Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs

Founded 1999 • With Angi since December 2002

3.7

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

25376 Xkimo St NW

Isanti, MN 55040

Description

Getting rid of any unwanted household junk, construction material, or both? A-1 provides dumpsters for contractors, homeowners, or those do-it-yourself specialists! We will provide you with a clean, driveway-safe dumpster. We offer 10, 15, 20, 30, and 40 cubic yard dumpsters for rent. A-1 roll off dumpsters come in user-friendly sizes of 10, 15, 20, and 30 cubic yards. Our skilled drivers can roll off a dumpster onto your driveway, placing it as conveniently as possible to minimize the number of steps needed to carry trash to the container. Concerned that the rollers might scuff your driveway? We'll be happy to cushion the delivery with plywood. Additional phone - (763) 244-3808....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/23/2022


JOHN Z.

Didn't drop-off at the time requested. Didn't pick-up at the time requested. Didn't call ahead before dropping off as requested. Didn't confirm via email as requested. Didn't call to confirm my order verbally - I had to call them. I talked to the manager - Denny - 5 days before drop-off, he said "No problem". I called him again the morning of drop-off and he said again "No problem". Called him again two hours later, and was told "He went home sick, we're not going to drop off anytime close to the time he just promised". No explanation, just "Not going to happen". Got a hit on my credit card the day BEFORE drop-off for $519.79. No explanation, no invoice, nothing. Apparently, NO ONE EVER PAYS $395 as advertised, there are ALWAYS additional, unspecified fees and charges that do NOT appear anywhere on their website, even in the fine-print, and are never explained.

Description of Work
Needed a 10-yard dumpster to clean out a garage. I entered my order on-line via their web site 6 days prior to requested drop-off.

Category hauling services, dumpster service

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We're sorry to hear you're dissatisfied with your dumpster rental. After taking a look into everything it looks like you requested a morning drop off, we don't guarantee delivery times due to driver routes and potential delays. Danny did in fact go home sick around 9:30am on Wednesday. We do charge for the dumpster the day prior to delivery. On our website it does state "this is the base price. It doesn't include applicable taxes, fees, or any possible extra charges incurred in your rental. See terms and conditions for more information.". You were also emailed our dumpster rental agreement and payment receipt on June 21st at the email address you provided when placing your online order. You paid for taxes and fuel as well as the cost of the dumpster which is why the total cost for the dumpster was $519.79. The dumpster rental agreement also states "***Pick up dates are not necessarily the day your dumpster will be gone, please allow some flexibility in the driver’[Member Information Removed] schedule to be in your area, this may take several days from when it goes on the pick- up list.***". On our webpage under FAQS in our terms and conditions it details pick-up information and extra charges. Thank you.
1.0

04/05/2019


Aaron S.

A1 was subcontracted to provide a dumpster for the project. After the project was complete, the 2019 winter snow kept anyone from getting a truck to pickup the dumpster. On one of the first spring days (3/20/19), despite road restrictions A1 came and dutifully picked up their dumpster, but left ALL several tons of garbage all over the driveway. Despite having paid $600 for the dumpster they said I had not paid, and that's how they like to treat their customers. Rather than calling me and asking me to show proof of payment, they snuck in while I was at work and with out a call dumped an entire 20 yard dumpster all over the driveway. By far the worst service provider I have ever dealt with. Would highly NOT recommend.

Description of Work
A1 delivered a dumpster for a construction project.

Category hauling services, dumpster service

1.0

04/05/2019


Aaron S.

They brought a dumpster after I had paid for it. In the middle of the project they came without notifying me and dumped a full dumpster of garbage in the driveway and left with their dumpster. They claimed that is what someone told them to do. A criminal service whose owner hasn't a clue on how to treat customers much less make things right after making mistakes.

Description of Work
I needed a dumpster delivered for a remodel project.

Category hauling services, dumpster service

5.0

05/09/2018


Andrea L.

Great! We had a big clean up project. We filled one dumpster. They were out quickly to pick that up and replace it with a second one very quickly. With their help we were able to complete our project in a week. They did great placing the dumpsters just where we needed them in spite of the icy streets.

Description of Work
Used two dumpsters

Category dumpster service

1.0

08/19/2017


kyle K.

They delivered a 20 Yard dumpster anyway. They blew me off on the phone and said just fill it half way and they would refund the difference in price. They never refunded the difference. Upon delivery they tilted up the dumpster and dumped paint down the driveway. The paint in the dumpster was not from my job site. They failed to properly wash out the dumpster before delivering it. The owner came out, apologized, and gave me the okay to pressure wash the driveway to remove the paint. He got there promptly. We had a heated discussion about what happened, but when I showed him photos of the dumpster, informed him that his driver already took the dumpster full of paint away and brought a new one, and place it away from the paint, so it could be cleaned up, he took responsibility for his companies action. He gave me the go ahead to clean the driveway, and agreed to pay me to do so. I dealt with this issue from 8 A.M. till 1:45 P.M. I charged them $250.00. I have photos of everything. The driver and owner witnessed it. I did not sign there waiver stating that there not responsible for any damaged to property prior to setting the dumpster or after. I still have not got my refund or been paid for me services.

Description of Work
I needed a dumpster. I originally ordered a 20 yard dumpster and was charged for it. Two days before delivery I called and requested a 10 yard dumpster instead. At this time I told them if they couldn't deliver a 10 yard dumpster then refund my money and don't deliver one at all. My reason for this is because 20 yard dumpsters side are to high to through things into, and were the dumpster was supposed to sit, we couldn't open the back door. The dumpster was delivered on a Monday. I called the Thursday before and requested the smaller one.

Category hauling services, dumpster service

1.0

03/30/2017


Xiaoqiao W.

I used the company twice. The second time was not good, so this is my last time. They were late to pick up the dumpster as they promised. The contact person was not polite and charged me extra fees according to their fuzzy policy. I argued, but the fees were already taken from my credit card. Will not recommend to a friend.

Description of Work
Rented a dumpster

Category dumpster service

2.0

11/18/2016


Robert H.

Very little was explained on the phone when rental was set up. When driver arrived he explained the additional costs to my wife. Since we were under a deadline we had to go ahead with the rental. Afterwards when I complained about the lack of communication regarding rates the representative said that the person that set up the original rental should have told us about the additional charges. There was no attempt on their part at reconciliation. I rated the quality as fair because when the dumpster arrived it had not been completely cleaned. There appeared to be some drywall residue left from a previous job. It rained after delivery and the sludge prevented the dumpster from properly draining. In addition I was very clear as to when the dumpster was to be removed from our property as we were closing on the property the following day. This was noted in the contract. I called the day before scheduled removal to confirm. It was still there in the afternoon of pickup day and I called again. Representative stated that I would be put on the asap list and it would absolutely be removed by 6pm. It was still there the next day. I called again and although I had other things to attend to I sat in the driveway until the driver arrived. I thought the driver was very professional which is why I rated them good for professionalism.

Description of Work
Rented a dumpster from them.

Category dumpster service

5.0

11/07/2016


Greg S.

Great. easy on time delivery and pick up.

Description of Work
needed a dumpster for construction debris.

Category dumpster service

5.0

08/26/2016


Lora W.

Quick and Easy! They were very quick about getting us a dumpster. I called on a Wednesday and had the dumpster on Friday of the same week. They removed it very quickly as well, which was great because we had an event going on at the house and needed it gone before then. I called on Tuesday for them to pick it up and it was gone early Thursday morning. It worked out perfect. The customer service was great! Everyone I talked to was very friendly. I called and inquired about dumpster sizes and pricing and they were very helpful and informative. After I reserved a 10 yard dumpster, they called me back before delivery to verify my address, which I thought was very thorough on their part. They dropped the dumpster right where I asked without any damage to the yard. They even checked with me after they arrived with the dumpster to verify they were dropping it exactly where I asked. I'd definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Provided a 10- yard roll-off dumpster.

Category dumpster service

5.0

08/15/2016


Beth J.

I had never ordered a dumpster before and they were so helpful! The person I talked with was so friendly and nice and I felt like I talked her ear off but she didn't mind at all. I had called other places and they were so short with me, so I knew this was the place I wanted to go with! They dropped it off when they said they would and picked it up a few days after we had scheduled (which the lady in the office told me about, because it takes them 1-4 business days to pick it up, so totally knew it would take a few days!) I had put a few mattresses in there and knew it would be an extra charge (because the lady in the office told me during my order and there was a sticker on their dumpster telling me about it) and sure enough a day after they picked it up I got a call from the office saying that there were mattresses and it would be an additional $75 ($25 per mattress), but again, totally knew about that extra charge because they were very upfront about it. I really appreciated that they told me about that right away and that they gave me that call to confirm that they would be charging me that. They were super friendly, super informative, and if I ever need a dumpster again, I'll totally be going with A-1!

Description of Work
Our garage was an absolute mess and we finally decided to do something about it!

Category dumpster service

5.0

08/11/2016


Rick D.

The contact person was very pleasant. She touched all the important points then the drop off and pickup were when she told me.

Description of Work
Got next day service on a 20 yard dumpster

Category dumpster service

5.0

08/11/2016


Jake G.

Went very well was dropped of same day I ordered and was picked up after the 10 day rental period. Friendly staff and drivers were very careful with my driveway. Will use again on my next project.

Description of Work
Have a container dropped off for my demo of my bathroom and picked up when I fill it up.

Category dumpster service

5.0

08/06/2016


Dawn R.

Description of Work
.

Category hauling services

5.0

07/06/2016


Angie K.

I had no idea how to get a dumpster. A1 Hauling was so helpful. They gave me all my answers and were really nice. I met The driver Dan and he opened the door of the dumpster for me and I was surprised that a dumpster could look so clean. I wasn't embarressed of it in my driveway. I will be recommending thus company to my construction worker friends.

Description of Work
Provided dumpster

Category dumpster service

5.0

05/26/2016


Robert H.

The driver did not have the size dumpster immediately available, however he did bring a larger one without delay or extra charge. He also informed me that to call and it would be picked up without requiring my presence.

Description of Work
PROVIDED 10us dumpster quickly and efficiently.

Category dumpster service

5.0

02/04/2016


Kathy L.

Description of Work
They dropped off dumpsters for me

Category dumpster service

2.0

10/23/2015


Chil K.

I needed 15 yards dumpster 10/8/2015 for the cleaning barn and called this company. The lady in the company told me, " We have 15 yards dumpster that will be delivered on the day you need." So, I gave my credit card. On the delibery day, the driver said that it would be delivered between 8 am and 5 pm. We were waiting for the dumpster all day.. I mean ALL DAY!!! It was 5:20 PM they dropped off... Instead of 15 yards dumpster, he brought 20 yard dumpster and said if we put more than 3/4 of dumpster, they will charge more. The driver said we had a week to use it and they will pick up 1 week later(Thursday). That's it. Whatever I asked about the dumpster, he said he was just a driver and asked me to call the company. According to the contract, they should pick up dumpster on next Thursday but I asked to pick up earlier than one week. They refused to pick up. One week later, they still did not pick it up and I called the company to pick it up before our weekend service as the contract said. But she said they would not pick up on Friday because I callled late on Thursday, no schedule on Friday and they closed during weekends. She told me they would pick up Monday or Tuesday.... I explained that we had a short parking lot during our weekends service...The lady alway hung up the phone if I made some complains.... but they finally pick it up on Wednesday... almost 2 wks later since I ordered. Plus, they charge me extra $150 on top of basic price for 15 yard ($350), even though we did not fill up the dumpster. No good customer care at all. I was not happy from the begining to end with his company... I WILL NOT USE A-1 Hauling & Roll offs or All City Container Inc. and will never recommend this company nor deal with them.

Description of Work
Sent 20 yards dumpster instead of 15 yards dumpster. Delivered at 5:20 pm (waiting for all day).

Category dumpster service

5.0

12/23/2014


Heidi I.

We had them here from October until the first week of December. There were no issues with them.

Description of Work
We used A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs. We had one of their dumpsters here for about a month and a half. They just dropped off the dumpster, and then picked it up when it was full and dropped off a fresh empty one. They provided three or four dumpsters.

Category dumpster service

5.0

10/17/2014


Scott M.

We initially contacted them through their web site and they were very responsive with a quote. We called them to complete the rental with our credit card information. They were very friendly and easy to work with. They dropped off the dumpster on time. They took special care to put down 2x6 boards to prevent any damage to our driveway. We contacted them when we were done and they picked it up the next day. The final charges were exactly as originally quoted.

Description of Work
We received a 20-yard dumpster for 7 days.

Category dumpster service

5.0

06/23/2014


Thomas N.

Everything went very well. I chose this company because of availability (apparently the busy season) and the method by which the dumpster is unloaded and unloaded. They were very flexible in scheduling during my patio project, coming early, changing pickup dates, answering questions. Also, their trucks are equipped with a hydraulic arm mechanism to lower or lift the dumpster, rather than rolling, dropping, and dragging the dumpster - much easier on the driveway concrete! It is a family run business, and the quality of communication varied according to who answered the phone, but overall I was very satisfied with their service. I was mindful of their instructions to not overfill the dumpsters, and was instructed to fill the dumpster up to 1/2 full due to the weight of the concrete and clay. This I did, and I had no problems regarding weight limits. The price was in the middle range of providers I contacted. The drivers placed the containers where directed, backing up my long driveway with precision and lowering the container with no damage to my driveway.

Description of Work
Delivered and hauled off three separate loads concrete and clay, each one a 10 cubic yard dumpster, for removing a 14x20 foot concrete patio plus 9 inches deep of clay under the patio..

Category dumpster service

2.0

06/18/2014


Shoua L.

I called on a Thursday and was able to get same day delivery scheduled - which was a huge plus. I requested a 15 yard dumpster but a 20 yard dumpster was delivered instead with the instructions that it only be filled 3/4 full. The delivery guys called before they arrived to clarify instructions on where I wanted the dumpster located. The rental period was a week long and they were able to pick up two days earlier than the original pick up date. Now on to the VERY unpleasant surprise; after pickup I received a voice message that my load was "overweight" and they were going to charge me an extra $50+. WTH?!?!? We made SURE to fill the container only 3/4 full and only with the old shingles and a few other pieces of construction material (wood/ 2x4/ one old screen door) because I had read earlier about another angieslist review on how they were also given a larger container and were charged extra after pickup. Now it makes me wonder if it's a bait and switch deal - quoting me upfront for a 15 yard container and then being charged "extra" after they've already picked it up - as a consumer, how would I be able to argue against whether or not a load is overweight, how is that measured any ways? I expect to be charged a fair price for the container that I need upfront so that there aren't any unexpected charges like this on the back end. Had I known I was going to be charged an extra $50+ because my view of 3/4 full and their view of 3/4 full is different, I certainly would have filled that 20 yard container all the way to the top. Or I would have chosen to be present during pickup to verify that I wasn't going to be charged extra. I called their office to get clarification of these charges and did not get any help at all. The person who answered said she didn't have any information about my order because she couldn't access any of the information and that I would need to call back another time to talk to someone else. What!?!? Wasn't I calling the main office where the orders and records are kept? She obviously didn't care that I was a customer who had a concern. Needless to say, I didn't call back - I don't have time to deal with this and they can keep the extra $50 because I'll call another company the next time I need a dumpster.

Description of Work
Requested a 15 yard dumpster for a re-roofing project. They delivered and picked up the dumpster.

Category dumpster service

Service Provider Response

Our customer [member name removed] ordered a dumpster on a friday which is our busiest day and we were able to get her a dumpster because she really needed it on that day, my driver went to pick up her 15 yard and bring to her but the customer that had the 15 yard was not done with it yet, so all we had left available was a 20 yard that we brought to her so she was able to have the dumpster that friday, we were also able to pick it up as the customer requested, as far as her overweight charge when her dumpster was dumped it was 5.8 tons, so almost 6 tons, our 15 yard dumpster has a 2 ton limit, and our 20 yard has a 3 ton weight limit, [member name removed] was only charged overweight for a 15 yard dumpster ( which she should have been charged 3.8 tons over, but we were trying to help her out and charged her only 1 ton over the weight limit ) We dont appreciate being accused of a "bait and switch" while trying to accomidate our customers, we dont know about any dumpster being overweight until we go over the scales at the dumps, Every dumpster company has weight limits on their dumpsters, if [member name removed] called after hours or on a weekend we do not have acces to anything, again we tried our very best to help her out, as you can see by my response, and do not appreciate being accused of anything like she is claiming, that is totally untrue and unfair and I dont appreciate it. Thank you
2.0

12/19/2013


Nicole F.

The first experience with this company was good. We had called to have them deliver a dumpster on Tuesday, December 3, 2013. We were supposed to get a 10 ft dumpster but they dropped off a 15 ft one telling us we couldn’t fill it all the way since they didn’t have any 10 ft on site. This wasn’t a real issue since we didn’t have that much stuff to throw away. We were mainly getting rid of kitchen debris from a remodel. Just a lot of wood, no steel or appliances. Everything was in the dumpster by the 5th and we waited for them to come on the following Tuesday, December 10, 2013. When they didn’t show up that day we called to see what was going on and to make sure we were not getting charged for the extra days. Their response was that “we were on their list and they would get to us when they could.” Also, it snowed quite a bit throughout the next week which was going to add weight to the dumpster and everything froze inside. We were not expecting to be charged for the weather either. Finally after another week they came to pick up the dumpster on Tuesday, December 17, 2013. The dumpster was less then 2/3 full but had gained a significant amount of snow. Since they were over a week late on picking up the dumpster we were not expecting to be charged for the late days or the snow added. Today, December 19, 2013, we got a phone call saying that the dumpster was over weight and we were expected to pay an extra $27.00 for the weight added. It baffles my mind that they wouldn’t account for the snow and ice and also wave the charge since they left the dumpster sitting in our driveway for a week extra. Finally, after talking to the woman who had called she was more afraid of us talking to a manager (who in turn would talk to her about her lack of customer service) and she waved the extra fee. I wouldn’t use this service again. They were not prompt or professional. For the price we paid we should have received better service then what was delivered.

Description of Work
A1 Hauling dropped off the dumpster and picked it up. No other services performed.

Category hauling services, dumpster service

Service Provider Response

Customer was called on 12/18/13 due to the dumpster being overweight the charge was $27. Customer complained of the late pick up and the snow. Customer Service then apologized for the late pick up and the customer wanted to speak to a manager. At the time no manager was present in the offices. Customer Service told the customer that they will wave the fee for her no problem. Customer then hung up with no reply. The fee was still waved and nothing was charged. The original pick up was 12/10/13 and it was not picked up until 12/17/13. However the work order slip containing the Terms & Conditions was signed. It does state that they understood that the pick up of the dumpster can take several days and that if the dumpster does go overweight at any time during the rental charges do occur. The overweight fee was still waved right away when she stated she did not want to pay for it.
5.0

06/15/2012


John P.

They are very responsive, timely and courteous. The price is competitive and same as everybody else.

Description of Work
We called A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs last Saturday morning because we are remodeling our kitchen and we told them that we forgot and we should have called ahead but we need a dumpster today and if they could bring one. They said yes so we had them since last Saturday and they are coming to pick it up on Monday.

Category dumpster service

5.0

03/19/2010


SUSAN F.

They were the best price and I liked that their dumpsters were taller than the other guys. Everything was delivered as expected. They also picked up early when requested. I recommend them and would use them again.

Description of Work
They dropped off a 20 cubic yard dumpster.

Category hauling services, dumpster service

5.0

12/17/2002


Sarah M.

I THINK THE JOB WAS HARDER THAN THEY EXPECTED BUT TOM DID IT WITH CHEERFULNESS AND OPTIMISM. CAME THE DAY AFTER I CALLED THEM AND WHEN THEY HAD TO RECRUIT MORE HELP, THEY CAME THE FOLLOWING DAY AS THEY PROMISED. THEY REHUNG DOORS THEY HAD TO REMOVE. THEY DID NOT CLEAN UP RUST DUST FROM THE EXPANSION TANK THEY FINALLY HAD TO CUT BUT BY THAT TIME GOOD-HUMORED,CHEERFUL, HARD-WORKERS. I WAS SO GLAD TO GET THE WORK DONE AFTER THE JOB BEING REJECTED BY MANY PROVIDERS THAT I FELT I COULD PUT UP WITH CLEANING THAT MYSELF!

Description of Work
HAULING VERY HEAVY AND AWKWARD ITEMS: SAILBOAT & TRAILER, SAILBOAT,SMALL HEAVY BOAT, 6 FOOT+ EXPANSION TANK, 4 FOOT CAST IRON GAS-FIRED KILN PLUS MISC. ITEMS. REQUIRED NEGOTIATING UP NARROW BASEMENT STAIRS IN OLD HOUSE, COMING BACK WITH EXTRA HELP AND METAL CUTTING SAW.

Category hauling services

    Other local Pros in your area

    Chismar Construction LLC

    If you are looking for a professional to install your roof, look no further. Chismar Construction, LLC, is the name to call. We will provide you with a reasonable estimate and do an amazing job on your roof. Our emphasis is all quality and customer satisfaction! Call us today!  

    Offers by Chismar Construction LLC on Angi
    GreenGuard Construction Inc

    General Contractor focusing on helping businesses and homeowners renovate their properties since 2004. We specialize in Storm Damage Repair and Replacements. Roofing, Siding, Windows, Gutters, Doors and any other item that may have been compromised. We will work hard to ensure you are back to pre-storm condition as quickly and efficiently as possible while providing EXCELLENT customer service. We work with all insurance carriers. Call for a FREE EVALUATION Today.  

    Rojo Roofing & Exteriors

    Rojo Roofing is Minneapolis local trusted roofing contractor specialized in residential and commercial roofing repairs and installations services. We have over 9 years of experience. Our mission is to provide our customers with exceptional workmanship, excellent customer service, and extraordinary professionalism.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Roll-off dumpsters rentals for any projects, car removal, snow removal, stump removal, & rapid rubbish removal.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs

    How is A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs overall rated?

    A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs open?

    A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs provide

    A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs offer free estimates?

    Yes, A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs offers free project estimates.

    Does A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs offer a senior discount?

    Yes, A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs offer emergency services?

    Yes, A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs?

    No, A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs does not offer warranties.

    What services does A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs offer?

    A-1 Hauling & Roll-Offs offers the following services: Roll-off dumpsters rentals for any projects, car removal, snow removal, stump removal, & rapid rubbish removal.