Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Schwickert's a Tecta America Co

Founded 1906 • With Angi since August 2011

3.8

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

330 Poplar St

Mankato, MN 56001

Description

Installation and service of HVAC, plumbing and roofing systems throughout southern Minnesota. Over 40 technicians offer 24/7 emergency service through out our market area. Maintain offices Mankato, Minneapolis and Rochester, MN. Been a leading provider of HVAC and roofing services for over 100 years....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

03/30/2014


Steve C.

All I can say is that I was very dissatisfied with their service. My opinion is that they are unprofessional and I would not recommend them to anyone. When the technician left the system was not operational and I paid an expensive bill.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

11/06/2013


Diane W.

Installation of the furnace was fine. Probably overpriced for labor. They installed a tankless water heater when they were relatively new to this market. It worked fine for the first few years, but we've had a few problems over the years with it properly heating our water. When they've come out to the house to fix it, it seems that they charge an excessive amount of money to assess the problem and then another excessive amount to fix the problem. When we needed a new filter for the water heater, the technician had to and quot;researchand quot; locating the part for the filter because the water heater company had changed names over the years, etc. Well, the technician found the part for us which was $6. Great! However, he charged us for the time he spent researching/locating the part which cost almost $200, plus pay for him to install it! I find that completely ridiculous to charge that much to and quot;researchand quot; a part for a product that they had installed a few years prior! We have since switched to a smaller plumbing company in the area and are very happy with their services. I think now that they are under the Techta America they have gotten to be too corporate.

Description of Work
Over the years they have installed a new furnace and tankless water heater as well as yearly maintenance checks.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

4.0

08/15/2013


Stephen R.

They were prompt and helpful, but because of the nature of our heating system, they were not able to assure us of the results, they gave us a temporary fix.

Description of Work
I have used Schwickert Co for our heating system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/14/2013


Jill S J.

The plumbing was rerouted since the original job done was having exit route too high. It took creative thinking to correct it and the whole experience was great. Same with all other items. The roof was the best suggestion as it proved the damage was minimal and they didn't charge me to review it. Very happy with all their people and technicians.

Description of Work
Rerouted plumbing under my sink where the original contractor did wrong and sink kept backing-up. Furnace and A/C and boiler checked and resolved problem from original contractor. Roof- Inspection and recommendation following hail damage.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, roofing

2.0

07/24/2013


Kelly J.

It was very difficult from the start. Getting them to return calls often took days, the crew's language while working was horrific, poor workmanship, and having them come back to replace one of the many parts we were unhappy with took too long.

Description of Work
Replaced roof/shingles

Category roofing

5.0

05/15/2013


Chris H.

They're just prompt and just they make service in your home.

Description of Work
I have used Schwickert Co for heating and cooling. They put a part in my furnace last February.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

01/24/2013


Dayle and Gena Z.

Zane arrived promptly and set to work for over 3 hours on the boiler problem and did not leave until he was satisfied everything was working well. Very courteous and professional.

Description of Work
Replaced valve on boiler

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/10/2012


Jim W.

n/a

Description of Work
The Schwickert Company has always done an great job. They make sure the customer is satisfied!

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, roofing, roof snow removal

4.0

12/03/2012


Chris H.

Replaced our roof, gutters and spouts. Took about 2 days, overall good had some accidents that they fixed or reduced my bill which was good on my part. Crew arrived when promised but needs to speak more english however. The crew was friendly and did clean up. The office needs to learn to return voice mails though instead of me calling several times to get a hold of someone.

Description of Work
Replace Roof/gutters due to hail

Category roofing

5.0

10/30/2012


Victoria H.

Over the past eight years, Schwickerts has installed various plumbing fixtures in kitchen and bath, re-worked our old radiator system, and installed our central air conditioning unit. In each case, they always arrived on time and treated my home as if it were their own. They clean up afterwards, which I really appreciate. They have good follow-up policies and reminders for maintenance. I have been very happy with their work over the past eight years.

Description of Work
We have used Schwickerts for 8 years for our plumbing concerns, our water radiator heat, and for installing our attic-located central air conditioning unit in our old Victorian home in 2008. They are expensive, but their work has always been excellent and their staff professional, courteous, and knowledgeable. They always take my concerns to heart and have useful suggestions.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

3.0

04/30/2012


harvey H.

Description of Work
Watch out for the weekends and after hours, they will over charge you big time!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/05/2012


Jon H.

They are very professional and very good. They have very good products and very good workers. They take pride in what they do. They installed my radon removal system. Given a job or task, they do it, and they do a good job. They come right on time.

Description of Work
They did an annual service check. They have re-roofed my house in the past and I bought my furnace and water heater from them.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, roofing

5.0

08/22/2011


Richarfd A.

They provided a great service. They followed up and they gave me very good quality shingles. They were very professional. I think that they were higher priced but they gave me the best value which was what I was looking for. The quality of the work was excellent. I was very happy with them.

Description of Work
Schwickert's Company did roofing work for me.

Category roofing

1.0

06/25/2011


Otto H.

Installed furnace and did not hook up flue to chimney, ran for 1 month before I found it. Called about 5 times before they would talk to me. Then they said it was my responsiblity to hook the flue to the chimney. Could have killed someone

Description of Work
Installed furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Viking Contractors LLC

    Viking Contractors LLC Has years of industry experience and professional knowledge restoring damaged roofs. We identify, evaluate, and provide full-service repairs for hail and storm-related losses to get your life back to normal as quickly as possible.  

    Minnesota Valley Roofing & Restoration Inc

    We are a full service Roofing & Siding Restoration Company that specializes in Owens Corning Shingles as a Certified Contractor. We also do Vinyl SIding and Specialize in LP Smartside Sidings & Trims. We have over 25 years experiance in the industry and pride ourselves on always doing the right thing and we never cut corners on any of our Projects. We are a small company and your job will be estimated, sold, managed, and completed by 1 person, from start to finish so nothing gets lost or missed.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    RON BOELTER WINDOW & SIDING

    Roofing, Windows, Siding, Entry Doors, Gutters & Gutter Covers. We will go to any length to beautify your home. "B-O-E-L-T-E-R Boelter Is Better!" Serving southern Minnesota for over 27 year as your premiere exterior home improvement specialists.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential roofing, Commerical roofing, Heating and Air Conditioning installation, HVAC Service and Repair, Roof Service and Repair, 24/7 Emergency Service.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Schwickert's a Tecta America Co

    How is Schwickert's a Tecta America Co overall rated?

    Schwickert's a Tecta America Co is currently rated 3.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Schwickert's a Tecta America Co open?

    Schwickert's a Tecta America Co is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Schwickert's a Tecta America Co provide

    Schwickert's a Tecta America Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Schwickert's a Tecta America Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Schwickert's a Tecta America Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Schwickert's a Tecta America Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Schwickert's a Tecta America Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Schwickert's a Tecta America Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Schwickert's a Tecta America Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Schwickert's a Tecta America Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, Schwickert's a Tecta America Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Schwickert's a Tecta America Co?

    Yes, Schwickert's a Tecta America Co offers warranties.

    What services does Schwickert's a Tecta America Co offer?

    Schwickert's a Tecta America Co offers the following services: Residential roofing, Commerical roofing, Heating and Air Conditioning installation, HVAC Service and Repair, Roof Service and Repair, 24/7 Emergency Service.

    Are there any services Schwickert's a Tecta America Co does not offer?

    Ask for details.