Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Wear Masks and social distance, virtual appointments, exterior only bids available

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Scherer Window & Door Consultants

Founded 2004 • With Angi since May 2007

4.9

(334) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10751 Excelsior Blvd

Hopkins, MN 55343

Description

Scherer Window and Door Consultants is a Marvin Authorized Installing Retailer specializing in the replacement of residential windows throughout the metro area. We are a division of Scherer Bros. Lumber company, a family-owned business since 1930. We focus on the sale and installation of all Marvin
Marvin Ultimate   project
Marvin Ultimate

window replacement

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Kathleen K.
5.0
03/11/2022
Fantastic! All the staff are very professional, courteous, helpful, reliable (including office staff). They have installed Marvin windows before for me, and I've always been pleased with the work. These are really excellent windows and a great company for the installation!
Description of Work
Marvin window installation for two side-by-side windows
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]! It was a pleasure working with you!
Eve S.
5.0
02/02/2022
Perfect! Installers were courteous, timely, conscientious and diligent with their work. Ordering was easy and very good follow up.
Description of Work
Window replacement
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words, you were a pleasure to work with!
Jamie H.
5.0
12/02/2021
Great experience! We had our large kitchen window replaced. Clear communication on timeline, the installers were professional, no issues at all. We plan to use them for our future window needs.
Description of Work
Window replacement
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed], we look forward to working with you again!
Sharon N.
5.0
11/20/2021
Absolutely perfect! We were given dates for each step of the project by our sales rep, Tracy M. He made suggestions for improvements. Our favorite is the awning window in the kitchen. He explained the workmanship of the windows, trim etc. The workers that installed were always on time, very considerate of us and our home. They set up barriers to protect areas as they worked. Each day they let us know what area would be next. They helped us move furniture if necessary. They cleaned up after themselves. They answered all our questions and demonstarted use of the new windows. WE LOVE our windows! We did have the option of doing the job in smaller divisions, but we chose to do the whole house at one time.
Description of Work
whole house window replacement
Category
garage doors, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

This is so nice to hear, We appreciate you working with us! Jami K.
Mike H.
5.0
11/18/2021
It went very well. I read a lot of reviews and got competitive bids before selecting Scherer. They were very professional and the work was top notch; and I am very picky. And, because I was replacing Scherer windows with Scherer windows, it was less than half the price, since only the sash/glass had to be replaced.
Description of Work
All new windows. New front door assembly. Two new sliders.
Category
replacement windows, doors, patios

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for the kind words, we enjoyed working with you as well! Jami K.
Barb N.
4.0
11/09/2021
The Scherer Brothers were on time. The workmen are competent, friendly, and did an excellent job. I would highly recommend them others.
Description of Work
Installed new windows
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], That is so great to hear, thank you so much! Jami K.
Sherra B.
5.0
05/22/2021
We used Scherer Window & Door for Marvin windows in two areas. They were realistic about the timeline to receive our windows, came on time and the install team was polite and tidy. We're very happy with the install.
Description of Work
Window Install
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! We truly appreciate your business!
Ellen P.
5.0
05/18/2021
It was flawless. The team of installers lead by Kevin were professional in every way. I have ordered from Schere Lumber last year and enjoyed the result so much I ordered 4 new windows and a sliding glass door. I requested the same team and was not disappointed. Kevin and Andrew did a terrific job and everything fell into place. They know carpentry and can work through any situation. They are a great asset to Scherer Bros company.
Description of Work
Installation of 4 windows and sliding glass door
Category
garage doors, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure working with you on your project!
Dave W.
5.0
04/12/2021
It went very well. The installers took every precaution to avoid impact on window treatments. We discovered a silicon streak on one window sash and Marvin Windows quickly replaced that sash.
Description of Work
We had seven windows installed in two phases
Category
garage doors, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you on your project. We truly appreciate your business!
Lois S.
5.0
03/27/2021
Scherer Brothers were outstanding. Excellent communication, on time, explained details, clean/neat. We have done multiple building projects over the years and Scherer are the best!!
Description of Work
27 Merwin Windows remodeling project
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate your business!
Mike E.
4.0
03/13/2021
The process of buying and having 7 windows installed with Scherer Windiw and Door was effortless. Their showroom allowed us to see and operate the windows they have to offer. They did all the measuring and installation was quick and easy. The install crew was very cleanly and professional. Their finish work on the interior window trim was perfect. Our overall experience with Scherer Window and Door was great and we would recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
Windows and interior trim.
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you on your project!
Glenn G.
5.0
02/25/2021
Sales representative visited our home twice, first for initial consult & measurement and 2nd time to check all measurements and to sign work contract. Scheduler called and we set date for work within 3 weeks during the dead of winter. Expert installers arrived on date and time and completed entire project in one day (over 10 hrs) and verified that all windows operated properly and that there was no air infiltration plus explained window operation.
Description of Work
Remove original 2nd story windows and install infill windows
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you on your project. We truly appreciate your business!
Pat R.
5.0
02/18/2021
The installations went very well. The crew arrived on the designated day and did their work efficiently and cleaned up afterward.
Description of Work
Window replacements
Category
garage doors, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! We truly appreciate your business!
Elizabeth A.
5.0
02/11/2021
I had a fantastic experience with Scherer. They were incredibly professional and communicative. The entire install team are experienced and very efficient. Jim and Jason talked me through the entire process. They both took multiple measurements to ensure the correct windows were ordered. Everything arrived on time and was installed to schedule!
Description of Work
New windows
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you on your project. We truly appreciate your business!
Ashlee B.
5.0
12/29/2020
It was great! While it's a complicated process, our Scherer consultant was super clear and descriptive throughout all of it. He helped us understand and think about things we weren't considering and was a pleasure to work with! We love our windows and doors. They are gorgeous and we are super pleased with the outcome. Would definitely hire them again!
Description of Work
Replacement windows and doors
Category
replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! We truly appreciate your business!
Brenda B.
5.0
12/14/2020
This is the second time I have got replacement windows from Scherer Window and Door. I did half my window replacement project each time over a span of four years. They did a fantastic job. They kept me informed along the way. Tom was a great consultant. The schedulers were pleasant. The installers were great, they kept the work area clean and got done with the project in one day, rather than the two scheduled. I recommend Scherer Windows for placement.
Description of Work
Window replacements
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure working with you on your projects!
Steven K.
5.0
12/07/2020
A representative from Scherer came out, measured the windows needing to be replaced, and gave us a date the work would be accomplished. The crew of two or three came on schedule and in two days the work was done. The crew was punctual, friendly and tidy. They were knowledgeable and answered all our questions. All debris was removed from the site and the yard was as clean as when the job began.
Description of Work
Replacing 10 windows in our 125 year old house.
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you on your project! We truly appreciate your business!
Dave G.
5.0
12/03/2020
Great team. Would hire them again in a heartbeat!
Description of Work
Window replacement
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you on your project. We appreciate your business!
Roman P.
5.0
11/24/2020
We used Scherer Window & Door for our new front entry door and are extremely pleased with the process and outcome. We chose the Therma-Tru brand door; replaced the the entry door and sidelites; and, upgraded to the DuraTec (never have to paint) jambs and brickmold. Colors are pre-finished Candy Apple (door) and Alpine White (sidelites) outside, Snow on the inside. Our salesperson, Tom A., was knowledgeable and accessible throughout the process when we had questions. When we had a small issue with the installation, the company's response was marvelous! Petra sent expert installer, Jason, a true craftsman and a pleasure to deal with, to remedy the situation. While Scherer is premium-priced, we found them worth the investment. Based on their professionalism, quality of product/workmanship, and communication and responsiveness by the team/company, we offer our highest recommendation and would gladly work with them again!
Description of Work
Replace front entry door and sidelites
Category
doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! We truly appreciate your business!
Sara B.
5.0
11/21/2020
We would highly recommend Scherer. They were professional and helpful from our initial consultation through the install process. We never felt like we were getting a sales pitch, and we always felt that our sales consultant was truly listening and giving advice based on what would best fit our needs. The install process could not have gone smoother. The install team was extremely professional and clearly took pride in their work. The end product is beautiful.
Description of Work
Replacement Windows
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure working with you on your project!
Beverly H.
5.0
10/12/2020
We've used Scherer Brothers multiple times and will again. VERY professional and responsive to our needs. Excellent contractors.
Description of Work
Purchased and installed new windows
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your business!
Ellen P.
5.0
10/07/2020
It was flawless. The team of installers lead by Kevin was professional in every way. I met them the day before the project, as the material along with a trailer were delivered. He and his two mens worked the entire day and actually completed the project in one very long day instead of two. They identified some wood rout under the old doors in the upper level. They had the materials and equipment to replace with new wood and even added support in an area that should have been done when the house was built 22 yrs ago! They worked on the multiple doors simultaneously and then as a team to move the 500 pound 3 panel doors. They were absolutely the best. I felt very at ease that this installation was perfect.
Description of Work
Installation of 4 patio doors
Category
doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure working with you on your project.
Dave R.
5.0
09/17/2020
We were in desperate need of new windows and decided to go with the fiberglass Infinity windows and couldn't be happier. What made the entire experience even better was dealing with Scherer. From the first appointment with our salesman Tom, to the installation performed by Jason and Mark, it was absolutely amazing! The attention to detail Tom provided us was first class. When Jason and Mark's crew arrived and started the removal of the old windows they unfortunately found extensive rot damage to the entire lower portion of the house. They literally had to re-framed half the house, and took care of it like it was nothing. The craftsmanship displayed by Jason and his crew is extremely hard to come by these days. They talked me through exactly what needed to be done, advised me of all options, let me assist when I could, and performed the job like they were working on their own house. Coming from a very particular and fussy homeowner, these guys are the gold standard. You will not be disappointed going with Sherer. All our future projects will be going to them.
Description of Work
Replacement Windows
Category
replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure working with you on your project!
Mark P.
5.0
09/13/2020
This was by far the most professional and the best experience I have ever had
Description of Work
Window replacement
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you on your project!
C K.
5.0
09/01/2020
The whole process went like clockwork, from the estimate all the way to fixing a few minor install issues. Each person we interacted with throughout the process was very professional, punctual, and had great follow-through. The new windows are great - nice quality and they work well.
Description of Work
replaced four windows
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate your business!

    Other local Pros in your area

    INCLINE EXTERIORS

    We are a roofing contractor that specializes in Cedar Shake and Shingle, Asphalt and Fiberglass Shingles, Rubber and flat roofs. We also offer Siding, Gutter and Window installation services. Call us!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Kaufman Sheet Metal & Roofing Inc

    Kaufman Roofing has been in business since 1930, working in the Twin Cities and surrounding neighborhood. With the peculiar nuances affecting roofs in the Twin Cities; varying roof types (slate, tile, wood shakes, metal, & flat), harsh weather conditions, and seasonal extremes, our experience is invaluable. Our philosophy hasn't changed since we started doing roofs in Minneapolis, St. Paul, and the surrounding areas nearly a century ago.  

    Angi Certified

    Integrity Exteriors and  Remodelers Inc

    Residential & Commercial Roofing, Siding, Windows & Remodeling, we do whatever it takes to get your job done at a reasonable price. Customer satisfaction is a must for our company, and though we are a small company, we can give your home the personal care that it deserves with our friendly, courteous representatives. We are experienced doing storm claims and we will meet with the insurance adjuster when they come. After your job is approved, our insurance specialists will ensure that the insurance companies are paying correctly and that what they are paying will be enough to do the job. We take the headache out of the insurance business, and make things easy for the home owner/business owner so that you can do the things that are important in life! From start to finish, we do the job and all you need to do is pick out a color and style. Our experienced crews do an excellent job, and a thorough clean up afterwards. Call today for a free inspection of your storm damaged home or business.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    BC239369
    Trade License Locale
    Minnesota
    Trade License Authority
    Minnesota: Contractors
    Trade License Expiration
    03/31/2024
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Marvin Signature Windows, Infinity from Marvin Fiberglass Windows, Elevate and Essential Marvin Windows, Thermatru Exterior door systems. All products are sold installed.

    Services Not Offered

    Overhead Garage Door & Interior Door Installation. Window Repair.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Scherer Window & Door Consultants

    How is Scherer Window & Door Consultants overall rated?

    Scherer Window & Door Consultants is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Scherer Window & Door Consultants open?

    Scherer Window & Door Consultants is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Scherer Window & Door Consultants provide

    Scherer Window & Door Consultants accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check

    Does Scherer Window & Door Consultants offer free estimates?

    Yes, Scherer Window & Door Consultants offers free project estimates.

    Does Scherer Window & Door Consultants offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Scherer Window & Door Consultants offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Scherer Window & Door Consultants offer a senior discount?

    No, Scherer Window & Door Consultants does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Scherer Window & Door Consultants?

    Yes, Scherer Window & Door Consultants offers warranties.

    What services does Scherer Window & Door Consultants offer?

    Scherer Window & Door Consultants offers the following services: Marvin Signature Windows, Infinity from Marvin Fiberglass Windows, Elevate and Essential Marvin Windows, Thermatru Exterior door systems. All products are sold installed.

    Are there any services Scherer Window & Door Consultants does not offer?

    Overhead Garage Door & Interior Door Installation. Window Repair.