Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS

Founded 2006 • With Angi since September 2008

4.8

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6106 Excelsior Blvd suite 8

Minneapolis, MN 55416

Description

2016 Marks 10 years in business for us! We love what we do and it shows in the care we take in getting your project done right. It starts with a detailed bid,this is so you know what is included, less guessing from us or you means less confusion. Our goal is to make sure everyone is on the same

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/11/2013


Yohji S.

I was looking to remodel one or two bathrooms in my new house. I had a total of three companies come out and bid on the job(s). Their prices were middle of the road, but of the three who came to bid, I liked A&B the most. They all gave me their sales pitch and itemized prices, but I liked the ideas and suggestions A&B made and he just it just felt like they would do a good job (I suppose you could say he seemed the most trustworthy). I ended up postponing the job because I had higher priority items to tackle first. When I am ready to do the job (hopefully next year), I intend to higher A&B.

Description of Work
I used Attics to Basements Building & Renovations.

Category home remodeling

4.0

06/21/2013


Heather H.

The communication could be better, but so far it has been going okay.

Description of Work
They did a remodel project on our second story.

Category remodeling

3.0

06/17/2013


James H.

I cannot comment on the quality of work nor the pricing for Attics to Basements because they never got back to me with an estimate. Someone came over a month ago to discuss what we wanted done, said they would get the estimate to us within a week, and we haven't heard a single thing from them since. I personally wouldn't consider using this company with the lack of professionalism shown.

Description of Work
Came over to discuss our needs and to write up an estimate.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

I had called and left a message and never heard back -
5.0

04/05/2013


Sue C.

Attics to Basements Building & Renovations were good. They came in and solicited our ideas and made suggestions. When they got done with the kitchen, I loved it. We've had it three or four years. I can't give those guys enough credit. They listen to the owners, incorporate their ideas. They didn't know all the time if things would work, but they tried it and it usually did. Or it didn't work and they set about finding how to make it work. They were willing to think outside the box and did a really good job of it. They were innovative, very knowledgeable and great guys. We spent many, many hours at our dining room table, going over what do you want, what would you like. I used to hate my kitchen, but now we hang out in the kitchen. They paid attention to what we wanted. They had two people who were bidding on the job and one was not listening to what we wanted at all. It's been two years since they did it and I still love it.

Description of Work
They remodeled our kitchen.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

02/07/2012


Debra M.

We started the project in September, 2011 with the demolition. The contractor worked that around our schedule - we were out of town during the demo. The majority of the work was completed in October, 2011 and we could use the bathroom although the shower took longer. There were some delays waiting for inspections that were out of the contractors control. There were some various glitches and delays for marble, tile, etc. All that being said, we are VERY pleased with the end result. The bathroom is beautiful and we love it.

Description of Work
Attics to Basements (Ray Miller) completed a full remodel of the only bathroom in our 1950's rambler. The old bathroom was the original bathroom and was demolished back to the studs throughout - including the ceiling. We replaced the old bathroom with a modern, spa-like bathroom - no tub though. We got a walk-in shower with a river rock tile floor, floor to ceiling marble walls, a rain shower shower head, a handheld shower and a glass wall and door. The bathroom floor is river rock tile and heated. The vanity marble matches the shower walls but in a different texture. The vanity cabinet is custom made and includes a shelving section that reaches almost to the ceiling. The cabinet maker was awesome; they designed and built a medicine cabinet between the wall studs right above the laundry chute. The doors for the cabinet and laundry chute match and create beautiful look.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

01/27/2012


Melissa R C.

Our house and garage were damaged/destroyed by a tornado. Dave worked with us over and above what one might expect from a contractor. Our insurance made more demands, changed their minds and generally made life miserable for almost 5 months before finally agreeing to pay. Dave never wavered in his commitment to us and fixing our home and garage. Once we got the okay, Dave and his team got right to work. Our home, garage, and all the miscellaneous stuff was completed within 5 weeks of receiving the first check from the insurance. Dave responded to all our calls promptly and made sure his team addressed any issues we had, and there were not many of them. All of the team were professional, highly skilled and dedicated to getting us back up and running as soon as possible. We cannot thank Dave and his team more for the great job, professional work and honesty they showed us. Many of our neighbors who also suffered storm damage have commented on the fast, professional job. Several have reported problems with their contractors. I am happy to report, we have had nothing but the best experience with Attics to Basements.

Description of Work
Rebuilt garage, resided the house, re-roofed the house, fixed the fence, removed tree stump. Fixed the ceiling in the family room.

Category drywall, fencing, remodeling, roofing, siding, tree service, garage builders

4.0

11/10/2011


jeneann O.

We haven't had them do any work yet.

Description of Work
We got an estimate from Attics To Basements Building & Renovations for the house and garage. They gave us ideas to remodel the kitchen and to do some remodeling on the garage. It was a possible design for a kitchen remodel and an estimate for the remodeling in the garage.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

2.0

08/03/2011


TIM S.

We had a individual from Attics to Basements out a few weeks after this spring's home & garden show. We liked the person at the home show and who came to our house. We talked over our project and setup a followup meeting, before the person left our house, for a few weeks later to go over the quote. When the date came no one showed up to discuss the quote. Follow up phone calls from us were unreturned. Felt that if the builder did not want our business they could have just called and let us know.

Description of Work
No services performed. This was just for a project quote, see overall comments for reasons why no work was done.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

As owner of the company I am going to follow up on this, although this should not have happened we did have one team member have a few family concerns this spring. I will address the reason your project was not handed off to another team Member. I am sorry your project was handled this way and hope it was a success. sincerely, David Vinje
5.0

03/24/2010


Mary B.

It went very well. We were satisfied with their work on both projects. Their price was very good and I would use them again.

Description of Work
They built a new two car garage two years ago and also redesigned the kitchen last year.

Category remodeling, garage builders, home remodeling

5.0

10/24/2008


Mary B.

David was at our house to give us a bid on a new garage (see separate review). We had recently been hit by a major hail storm and our insurance adjuster agreed that some of the siding needed replacement, but insisted that the roof was fine. David didn't agree and he met with the insurance guy (we hadn't even hired him yet) and showed him the damage and convinced him that we needed a new roof. After we hired him, he negotiated with the insurance company to get all our damage repaired (significantly more than their initial appraisal). He replaced the roof, siding on two sides of the house, screen doors, and put in a new side door. A lot of houses in our neighborhood needed new roofs due to the storm, and I believe the one he installed is one of the better ones since he included items such as a chimney saddle, which I haven't noticed on other roofs. The siding matches perfectly and you would never know that the house had sustained damage. I would hire him again.

Description of Work
Replaced roof on house, siding on two sides of house, screen doors, and regular door.

Category roofing, screen repair, siding, doors

5.0

10/24/2008


Mary B.

David was just terrific to work with. We got a total of five estimates for the garage and his was not only the lowest price, the bid was the most detailed one we received, spelling out all the parameters of the job and listing prices for some options for us to consider. (This was an incredible contrast to one we got that was $15,000 higher in price and basically said "tear down old garage and build new one"). The new garage is very well made and exactly what we wanted. All changes from the original plan were discussed, documented and agreed to.

Description of Work
We wanted a new two-car garage built to replace our existing one car garage. The new garage includes an upper level storage area with a pull down ladder. The old driveway, fence and garage had to be torn out in order to build the new one.

Category garage builders

5.0

09/09/2008


Jim F.

Despite all the hail damage jobs David had, he fit us in and completed everything in a week. Not bad considering Maple Grove required 3 inspections for this type of work.

Description of Work
Our previous fireplace case had water damage and needed to be replaced. Attics to Basements removed the old fireplace, replaced it with a gas fireplace and resided the house so well. It all looks original. The roof line was also rebuilt and shingled.

Category remodeling, roofing, siding, fireplaces

    Other local Pros in your area

    DISCOUNT WINDOWS & WARES,INC.

    Custom windows and patio doors siding, trim, porch windows custom window treatments and draperies mn lic 5587  

    Angi Certified

    Black Bear Builders

    With 20 years of construction experience, this industry is second nature to me. I believe that true professionalism is born from the ability to work your craft with ease - always being a few steps ahead of the game, and knowing where to look for problems before they arise. As comfortable as I often feel on site and at the drawing board, I constantly expect improvement for myself and strive to perfect my work. With Black Bear Builders, you can expect to be cared for and respected as I help you in reaching your goals. Started in 1999, Black Bear Builders offers carpentry and general contracting services. The business accepts cash, check and credit cards.  

    Angi Certified

    Infinite Decks

    Infinite Decks is Minnesota's Premiere Custom Deck Builder! We specialize in low-maintenance, hardwood and aluminum. Our options for decks and porches are #infinite!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Visa, Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    KITCHENS, BATHS, BASEMENTS, ADDITIONS, DECKS, GARAGES, PORCHES, design, accessiblity remodeling, home energy audits, siding, roofing, interior remodeling, exterior remodeling, additions, fire and storm damage, insurance work, flooring, tile kitchens, bathrooms, two story additions, walk out basements, attics dormers, and much more

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS

    How is ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS overall rated?

    ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS open?

    ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 12:30 PM

    What payment options does ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS provide

    ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Visa, Check

    Does ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS offer free estimates?

    Yes, ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS offers free project estimates.

    Does ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS offer a senior discount?

    No, ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS does not offer a senior discount.

    Does ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS offer emergency services?

    Yes, ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS?

    Yes, ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS offers warranties.

    What services does ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS offer?

    ATTICS TO BASEMENTS BUILDING & RENOVATIONS offers the following services: KITCHENS, BATHS, BASEMENTS, ADDITIONS, DECKS, GARAGES, PORCHES, design, accessiblity remodeling, home energy audits, siding, roofing, interior remodeling, exterior remodeling, additions, fire and storm damage, insurance work, flooring, tile kitchens, bathrooms, two story additions, walk out basements, attics dormers, and much more