Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Solar Midwest, Inc.

Founded 1993 • With Angi since April 2002

5.0

(54) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5001 Drew Avenue North

Brooklyn Center, MN 55429

Description

13 EMPLOYEES. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. ADDITIONAL SERVICE AREA- MEEKER, & PORTIONS OF CHISAGO, MCLEOD, MILLE LACS, RICE, & STEARNS COUNTIES. SERVICE IS AVAILABLE STATEWIDE AND N.D. AS WELL AS WESTERN WISCONSIN

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Elizabeth R.
5.0
08/17/2022
Guys were professional kept the mess to a minimum and cleaned up when job was complete. I really appreciated the care they took of my home and the time they took to get the job done right. I love my solar tubes!
Description of Work
Installed 4 Solar tubes
Category
lighting, skylights
LISA P.
5.0
12/15/2019
I had a solartube installed in my garage, in a corner that is always dark. I learned about the company after a friend suggested getting a solartube, and I often saw the company at the State Fair each year, with specials. The company's special was a free nightlight in the solartube, for low-level lighting at nighttime, and cost of the solartube could then be used as an energy credit on income tax. The crew of two arrived on time, and was finished in an hour or so. It went very smoothly and I was pleased with the end result. A few months after installation, I noticed that there was no light at night, and a company rep explained that either there wasn't enough daylight for the solar powered battery to recharge, or there was something wrong with the battery. I'll wait until springtime to determine which it is.
Description of Work
install solartube
Category
skylights
Matt E.
5.0
05/08/2019
PERFECT! From the initial salesperson to the installation expert, it went wonderfully. Great job keeping me informed of when the installation would occur. I had a ton of questions and the salesperson West was very informative and patient with me. The installation expert (Jason) was incredible. He was very professional and respectful of my property.....it didn't hurt he was patient with my 2 dogs constantly under his feet ;-). They did such a great job, I have already set up another appointment to have another solar tube installed! These company is AWESOME
Description of Work
Installed 2 solar tubes
Category
skylights

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words and for your continued support. We can never get enough comments like yours. I will be sure to pass this on the both West and Jason. Kindly, Tom Gilbertson
Bettina W.
5.0
07/09/2018
I have hired Midwest Solar on 3 different occasions now and they are great! I have had 1 normal 14 inch solar tube installed in our hallway and 2 combo 10 inch solar tube/exhaust fans for 2 different bathrooms. They are always on time and do an amazing job. When they are done the installs are flawless. The one in the hallway also has a night light feature that slightly illuminates the hallway at night which is amazing. Always a please to work with these guys and would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Solar Tube Install (Multiple)
Category
skylights
Lenna S.
5.0
06/02/2017
Absolutely wonderful experience. The installer (Jason) arrived as planned, performed the work with excellence and speed. He was neat and did a good job cleaning up after himself. Product was as expected and is perfect for adding light to a too dim space. GREAT JOB!!!
Description of Work
Installation of Solatube in kitchen
Category
skylights, solar panels
David K.
5.0
01/23/2017
Did a great job installing a Solatube in a challenging location
Description of Work
Provided a Solatube
Category
skylights
Samantha F.
5.0
12/05/2016
Everyone from the sales person to the installer were great, returning quotes and questions quickly. The installment process was quick and easy and everyone was very professional and great to work with! The Solatubes we had installed we chose to have solar powered night lights, so even at night when it is dark light still comes through, which is great, we had a light-kit put in the hallway so when its night time and I want a bit more light I can use it- but, rarely do since it provides all the light we need.
Description of Work
We had a very dim hallway, always needing to turn a light on even in the brightest of summer days, we had been looking into different ideas, and we found SolarMidwest and their product was above and beyond anything else we had seen. After going over what we had hoped for we realized we were interested in more than just Solatube, we put in 2 solar powered attic fans as well- our current wind turbines were rusted and in need or replacement, as well as another Solatube in the northern facing living room.
Category
lighting, skylights, ceiling fans
Rebecca F.
5.0
10/26/2016
I just wanted to take a moment to say how completely thrilled I am with how our Solatube install turned out yesterday morning. Our installer arrived on-time and was extremely professional. He was able to work with our unusual attic space, and get the 14" Solatube to fit perfectly. Our house backs up to a wooded area - with little-to-no light able to get in our kitchen eating area. Without lights on, we can't see. It's that dark. The "After" from such a small tube blows my mind! And this was on a cloudy day! Thank you so much for the fast, expert install. I wish I would have done this years ago!
Description of Work
Installed 14" Solatube skylight in our kitchen eating area.
Category
skylights
nj C.
5.0
08/09/2016
Tom called early with a scheduling issue. We were able to arrange an alternate time. He showed up on time. His communicated some potential problems throughout the install. He was clean, polite, fast and friendly! Plus I got the "state fair" deal, $50 dollars off. And, he didn't leave ANY mess to clean up. I absolutely LOVE the solar tube, even today - on an overcast day - it's like sunshine in that dark hallway. My only regret? I didn't do it YEARS ago.
Description of Work
Had a solartube installed.
Category
MEGHAN M.
5.0
07/20/2016
Went to the showroom in Brooklyn Center. Was able to see the different option. As a trial had a single 12 inch Solatube with light kit installed in the hallway. Installation was quick and easy. Turns out that I could have used a larger tube for the hallway. Plus much of the light from the light bulb is lost up to tube. In hind sight, would rather have kept the light and solatube separate. Since the first installation went so well, we later had 2 14 inch tubes placed in the kitchen. We really like these. Perfect to even out the light in the kitchen. Installation took about 2 hours total. My wife prefers a more yellow light, so we added the 3000K diffusor.
Description of Work
12 inch Solatube in hallway with light kit. Two 14 inch Solatubes in the kitchen.
Category
skylights
Linda B.
5.0
07/04/2016
Fantastic product and service. I went online to request a time for an in home consultation and received a call within a few hours. After speaking to them and getting a little more information, was able to schedule an appointment at my convenience for a few weeks out. On the day of the install, Jason was prompt, courteous and professional. He had the solatube installed in about an hour on a very hot day! The difference it makes in this small bathroom is unbelievable - only need to turn a light on after dark. We have already recommended this company and their product to others. I wish I would have known about this years ago!
Description of Work
Installed solatube in upstairs bathroom
Category
skylights
Dave C.
5.0
11/06/2015
I first encountered this company at the State Fair. They were very easy to work with. The price seemed reasonable, and I got a State Fair discount. Scheduling was easy. The installer arrived on time, was friendly and professional. The installation was completed very quickly. It was obvious the installer had done a lot of these. This is a basic tube, and it really lights up my bathroom. I should have done this years ago. I highly recommend this company and their product.
Description of Work
Installed a Solartube in my dark bathroom.
Category
lighting, skylights, solar panels
Amanda J.
5.0
09/03/2015
From initial contact through installation, they were exrtremely professional, prompt, and maticulous in their work. Highly recommend. The increased light in our home is priceless.
Description of Work
They installed two solar tubes in our upper level.
Category
skylights, solar panels
Sarah S.
5.0
06/22/2015
We had a very dim living room and hallway area which we were looking to lighten up. We found out about Solatubes from a recommendation of our roofing contractor. After doing research we were impressed to find out they also offer light kits so light bulbs could be installed in them making them useful in the evening as well as during the day. We chose to have a free initial consultation at our house to get advice on how many Solatubes we would need and what size they should be. The amount of light each size tube would produce was explained to us, along with how the light kits would work. The actual installation only took a couple hours. The installer gave us excellent advice on placement of the Solatubes to maximize the coverage of light between the four of them. After the installation he vacuumed and cleaned up the area great. Because we wanted to switch around the existing light switches the light kits would be hooked up to, we had to hire an electrician separately to install the light kits at a later date. The installation was no problem for the electrician. We've had the Solatubes for 7 months now and love them! They have made a world of difference! Right from the start it was amazing how much light comes through them, even on cloudy days. During the day there are still times when I do a double-take and think the lights are turned on when it's actually just the sun shining through. Our dark hallway with no windows has the most notable improvement -- no more turning on the hallway light during the day as it is filled with light all day now! In the evening the amount of light the light bulbs produce is great too. We highly recommend Solatubes as a great solution to a dim living space!
Description of Work
Installed 4 Solatubes
Category
roofing, replacement windows, skylights
craig R.
5.0
03/09/2015
It was great! It was obvious they specialize in solar tubes, and I was pleased I used them instead of our roofer (who was also great, but not as experienced with this product). The installer gave great advice on where to locate our solar tubes, got them done on schedule, and didn't charge extra when he found out our ceilings are plaster instead of sheet rock. We've been VERY pleased with them since the install--it's great to have natural light in the shaded parts of the house! He mostly cleaned up after himself, but I found plaster dust here and there after he left. It wasn't a huge mess or anything. They didn't have enough of the higher-end filters we chose, so they came back later to install the final one.
Description of Work
Installed three solar tubes
Category
lighting, roofing, skylights, solar panels
Angie's List L.
5.0
02/12/2015
The solar tubes are fabulous. They did a great job. We would absolutely use them again.
Description of Work
They installed two solar tubes in a bathroom and kitchen.
Category
skylights
Michael G.
5.0
05/10/2014
Showed up slightly early. Examined the area where the work is to be performed. Had 3 ladders. One to go up to the roof, another one to go up into the attic, and the last for to actually install the inside and finish pieces. We went for the tubes with light kits. So he also connected one of the tubes to a nearby electrical box. The second one did not have a box nearby so it did not get connected. I will have to run it to a 3 way switch at a later time. I suggest putting a dimmable LED light instead of the intended compact fluorescent. The tube looks great, provides plenty of natural light without creating heat (as a skylight typically would). The extra reflectivity of the latest mirrored tube surface does make a noticeable difference. One of the tubes replaced a generic (home center brand) tube from the 80s and provides significantly more light. The light is also much bluer. The installer did install everything nice and neatly. I looked everything over it seemed like he took the extra care to silicone the stainless screws that secure the flashing to the roof. He did however miss the extra reflector that directs low angle rays into the pipe and slightly blocks direct high noon sun. He said that in his opinion they typically only block light. I disagreed and made him do it anyway. He polightly obliged.
Description of Work
Installed 2 tubular skylights (solar tubes)
Category
skylights
Karen F.
5.0
10/15/2013
It went great. They came out, looked at the space, discussed options and pricing. We set up an install date. The installer arrived on time, did fantastic work and was done in the time frame promised.We were so happy with our first one, we added a second one! Great to work with!
Description of Work
Installed a solatube/skylight in our kitchen.
Category
skylights
Sarah S.
5.0
08/25/2012
They were professional, on-time and efficient. Took less than an hour and a half.
Description of Work
Solatube install in bathroom
Category
skylights, solar panels
Deborah C.
5.0
04/25/2012
My installer was late coming because he got hung up at another job. He was late, but he kept in contact with us. He was several hours late. It was almost dark when he finished, so we couldn't see what they did.
Description of Work
We had two solar tubes installed, and a roof vent.
Category
solar panels
Kathryn M.
5.0
01/24/2012
They are absolutely wonderful. They did a good job and it brightened up my house.
Description of Work
They installed skylights in my house.
Category
skylights
Reed E.
5.0
09/11/2011
Tom arrived on time, finalized phone estimate and got to work. He was very professional and installed a great product. Our son has had these in his house for years with no problems. We saw them at the state fair and decided it was time to add them to our house. What a difference - dark rooms become bright! Saw positive reviews of this contractor on Angies List so we went ahead and used them. They did a great job at a fair price.
Description of Work
Solatubes installed in upstairs bathroom and upstairs hallway.
Category
skylights
SUE B.
5.0
06/30/2010
Great. Did exactly what they said they would do. Showed me where they would be placing to determine if I would approve before cutting occurred and told me what the cost would be. Clean and worked with quality and speed. Looks great. Would bring them out again.
Description of Work
Installed two Solatubes and diffusors one in kitchen 14 inch, one in hallway 10 inch.
Category
skylights
CATHI L.
5.0
03/31/2010
The installer called because he was behind schedule, which was actually fine with me. We had ordered an extension to raise the dome about a foot above the roofline, an extra $75. The installer tried to convince me that we did not need it, but we did go ahead and add it. The total cost was a bit more than we had anticipated because the distance from the ceiling to the roof was more than the standard unit comes with. The installer tried to keep the cost down by trying to convince us not to add the above roof extension, but it is what we wanted. We had a follow-up concern, which they responded to in a timely fashion. I would do business with them again.
Description of Work
Installed a SolaTube with light and a Solar Star fan.
Category
lighting, skylights, ceiling fans
Neal S.
5.0
03/08/2010
Punctual. Job took about 4 hours. Very competent installer. Cleaned up afterwards. The solatubes provide much more light to a dark interior upper hallway.
Description of Work
Installed two solatubes in upper hallways.
Category
skylights

    Other local Pros in your area

    Capital City Exteriors

    DBA - Capital City Exteriors, Inc. EPA certified NAT-108565-1.  

    Angi Certified

    Kaufman Sheet Metal & Roofing Inc

    Kaufman Roofing has been in business since 1930, working in the Twin Cities and surrounding neighborhood. With the peculiar nuances affecting roofs in the Twin Cities; varying roof types (slate, tile, wood shakes, metal, & flat), harsh weather conditions, and seasonal extremes, our experience is invaluable. Our philosophy hasn't changed since we started doing roofs in Minneapolis, St. Paul, and the surrounding areas nearly a century ago.  

    Angi Certified

    Silver Claw Electric

    Hi I'm an electrical contractor doing any residential remodels, additions, troubleshooting or updating some lights, switches receptacles and main panels. I have years of training and schooling, but also licensed, insured and bonded for your piece of mind. We are a small business and that means when I'm working on your project, I'm focused on your satisfaction. We also give you a 1 year warranty on any of our work. We can do a FREE estimate over the phone, or if you would like we can come out in person for a $150 service fee  

    Angi Certified

    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Number
    IR672627
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2017
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    SALES & COMPLETE INSTALLATION OF SOLATUBE TUBULAR SKYLIGHTS & SOLAR POWERED ATTIC FANS FOR BOTH RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL USE.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Solar Midwest, Inc.

    How is Solar Midwest, Inc. overall rated?

    Solar Midwest, Inc. is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Solar Midwest, Inc. open?

    Solar Midwest, Inc. is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Solar Midwest, Inc. provide

    Solar Midwest, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Solar Midwest, Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Solar Midwest, Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Solar Midwest, Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Solar Midwest, Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Solar Midwest, Inc.?

    Yes, Solar Midwest, Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Solar Midwest, Inc. offer?

    Solar Midwest, Inc. offers the following services: SALES & COMPLETE INSTALLATION OF SOLATUBE TUBULAR SKYLIGHTS & SOLAR POWERED ATTIC FANS FOR BOTH RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL USE.