Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Total Electric Inc

Founded 1967 • With Angi since September 2000

4.9

(478) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

Blaine

Blaine, MN 55449

Description

Total Electric Inc is a family owned electrical contractor providing electrical services to the Twin Cities northern suburbs since 1967. We offer competitive prices yet deliver superior materials and wiring methods....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/26/2021


Robert L.

It went well. He had all the right equipment--didn't need to go to Menards... He did it right, so now I don't have to give the job a second thought.

Description of Work
Jim replace my 4-foot fluorescent ceiling lights with led fixtures. He also replaced a nonworking light in the laundry room and replaced the pull cord with a switch.

Category lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for calling and it was our pleasure to provide service for your home.

5.0

02/15/2021


Deb H.

I’ve been a customer of Total Electric for over 10 years. Most recently, Jim installed 2 outlets, a ceiling fan and 2 exterior lights. I am extremely pleased with the results. When the inspector came to approve the modifications, he noticed that Total Electric was my electrician and commented, “Jim does great work.” In my opinion, to have an inspector’s compliment is very high praise. I needed 1 of those 2 outlets for a bidet. Prior to my appointment, Jim asked some great questions about the bidet specs, the electrical panel, etc. that confirmed that I would need a dedicated circuit. He is very knowledgeable. When Jim arrived at my home, he found an unused dryer outlet and was able to cap off that outlet so he could use the existing circuit for the bidet, which saved me a lot of money. I highly recommend Total Electric.

Description of Work
Add 2 new outlets, install a ceiling fan/light and install 2 exterior lights

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the repeat business, it is very much appreciated!

5.0

03/20/2019


MARK J.

Spoke with Jim yesterday about our remodeling project. Very impressed that he fit us in today and completed the project. I would highly recommend Total Electric!

Description of Work
Re-wiring bathroom fixture for a bathroom remodel

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Happy to help and thanks for calling.

5.0

02/23/2019


Kevin O.

Jim was easy to get in touch with and schedule the appointment. Once scheduled, he arrived right on time and set right to work. I had a handful of fixtures and outlets which needed to be replaced or added and he was able to do each efficiently and smartly, giving me several suggestions I hadn't considered and ended up being improvements over my original plans. He was well-experienced, well-priced, and courteous throughout and I wish every experience with a tradesman could be as pleasant. I will certainly be calling Total Electric again for my next project.

Description of Work
Miscellaneous Electrical Projects

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

The paddle fans and lights installed will help make the rooms more pleasant to use. Thanks for calling. Jim

5.0

07/12/2017


DAVID D.

Excellent. Jim figured out a solution. Very professional. 2nd time I have used Total Electric Service.

Description of Work
Problem, trouble shooting. No power inseveral outlets. Also outside moon lights out with no power.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

It is my pleasure to provide service for Angie's List members. Thank you for calling again, Jim

5.0

05/02/2017


CRAIG B.

Jim was quickly responsive, courteous and fully aware of codes and inspection process. We have had him complete a number of jobs for us over the past 4 years. I always will call Total Electric first.

Description of Work
Electrical box replacement

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

I replaced a failing 100 amp fuse box with circuit breakers in this rental unit. This will save calls to the owner for outages (as they always seem to happen at inconvenient times). Most homeowners can also save money on insurance with upgrades such as these.

5.0

09/20/2016


Darroll B.

Excellent. Jim was very responsive and was able to work me in a short time. He arrived on time and the work was completed very satisfactorily.

Description of Work
Install several GFCI's and rewire a switch.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Happy to provide service.

5.0

06/11/2016


Emily S.

Very thorough, very friendly, told me everything he was doing and why, and most importantly, communicated with me throughout the whole process to ensure I was getting what I wanted. He did a great job, and came out within hours of my phone call. Would definitely recommend and hire again!

Description of Work
installed a shut off box for my water heater, and move the electrical to align with the new location of the water heater.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the business

5.0

03/14/2016


Tim N.

Very responsive to questions and follow up with inspections, etc. Did what they said would be done and did it on time and within budget. I would recommend the services of Total Electric Inc. without reservations.

Description of Work
Removed electrical panel and replaced with new

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words. As a reminder, when replacing a fuse box a homeowner can almost always save money on their homeowners insurance premiums!

5.0

01/31/2016


Deb H.

I've used Jim's services in the past and I will always call Total Electric when I need an electrician. I've also recommended him to friends who were equally pleased with his work. For this particular project, I had purchased 5 new exterior lights. I wanted to install them before the holidays so that our guests would have a well lit path. Jim was able to add us to his schedule very quickly and was extremely accommodating.. I also wanted to install GFI outlets in our kitchen and bathrooms. Jim explained that although our outlets didn't have test and reset buttons, they were on a GFI circuit and didn't need replacing. That speaks to his honesty. Other electricians might have inflated the bill by doing unnecessary work, but you can trust Jim. He did a fabulous job and was very professional. I also feel that his prices are quite reasonable. I highly endorse Total Electric.

Description of Work
Installed 5 exterior lights

Category electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting

Service Provider Response

Installing new lights is a quick way to "spruce up" an area as well as improve the illumination level.

5.0

12/30/2015


Ross P.

The experience went very well. Jim answered his phone promptly and was able to fit me in between previously scheduled appointments. Upon arrival he was very professional and definitely knew what he was doing. His install was exactly what I was hoping for and seems to meet all of my current needs. He cleaned up after himself and the install was painless. I would definitely recommend him and hire him again for future needs.

Description of Work
Rewired a portion of my utility room to add an outlet so that I can install a water softener.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

I was happy to be able to visit same day as I had just finished troubleshooting at two sites. Calling is generally the best method for a quick response.

5.0

12/20/2015


Dan W.

Jim did a awesome job at re-wiring my garage and bringing it up to code. Defiantly would recommend Total Electric if your looking to have your work done RIGHT. No corner cutting or using low grade materials.

Description of Work
Re-wire garage

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

We replaced surface NM cable (romex) with EMT (metal conduit) for the lights and outlets. Looks great now!

5.0

11/12/2015


Linda L.

We are thrilled with our new patio lighting. He connected two patio lights through the towers to a plug in on the house outdoor wall. Jim arranged for it to be activated from the inside, upgraded the materials on hand. Not only was he competent, he was also personable. The price was reasonable...he spent several hours on site, brought materials for $123.80, labor was $276.00. He explained his work thoughtfully, made sure we had quality materials. He listened to what we wanted and then helped us make it even better. We will definitely recommend him and we will call him for any further services we might need. He is the best.

Description of Work
Jim came out and evaluated our situation, picked up the materials needed, returned and set up exterior lighting on our patio.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

It is always a pleasure for me to meet and provide service for the membership. Jim

5.0

09/22/2015


Erich C.

This is the second time I've contacted Total Electric for service and both times went very well. I call Total Electric because Jim is more reasonably priced than many providers especially those who use "flat rate" pricing. The main reason I called this time was the buggy light switch which he replaced, but I usually add in a few smaller things due to the understandable 2 hour minimum. I had hated the wall fixture by the entry door for a long time because it used a candelabra bulb that ran hot and I wondered if too close to the wallpaper. Jim put in a new wall light fixture I got at Menard's that uses an LED bulb. He put in some new outlets as some were getting worn out. And he put a light fixture in the bedroom walk in closet ceiling. Last, he replaced the smoke/CO detector. If I need service in the future, he is the first person I will contact.

Description of Work
Jim did some smaller tasks for me - he replaced some outlets, replaced a light switch, replaced two light fixtures, and replaced the smoke/CO detector.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

It is wise to replace loose/worn lights and outlets as well as older smoke detectors (with a smoke C/O combo detector) to acheive an enhanced level of safety and operating efficency.

5.0

06/29/2015


Stefanie S.

Jim is GREAT! He had excellent correspondence and communication with me. He was prompt and worked diligently on my project. Got it done in the timeframe he expected and price he quoted. Overall very pleased with him professionally and personally. I will refer him to others and use him again for future electrical work at my residence. Thanks Jim!

Description of Work
Replaced and installed a chandelier light and two pendant lights.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

My pleasure, happy to be of service to the membership.

3.0

05/22/2015


Jeff S.

We exchanged a couple phone calls and texts. He wanted me to go to the hardware store to look for parts. He had some urgent personal business to take care of and never followed-up with me so I found someone else.

Description of Work
I needed someone to replace a few outlets in my kitchen.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Glad your needs were taken care of.

5.0

04/09/2015


Mary L.

This is the second time that I've hired Jim to do various electrical repairs on my aging home. Jim is pleasant and friendly, professional and competent. He explains what he is doing while he is working. I would definitely hire him again.

Description of Work
Repaired a switched outlet. Repaired a broken light switch. Replaced several outlets that were loose. Fixed a light that turns on from two different switches.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Happy to provide service to the membership!

2.0

02/24/2015


Patricia K.

I was very disappointed in his response --he wouldn't even come out to my house to look at what needed to be done. I get that maybe in the grand scheme of hints it was a small job for him, but his figure of $92/hour had no basis in the actual work. He told me he doesn't come to the home to bid for jobs of this size.

Description of Work
Talked to him on the phone regarding installing a heated floor in our bathroom. Given the way he talked to me on the phone, he was clearly not interested in the job.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

I am happy to provide phone estimates for anyone that calls (I do get many calls and some folks are only concerned with price and not value and/or reputation). I do not recall talking to this member but I believe I provided a cost estimate as I do for all job inquiry's. I estimate that roughly 90% of the approximately 450 reviews of my company have been performed at the hourly rate mentioned with a phone inquiry. The remaining jobs ($1500.00 or more-as clearly stated on my website) are performed after an on site visit or after receiving images from the customer.

5.0

01/09/2015


Renee W.

Jim was prompt, definitely knew the codes, offered suggestions, completed the work perfectly, patient, trustworthy and went the extra mile even if it was more difficult. I would definitely recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
Jim installed two outlets, repaired an outlet, added a closet light and extended light in add-on.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

It is always nice to ad/upgrade lighting. I recommend using LED lights for nearly all locations.

5.0

11/13/2014


Derrick S.

Everything went well. I also had Jim out in March of 2013. At that time he installed a grounding rod as I was replacing my old galvanized water pipes with plastic ones & the old ground was on the pipe. Anyway, I liked the job he did then, so I called him when I needed my kitchen wired for 220. He arrived on time, he worked quickly and efficiently, and he was courteous & professional. When I need further electrical work, I'll call him again.

Description of Work
I replaced a gas stove with an electric one, so I had to had by kitchen wired with a 220 outlet. Jim arrived on time & completed the job in about 2 hours.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

My pleasure to be welcomed back for additional work.

5.0

10/10/2014


Suzanne R.

We've used his service previously. Jim is very good, efficient and offers great pricing compared to other electricians. Scheduling was very good and he showed up promptly for the appointment. We are planning on using him for outside wiring in the future.

Description of Work
They moved the breaker box for us and they added a couple of wires/circuits in our remodeled work.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Happy to be able to provide service for a repeat customer in there new home. (remodel in this case)

5.0

08/26/2014


Paul F.

I notified Jim via email of my needs on Sun. I received a reply on Sunday notifying me that he would call me Monday to set up a time to come out. Jim called Monday morning and came over 2 hrs later. Jim did a great job! He was prompt, courteous, professional and great to work with! I was really impressed with how fast he was able to come over. Jim is a great guy and I would recommend him to anyone that needs electrical work done. Thanks again Jim!

Description of Work
Garage wiring. Wiring setup for garage heater. Troubleshooting several other jobs-Outlets and lighting.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Happy to help. Also glad my schedule permitted a quick visit as I always enjoy meeting Angie's List members!

5.0

07/31/2014


Laurie H.

Jim did a superb job. Everything was done up to code and ready for Excel Energy when they arrived. Jim also gave excellent advice regarding the type of cable to purchase, followed up with the inspector and helped with "next steps".

Description of Work
We converted the overhead electrical lines in our back yard to underground lines. Jim performed the necessary work to prepare the outdoor connections for the conversion.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

If you're tired of looking at or dealing with overhead power lines the conversion to underground is fairly reasonable. This member also took the opportunity to have her phone/internet/cable wires installed underground as well.

5.0

07/29/2014


Paul W.

Jim explained his rates on the phone. He was punctual and did a fantastic job. He answered all my questions and was a true professional. Price was lower than I expected.

Description of Work
Installed 2 wall light fixtures, replaced burnt out dimmer switch, created new electrical hook-up sump pump, changed 2 prong outlets to 3 prong outlets.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words. Always a pleasure to help with updates.

5.0

06/29/2014


ELAINE B.

Jim called a day in advance to confirm the appointment date and time. He arrived on time and worked efficiently and effectively. When I had to return the remote that I had originally purchased, he checked off the clock and took his lunch period . When I returned with the exchanged item, he checked back in and completed the job. He took the time to explain how the newly installed items work and had me check each area of repair to verify that they were working to my satisfaction. He was courteous and neat in his work.

Description of Work
Removed original remote system to a ceiling fan and replaced it with a new one. Removed broken spring loaded pull chain operation for another ceiling fan and replaced it with a new one. Replaced a defective outdoor wall outlet. Replaced a indoor wall outlet.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

It is a pleasure for me to be able serve repeat customers like [member name removed].

    Other local Pros in your area

    Amerifix Appliance Repair MN

    Amerifix Appliance Repair is comprised of a team of skilled and experienced technicians who can solve any problem with your appliances. We utilize advanced diagnostic equipment to figure out why your appliances are not functioning the way they should. We service the majority of major brands of appliances. Our in-house team of experts have access to all the necessary equipment to get your appliances working as soon as possible. When you trust Amerifix with your appliance repair, you can expect reasonable prices, friendly service, knowledgeable and experienced and technicians, and outstanding quality.  

    Randy's Electric

    You deserve a safe and reliable home. Get the job done right the first time with outstanding customer service from the Twin Cities top rated electrician. Outlets, fans, lighting, smoke detectors, switches, and service panels. Your full service electrician.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Randy's Electric on Angi
    Harrison Electric Inc

    14 Employees. No subs. Cost determined by the job. Travel charge applies. No extra charge for 24-hour emergency service (for existing customers only). Primary service area- Western & Northern suburbs of Minneapolis/St Paul including Hennepin, Anoka & Ramsey counties and parts of Sherburne county. All employees are background checked and drug tested.  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    EA002749
    Trade License Locale
    Minnesota
    Trade License Authority
    Mn. DOLI
    Trade License Expiration
    02/28/2018
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Fuse Box Replacement, Circuit Breaker Upgrades, FPE Panel Replacement, City Code Compliance, Troubleshooting Problems, Lighting Upgrades, Wiring For Room Additions, Garages, Appliance outlets, Outdoor Lighting, Ceiling Fans, Storm Damage, Hot Tubs, Whirlpool Tubs, Electric Vehicle Charging Stations, Residential & Commercial Electrical Service, Repair & Installation, etc.

    Services Not Offered

    Appliance Repair, Phone Repair, Electronics Repair, Drywall Repair and similar.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Total Electric Inc

    How is Total Electric Inc overall rated?

    Total Electric Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Total Electric Inc open?

    Total Electric Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Total Electric Inc provide

    Total Electric Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Total Electric Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Total Electric Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Total Electric Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Total Electric Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Total Electric Inc?

    Yes, Total Electric Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Total Electric Inc offer?

    Total Electric Inc offers the following services: Fuse Box Replacement, Circuit Breaker Upgrades, FPE Panel Replacement, City Code Compliance, Troubleshooting Problems, Lighting Upgrades, Wiring For Room Additions, Garages, Appliance outlets, Outdoor Lighting, Ceiling Fans, Storm Damage, Hot Tubs, Whirlpool Tubs, Electric Vehicle Charging Stations, Residential & Commercial Electrical Service, Repair & Installation, etc.

    Are there any services Total Electric Inc does not offer?

    Appliance Repair, Phone Repair, Electronics Repair, Drywall Repair and similar.