Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling

Founded 1989 • With Angi since October 2004

4.8

(46) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4414 17th Ave S

Minneapolis, MN 55407

Description

We have been helping homeowners and commercial businesses in the twin cities, and surrounding metro areas, with their remodeling projects and painting needs for over 20 years.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Erik A.
5.0
06/01/2018
Once again, Colorstyle has provided my family with great quality work at an exceptional price. I first used them about 10 years ago to paint the exterior of my home. It turned out so well that they ended up doing several other houses on my block and the next block up because all my neighbors wanted to know who painted our home. Most recently, I used them to paint some interior rooms, tile, and complete a basement finishing project in a house I was selling, and a complete interior paint job on our new house. They provided excellent advice on economical but effective improvements for selling the house. They just finished removing all the wallpaper and painting the entire interior of our new house to include trim and ceilings and it looks great. They were accommodating of changes we made during the project and quite a bit of missing or damaged trim. They also repaired a damaged ceiling. They were the lowest bid of three we received, and the work was very good. I always recommend them to our friends.
Description of Work
Painted entire interior of new house
Category
wallpaper removal, interior painters
Benjamin G.
5.0
09/26/2016
Extremely well. Scott (and crew) were very responsive, good communicators, and did an outstanding job, including detailed trim work. I would recommend them without any reservations.
Description of Work
Full exterior paint job.
Category
house painters
JOANNE T.
3.0
09/16/2015
When Linda came out to see our yard (a small South Minneapolis one), prior to providing a quote, we showed her the plans from the original landscaping job and said we were trying to get back to something as close to this as possible. She declined to take the plans with her to assist in preparing her quote. We mentioned that the old mulch would need to be taken out, and she said she would instead cover it with landscaping tarp and put the new mulch over it. We pointed out that, because of wear and tear from our dogs, the old mulch would need to be leveled out if it was to be left under the new mulch. The old mulch was not leveled out, and when I called her to complain she came over with the contract in hand, stated that she did not remember ever discussing leveling the old mulch, and that it was not in the contract and so was not something she had agreed to do. She did do a minor fix on a small corner of the yard, but overall the new mulch was just spread over the old mulch as it was. The yard has a rock border as well as a line of rocks in the middle of the yard. The rocks in the middle of the yard were moved and replaced after the landscaping tarp and new mulch had been put down, but the rocks on the borders of the yard were simply covered over with landscaping tarp and mulch with a few rocks pulled from beneath to hold the tarp down. The result was, to us, a very sloppy looking border that we have reworked ourselves over the course of the summer. The landscaping tarp that was put down under the mulch is of two different colors (grey and black) and might be of two different qualities although that is hard to say for sure. We had mentioned a concern with the dogs running in the yard, and Linda assured us that the tarp would be held in place with landscape staples. To us, these staples appear to have been placed very few and far between. Given the price that was charged, we expected a much more finished looking result than was provided. While our primary objective of cleaning up what had become an eyesore was accomplished with the removal of the weeds and the laying down of new mulch, we would describe the overall job that was done in one word: sloppy.
Description of Work
The company was hired to refresh our backyard landscaping. Because of the shade from several large oaks and the fact that we have 2 dogs, grass has never grown well in the yard. Several years ago the yard was landscaped with mulch and rock. This spring it became overgrown with weeds and needed major clean-up and "refreshing."
Category
landscaping
Joseph Q.
5.0
08/27/2014
They were able to start work sooner than expected, and finished everything in just four days. Great communication and discussion of options. Excellent quality of work and cleanup. Couldn't recommend more!
Description of Work
Painted entire house exterior, including trim. Scraped peeling paint from stucco beforehand. Installed a couple of trim pieces where there previously wasn't any or it was rotting.
Category
house painters
mary B.
5.0
07/10/2014
Overall, it was excellent. They were very efficient and very professional. They did a very neat job. They did excellent choices and painting. They were very knowledgeable.
Description of Work
They painted our living and dining room area.
Category
drywall, interior painters
Eric S.
5.0
06/19/2014
Scott and his team were great to work with. They were extremely timely with setting up the estimate and starting/finishing the job. They offered great suggestions on how to get the design I wanted based on the colors I selected. Very efficient and thorough with the actual painting and repair work. Very reasonably priced, too, for the amount of work they did. Would hire them back for other painting jobs in a second.
Description of Work
Full exterior painting including wood siding, trim, soffits, fascia, gutters, doors, and chimney. Also performed minor wood and trim repair where needed, and removed unwanted features on the home (e.g., wire antenna on roof).
Category
house painters
John G.
4.0
01/16/2014
It didn't work, don't think they really understood the problem.
Description of Work
needed a drainage system to keep water from heavy rain or melting snow from draining in basement window. they came out and said they could fix it and put in a drainage line and did minor landscaping.
Category
landscaping
Steven M.
5.0
09/19/2013
Linda and her crew are a great team and very responsive to initial reply to call, quote and doing the work.
Description of Work
Graded lawn to driveway and sodded.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Tom J.
5.0
08/12/2013
Scott and crew were very accommodating...easy to work with. Once begun, job was completed quickly, professionally. Very satisfied with how things went.
Description of Work
Exterior scraping/painting.
Category
house painters
Galen H.
5.0
03/08/2013
We have used Colorstyle before and knew that their quality was excellent. Although their price came in above some other quotes, we still used them as we knew the outcome would be excellent and we wouldn't have issues. They came through with excellent attention to detail and again seem to really know what they are talking about when it comes to different paint options. Scott is also really good at helping figure out the right colors if you ask his opinion.
Description of Work
Indoor Painting
Category
house painters
Phillip N.
5.0
01/04/2013
They widened the driveway area by about 6 inches and filled in the space between the asphalt and the new retaining wall with gravel -- a functional and visually attractive solution. Also, a number of plants we wanted to save adjacent to the top of the retaining wall were dug up and replanted by the Yards of Creativity team during the course of the project. When doing the work, they were careful to avoid disturbing an existing wood stockade privacy fence located very close to the retaining wall. The cost estimate was in line with one other one we had obtained, and substantially lower than another one. We selected Yards of Creativity because of the punctuality and professionalism of the owner, who was very attentive to our needs. She was on hand for all of the work that was performed, and worked as hard as the rest of her work team. The constuction site was cleaned up of all debris. We did have one issue with the concrete work next to the garage, but that was fixed quickly (within a few days) with no hassle. The final price was exactly what was quoted originally. We were quite pleased with the work performed and the end-result is a huge improvement. The VersiBlock "system" appears to be holding up beautifully this winter, and we understand that it is used by the City of Minneapolis on their retaining wall projects, so we expect that our wall will be functional for decades. Also, we were able to install a small wought iron railing right into the steps into the back yard -- another good outcome of the project.
Description of Work
A driveway and apron between our back yard and the neighbor's house had a long concrete retaining wall ((~100 ft. long) constructed decades ago (50+ years). It was falling down and in need of complete replacement. Yards of Creativity removed the old retaining wall and replaced it with a new one made from VersiBlock stones, along with a new entrance to the back yard (including a two-step stairway).
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Catherine H.
5.0
12/21/2012
Excellent. Scott and his guys work very quickly while doing precision work. Excellent communicator, he really listens. And very respectful when explaining why some of my 'brilliant' ideas had some flaws, while making alternative suggestions that turned out better than I ever expected.
Description of Work
Tore out walls and parts of floor, insulated under floor, replaced rotten floor joists, installed new walls that were rotted behind, interior painting, installed light fixtures, etc.
Category
drywall, plastering, remodeling, wallpaper removal, interior painters
Mary D.
5.0
06/22/2012
We had two other bids for the job; both of them came out at over $10,000, and neither of them included any estimate for potential repair work. Colorstyle's price and quality just can't be beat - if you are having your house painted by anyone else, you are paying too much and not getting the best crew for the job - these guys are awesome! They are also licensed contractors so if repairs need to be done they can do it themselves instead of having to hire it out to another company - this is great because it saves time and money.But it isn't just about their pricing - this was the best experience we have had with workers at our home. Scott and his crew are pleasant, friendly, professional and motivated. They take care to explain what they're doing - and why they are doing it - every step of the way. There are no surprises with Colorstyle.I feel as though there just are not enough superlatives in this review - this was truly the best job we have had done by any workers for anything at our home in all of the 14+ years we have lived here. I can only repeat the sentiment: if you are having your home painted by anyone else but Colorstyle, you are not getting the best!
Description of Work
We contracted with Colorstyle on the recommendation of one of our neighbors for painting our two-story home and detached two-car garage. We liked the look of the neighbor's house, and so we decided to hire Colorstyle. The job included some minor repair of wood, caulking, and stucco repair.First, the house and garage were powerwashed and gutters were removed. This took one day. They even included power-washing the deck at no extra charge! They removed all of the storm windows and then put on a coat of primer. Noticing that we didn't have proper venting in the overhangs on one side of the house, they cut some out and added vents to help circulate air in the attic - and give a little relief to our ice-dam problem. They also repaired and added some insulation to a bay window that had been added some years ago by another company and which has been causing an ice dam problem as well.There were a couple of days of rain delay, but the process went very smoothly over all. Scott and his crew took great care not to damage any of the plants in the garden and paid attenton to detail in painting the trim and the storms. They gave great advice in helping us to select the colors for the job - their input turned out to be right on! They finished the job on budget and on time.
Category
house painters
Patricia Kelly H.
5.0
05/11/2012
Scott originally gave a bid on exterior painting of siding, trim, and windows of a 1-1/2 story house and garage. Last year I had 4 painters submit bids and Scott's was the lowest. I got his name from 2 work colleages who were both very pleased with his work. So, I gave him the bid last fall. As these things go, once the job began this spring it expanded to include replacing more cedar siding boards than expected, rebuilding the rotted out pillars supporting a porch roof, and re-doing the color after one side of the house was nearly finished! The entire process-with delays for 21 days of rain--took more than a month. Throughout this process, Scott and Luke and the rest of the Colorstyle team were good natured, open to suggestions / concerns, and provided high-quality workmanship and timeliness. They were always willing to do and quot;one more thingand quot; to improve the appearance of my home. Today I received the final bill and was truly surprised to see how low given the care they have taken with the job. They even cleaned up some bird-poop on my fence which I thought was paint. OK ... there was a little razzing about my not being able to tell bird poop from paint, but they did it!! They're terrific. I've already hired them to do some interior painting this summer.
Description of Work
Exterior painting of cedar siding, trim and windows. Repair and replace cedar siding. Rebuilding of four pillars supporting porch roof. Reflashing beneath new siding boards abutting flat roof over addition to ensure good water protection. Retarring of flat roofs. Installation of new storm door. Painting mail box.
Category
house painters, interior painters
Erik A.
5.0
10/02/2011
These guys are real painting pros. They know the right products for each kind of job, and how to apply them properly. They painted the exterior of my house over four years ago, and it still looks great (no easy feat on a 90 year old house with who knows how many layers of old paint on it). Scott was very helpful with color selection and we constantly get compliments. In fact, they have now done five other houses on my block, since everyone was asking me and quot;who did your paint?and quot; All the other houses look great, and the owners are all very satisfied as far as I know. I recently had them do a few interior rooms with plaster walls that needed some repair, and one room where I had them hand apply a textured finish. Again, Scott was very helpfull with color choices, and the job was done on time, under budget, and looks great. I will only use these guys for painting!
Description of Work
A few years ago I had them paint the exterior of my house, which included the foundation, stucco walls, and all the wood trim and original double hung windows, as well as a few minor repairs to the foundation skim coat and retrofit drip edge along the roof. More recently, they painted my upstairs rooms and did some plaster repair.
Category
house painters, interior painters
Galen H.
5.0
09/21/2011
Scott was responsive, very helpful in selecting colors, and did an excellent quality job without leaving a big mess at the end.
Description of Work
Repainted several rooms and ceilings in our house.
Category
interior painters
Jill L.
5.0
07/01/2011
Scott managed the process and we couldn't have been happier with his work. Our house was transformed! Colorstyle was VERY meticulous and paid such close attention to detail. They kept us informed throughout the process, paid attention to our budget and was fun and easy to work with. We had quite a few things going on at the same time and Scott managed it for us. He made sure all of the work was being done correctly and when we had issues with our window contractor, he helped figure things out with us and came back after the job was done to check in on everything. The painting is amazing. Our house has changed from an uninspiring boring stucco house to a stand-out house that has received so many compliments! People have stopped us to tell us that our home has been restored to the original beauty it was! We are thrilled with the color choices, the overall service we received and the cost. I would HIGHLY recommend Colorstyle and wouldn't hesitate to use them again for future work!
Description of Work
We hired Colorstyle to paint our exterior (stucco) home, trim, doors, garage, replacing trim for our front sunporch area and generally oversee and coordinate the other contractors hired for gutters, windows, etc.
Category
house painters, sunrooms
Carl S.
5.0
09/30/2010
It was a 1st class experience. Very knowledgeable, proffessional and helpful providing information to make decisions. Excellent workmanship and very reasonable price.
Description of Work
Painted stucco, trim and base of house. Repaired and painted steps to front entry way.
Category
house painters
Jon S.
5.0
09/24/2010
I called Linda and she came to my home. She viewed my backyard and made a proposal. Then, she and her work crew came and did an excellent job.
Description of Work
A yard of mulch was delivered to my home. Previously, Linda helped with a landscaping design for my backyard. She did an excellent job as did the people who worked with her. The work was great, she was very helpful and personable. I liked her work ethic so much that I call her now for things like mulch delivery etc.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Jennifer M.
5.0
06/29/2010
Scott was very prompt and professional. He gave us great advice and completed the job in both the time and the budget he specified. I would definitely use ColorStyle again.
Description of Work
Painting of entire first floor including kitchen as well as many of the baseboards and doors. Ceiling patching, plastering and painting.
Category
plastering, interior painters
TRISHA K.
5.0
12/22/2009
Don't let Scott's relaxed style fool you, he (and his team) know what they are doing. Our house is three stories, was built in 1889, with an exterior that is both brick and wood clapboard, shingles, trim, molding, etc. Where there is wood there is a lot of detail which all had to be hand patinted. There were already four different colors on the house which we thought we liked, but we took Scott's advice to change up the colors and couldn't be happier. He said once he was done we'd see more detail in the architectural features of the house, and he was absolutely right. He helped us pick colors, and talked us through his ideas for what we might do on the house. I appreciated the time he spent making sure we understood what he was planning to do. Even though we always agreed with his plan, and eventually told him we trusted him and he had artistic license to do what he wanted, it was great to be kept well informed. Because Colorstyle does more than just painting Scott and his team were able to take care of any issues that came up along the way (which for us weren't that unexpected, some rotted wood, windows that needed some TLC, etc.) rather than just moving right past them or having to wait for someone else to come deal with the repairs. The "one stop shop" nature of that was fantastic, and I had as much faith in their work on the non-painting parts of the job as the painting that was done. Overall, I appreciated Scott's forthright and easy going personality. He really knows his stuff, I trusted him and would definitely recommend him.
Description of Work
Exterior painting including wood repair/replacement and window glazing of a house and garage.
Category
house painters
MARK S.
5.0
10/03/2009
They sent one guy out who had to do a lot of repair and then paint the trim. He was polite, upbeat and focused (and as a bonus listened to his music with headphones). He handled our color indecisiveness with aplomb, on several occasions repainting sample colors.
Description of Work
Repair and painting of the exterior trim and siding of a tall old stuccoed house.
Category
house painters
DIANE W.
5.0
09/29/2009
She was prompt, clean, and gave great service! I had her back last week because a few shrubs didn't make it, and she replaced them. She has good follow up and I am very pleased with my experience. I would highly recommend her.
Description of Work
She did landscaping and new shrubs in my yard.
Category
landscaping
autumn W.
5.0
09/30/2008
They did a great job, and in fact I already did hire them again for a second job. They did the job in the time frame that we agreed upon, and they even worked after hours, so that it did not interrupt my normal business.
Description of Work
They painted the first floor of my business. It was approximately 1400 square feet.
Category
interior painters
Greg B.
5.0
05/14/2008
Excellent. Not only was painting performed expertly, the company provided additional advice and work on the porch that brought out the historical details of the house. Also, as their name suggests, they provided outstanding guidance on color selection and color blending. Their work completely transformed the house and we have had an overwhelming response from the neighbors (and my wife, which counts the most!).
Description of Work
Painted exterior of house and modified porch.
Category
decks, house painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Kaufman Sheet Metal & Roofing Inc

    Kaufman Roofing has been in business since 1930, working in the Twin Cities and surrounding neighborhood. With the peculiar nuances affecting roofs in the Twin Cities; varying roof types (slate, tile, wood shakes, metal, & flat), harsh weather conditions, and seasonal extremes, our experience is invaluable. Our philosophy hasn't changed since we started doing roofs in Minneapolis, St. Paul, and the surrounding areas nearly a century ago.  

    Angi Certified

    Mr. Mow Lawn Care

    Mr. Mow was created in 2001 to provide a high quality lawn care service at a reasonable rate. I am the owner/operator and take great pride in my work.  

    Angi Certified

    L & R Suburban Landscaping Inc

    We are a design & build landscaping company. Our facility is located in Minnetonka and is staffed daily Monday through Friday to assist you with your landscape needs. We schedule on site estimates at your home with the owners of L&R to accurately identify your landscape needs, wants and challenges. You will receive a written proposal that identifies various application costs and a design may be created for your review depending upon the scope and scale of the project. Whether you are looking for a complete renovation, an addition of a few key elements in your landscaping or a new home landscape installation, we have the skills, knowledge, and ability to do it all. We coordinate your material selections and project manage all installations. Your landscaping project will be a positive experience and will completed with outstanding results! Please view completed projects on our website.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Remodeling. Painting - Interior & Exterior. Concrete - Pouring & Repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling

    How is Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling overall rated?

    Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling open?

    Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling provide

    Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, PayPal

    Does Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling offer free estimates?

    Yes, Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling offers free project estimates.

    Does Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling offer a senior discount?

    No, Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling?

    Yes, Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling offers warranties.

    What services does Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling offer?

    Colorstyle Painting & Remodeling offers the following services: Remodeling. Painting - Interior & Exterior. Concrete - Pouring & Repair.