Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Classic Furniture Refinishing

Founded 1977 • With Angi since August 2007

4.7

(35) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9153 Davenport St NE

Minneapolis, MN 55449

Description

Cost determined by the job. Ask about our Angie's List discounts.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Mark W.
5.0
11/08/2016
An excellent job of refinishing. The set suffered from hard use and it was returned looking like new. The table is large and heavy so we appreciated the pick-up and delivery service (provided as a standard service). All given deadlines were met.
Description of Work
Refinishing of 40-year-old oak table with two leaves and four arm chairs.
Category
furniture repair
Jeremy J.
5.0
04/13/2015
Great service, great quality, great price! The work was done on-time, for the price quoted and the quality was EXACTLY what I was hoping for. I would use this company again without hesitation!
Description of Work
Refinished Dining Room Table
Category
furniture repair
Dale D.
5.0
03/01/2015
It was a great experience. This was my first time using someone recommended from Angie's List. We found Classic Furniture remodeling to be very good to work with. They gave me an estimate over the phone, which was very reasonable. They performed the work on the date as promised. They got me my table back quickly, which I appreciated. The quality of the work was excellent. I would definitely use them again and would recommend them to others.
Description of Work
refinished a wood kitchen table
Category
furniture repair
Jeannie B.
1.0
02/20/2015
They picked up the drawers on Jan 8. Called them in early February as I had not heard anything from them. Got a hold of them and made arrangements (stay home from work) to have the repaired drawers returned and put in the dresser. They came back, put the drawers in, and tacked down the drawer glides (tacked is key). The first time we go to use the drawer it comes untacked and the drawer falls down, again. Called them back, that night. They said, "Yeh, I thought that might happen." Made arrangements for them to come back the night of Feb 17. Hurried home from work, only to be stood up - no one showed up. Was not happy, so called and left a message that night. Have been calling every day, since, but no one has called back. My guess is that they have their money and have no intention of returning my call. I paid $95.00 and did not get what they said they would do. I would never recommend this business for repairs.
Description of Work
More like, what didn't they do. Needed 2 drawers for a dresser fixed. Front of the drawer needed to be glued back on and the drawer glides needed to be fastened down.
Category
furniture repair
Sharon O.
5.0
07/28/2014
They were very prompt and they did a good job. We were very happy with their service.
Description of Work
They refinished some of my furniture.
Category
furniture repair
Glenn S.
5.0
03/07/2014
I am very happy with the good service I received. They picked up my table top as promised on Tuesday and returned it, as promised, on Friday. This 4 day turnaround was beyond what I expected. It looks great and since I had spilled acetone fingernail polish remover on it, the table top definitely needed a makeover. I will certainly recommend them to friends who need this service.
Description of Work
Sanded and refinished a butcher block style oak round table top.
Category
furniture repair
Judith T.
5.0
01/18/2014
You must tell them exactly what you want.
Description of Work
.
Category
furniture repair
Jerome G.
3.0
12/13/2013
They filled the slight delamination cracks at the end of the piece but did not refinish the end. The cracks are still visible. and the finish at the end is off. Likewise, they improved the appearance of the gouge mark in the center but it is still quite visible. The piece has been improved, but I have seen better work done by others.
Description of Work
Rapaired apparent water damage to end of dining table extension piece as well as some minor gouge marks on piece.
Category
furniture repair
Lisa C.
5.0
08/14/2013
Our experience with Classic Furniture was absolutely top notch. Initially we had them reupholster a sofa for us and we were so pleased with the result, we had them refinish a cherry dining room table. Both pieces were done in a timely manner and at a very reasonable price. These were not simple pieces; the sofa had lots of nailhead trim and wood framing...all done perfectly. The table had many scratches, deep gouges and damage from a previous owner's dogs using it as a chew toy. It is now stunning and looks brand new. Thanks to Pat and his son (sorry...his name escapes me at the moment)....we will never use any other company for future refinishing projects!
Description of Work
Reupholstered a sofa and refinished a dining room table.
Category
furniture repair, upholstery
Stacy L.
2.0
06/25/2013
Very disappointing experience after reading all of the good reviews of Classic Furniture. Starting out - it was very hard to get a hold of anyone. Every time I called, I ended up having to leave a message because nobody answers the phone. Upon the initial call back we set up a time for someone from Classic Furniture to come pick the desk up. The day of the pick up - nobody came - and even worse, nobody called. I called shortly after the pick up time came and went, and of course - no answer. I left a message - no call back. I called the next day again - and nobody answered - decided I would save my breath and not leave yet another message. Still waiting a week later to see if anyone will call back - but its probably safe to say, that I'll be waiting for a while. Such a shame too, because I would have been a repeat customer if their service would have checked out.
Description of Work
Provider was going to refinish an antique desk that belonged to my grandmother - but they never showed up for the pick up or called to reschedule so the service didn't happen.
Category
furniture repair
Andrew D.
5.0
07/16/2012
I was pretty happy with the work...I thought they did a good job.
Description of Work
We used this company to fix some cosmetic issues with our doors. They stripped them and refinished them.
Category
furniture repair, doors
Beth H.
5.0
03/28/2012
WOW! What an amazing job they did. I called and they gave me an estimate over the phone. I scheduled a pick up and they came within the time frame. Understanding that refinishing furniture is an art, I told them to take their time and not rush it. Knowing it was a family business, and not some big assembly-line refinishing company, I preferred that they take their time and do a great job than to feel pressured to get it done in a couple weeks. This cabinet has been in my house for years already, so there was no rush to get it back. They said it would take 3-4 weeks. I was out of town when they called my cell phone. I wasn't able to return their message that day, and then I forgot about returning their call. So a week later, when I was home they called again and brought it to me that day! I couldn't believe it was the same cabinet. Not only did they repair the broken legs, they made the walnut cabinet look as good as new. They even fixed the broken door latch, which I didn't even ask them to do. Pat was such a kind man and you could tell he took great pride in his work. I was so impressed that I gave him an old rocker to refinish for me. If you want great quality refinishing with a great price, then I recommend Classic Furniture. This business takes pride in their work and will do what it takes to please the customer. I have lined up a couple more pieces of furniture I would like them to do next. PLUS, they don't charge a pickup fee! Great business. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
Description of Work
Refinished my grandmother's 1930 sewing cabinet
Category
furniture repair
Andrew D.
5.0
02/18/2012
Overall, I was very pleased with the job Classic Furniture performed. They picked up the doors, refinished them, and dropped them off by the time we agreed on. The doors looked very nice when we received them. There was a slight misunderstanding when they first came to pick up the doors and I didn't hear them at the door. I had assumed they would call my cell phone at that point but they left instead. I called back and rescheduled the pickup so it was not a big deal.
Description of Work
Classic Furniture refinished two french doors, matching the finish of existing doors.
Category
furniture repair, doors
Trent S.
2.0
02/13/2012
We were only moderately satisfied with them. It took significantly longer than estimated. We had given out the color to make sure that we got a good color match but what they ended up delivering to me did not exactly match what we had agreed on when it came up there. They were supposed to bring color samples out to my house when they came to pick up the furniture but they didn't. Which is why I had to drive like forty miles the other side of home. It was quite an inconvenience for me because I have two toddlers. I don't think the quality is what I was expecting. The top of our dresser is almost tacky and it looks like they didn't wait long enough between coats to let it dry. I can't even rub a dust cloth across the top of it because the dust cloth is just sticking. The corners are already starting to show and the finish is coming off. Overall I was not particularly satisfied. The price was very good. It took a lot longer for them to get the work done when they said.
Description of Work
I used Classic Furniture Refinishing about four months ago furniture upholstering.
Category
furniture repair, upholstery
Judith T.
5.0
01/06/2012
Classic Furniture is wonderful, and far less expensive than any other refinishers I looked at. The other0 refinishers I contacted would not touch the table because it has a special and unique finnish. The folks at Classic did not blink an eye when they saw the table. However, when the table was complete, I was unhappy with the matte finish. They said no problem, took the table back and applied the glossy finish I had originally specified. I am extremely happy with their work, and will gladly recommend them.
Description of Work
Classic Furniture refinished a table. They picked it up, and delivered it back to me.
Category
furniture repair
Lynn S.
5.0
08/20/2011
Classic Furniture fixed my antique hutch that had a vertical crack up its front leg. The hutch was barely able to support its own weight with the crack running vertically up the leg. They picked it up, fixed the crack, refinished the surface of the front leg of the hutch and redelivered it to my home. They also took the mirror off, took the drawers out, left those in my home and put them back on the hutch upon the hutch's return to my house. They also made sure the hinged doors were tied down with plastic wrap so they would not open in transit. Today I am the only one who knows where the crack is, no one else can tell the front leg was damaged when looking at it now. CF did an outstanding job. I joined Angie's list to find an antique repair company that I could trust and I am so glad that I joined and found this company.
Description of Work
Classic Furniture fixed my antique quartered oak hutch that had a significant vertical crack up its front leg. The hutch was barely able to support its own weight with the crack running vertically up the leg. The hutch is heavy and had been dropped on its leg by the movers that I hired when I moved into my house.
Category
furniture repair
Laurel M.
5.0
06/14/2011
Everything went smoothly. Pat returns phone calls promptly and arrives on time for appointments. They both are friendly and professional. I would most certainly recommend them and am sure I will use them again.
Description of Work
I had an antique four poster bed, headboard and footboard, repaired and refinished. There was a lot of detail work involved. I also had a chest of drawers stripped and stained to match the bed. The woods of the two pieces were different as well as the color. They are quality pieces that had been poorly stored and needed a lot of work to bring them back to their original beauty and Pat and his sone Jamus did an outstanding job. They match beautifully and have been repaired perfectly.
Category
furniture repair
Mary C.
5.0
01/26/2011
Classic Furniture Refinishing responded promptly to my request for an estimate, was able to schedule an on-site evaluation quickly, came on time, and confirmed their initial estimate. They were able to complete the work in about a week and returned the table on schedule. They behaved professionally throughout the process, there were no surprises in the final cost, and the table looks great!
Description of Work
I inherited a dining room table from my mother. There was a section of veneer missing and it was raised in several other spots. There were also a number of scratches. Classic Furniture Refnishing repaired the veneer & scratches and restained the entire piece to a uniform color.
Category
furniture repair
BYRON H.
5.0
01/05/2011
Good experience. I would definitely use them in the future.
Description of Work
We had broken foot board to our bed. They came out to take a look at the scheduled time. They removed the foot board to their shop with no trip charges. It took a little more than a week but the Xmas holidays were scattered in there.
Category
furniture repair
Stuart M.
3.0
11/11/2010
They did a good job on the chest. There was some finish sanding left for me to do but they told me about that up front. The job was originally supposed to take two weeks. They didn't call after two weeks so I called them and the work wasn't done yet. They said they would call when it was done. It was another three or four weeks before they called tell me they were done. The delay wasn't a problem since I wasn't in a rush to get the piece back. But if I had been on a tight schedule I would have been disappointed.
Description of Work
Classic Furniture Refinishing stripped the old finish from a 1950s chest of drawers. The chest had a blonded finish and was nearly impossible for me to remove.
Category
furniture repair
Leslie S.
5.0
10/14/2010
I have a pair of leather barcalounger chairs, one of which was broken. Pat scheduled a trip out to pick up the chair about a week from the time I called. He didn't make it for the first appointment because of a family emergency and didn't call to let me know. However, he more than made up for it by rescheduling and then giving one day turnaround on the repair. Pat came out to the house to pick up the chair, repaired it and delivered it back to my home the next day. Overall a good experience. I would definitely use this company again.
Description of Work
Repair of a broken leather Barcalounger chair. The chair had a broken bolt inside and some of the leather had come loose on the back.
Category
furniture repair
NANCY N.
5.0
08/03/2010
Prompt response to phone call, estimate by phone based on description, price included pick-up and delivery. Picked up when scheduled and returned pieces early. Beautiful finish. I've gotten many compliments.
Description of Work
Removed and refinished kitchen table, 4 chairs, two leaves
Category
furniture repair
Michelle C.
5.0
02/26/2010
I inherited an old antique telephone stand (30's) that belonged to my grandparents. At some point (over 51 yrs ago), the stand was painted an off-white color and that's how I have always remembered it. A while back I tried to strip it but didn't have the patience to work on the paint around the spindle legs, so it has sat in my basement for 10, 11, 12 years waiting to be refinished. I took it to Classic Furniture Refinishing on Friday and got a call the following Monday that it was done. They did a wonderful job. I love it. Am going to take an old rocking chair there to be reupholstered. This was a wonderful experience. I definitely recommend this company.
Description of Work
Stripped and refinished an old antique telephone stand
Category
furniture repair
tom K.
5.0
01/25/2010
They did a very good job. We are very happy with the results. I researched 4 or 5 other companies, and Classic Furniture was more than $1,000 less than other quotes that I got.
Description of Work
They stripped and refinished an old oak dining room set. I have another piece that they are working on now.
Category
furniture repair
Jeff & Tine O.
5.0
04/01/2009
They did a good job on the door and it works perfectly fine. They were quick, fast and efficient. They were also professional and friendly.
Description of Work
I had them repair a door.
Category
doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Niola Furniture Upholstery Service

    2018 and 2019 Super Service Award winner! Niola Furniture Upholstery Service is the furniture recovering service that you can trust in Minneapolis, MN. At Niola Furniture Upholstery Service they specialize in custom furniture, furniture repairs, upholstery services, and furniture restoration services. So when you're looking for a unique upholstery job or to repair that perfect piece, call Niola Furniture Upholstery Service in Minneapolis, MN. We will pick up your project at your home and delivery when finished for any project $500 or higher.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Advanced Furniture and Leather Repair

    We have been providing furniture repair and restoration services in St. Paul, MN and the surrounding area for over 30 years. Our years of experience working in this field has made us knowledgeable about the work and the products. We understand your appreciation for quality furniture and antique pieces, and will repair or restore these valued items to your complete satisfaction. We offer free estimates for our work. You are welcome to bring your pieces to our facility and we will assess the work and material required to get your furniture or pieces to brand new. We also offer mobile service wherein we will go to your location.  

    Angi Certified

    Lee Custom Upholstery Inc.

    Additional DBA: Lee Custom Upholstery Inc. Lee Upholstery has been in business since 1945 at the same location, our business is a 3 generation family owned business. We take extra care with our customers work because we feel that the good will we perform speaks for itself  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Furniture Refinishing

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Classic Furniture Refinishing

    How is Classic Furniture Refinishing overall rated?

    Classic Furniture Refinishing is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Classic Furniture Refinishing open?

    Classic Furniture Refinishing is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Classic Furniture Refinishing provide

    Classic Furniture Refinishing accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Classic Furniture Refinishing offer free estimates?

    Yes, Classic Furniture Refinishing offers free project estimates.

    Does Classic Furniture Refinishing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Classic Furniture Refinishing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Classic Furniture Refinishing offer a senior discount?

    No, Classic Furniture Refinishing does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Classic Furniture Refinishing?

    Yes, Classic Furniture Refinishing offers warranties.

    What services does Classic Furniture Refinishing offer?

    Classic Furniture Refinishing offers the following services: Furniture Refinishing