Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Benjamin Franklin Plumbling

Founded 1986 • With Angi since August 2001

4.5

(156) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12725 Nightingale St NW

Coon Rapids, MN 55448

Description

DBA - Benjamin Franklin Plumbing - Mendota Heights. 20 Employees. Uses subs for some drain cleaning. Cost is determined by flat rate. Additional Charge For Travel ($50) And Emergency Service ($200) As of 5/27/04.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/16/2018


Kevin C.

They won't even discuss a rough estimate without you paying them $89 to come to your house. I understand that there are many factors in each job and it really depends on a project by project basis, but no way will I pay $89 for a rough estimate on a small job.

Description of Work
Won't even talk to you unless you pay them $89

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Sorry about that [Member Name Removed], most companies don't give pricing over the phone or if they do they lowball it so you think they're the cheapest. If your looking for the cheapest option, we're not your company. Phone pricing either turns you off or boxes the plumber into a hole that he can't dig out of. The best way is to get a firm price is to look at it before bidding, and yes it does cost money to send an employee out to do that. I can assure you that it costs more than 89.00 to send a person out. If we don't do the work we lose to. That being said I think we have the best service plumbers out there and you get what you pay for.
5.0

05/02/2017


Kate W.

An A he was fine. They were a little pricey. As I recall they were pricey. Actually I would not use them again. Their last visit was fine but I actually had a horrible experience with the plumber before him. I refused to let that guy back in my house. As long as I have a different plumber I use them but it was just an absolutely horrible experience with them. So I actually stopped working with them. I liked the guy who came out and did the faucet but I will not use them again.

Description of Work
They installed faucet.

Category plumbing

3.0

01/16/2017


Scott S.

They did good work but I researced the price and found that it exceeded even the highest side of the spectrum for the same work in the metro area.

Description of Work
Replace a broken mixer valve and faucet for a bathub.

Category plumbing

1.0

12/24/2016


STEPHEN H.

Benjamin Franklin has cleared my main drain before. I called them yesterday and told them that I needed their services, and that when they had come in the past they had found that they needed to use a jetter to do the job right. They said they could take care of it today. Today the technician showed up and told me that they couldn't use the jetter until Tuesday. I actually had to cut short a family Christmas celebration to come back to meet the technician. I called the office, and the person kindly informed me that it is Christmas Eve. He also told me that if he listened to what his customers thought they needed it would not be helpful to them. Really? They have done this before for me! I will never use this company again.

Description of Work
Clearing a clogged main drain.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

11/01/2016


Alyssa S.

Well - first machine broke but he replaced it quickly and had it unclogged within an hour. Also helped us try to figure out where drain connections are - without charging for extra time/service.

Description of Work
Unclog floor drain

Category plumbing

5.0

01/28/2015


DONNA L.

They are a phenomenal company. I have used them for about 28 years. They have done big and small plumbing jobs for me over the years. The plumbers do exceptional work. They are also knowledgeable, friendly, careful and clean. They are very trustworthy and reliable. They always deliver exactly what they say they will. I have had no difficulties scheduling a service for when I need. Their pricing is a little higher but the quality of service is wellworth it.

Description of Work
They are my regular plumber.

Category plumbing

1.0

01/02/2015


Shauna L.

We had purchased the annual maintenance plan on our own home and a rental property. This is nothing but an up sale scam! They came to the rental property to fix the plumbing fixture and said while they were they they would do the annual maintenance check included in the maintenance plan. Well then they proceed to tell us that our furnace is defective and tagged it and told us our only remedy was to replace it (oh by the way they sell them too). He went on to say he was required to tag it and turn off the gas to it. The rental property is vacant at the moment (new tenants moving in 2 weeks from now). We said he couldn't turn off the heat - it would freeze up in this weather. At which time he said we could turn it back on if we wanted when he left. Then they said they needed to sell us an entirely new plumbing fixture because they don't handle the brand we currently have - even though it only needed a new seal/washer. The electrical fella told us we needed to replace the smoke/CO2 detectors because they were cheap store bought detectors and were dangerous (THEY sold us all new ones less than a year ago for $1000). It just went on and on. Well - we had another business come and check the furnace - there is NOTHING wrong with it! We went to the hardware store and ended up fixing the plumbing fixture ourselves. We are cancelling our annual maintenance agreement with them - it's a scam.

Description of Work
We requested attention to a leaky plumbing fixture.

Category plumbing

2.0

12/19/2014


Gordon L.

I had a water heater that started leaking and I called the company that I bought the heater from but they were bought out by Benjamin Franklin Plumbling. So I called them up and they came and replaced it under warranty and they charged $750. I think the work was ok but I think they gouged me. My interaction with them was not wonderful because they did not want to replace it. I had to keep telling them that it is under warranty and they gave me a hard time. I would never use them again.

Description of Work
I used Benjamin Franklin Plumbling and I would never use them again because they are too expensive.

Category water heater repair

5.0

01/15/2014


Terri C.

They were out within approximately two days of calling. I think they did a great job. My husband said everything went fine.

Description of Work
They replaced a gas valve to hook up the stove.

Category plumbing

3.0

07/16/2013


Lisa S.

It's a local franchise. The plumber that they sent himself was very nice and tried to be very accommodating. They were very expensive. They were good about replacing them when they went bad, but that was a hassle to have to call somebody to fix our window of time and be home. I could probably have done it, but we just don't have the time. Initially, to put in a new faucet no work that was done was around $400. I was told that I was getting a commercial grade thing, but obviously the first one didn't last three months, and then they put in a similar one and that one failed. They finally said, "You can pick what you want. We will be willing to upgrade it.", I think I ended up paying another $50, but that's because I chose a different finish on the metal, that was a little higher priced, so it just cost me a little bit more, it wasn't like a we'll give you a totally new, whatever you want kind of faucet which was they kind of let me believe, but they charged me more. We only had it for a few months and so far it's working okay. It's a different kind of model. They said they were having some problems with that company, so they won't use that anymore.

Description of Work
Benjamin Franklin Plumbing installed three kitchen faucets. He came out and put in the final faucet.

Category plumbing

2.0

12/10/2012


Kevin G.

Our main sewer line began backing up in the basement. I called the plumbing outfit we've dealt with in the past knowing their prices are on the high side; service and expertise has been praiseworthy. The plumber, who had performed cleaning the main line with cable and cutter two years prior, showed up at the door. The local owners -- in order to expand their business in Fargo -- had partnered with Ben Franklin, a national franchise, he said. The sewer backup, of course, happened on the weekend, therefor the "dispatch" call was higher -- $150 just to show up. The plumber drilled more than 50 feet through the line ending up removing roots from a willow tree that grows in the front yard. The clump of roots was about the size of a small beef roast. He worked for about two hours. Once the line was initially cleared, he reamed the line one more time. He left two bottles of chemicals to treat the roots ourselves via toilet application. Cost: $100. The plumber was courteous and clean. He laid down drop cloths down the stairwell and into the downstairs bathroom and was as professional as one can be. The price however was, we believe, outrageous: $511. That's $250 an hour. Since when did plumbing become more expensive than working with an attorney? Because of the gouging -- which is exactly what it is -- and despite the fact I checked the box that I would hire the outfit again, I remain uncertain. For sure, I'll be asking around for less expensive alternatives.

Description of Work
The plumber bored out our plugged main sewer line using a cutter and more than 50 feet of cable.

Category plumbing

1.0

09/29/2010


JIM & SUE L.

Not well. See detailed remarks above. I will not be doing business with these folks.

Description of Work
We called because of a card that was sent in the mail to us offering to come out and provide service without a service call fee. We had a couple of small plumbing repairs that were needed. Drain plugged in a sink in a bath and a toilet handle that didn't properly respond when held down. The person who came looked at the two problems and then asked if we had a water conditioner. He said we were getting a hard water build up in the toilet tank. I knew this was incorrrect or if he saw hard water build up it was not serious. We are on city water that is fairly soft and having had a family who were in the water conditioning business for years I knew right away this was part of a dog and pony show. I was then pitched a service contract. I told him I was not interested and asked what the fee would be to do the repairs. It was absurd, $250 just to fix a clogged trap under the sink as he already determined that was the problem. I didn't need to hear the cost of the toilet repair. At this point I asked him to leave. With a couple of repeat requests that he leave, he did. I wanted a plumbing company to fix a couple of minor items. I did not get that.

Category plumbing

5.0

04/12/2010


VERYLE & DEONNE H.

They have been excellent. They are always punctual and responsive. They are very professional. I strongly recommend them. They have been bought over by Benjamin Franklin, and they are still great! I feel that their service is well worth the money.

Description of Work
We have been using them for plumbing since 2005.

Category plumbing

5.0

11/19/2009


DON F.

They did a thorough job. They were not the cheapest, but they did a good job.

Description of Work
They replaced the ring connection between the sewer lines.

Category plumbing

1.0

02/04/2009


Maggie A.

When I called and spoke to a phone rep, they would not give me a fee that they would charge to take care of something I knew what the ballpark would be. I had to wait 4 hours for a mangager to call me back, I had to call them to speak to the manager and the manager stated that they do not give feedback, but when I mentioned the issue he stated it could be up to $600 and then they tried to upsell me on the phone. I will not be using them in the future. They were the company that answered the phone when I thought I was calling Gavic and Sons Plumbing in my town and this Benjamin Franklin is 45 minutes away. They had apparently purchased the company but have not changed any contact information also claim they are local. The original company was excellent but now when I called them, this was not an experience I want to deal with again.

Description of Work
I called them to get an estimate for a repair.

Category plumbing

3.0

10/07/2008


Chris C.

They did do a really good job of getting the work done quickly. He figured out what the problem was in a quick manner and got it fixed right away. Kept everything cleaned up really well. He had finished his job but stayed around to try and sell other products.

Description of Work
They replaced a seal for a toilet we were having problems with.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/24/2008


SUSAN N.

We were very pleased with his service. He wrote us a thank you note after the job was completed. Through out the job he was very professional.

Description of Work
He repaired a leaky water pipe down in our basement.

Category plumbing

5.0

04/09/2008


Mary U.

Very well: they promptly scheduled our appt, showed up on time, evaluated our problems and made suggestions re: replacement parts, gave us a thorough estimate, helped us with finding a showroom for picking out new parts, promptly installed the parts after they had arrived. All work was done in a timely manner, professionally and all work was cleaned up.

Description of Work
We had new faucets bathroom and kitchen sinks, and sink drains installed as well as new shower fixtures. We also had toilet problems repaired.

Category plumbing

5.0

04/09/2008


Mary U.

Very well: The plumber came to our house, listened to our problem/issue, made suggestions to try other things before investing in a booster pump and, when those suggestions didn't work, he helped us decide on the booster pump that would work the best and installed it.

Description of Work
We wanted more water pressure coming through our bathroom and kitchen faucets and Gavic & Sons helped us get an electric booster pump installed to achieve that.

Category wells

2.0

03/07/2008


MIKE W.

They spent 30 minutes and attached a $2 connector to a drain hose to direct flow directly to the drain. They charge a service call fee of $90, then a minimum additional fee of $148. In truth, their service call fee is $238, which is outrageous. I called Paul to work out a more reasonable fee. He said he would look into it and call back. He never did. We have paid them hundreds if not thousands for previous work and should have been treated better.

Description of Work
We had water on the floor and thought it was coming from the water heater.

Category water heater repair

1.0

10/09/2007


MELISSA P.

This company installed a Rheem water heater in January 2004. In August 2007, the water heater tank started leaking and needed to be replaced. This company was more than happy to replace the premium water heater, however it would cost $400 (cost of the labor to replace basically a defective water heater). Rheem is unsupportive of their products when they were contacted about the service charge and the water heater. Basically, I was to feel lucky to have a Rheem (suppose to be the best - ha!) and that the replacement was cheap. To add a little salt to the wound, the new water heater warranty is a continuation of the original water heater. As a consumer, I expect a company to stand behind it's work and support it's product. Clear this is not the case here for either company involved. Bottom line, I will not be purchasing another Rheem product and Gavic has lost any of my future business.

Description of Work
Replace a leaking water heater that was under warranty (parts, not labor).

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

I AM SORRY TO HEAR YOUR DISAPPOINTMENT. I CAN TELL YOU FROM EXPERIENCE THAT RHEEM IS THE BEST WATER HEATER ON THE MARKET IN MY OPINION. ANY TIME YOU HAVE A MANUFACTURED PRODUCT, YOU CAN HAVE A FAILURE. RHEEM STANDS BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT, THAT'S WHY YOU GOT A FREE WATER HEATER. WE ALSO OFFER A FULL LABOR WARRANTY TO MATCH THE TANK WARRANTY. THE PRICE FOR THAT IS $49.00. IF YOU CHOSE NOT TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THAT OFFER, THE STANDARD WARRANTY IS 1 YEAR. THIS WATER HEATER WAS 3 1/2 YEARS OLD. BASICALLY 1/3RD OF THE LIFE OF A WATER HEATER WAS USED UP AND YOU PAID 1/3RD OF THE COST OF A NEW ONE INSTALLED. YOUR WARRANTY FOR THE NEW ONE SHOULD HAVE A COMPLETELY NEW WARRANTY WITH IT BECAUSE OF THE FEDERALLY MANDATED SAFETY CHANGES FOR WATER HEATERS AND NOT JUST A CONTINUATION OF THE OLD. DEPENDING ON WHERE YOU LIVE, HOW MUCH WATER YOU USE AND IF YOU HAVE A WATER SOFTENER OR NOT, 3 1/2 YEARS MAY HAVE BEEN A REASONABLE LIFE. WATER HEATERS SHOULD BE FLUSHED AND INSPECTED EVERY YEAR. I DON'T BELIEVE THAT YOU HAD US OUT TO DO THIS FOR YOU EITHER. THIS SERVICE CAN EXTEND THE LIFE OF YOUR WATER HEATER AND IMPROVE ITS PERFORMANCE; IT'S LIKE CHANGING THE OIL IN YOUR CAR. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO CALL ME I COULD OFFER YOU A FREE LABOR WARRANTY TO GO WITH YOUR NEW TANK WARRANTY. WE WANT YOU TO BE HAPPY WITH ALL OF OUR SERVICES. PAUL GAVIC, 612 867 9959
4.0

07/24/2007


Christopher O.

Peter came in the following morning and completed the work in a timely manner, within a day. All was done per specifications. Although not discussed, he installed shut-off valves that make it possible to isolate the bathroom should the need arise, which it did as we were finishing up our remodeling project. I was not that impressed with a couple of items. First, after the project was completed, I discovered a hole punctured into the adjacent room. No mention was made on this until I had inquired as to its origin. Second, the amount due on the final invoice did not quite add up. It amounted to a miscalculation of $200 which Paul and I resolved. Overall, it was a good first experience.

Description of Work
We were in the process of remodeling our bathroom, which is located on the second level of a two-story house. Since the walls were being opened up, we figured we might as well install new supply lines. Paul came to the house (with his boss?) and reviewed the set up. We discussed the different options of getting the lines from the basement and the level of finish needed. He also mentioned that out tub drain may need replacing. Peter came in the following morning and completed the work in a timely manner.

Category plumbing

1.0

10/28/2006


STEFFEN R.

This was a disaster from beginning to end. There was a high pressure sell to act on the broken pipe immediately including several calls from the plumber after he had left. We had another company come to give us an estimate and they found that the pipe was not truly broken but filled with roots. They and another company were able to come clean out the pipe. This cost another $500 but saved us $3000-6500 if we had gone with pipe replacement. When we contacted Gavic and Sons to tell them of the misdiagnosis and asking for them to honor their money back guarantee, they gave us a little bit of a run-around saying a pipe really is broken if there are any roots in it. We also found out that the plumber who had come to our house had been fired soon after that. It was a very disappointing experience overall.

Description of Work
Gavic and Sons came out because our main drain in our basement was clogged. They attempted to open the drain and then ran a camera out as far as they could. They could not open the drain or pass the camera further that 40 feet out because of what they said was a broken pipe. The plumber then gave us options or pipe bursting or spot pipe replacement.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

WE ARE SORRY TO HEAR THAT "THE MEMBER" WAS NOT HAPPY WITH OUR SERVICE. WHEN WE CLEAN A MAIN DRAIN IT ALWAYS INCLUDES A CAMERA INSPECTION OF THE LINE, IT'S THE ONLY WAY TO REALLY KNOW WHAT'S GOING ON IN THE PIPING. MOST OF OUR CUSTOMERS APPRECIATE THAT WE OFFER A PERMANATE SOLUTION TO A SEWAGE BACKUP PROBLEM VERSUS HAVING TO PAY 200.00 -1000.00 EVERY 6 MONTHS. ROOTS IN THE LINE IS A BREAK IN THE LINE, IT CAN HAVE THE SAME EFFECT IF NOT WORSE THAN AN ACTUAL PIECE MISSING. WE DO HAVE A 100% GUARANTEE AND WE WERE HAPPY TO HONOR THAT FOR "THE MEMBER", HE PAID NOTHING FOR THE SERVICE WE PROVIDED AND WE ARE SORRY THAT WE COULDN'T PLEASE THEM.
5.0

09/29/2006


MARK M.

They explained everything to me in a very professional manner. The explained everything before they started and used the best products for our needs as well as trying to help us save money.

Description of Work
They came to help set up our washer line. They ended up having to re-do a large section of pipe.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/11/2006


JANE G.

My water heater sprang a leak and I cold-called two companies for estimates. The first company sent a person who was rather rude and, after quickly glancing at my problem, said I needed a new water heater, installation of which would have cost several hundred dollars more than the bid I got from Gavic & Sons. Gavic had a friendly phone operator who sent out Jeff Dietl on the same day. Jeff explained what the problem was and gave me options for repairing the exiting heater or installing new. Even though installing new was a better deal for him, he was not pushy in getting me to take it. Installation was quick and the job was well done.

Description of Work
Removed existing gas water heater and installed new Rheem 40 gallon.

Category water heater repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Minneapolis & Suburban Sewer & Water Inc

    Residential and small commercial sewer and water repairs, replacement, trench less sewer lining and new residential sewer & water installation. Additional contact name - Mark Koyhtya. Super Service Award Winner for 2015.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Defend Sewer Repair

    Defend Sewer Repair takes the fear and expensive costs out of sewer pipe repairs. Pipe issues like broken, cracked, or corroded pipes, can eventually lead to larger problems, such as flooding, ground contamination, and backups. Most sewer line issues occur because of aging infrastructure, root intrusion, or ground movement. All of these can change the shape or size of your sewer pipe, which in turn causes problems with wastewater flow. Traditional dig-and-replace methods to fix sewer lines are very disruptive, not to mention expensive. Not only do you have to deal with the cost of excavating your yard (or driveway), but you also must pay for the materials and labor to replace the pipe. Fortunately, there's a much better way to repair your sewer line: trenchless technology. Trenchless sewer repair is a no-dig solution that can often be completed in just one day because there's no need to dig. The old process of repairing sewer pipes that are located underground usually involves tearing up your lawn to dig a trench and replacing sections of pipe which is expensive in addition to time-consuming.  

    Angi Certified

    Scandia Contracting

    In business since 1987. Over 30 years of experience, licensed, insured and bonded. Scandia Contracting & farming, strives to deliver the best in all your excavating needs from Septic system installation to full service excavating for residential and commercial. Check out our website for more information and services, and please call 651-257-2004 or 651-303-0911 to schedule your free estimate and service.. WE DO NOT DO THE SERVICES LISTED BELOW: PLEASE CALL A SECTIC PUMPER. (THANK YOU) NO SEPTIC TANK PUMPING, NO SUMP PUMPING. NO TANK CLEAN OUTS:  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Plumbing, Drain Cleaning, Gas Pipes, Water Heaters, Gas Fireplace Sales & Installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Benjamin Franklin Plumbling

    How is Benjamin Franklin Plumbling overall rated?

    Benjamin Franklin Plumbling is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Benjamin Franklin Plumbling provide

    Benjamin Franklin Plumbling accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Benjamin Franklin Plumbling offer free estimates?

    No, Benjamin Franklin Plumbling does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Benjamin Franklin Plumbling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Benjamin Franklin Plumbling does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Benjamin Franklin Plumbling offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Benjamin Franklin Plumbling offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Benjamin Franklin Plumbling offer emergency services?

    Yes, Benjamin Franklin Plumbling offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Benjamin Franklin Plumbling?

    No, Benjamin Franklin Plumbling does not offer warranties.

    What services does Benjamin Franklin Plumbling offer?

    Benjamin Franklin Plumbling offers the following services: Plumbing, Drain Cleaning, Gas Pipes, Water Heaters, Gas Fireplace Sales & Installation.