectful and just all around great guys. They actually came in under the estimate so they watch your budget closely and only bill you for the actual items and services they provide. I would highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Entire front yard and new walk way

Category hardscaping

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2012

5.0

10/07/2014


John B.

It went very well. They did what they said they were going to do; now it is draining well and the new grass has come in very well. They came back after the initial work to follow up and reseed.

Description of Work
Changed the grade of a low area adjacent to a driveway to allow it to drain out; reseeded the area and put on an erosion mat.

Category hardscaping

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/11/2014

5.0

08/14/2014


Barbara R.

I did not use the service because it was not appropriate to my needs so, I GREATLY appreciate that they did not waste my time and let me know right away and advised me of the refund option.

Description of Work
.

Category landscaping

Cost $49

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2014

5.0

08/06/2014


Colleen S.

I'm giving Goodfellows Landscapes an A for scheduling and showing up for the appointment promptly. Al was very friendly and professional, when it was discovered there was a huge discrepancy in what he provides and what the "Big Deal Advertised", he promptly apologized for any confusion. He said this has happened with other customers and I should contact Angie's List for a refund. I'm giving Angie's List a big fat D for not changing the Big Deal Description to prevent other potential customers from experiencing this unnecessary confusion, for giving me the "run around" and placing me on hold for an unnecessary extended amount of time, and for wasting Goodfellows' and my time. The deal's title was $49 for Landscaping/Hardscaping Evaluation and Plans Plus $250 Credit. Based on the title & description, I would expect a "Plan" of some sort. Goodfellows was very honest stating they do not provide Plant (Landscaping) Plans. If Angie's List would simply edit the description to omit Plans as being provided in the deal, it would be so much simpler!

Description of Work
.

Category landscaping

Cost $49

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2014

5.0

06/16/2014


chris B.

Went exactly as planned. Easy to work with and all dates met.

Description of Work
Installed a patio and walkway in backyard, removed sod in front yard on slope and installed large boulders and wood mulch.

Category mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

Cost $5,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2012

5.0

06/14/2014


mark C.

The project went well. Corey and Al were responsive to a few issues that came up during the work time and addressed them. The only issue that wasn't addressed is that there could have been more river rock delivered, because the end of the pond liner was showing in the front of the garage. Our project was done so late in the year that we really didn't have time to address this before it snowed. We had to buy more river rock in the spring to make it look better. When I asked Goodfellows if we could get more river rock through them, they said I could buy it myself at Bachman's. I didn't dock Goodfellows for this, but I would have been happier if they had gone out of their way to make sure we were satisfied with how the job looked this spring.

Description of Work
Removed landscaping along side of garage, regraded for better drainage, installed pond liner and covered with large river rock, also rebuilt walkway with flagstone.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2013

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], my bad, I thought you were wondering where I purchased the rock? I would of dropped some rock off for you, thanks for your business, al rott
5.0

05/28/2014


David S.

Alan came out in 2012 and gave me some honest suggestions. We connected again in 2013 and decided on how to proceed. The work was scheduled for August 2013 and completed in a few days. Both walls are holding up very nicely now.

Description of Work
I had two retaining walls that were not built correctly in 2007. Alan's crew re-built both walls using the correct methods.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Cost $6,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2013

2.0

05/08/2014


Erica A.

I learned that Angies's list created this "coupon" to have him come out and take a look at my landscape. He said that if I had called him directly, he would not have charged me anything, since he was not a designer, or an arborist. He is an installer, who can follow the plans of a designer. He did not give me a plan, design, or any real ideas. He was a good, honest, hardworking, reliable person, who could probably competently install a detailed plan put together by a designer or hardscaper who does all of the "thinking". After buying several of these "coupons" from Angies's list, I have learned my lesson. Contact the contractor directly. Ask what they are actually going to give you for the Angie's list special and make sure they are going to get fairly compensated for their time. I paid $50.00 and the contractor who took his time, gave me the best advice he could, and in the end got paid nothing from Angie's list. And I have a list of professionals that I have to follow up on by myself. In the future, I will never buy any more "Angie's list specials" before contacting the contractor directly. It is a waste of my time and money and the contractor's time and compensation. TOTALLY FRUSTRATING!!! This relationship needs to be "win" "win", not Angies's List "wins" and contractor "loses", and customer "loses". Angie's List: You need a unbiased review!

Description of Work
He came out and looked at my property and attempted a multi-phase rough-idea to deal with the issues with my landscape. He gave me the name of several companies (arborists, designers, hard scapers) to help) me deal with my landscape over several years. The referrals were worth more than his time.

Category hardscaping

Cost $50

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2014

Service Provider Response

Angie's list makes the the 50.00 dollars, we don't get any money from the consult. I recently corrected angie's list that we don't do landscapes designs. Thanks for your time, al rott
5.0

11/03/2013


Marcy M.

Al helped plan a landscaping project involving flattening a hill along one side of our driveway. He suggested a couple of solutions considering the entire cost of the project, not just his portion (for example including the cost of hauling soil vs. regrading vs. repair work to a sprinkler system). We also worked out a plan where we could relocate some of our natural stone wall. He told us he had a month's work ahead of ours, which was a bit of a bummer since we would have preferred the work to start sooner, but the work started on schedule. The work was completed quickly and was exactly what we wanted and agreed to. They solved our driveway problem!

Description of Work
Landscaping, removing of soil.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Cost $950

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2013

5.0

08/26/2013


DEB B.

The Goodfellows team was so pleasant to work with. They were very considerate of the neighboring property owner and went above and beyond my expectations. They finished the job in two days and in addition to a beautiful retaining wall and patio, they left the lawn in better condition they what they found it. I wasn't expecting that.

Description of Work
Removed timber retaining wall and replaced it with VersaLock stone wall. Also installed a paver patio.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2013

Images

Review for Goodfellows Landscapes - 6845 13th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN - 6694735

+1 More

5.0

08/08/2013


ANTHONY C.

Al seemed very knowledgable when he came out to meet with me. He quickly saw the slope and drainage issues that my yard has, and offered up a design that would resolve them. He also looked at the plants in the area and discussed how to minimize damage to the surrounding landscape. He followed up with a quote quickly. We got quotes from several contractors. Ultimately, we decided to hire another company for this work. It was not an easy decision. We went with another company that was able to do the work without a bobcat in our small, urban yard.

Description of Work
Al came out for a consultation on: -150 sq foot low deck demolition -Design/install 300 sq foot paver patio with a stoop and 22' capped retaining wall -Dig up and reuse clay paving stones as edging, approx 40' length We did not hire Goodfellows Landscapes for this work.

Category hardscaping

Cost $8,200

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2013

5.0

07/09/2013


Todd R.

Al, Corey and their team exceeded our expectations. The patio/backyard looks awesome. I was actually out of town as they finished the project. I got home after they had completed the project and I couldn't believe the transformation of the backyard from where it was when I left. From the start Al/Corey were great to work with. Al had a ton of suggestions on what would and wouldn't work in regards to the new patio/back yard. I greatly appreciate their attention to the details. A few things had to change as the project started and Corey did a great job of communicating with us as to what and why needed to change and had great suggestions on what to do. Would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Goodfellows installed a new blue stone patio/walkway, fon du lac planter bed, regraded/sodded backyard, and installed new drain tiles and pipe to move water away from house.

Category landscaping, lawn service, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/21/2013

5.0

06/09/2013


MARTHA D.

I got three bids for the retaining wall. On price, Goodfellows came in the middle. I was happy with all the bids I received - I thought all were fair and actually, they weren't that far off from each other. However Goodfellows (Al) was the only vendor who talked about the best way to preserve the health of a huge maple tree whose roots were most likely running through the space where the retaining wall was to go. Al suggested using boulders, an idea I actually loved. Boulders could be placed around any roots that would be exposed, and less of the ground would have to be excavated behind the wall because there was no need for gravel backfill. Weather postponed the project several weeks (snow!), but as soon as the weather was cooperative, Al's team came to install the wall. They demolished my old wall, plus tore down a fence that was sitting on top. They also took out a freestanding basketball hoop that I never used. They used very large boulders in a single row and curved the wall around a parking pad. Behind the boulders they placed landscape fabric to hold the dirt. They also poured a bit of concrete around the boulders to fill in some spaces between the bottom of the boulders and the cement parking pad. They also replaced some concrete steps with stone steps - wider than my previous steps. Then they used some pavers that matched some existing pavers I already had to join up the new steps and a walkway to the backdoor of my house. One nice surprise - they cleaned up so nicely and also hauled away some extra brush that I had stacked in a corner of the yard. They left the area so clean, and ready for the next contractors I had hired to install a fence on top of it. The wall is beautiful and looks so natural. I am very, very pleased. The whole job took about a day and a half.

Description of Work
They demolished an old retaining wall and fence, and installed a new retaining wall.

Category hardscaping

Cost $4,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/03/2013

5.0

11/07/2012


Richard & Alane C.

Bid was timely. Price highly competitive. Work professionally accomplished, and worksite thoroughly cleaned. Overall, a highly satisfactory experience.

Description of Work
Replaced two 5" x 6" timber retaining wall steps and two retaining wall timbers.

Category hardscaping

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/07/2012