Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers

Founded 2002 • With Angi since May 2013

Midwest engineering consulting firm that specializes in building evaluation services for residential and commercial properties. We have established a professional reputation of integrity, honesty, thoroughness and a commitment to successful project completion that is unmatched.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Projects

Old House Evaluation

structural engineering

202055416
For this house built in the 1880s, we were asked to check the following: i. The stability of the foundation walls and related systems. ii. The cracked parging on the exterior foundation walls. iii. Deteriorating floor supports visible in the basement. iv. A cracked rafter in the attic. Outline a plan to repair the rafter. v. Advice on routing the exhaust for the future high efficiency furnace and hot water heater. vi. Identify whether north/south running east wall of the kitchen is load bearing. vii. Identify whether east/west running wall between the den and the dining room is load bearing.
View project

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Trade License Number
MN-40126, WI-34707
Trade License Locale
Minnesota, Wisconsin
Trade License Authority
State Board of Engineers and Architects
Trade License Expiration
12/01/2022
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(68) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 68 reviews
Elizabeth K.
5.0
11/29/2022
Easy to work with, timely, clear communication. they charged per hour of work when reviewing our architectural drawings, in the end the final cost was less than estimated which was a nice surprise.
Description of Work
Came onsite to review the state of our garage, also reviewed our Architectural designs and provided feedback/actions needed to successfully create an addition above our garage.
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and feedback! We appreciate the opportunity to work with you.
Kimberly C.
5.0
12/20/2020
Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers is a company that stands behind their commitment to excellence. I purchased a 95 year old home six months ago and started to become very concerned after noticing the unevenness of the flooring on the 2nd floor- wondering if it was a structural issue. I was just sick to my stomach thinking that my life savings went into the purchase of home that may have issues that could not be corrected. I started looking online for structural engineers in my area and stumbled across Criterium-Schimnowski - so glad I did! Paul came out to my house (on time!) and listened closely to my concerns. He did a very thorough examination of the house and then gave me a summary of his findings before leaving. The next day, he sent a detailed written report of what he found, and how to correct the issues he found. While Criterium-Schimnowski is a bit more expensive than other companies that do this work - you get what you pay for. I would highly recommend this company!!! Peace of mind is so worth it!
Description of Work
Structural evaluation
Category
home inspection, structural engineer

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate the opportunity to help you. Thank you for working with us.
Chris L.
5.0
08/10/2020
My project went great! I was considering the purchase of a very old duplex from a family member but had some concerns about the structural integrity of the foundation walls and some floor joists. Kenton took his time going through all the areas of concern, getting pretty dirty in the process as the basement had not seen a broom in some time! He documented everything, taking pictures, and I left him to it for a few hours. After he had taken his time we had a discussion about what was happening and what was likely to happen. He was able to reassure me that nothing was on the verge of failure. He did note a few areas where action was needed soon and gave me a very detailed game plan for dealing with these areas. I received a written report a little over a week after his visit which laid out what should be done with pictures. I am very happy with the work and I'm sure that I will be referring back to the inspection report for some time after I close on the purchase.
Description of Work
Structural evaluation of old home
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

This was an interesting and challenging one. I'm glad that we were able to provide you with some useful information. Let us know if we can be of service in the future. Thank you!
Antonio R.
5.0
05/14/2020
Kenton was very professional, mindful of current health conditions, and extremely informative about the process.
Description of Work
Review and determine structural status of proposal site for rebuilding our garage.
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide this nice review. We are happy to have been able to help you.
Jackie C.
5.0
05/11/2020
The best money we've spent on our home has been the inspection we had with Criterium-Schimnowsky firm! Kenton Spading has a solid background and provided unbiased suggestions for improvements. In addition, to his professional engineering background, he was pleasant and explained concepts in laymen's terms. We would highly recommend these services.
Description of Work
Home inspection with specific concerns regarding foundation
Category
home inspection, structural engineer, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your great review. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us - and we agree, Kenton is a key member of our team! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
Chinh V.
5.0
04/15/2020
I was very fortunate to receive a same-day appointment with Steve Eberly and he even arrived early! Steve was thorough and informative with the limited visual inspection I had requested. He understood the urgency of my situation and was able to expedite the report later that afternoon. I will definitely use your services again in the future and recommend to friends and family.
Description of Work
Structural inspection
Category
basement waterproofing, structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the great review. We enjoyed working with you!
Toua X.
5.0
02/11/2020
Excellent would recommend. Very informative!
Description of Work
structural evaluation
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate the review and the opportunity to help you on your project. Thank you!
Sean F.
5.0
12/23/2019
Paul and his company were great to work with! I hired them to provide opinions on multiple structural changes to our house (removing/moving interior walls, removing attic trusses, and replacing a window/single swing door with a sliding door). Every step of the experience was smooth and efficient, from scheduling the appointment, having the inspection, receiving answers to my questions, and obtaining the final report. You can tell Paul generally cares about his clients and wants to help them find solutions to their problems. I will definitely hire them again in the future for any structural needs. Thanks!
Description of Work
Removing/moving interior walls, removing attic trusses, and replacing a window/single swing door with a sliding door
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate the time you took to provide a review. Thank you for the opportunity to help!
LEONEL L.
5.0
09/13/2019
The engineer, Steve Eberly, arrived early and worked quickly but thoroughly to inspect the areas of concern that I had. He discussed his expected results and recommendations on sight with the caveat that the report would be the official result. The report was sent to me within days and was thorough and as expected. Excellent service and promptness.
Description of Work
inspection of structural support that was showing wear.
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review! This is great to hear. We are very glad to have been able to help you.
BAO V.
5.0
07/11/2019
Steve came to check out one of our properties built in 1888. He was very knowledgeable and solution driven. He took his time to inspect the problems and was very thorough. He laid out different options for us, and made sure we understood why the recommended repairs were needed. Even explaining how the process of fixing the structure of the house would be like. Steve and his company were very responsive and prompt. I would definitely work with them again!
Description of Work
Inspection of current foundation and structure
Category
home inspection, structural engineer, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great feedback! All of us here at Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers truly appreciate it.
Rachel S.
5.0
05/20/2019
Steve was fantastic. He clearly explained everything, was very thorough and answered any questions I had. Would definitely use them for any future remodeling questions!
Description of Work
Structural review and report
Category
remodeling, structural engineer, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! We try to work hard everyday with great clients like you to provide professional, quality services.
Dean P.
5.0
11/25/2018
The inspector was on time and through. He walked through the space with us as he went and showed us what was important to watch and essential and nonessential repair recommendations. He made sure to explain everything throughly in person and in the report.
Description of Work
Basic Structural Inspection
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

I'm glad that we were able to provide you with some valuable information about your home. Let us know if we can be of service in the future. Thanks!
PAUL G.
5.0
11/21/2018
Quite well. The engineering firm, Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers, was easy to deal with and I was able to get an appointment that was only a few days in the future. On the day of the appointment, the engineer was on time, professional and highly skilled. The inspection report, including detailed repair instructions, was sent only a few working days later.
Description of Work
Home inspection by a PE, specifically a damaged I-joist in the basement.
Category
home inspection, structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your feedback. Great clients like you make us love what we do.
ROD L.
5.0
09/10/2018
Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers promptly replied to my inquiry. While they weren't able to assist with my current needs, they were very helpful and recommended two other engineers, one of whom we selected to go forward with.
Description of Work
Structural Engineering Consultation
Category
structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thanks, [Member Name Removed]. I'm glad we could be of service, even if we weren't the right people for the job.
David F.
5.0
03/17/2018
Great. Paul offered quick communication, came out and wrote up a thorough report with recommendations to address the issue. Saved me 15,000 in unnecessary repairs that a local basement repair place suggested.
Description of Work
Investigate water intrusion problem
Category
home inspection, structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thanks, [Member Name Removed]! While many contractors are very reputable, we are there to provide an unbiased, professional opinion on what, if any, repairs are required.
Laurie W.
5.0
10/18/2017
He performed a thorough inspection and provided a written follow up of findings and suggestions.
Description of Work
Evaluate retaining wall structural integrity.
Category
structural engineer
Nathaniel B.
5.0
10/04/2017
Went well. Showed up on time. Very knowledgeable. Walked me through what he found. Produced a plan in a timely manner.
Description of Work
Paul Schimnowski assessed the state of my home's concrete garage structure, identified the issues that required repair, and produced a plan for repairs.
Category
structural engineer
Mike C.
5.0
05/08/2017
Good, report was written up which is what I was looking for.
Description of Work
Reviewed house foundation for what might have caused the frost heaving.
Category
structural engineer, foundation repair
Courtney P.
5.0
02/02/2017
Great--very helpful and informative. Paul told me what to watch for going forward.
Description of Work
Assessment of my basement
Category
structural engineer
Susan H.
5.0
07/13/2016
Great job. reviewed and gave information for entire structure
Description of Work
review structural integrity of cement floor which is the ceiling of a room below it.
Category
structural engineer
Christine H.
4.0
02/26/2016
I was contacted today by the provider. He was very apologetic and immediately sent out a detailed copy of his report, with many pictures and explanations of the problem areas. He offered to answer any questions I had. This is what I was hoping for, but in a more timely manner. It is possible that there was a miscommunication between us. He believed that the report had been sent in a timely fashion, but I never received it. I could have contacted him directly, but did not. For that I apologize.
Description of Work
He came out, measured and inspected,in November 2015, said he would write a report after some time to think about the project. He was very punctual in response to my request for service.
Category
structural engineer
Ellen L.
5.0
02/11/2016
Great work. Will consult again.
Description of Work
inspected walls and foundation
Category
structural engineer, foundation repair
William H.
5.0
01/01/2016
Paul arranged a meeting within the first week of contact. We went up in to the attic and reviewed the engineered truss system. He analyzed the system and provided us analysis. This was useful prior to selecting a remodeler.
Description of Work
Reviewed engineered truss to determine if we could vault the ceiling.
Category
remodeling, structural engineer
Marjoe M.
5.0
12/30/2015
Engineer was prompt and very professional. Answered all of my questions (as well as a ton of questions from my realtor) with patients and complete professionalism.
Description of Work
Structural Inspection of home.
Category
home inspection, structural engineer
Tom C.
5.0
11/04/2015
I paid Angie?s List on 6/12/2015 for a special on an evaluation of my house by a structural engineer, Paul Schimnowski of Criterium, in the event. I contacted him not so long after, but summers being what they sometimes are, I didn?t ask for his services until late August or early September, when he was prompt to perform the Visual Structural Inspection, which involved going over my house from top to bottom, inside and out. The house has two stories, substantial attic, basement. After the inspection, Paul talked with me about what he had found, and on September 11 he submitted a very detailed report including photos of various features (some in need of repair) that he was reporting on. I learned a lot about my house?which was 100 this year?that I hadn?t known before, notwithstanding that I have lived in it for 47 years. He also called things to my attention that I had been aware of at one time but forgotten about. I found Paul easy to work with and totally dependable, and the inspection and report were well worth what I paid for them and more.
Description of Work
Performed a thorough Visual Structural Inspection of my house and provided a detailed report on his findings.
Category
home inspection, basement waterproofing, structural engineer

Phone

Address

161 Dunbar Way

Mahtomedi, MN 55115

Other Information

Services offered

Residential Structural Evaluations. Foundation Evaluations. Load-bearing Walls, Deck Evaluations, Home Inspections. Retaining Wall Designs & Evaluations (Residential and Commercial).

Services not offered

We don't do the repair work. We'll help you figure out what, if anything, needs to be fixed. Then, we can consult with your contractor while they are completing the actual repairs.

Covid-19 update

We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check

FAQ

Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

Yes, Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers offers free project estimates.

Yes, Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers offers emergency services.

No, Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers does not offer warranties.

Criterium-Schimnowski Engineers offers the following services: Residential Structural Evaluations. Foundation Evaluations. Load-bearing Walls, Deck Evaluations, Home Inspections. Retaining Wall Designs & Evaluations (Residential and Commercial).

We don't do the repair work. We'll help you figure out what, if anything, needs to be fixed. Then, we can consult with your contractor while they are completing the actual repairs.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Best Option Restoration of St. Paul

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Best Option Restoration of St. Paul

Best Option Restoration of St Paul is committed to serving you and your family no matter the disaster. Our team is chalked with experience, knowledge, and the equipment necessary to make sure your home is recovered and restored.  

Call Us 24/7 at (612) 331-4454 For Immediate Response. No Matter the Size of the Water Damage Cleanup, We Have You Covered. We pride ourselves on our personal commitment to each and every client. When you call us, it’s like you called a family member because we treat every job like it was our own home or business.  

Innovative Basement Authority

5.0

(38)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Innovative Basement Authority

Innovative Basement Authority, founded in 2005, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. They currently maintain offices in Fargo, ND, Rush City, MN, and Minneapolis, MN. Innovative Basement Authority is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.