Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Custom Construction Services

Founded 2006 • With Angi since April 2011

4.7

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3237 Snelling Ave

Minneapolis, MN 55406

Description

Custom Construction Services is a specialty contracting service focusing on the creation of beautiful hardscapes. We specialize in providing custom concrete & hardscaping designs for driveways, retaining walls, walkways, patios, and water features....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

10/21/2020


R C.

Last minute changes by CCS over handling of mechanical equipment in well room caused uncomfortable last minute changes to front step treatment. Their handling of this situation was extremely poor. Although the concrete work turned out well, the crew failed to cover front windows/shutters with poly and as a result they received a lot of concrete splatter. Because of the need to stay off the wet concrete, this was not noticed till days later and was left for us to clean. In addition, we discovered 12-15 pieces of large size flagstone buried under the dirt and seed of an area that needed to be reseeded. (The need to reseed was not the fault of CCS) We remain suspect that there are many more pieces of flagstone under the areas where their original seeding was successful.

Description of Work
Tear out, replace and enlarge concrete sidewalk, paver placement on steps over well room and removal of large flagstone area and repair with black dirt and seed

Category concrete repair,hardscaping

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your feedback. We would be happy to help you with your project, please contact us at your earliest convenience.
2.0

07/03/2020


DEBORAH R.

Awful. Too painful to go into detail. Work was sloppy, didn't last, rude customer service. One thing I do feel obligated to share is that when there is warranty work (work that the company admits needs to be repaired), they require you to sign something saying everything else is fine, and that you won't review them. Took me an entire summer to talk them out of that provision. I now have a cracked step but I'm going to live with it rather than having to deal with them again. (Step had already been repaired and they assured me it would be fine, but it wasn't).

Description of Work
New sidewalks, new stoop, and steps

Category concrete repair,masonry

4.0

09/30/2019


brittany S.

CCS came in and ripped out all the old concrete (stoop, steps and sidewalk) and replaced - all in one day! The new stoop looks great and so do the new, wider steps. Basing just on quality of work, I would give this company an A, however long story-short, they never pulled a permit (in my city this is required for concrete work attached to the foundation of your home). After much back and forth, they finally pulled the permit and paid for it. For potential customers, make sure the permit is written into your bid to avoid a ton of hassle.

Description of Work
Rip out and replace concrete front stoop, and steps to driveway.

Category concrete repair

1.0

05/29/2019


Timothy H.

I contracted with Custom Construction Services in the Autumn of 2017 to install a concrete walkway and driveway. The install took place in October of that year. After the Winter of 2019, I noticed literally hundreds of indentations on my driveway. Almost the entire driveway and sidewalk is covered with these unsightly divots also known as pop-outs. These will only get worse over time. I contacted CCS in early March and inform them of this problem. They came out and took pictures. From this point onward CCS has been almost indifferent to this problem. They make promises about an alleged new driveway replacement but they never follow thru. Their current fallback position is that they are testing the concrete. These so called tests have been going on for almost 2.5 months. They are constantly giving me the runaround; perhaps they just lack the resources to back up their work or there are more lucrative opportunities to follow up upon first, but whatever the reason, CCS attitude has been indescribably unprofessional. So, look at their pretty pictures that they put on their website and elsewhere, but if you encounter quality issues, do not expect them to respond in any meaningful way. I have made every effort to extend them more time but I am now compelled to take legal action as they refuse to commit to a replacement. Fortunately, my job only cost $6500.00 but if you're contemplating an elaborate project I would look elsewhere. Good luck!!

Description of Work
Concrete driveway and walkway

Category concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

A
5.0

07/26/2017


Mary B.

The team was very efficient, open to requests, willing to place other boulders in other areas of my yard.

Description of Work
We had wood retaining walls replaced with boulder walls.

Category concrete driveways,hardscaping

Service Provider Response

We're so glad you're happy with your new boulder wall, [Member Name Removed]. We strive to give our customers the best experience possible. We're happy to help you with whatever you need, even moving some boulders around your yard. Thank you for the review!
5.0

10/04/2016


Lisa L.

very responsive, quick work - overall great to work with. There were many details about transiti areas that didn't get specifically ironed out in advance, a I needed to manage myself with workers on site and make adjustments. Would like for them to pay a little more attention to those transitional details which create a major impact. One of the "stress breaks" is crooked and there is pretty noticeable uneven coloring in one area. Not sure these can be fixed. Those are some specific areas of improvement needed.

Description of Work
Concrete drive and all sidewalks and steps in on small S Mpls property

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we're so honored to have had the opportunity to do your concrete driveway and sidewalks. We appreciate the constructive criticism. Customer communication is a big deal to our company and we strive to do our best. Receiving comments like these only help us learn and make us better. Thank you!
5.0

10/03/2016


Erin E.

The company contacted me quickly to arrange a time to give an estimate. The representative arrived on time and was very pleasant. He looked at my foundation wall and told me that the block was sound, but the mortar was a little weak and would benefit from repointing. He offered that they could do the job, but given that it was only one wall, he thought it was something I could do myself. He did not think that there were any structural or water issues with the wall. I really appreciated his honest evaluation.

Description of Work
Evaluate concrete block foundation wall, possible repair.

Category concrete repair,foundation repair

5.0

02/01/2016


Joe H.

Phenomenal service and quality from start to finish. Have used Custom several times and had the same great experience everytime.

Description of Work
Patio, retaining walls, sidewalk

Category concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

We're so proud that you've chosen to utilize our services multiple times! It was [Member Information Removed] pleasure working on your concrete driveway and stone edging projects. We strive to give the best experiences possible and customer like you prove to us that we're doing our job right! Thank you for your loyalty, [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

10/18/2015


James M.

If you want a professional job, this is your pick. They showed up promptly at 7am and worked steady through the day and completed everything by 5pm. Excellent looking work, good job site clean-up. They took special care to work around a stone garden wall we had installed. Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
CCS removed old walkway and replaced it in the exact same location. Needed fix for bad puddling and ice build-up problems.

Category concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for this glowing review! Being prompt and timely are very important to us. We value every project we receive and do our best to complete the job to the customer's satisfaction. We're so glad you chose us to do your concrete driveway and recommend us so highly, [Member Name Removed].
5.0

08/18/2015


Jennifer F.

It went well. Their representative followed up on all contacts, had helpful design suggestions that accommodated my price range, and they cleaned up after themselves after a very messy job. They also worked very quickly, in and out in two days.

Description of Work
Demolished and removed old crumbling concrete back steps and sidewalk. Replaced same with several improvements.

Category concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Communication and punctuality are just as important to us as making your project your own. We love giving you what you want, but also making sure it stays within your budget. We take pride in every aspect of our projects from initial consult to communication and design; from a timely execution to a quick and thorough clean up. Thank you for your amazing review on your concrete stoop and concrete walkway, [Member Name Removed]!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Metro Chimney & Masonry

    Joe Olson, owner of Metro Chimney & Masonry, Inc., has been established in the Twin Cities area since 1987. He has been established in the masonry repair and restoration business statewide since 1982. Metro Chimney is a Minnesota owned and state licensed company meeting all insurance requirements by Minnesota law. With his staff of trained professionals, there is a combined experience chart of over one hundred years. Over the years we have enjoyed the opportunity to work with thousands of homeowners, builders, and property owners to restore and replicate their deteriorating masonry structures. From chimneys to church steeples to backyard enhancement we do it all. "No job too big or small!" Our success, with a continued support of homeowners such as yourself, has been established on foundational principles of prompt and courteous response, impeccable onsite mannerism, high quality conscientious craftsmanship, culminating with detailed clean up, all at a competitive and affordable cost. This combined effort has earned us a reputation as being one of the premier restoration companies in the Twin Cities. This has been and can be confirmed by highly recognized consumer services such as the Better Business Bureau and Angie's List. In addition, we have dozens of recommendation letters and referrals that we have received over the years. Our goal is to maintain our leadership in the restoration industry through the continued support of satisfied customers like you. We invite you to experience the difference of working with a company that delivers true craftsmanship with high regard to detail on every one of our projects. We take pride in your project and the end result will prove it. Our mission in the community is to maintain a reputation of integrity. To be established as a service provider that produces in every way at the highest levels, one who can be trusted by all. We are challenged in knowing that our continued growth will be determined by our commitment to promoting this exciting industry through educating the consumer and exceeding the highest quality of standards possible. We look forward to adding your project to our portfolio!  

    BRUCE INDUSTRIAL

    In business since 1972 and specializing in smaller scale work. Free Estimates. No subs. Cost determined by job. Leave a message on machine.  

    TK Masonry, Inc

    TK Masonry, Inc. in Anoka, MN has been performing masonry work since 2002 with a wide range of masonry services including chimney replacements and rebuilding, chimney cap services, tuckpointing, fireplace repair and refacing, brick and stone repair, and more. TK Masonry's motto is quality over quantity. Free estimates available.  

    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Concrete, Driveways, Patios, Walkways, Retaining Walls, Basements, Stone, Stamped & Colored Concrete, Water Features

    Services Not Offered

    N/A

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Custom Construction Services

    How is Custom Construction Services overall rated?

    Custom Construction Services is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Custom Construction Services open?

    Custom Construction Services is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Custom Construction Services provide

    Custom Construction Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Custom Construction Services offer free estimates?

    Yes, Custom Construction Services offers free project estimates.

    Does Custom Construction Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Custom Construction Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Custom Construction Services?

    Yes, Custom Construction Services offers warranties.

    What services does Custom Construction Services offer?

    Custom Construction Services offers the following services: Concrete, Driveways, Patios, Walkways, Retaining Walls, Basements, Stone, Stamped & Colored Concrete, Water Features

    Are there any services Custom Construction Services does not offer?

    N/A