Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Anchor Builders

Founded 2005 • With Angi since January 2007

5.0

(27) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4045 Vernon Ave S

Minneapolis, MN 55416

Description

Anchor Builders is a family owned design-build firm. We take pride in building quality renovation projects and in establishing relationships that will last a life time. We believe the only way to build and sustain those relationships is by listening to our customers and paying attention to details.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/25/2016


TOM G.

They had other different companies that they work with build the cabinets and stuff that they work with all the time. Like for electrical and plumbing, they have some folks that they work with all the time when they are doing their building. They were the general contractors for the project. I would use them again in future. During the project, we ran in to some problems and they were very good at coming up with alternative solutions to pick from. It was the reason we ended up going with them, we were looking at multiple construction companies at that time. The others threw up their hands but the guys at Anchor came back with solutions.

Description of Work
They did kitchen remodeling, added an additional family room and fireplace. They also did all the carpentry for the construction.

Category masonry, fireplaces, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and it was a pleasure working with you on your project!
5.0

10/26/2015


david A.

.

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

12/11/2014


JOE F.

We are so incredibly happy with our remodel! We are grateful we found Anchor Builders (AB) and Fluidesign (FD), who turned out to be an even more amazing remodeling team than we had hoped we could find. We would trust AB for any future home project, as well as FD if significant design work is needed. We strongly recommend the AB/FD team to anyone doing a home remodel for which design, quality, budget transparency, and strict schedule are high priorities. Furthermore, we consider the people who run these companies (Barak and John Steenlage for AB; Shelly Lindstrom and Carrie Kothlow for FD) to be genuinely good people who care deeply about their clients? satisfaction. Before giving our remodel narrative, it?s worth mentioning that we were fortunate to not have to live through the vast majority of the project as we were living in California for a temporary work assignment. However, this distance also made the project uniquely challenging for everyone involved. AB and FD absolutely rose to the occasion and accommodated us effectively through frequent communication and extensive use of technology, e.g. Dropbox, Googlechat, Facetime, Project website, PowerPoints, countless emails and phone calls, etc. Ok, now the narrative. By late 2013, we knew we were going to move back to our St. Paul home the following summer (2014). We had been considering doing a big remodel project before we moved back home, but were anxious about finding a strong partner that we could trust to not only do the project well, but could also meet the constraints of our schedule and budget. We knew generally what we wanted to accomplish (new kitchen, master suite, new kids? bathroom, fix/replace damaged sun porch roof & walls, finish mudroom, etc.), but we didn?t have a good feel for how much of our ?dream? we could realistically accomplish. With the help of Angie?s List, we found 4 remodeling companies to bid our potential project, all with ?A? grades, but with a large range in the count of reviews. AB brought FD to our first meeting and introduced them to us as a potential partner for the project. AB and FD have collaborated successfully on numerous remodel projects. Initially we were hesitant to pay ?extra? for design support, but we quickly realized just how valuable their service would be. AB did not have the lowest bid nor the highest, but their bid was the best assembled (one of us is an engineer and like lots of details) and they communicated far better than anyone else did. We decided to take the next step with both AB and FD and start in on our project right away. From December 2013 through February 2014, we worked primarily with FD to generate numerous iterations of design plans, each of which resulted in a revision to the project budget and schedule from AB. Throughout this process, FD was incredibly attentive to our tastes and desires, they dramatically simplified the process of making a thousand choices, and they gracefully helped us make compromises to stay within our budget & schedule constraints, while never sacrificing design intent or top priorities. They also were transparent with their design fees, which were done in 3 phases. These probably aren?t the correct phase names, but essentially they were initial design (concept sketches and style alignment), detailed design (approved CAD drawings and plans), and design implementation (close engagement in the build process to ensure the design is properly realized). FD truly served as our surrogates throughout! By late February, we aligned on a detailed design plan, for which AB finalized the bid enabling us to get our necessary financing, sign the contract, make the first of 5 payments, and move forward with the project. Apparently, for the size of our project, going from initial concept bid to final design and signed contract in less than 3 months is rather fast. However, by that point, our move back timing was being solidified, and it was imperative for the project to commence in March if it was to have a chance to be ?move-in ready? by late-July. During the project, we made a few trips back to St. Paul to make key decisions and check on progress, which was thrilling yet stressful given all the moving pieces. Then, literally one day before we were scheduled to move in, our home became move-in ready? one week before the original plan date! We know from our neighbors that AB worked long hours and pulled every string they could to make this happen. As another aside, the neighbors said AB and their various crews were very respectful throughout the process and they had no complaints. Some ?punch list? items still had to be closed out after move-in, which we expected, and we just recently finished the last of those items. Note these punch list items could have been closed out months earlier had our schedule permitted; a hallway wood floor had to be refinished a couple times requiring us to be out of the home for a few days at a time. Overall, the project went about as smoothly as we could hope. A few issues? (1) there were some minor design/build hiccups along the way that required plan tweaks, (2) we would have enjoyed more frequent progress photos (given we were 2000+ miles away, we had an insatiable appetite to see the progress), and (3) there were a few budget surprises due to miscommunication and subcontractor underestimates (we covered some, AB covered a lot). None of these hiccups/surprises lessened our view of AB or FD. In fact, the professional and courteous manner in which they handled each of these situations only bolstered our trust in them. The final result exceeds our expectations. The kitchen is breathtaking with stunning dark stained cabinets and honed granite counters, the den is charming with a fireplace mantle that looks original to the home, the kids? bathroom is classically elegant, and the master suite feels warm and right-sized. Guests have praised the quality of the craftsmanship and how well the new fits in with the old. What a compliment and we couldn?t agree more!

Description of Work
Anchor Builders performed a massive remodel to our three-story St. Paul home (built in 1894) based on a gorgeous, clever, and period-appropriate design from Fluidesign. They gutted / demolished roughly 1/3 of the home encompassing the kitchen, upstairs bathroom, laundry room, and sun porch (including exterior walls and shed roof). Within essentially the same space, they constructed a gourmet kitchen (including new stairs to the basement plus 7 new Pella windows), updated the den with fireplace mantle, new kids' bathroom upstairs, laundry closet, and a master suite with walk-in closet and 3/4 bath (including new gable roof, walls, and 4 new Pella windows). New millwork was installed throughout to match the character of the original home. High quality materials were used throughout, e.g. Kohler sinks, Delta faucets, granite/marble countertops, Alder wood kitchen cabinets, stainless hardware, etc. No finished square footage was added to the home, which is ~3200 finished sq ft.

Category contractors, countertops, decks, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, fireplaces, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review! We really enjoyed working with you on your project!
5.0

03/17/2014


John W.

They were very accommodating because I bought a Big Deal to put in the vents and I paid $300 for that and I ended up not needing that so they put the $300 towards the door. They were prompt and courteous and the person they sent out to do the work did a fine job.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal Anchor Builders to put vents on my roof but they ended up putting a door on my house.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
3.0

11/30/2013


Laurie F.

I contacted this contractor via email specifically outlining the work I wanted to have done. I included my telephone number for a 'call back' to further discuss the two projects. I wanted the work to begin as soon as possible. I was already aware that the cost of the work would range between $4,000-$5,000. I chose this contractor because of their proximity in location to my property near Lake Calhoun and also because of their reviews on Angies List. I received a reply email basically stating that my 'project' was not big enough for them and that a smaller contractor would best to handle my project. I found that response somewhat odd because I had read their reviews of smaller and less expensive projects.. I will add that my project was ultimately completed to my great satisfaction in November by another contractor from Angies List for $4,400

Description of Work
Nothing - didn't want the job..

Category fencing, woodworking

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thank you for taking the time to review us on Angies List. We are glad to see that your job was completed successfully and to your satisfaction. To help shed some light on your review, we unfortunately could not take on your project due to timing and size. Our top priority as a small business is to make sure every project we take on is completed at a fair price and exceeds homeowners expectations. On this particular project we did not feel we could provide you will the fairest price within the fast turn around you requested. Therefore we unfortunately had to politely decline. We hope you understand and again are very happy to hear you were able to find someone to finish your project. Thanks, Anchor Builders
5.0

08/22/2013


Jeanne F.

They were prompt with everything. They were the most prompt than other companies I’ve had estimates with. Because I had given them a budget of $35,000 and he suggested that we consider using a handyman because the job was not big enough and he didn’t think he could do it well enough but he would have done it if I wanted him to.

Description of Work
Anchor Builders gave me a quote to change a door and make a window into the doorway, add a shower to a half bath and move the laundry into the half bath.

Category remodeling, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

06/20/2013


Kyle W.

We highly recommend Anchor Builders. They provided the estimate quickly, started when they said they would, finished when they said they would and the work was done beautifully. I think we've only worked with a few contractors over the years that actually did what they said they would do, and Anchor is one of the best. I am a perfectionist and they put up with all of my changes and never became impatient with me. We got three estimates and they were the lowest. We found them working through an architectural drafter we were using for the design of our house. I really appreciated that they cleaned up the work site every day before they left. Even cleaned messes up that they didn't create! I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Anchor Builders helped us preserve our 1920 cottage on Lake Minnetonka by gutting it, taking out two whole walls, leveled the floors, installed all new windows, built a porch and installed a deck.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! We really enjoyed working with you on your project!
5.0

06/17/2013


Terri L.

They did a great job. We have a townhouse. They took the time to make sure they didn't have drywall dust everywhere. They were punctual and transparent regarding all aspects of the repair. They went the extra mile in suggesting additional insulation and lowering the ceiling in the laundry room to lessen the chance of getting another ice dam. They were efficient and the quality was absolutely excellent.

Description of Work
fixed ice dam damage to utility room, two bedrooms

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review, we really appreciate it!
5.0

05/01/2013


Rebecca B.

Very easy to work with. Very ethical and communicate well.

Description of Work
They did some kitchen remodeling.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you the review and kind words. Anchor Builders
5.0

04/21/2013


Todd A.

I found Anchor Builders through an architect I know who had worked with them in the past. The estimates and the work they did on my house were done in a professional manner. Barak is easygoing and honest, which is rare in my experience with contractors. Their rates were very reasonable, as well. I would recommend them and consider using them again in the future.

Description of Work
Replaced my roof and put up new gutters. Provided estimates for other remodeling projects on my house.

Category remodeling, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review, it was a pleasure working with you on your project!
5.0

04/02/2013


Sandra K.

did the job they were hired to do

Description of Work
Did nice work. Explained why we had the problem and how they were going to correct.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it.
5.0

01/15/2013


Malinde A.

Barak and John were great to work with and we could not have been happier. They were very responsive and were in very close communication with us throughout the project. They were great to work with for our particular project because they were flexible with our plan of finishing it ourselves. They were ahead of schedule and there were no surprises with the final cost. It was great to watch how talented John and his crew were at framing! All of their subs were professional and worked well together. They were trustworthy and did excellent work. We have recommended them to others!

Description of Work
We had Anchor demolish an old rear porch addition and build a 2-story addition with a 400 sq foot footprint- (1200 sq ft with the basement.) They did the excavation, foundation, framing, electrical, plumbing rough-in, hvac, and roofing, and we did the finish work.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and comments! We really enjoyed working with you on your project. From all of us at Anchor Builders
5.0

12/18/2012


KRISTINA H.

It turned out that we did not need the vents. He offered to give us credit towards other work. However, we did not pursue it. We do not need them for service. It was a good experience and he was honest.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for roof vents.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you the review and kind words. Anchor Builders
5.0

12/17/2012


MARISHA C.

The company sent people to diagnose my house roof problem to address the forming of ice dams, and, in addition, repaired the fascia on my garage. The solution for the ice dam problem was an electric wire arrangement that would melt the snow in a problem area. Last winter had so little snow that I never plugged in the roof wire, but a week ago, we got thirteen inches in a single storm. I plugged in the wire and an ice dam did not form, but instead, the problem section of the roof melted and shed snow and ice just like the rest of the roof. Whew! Anchor Builders is a family business. Communication, promptness, and customer service are all excellent. I recommend them very highly.

Description of Work
Anchor Builders sent someone to check my roof for proper venting and to diagnose a problem with an ice dam. I was so impressed with the conversation, which was focused on just what I needed, not on selling me extras, that I asked for an estimate on repair of my garage fascia, and the whole bill was so reasonable that I decided to get it all done. The work was done well, and on time. Excellent results.

Category electrician, roofing, garage builders

Service Provider Response

Thank you for review! We are happy to be able to help you on your project. From all of us at Anchor Builders
5.0

01/27/2012


ROBERTA D.

They were absolutely awesome. They were very nice to work with and they did a good job. The pricing was fair. I can’t say enough about them. They were just fantastic. I would rate them highly and would absolutely use them again in the future if necessary.

Description of Work
I used Anchor Builders to install two new vents on my roof.

Category remodeling, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your taking the time to give your feedback to Angie's List.
5.0

07/20/2011


MB L.

Excellent experience from start to finish.

Description of Work
Very easy to work with. We did the Angies' big deal for roof vents and Barak was very helpful in determining the number of roof vents as well as explaining we would need intake vents as well. Work was done while I was at work on time as promised. Clean up was excellent. Plan to use them again.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your taking the time to give your feedback to Angie's List. We are pleased to have had the opportunity to help you on your project. From all of us at Anchor Builders
5.0

07/17/2011


Brian F.

The work went well. Anchor arrived with a crew of two. They took several hours to complete almost all of the work. Due to needing more material, they returned the following day to complete the work. They were careful about the house and left it in great shape.

Description of Work
Anchor added an additional metal roof, sistered three roof rafters that had split, crossbraced the new and existing rafters, added kickouts on the flashings for our first floor roofs, and checked the watertightness of the flashing around our chimney.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your taking the time to give your feedback to Angie's List. We are pleased to have had the opportunity to help you on your project, From all of us at Anchor Builders.
5.0

07/15/2011


Kathleen N.

Anchor Builders LLC Excellent ! He was great coming out, and great to talk to. When we made need a roof in 4 or 5 years, I am defiantly going to call them to give me an estimate. He was very professional, in fact he even went the extra mile and gave me his opinion on my daughter's roof.

Description of Work
Anchor Builders LLC Got a special from Angie's List, to get a roof done. He came out to give me a quote, it was $6000. He also looked at a house that my daughter, was thinking about buying.

Category remodeling, roofing

5.0

05/31/2011


THERESA G.

Barak arrived on time to discuss the replacement of our deck with maintenance free materials. He was earnest and really wanted to get the job. I think his company would have done just fine although the estimate was a bit high. He said he would be happy to work with the price, but ultimately we chose a contractor who we had been referred to by friends who gave us a better deal.

Description of Work
Estimate

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback and for the opportunity to give you a bid for your deck project!
5.0

04/13/2011


JEFF & KARI K.

Barak & crew were absolutely a pleasure to work with. Minimal change orders, showed up when they said they would, nice to neighbors and up to date with their paperwork. We trust them completely. They even recommended a great finish carpenter for us! Would definitely hire again...no question about it.

Description of Work
Rough framing, roofing, siding, window installation.

Category contractors, remodeling, roofing, siding

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your heart felt feedback on Angie's List. We are pleased to have had the opportunity to help you on your project, From all of us at Anchor Builders.
5.0

03/20/2011


DAVID A.

The company was very accomodating and was able to perform work promptly under short time constraints. I very much appreciated their willingness to work with me on my time deadlines.

Description of Work
Replaced three deteriorating window wells.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the opportunity to help you with your project.
5.0

01/26/2011


RICK O.

Work was essentially completed in one day. The carpenters started to fasten the deck boards with exposed screws; fortunately I was there to point out that the architect's drawings clearly required hidden fasteners. The error was quickly corrected and work was completed as shown on the drawings without questions or hassles. It was fortunate that this oversight was caught early before much material was wasted. Though not called for on the drawings, to the carpenter's credit, all deck boards were single pieces of cedar spanning the full width of the deck, eliminating end-to-end seams and adding to the clean look of the finished deck. The deck was built square and level with good attention paid to even, neat joints and quality construction means and methods. I will certainly call upon Anchor again in the future to look at other projects I may have, as the need arises. Communications with the contractor were good, timely, and friendly.

Description of Work
Anchor Builders built a 12' x 12' cedar deck in the back yard. This deck is not physically attached to the house and as such, did not need code required frost footings. The deck rests on concrete masonry pads on the ground, which helped save money. The deck boards were fastened to the supporting framing with hidden (Tiger Claw) fasteners and there was a "picture frame" border around the deck for a clean, finished look.

Category decks, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback on Angie's List. Please let us know if we can help in the future.
5.0

11/22/2010


PATRICK S.

First and foremost Barak and John are very honest and ethical. Nearly all of their subs were top notch. In a project of this size there will always be issues that come up the real test is how the contractor responds to these issues. Anchor Builders always stepped up to address issues which arose. They were flexible when it came to areas that I wanted to perform. The subs which they use are high quality and fair price of special note are Framing/Roofing Drywall/Paint- Finish Carpentry Tile Electric Plumbing Siding

Description of Work
Anchor Builders performed a complete renovation and addition to house

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, woodworking, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback on Angie's List. Please let us know if we can help in the future.
5.0

08/26/2010


Tonya R.

They provided an excellent finished project. Everything went fantastic, and I have no complaints. They were very friendly and timely.

Description of Work
We had used them for general remodeling.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback on Angie's List. Please let us know if we at can help in the future. From all of us at Anchor Builders.
5.0

05/11/2010


David P.

We met with several contractors to get bids on the project. All were well qualified and one came in a bit lower. While we had initial reservations on how young Barak looked, we soon realized that he had extensive knowledge of the industry, and that combined with his calm and sincere approach to our project were the areas where he gained our trust. He was willing to work with us on a framing basis and they actually began the project ON Labor Day. I was my own General Contractor and have had some experience in this area, but I have to say that Anchor helped me on a regular basis. Anchor's onsite project managers (John & Tim - Barak's brothers), were exceptional. They were friendly, responsive, and it was nice to see cleanup performed each night before they left. They are very hard workers! As happens in every project, there were several change orders, modifications, and add-ons which Anchor handled clearly and without a hassle. The prices quoted were the prices charged. John stayed on top of decisions to minimize delays. The project turned out exactly as we planned it! We have received a huge number of complements on the way it turned out. I highly recommend Barak, John, Tim, and the others from Anchor Builders that worked so h****** our project. In hindsight, I would have been more than comfortable having them General Contract it as well. They were a pleasure to have on the job site and are all around good guys..

Description of Work
Removal of entire 2nd story, framing of new 2nd story including a master bedroom, master bath, spare bedroom, and common area - making it almost a full 2 story. Included framing, sheathing, roofing (shingles), addition of a front porch, including pillars, and cedar ceiling, and building an overhang off of side door. Included framing of a balcony over an existing 3 season porch. Framing included all exterior windows and doors, and railing on balcony..

Category contractors, decks, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your detailed feedback on Angie's List. Please let us know if we at can help in the future. From all of us at Anchor Builders!

    Other local Pros in your area

    DISCOUNT WINDOWS & WARES,INC.

    Custom windows and patio doors siding, trim, porch windows custom window treatments and draperies mn lic 5587  

    Angi Certified

    Black Bear Builders

    With 20 years of construction experience, this industry is second nature to me. I believe that true professionalism is born from the ability to work your craft with ease - always being a few steps ahead of the game, and knowing where to look for problems before they arise. As comfortable as I often feel on site and at the drawing board, I constantly expect improvement for myself and strive to perfect my work. With Black Bear Builders, you can expect to be cared for and respected as I help you in reaching your goals. Started in 1999, Black Bear Builders offers carpentry and general contracting services. The business accepts cash, check and credit cards.  

    Angi Certified

    MEB Enterprises INC

    Construct the yard of your dreams with MEB Enterprises! We are a full service landscape and excavation company ready to help you customize your home landscape from site prep all the way to your dream landscape design! Whether you are looking to add new plants, revitalize your mulch, restore your driveway, or completely redesign your landscape, we can help. We can also supply and deliver landscape materials including mulch, aggregate, and topsoil. We bring our 20 years experience and excellent customer service to help you take your home from an overgrown lot to the finished landscape that will make your outdoor space your new favorite place. We are able to assist you with site preparation including land clearing, demolition, excavation for foundations, driveway construction or replacement with asphalt, stone, or pavers, land grading, landscape design, mulch, stone, planting and more! Our owner is a local firefighter and we bring a service mindset to our customer service. Give us a call to schedule your estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    BC549243
    Trade License Locale
    Minnesota
    Trade License Authority
    Minnesota Dept of Labor and Industry
    Trade License Expiration
    03/31/2023
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Design and build of Custom Additions and Remodels, Story and Half Home expansions and Transformation, as well as Tear Downs and New Home Build.

    Services Not Offered

    Handyman work, Small repair or small remodeling projects

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Anchor Builders

    How is Anchor Builders overall rated?

    Anchor Builders is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Anchor Builders open?

    Anchor Builders is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Anchor Builders provide

    Anchor Builders accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Anchor Builders offer free estimates?

    Yes, Anchor Builders offers free project estimates.

    Does Anchor Builders offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Anchor Builders offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Anchor Builders offer a senior discount?

    No, Anchor Builders does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Anchor Builders?

    Yes, Anchor Builders offers warranties.

    What services does Anchor Builders offer?

    Anchor Builders offers the following services: Design and build of Custom Additions and Remodels, Story and Half Home expansions and Transformation, as well as Tear Downs and New Home Build.

    Are there any services Anchor Builders does not offer?

    Handyman work, Small repair or small remodeling projects