Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Wilmes Construction LLC

4.9

(42) Verified Reviews

Founded 2008 • With Angi since March 2011

Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Company Contact

800 East State Street

Belle Plaine, MN 56011

Description

With over 12 years in the business, this owned and operated company provides our customers with quality products and quality craftsmanship to guarantee satisfaction. Wilmes Construction specializes in remodeling basements, bathrooms, and kitchens. We realize that it is your project and not ours, so we do everything possible to give you what you want within your budget and estimates are always free. We look forward to speaking with you, give us a call to discuss your next project!...

Verified Reviews

4.9

(42) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

38

4

2

3

1

2

1

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (21)basement remodeling (16)woodworking (7)flooring (7)countertop installation (7)door installation (6)tile installation (6)cabinet makers (6)marble & granite (5)plumbers (5)glass repair (3)decks & porches (3)
Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews
5.0

01/31/2021

We could not be happier with how the work turned out. Tom is very good at what he does, is extremely friendly, and has a keep attention to detail. He has an entire process, letting you know what he needs from you and when, and (COVID notwithstanding) can give you a good estimate on when the job will be done. He tells you upfront what the job will cost. But most importantly, his work is great. We wholeheartedly recommend him and will be using him in the future.

Description of Work
Finishing a basement

Category basement remodeling

Cost $52,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2020

2.0

08/04/2020

We brought the company out to look at the space. He was pleasant and seemed very knowledgeable about the space. He promised a rough estimate by the end of the day. He never submitted anything, even after we followed up asking. On the followup,, he apologized and said it would be that day. Again, nothing- so we gave up and signed our $30k+ project to a different company. We still have not heard a peep from him weeks later. Super unprofessional.

Description of Work
Basement Finishing

Category basement remodeling

Work Completed On 08/04/2020

Service Provider Response

It was unfortunate to see your negative review regarding your experience with our company. As the owner, I always strive to create a positive experience for our clients and am sorry to lose your business. Typically we provide estimates within 24-48 hours after reviewing a project. I was unable to get the estimate to you on the day that we met, which is the [Member Information Removed] I like to do business. However, I was able to get the estimate out to you after we spoke and I am sorry to hear that you did not see it. It may have been diverted to your junk folder. Once an estimate has been sent, I don't normally make it a practice to follow up as I do not wish to be a pushy salesman. I want to make sure that my client’s have the time to review the estimate and make the decision to choose to move forward on their own accord. However, I am always free to answer any questions about the bid and/or project. Again, I'm sorry that we did not get a chance to work together and hope that you enjoy your new basement.
5.0

10/03/2019

We decided to finish our basement and we looked into a few different contractors. I am so glad we picked Tom to do it. I honestly couldn’t imagine someone else doing it. Tom is very trust worthy and will give you his honest opinion on what he thinks is best for the project he is working on. He is a genuine nice guy and that shows in his work. He was very patient with us when we had a few bumps in the road with the payment but he was able to work with us on a start date. He took the time to help us figure out a small siding issue that we had that was separate from what we needed done. I would definitely hire Tom again for any future projects that we might need done.

Description of Work
Finishing the basement

Category remodeling,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2019

5.0

05/09/2018

I think it went wells. It was finished one week earlier. Tom provided/coordinated almost all the pro workers of each task (electrical, plumbing, drywall installer, flooring, etc) of what needed to completed the whole project. He helps pointed out imperfections when the Painters (I was involved with Painters Pro selection) missed some parts of needed to paint surfaces and have them come back to re-paint (to get it right). We even get our old sink replaced and installed new garbage disposal and updated / replaced RO faucet of our under the sink water filtration system.

Description of Work
Basement Remodeling

Category basement remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2018

5.0

04/16/2018

We decided to finish our basement in late August, started looking for a contractor and talked to Tom in early September. We have a rec room with a gas fireplace in the corner, a bedroom, a bathroom, a work area, and the utility room is enclosed. He was very responsive in helping us plan and make choices, and got the job done by the holidays. The computer tools he used to draw designs and give us a list of items to buy really helped us to visualize the plan and know what we needed to do. I am a project manager, and I really appreciated how Tom planned the project and kept it on track! He had a plan laid out with the major activities and subcontractors each week, and showed us where there was contingency so we knew the plan wasn’t too tight. The quality of work is excellent, and we are very happy with our basement! We recommend Tom very highly!

Description of Work
Basement Finishing

Category custom cabinets,countertops,flooring contractor,picture framing,glass repair,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,marble & granite,doors,basement remodeling

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2017

5.0

09/06/2017

Tom is a great guy to work with. He is very knowledgeable and patient. He gave us professional advice when we were uncertain on what we really need. He did quality job. We strongly recommend Tom for home renovation job.

Description of Work
kitchen renovation, including ceiling, lighting, cabinets, countertop, sink/faucet, tile back splash, hard wood floor, tile floor, laundry room, installing window and door, etc.

Category ceramic tile,countertops,flooring contractor,replacement windows,home remodeling,doors

Cost $63,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/06/2017

5.0

08/19/2017

Tom was great to work with! We would definitely recommend and will be using him for future projects! Tom was friendly, organized and took time to keep us informed and answer all of our questions. You can tell he takes a lot of pride in his work.

Description of Work
Remodeled master bathroom

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2017

5.0

06/16/2017

We brought in three contractors to give us bids for our basement finish and decided to go with Tom based on affordability and flexibility. Tom proved to be very trustworthy and reliable. He was also great with our large dog. We love our basement and have referred him to several friends.

Description of Work
We had Tom finish our basement.

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,flooring contractor,picture framing,plumbing,woodworking,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/16/2016

Images

Review for Wilmes Construction LLC - 800 East State Street, Belle Plaine, MN - 35257895

+2 More

5.0

02/09/2017

We had Tom finish the ~900 sf basement in our home purchased a few months prior. Several contractors came out to review the project and give us quotes. We tried to remain neutral through our selection process, but Tom immediately stood out for his communication and attention to the details of the project. Tom provided drawings and was very quick to respond to updates to the design as we narrowed down exactly what we wanted. The main reason we went with Tom was for how he communicated with us. He gave us a lot of confidence that he would do exactly what we agreed on, and in the end he certainly delivered. The sub contractors he brought in were all courteous and did great work. The project was completed on time, and we are very happy with the quality. We did the flooring and paint ourselves to save on some costs, and he gave us the flexibility to schedule that without disrupting his overall schedule. We left the bathroom part of this project for a later phase, and we will have Tom back to do that work as well.

Description of Work
Finish our basement.

Category picture framing,remodeling,woodworking,doors,basement remodeling

Cost $33,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/03/2017

5.0

10/25/2016

Tom and team did a great job. They were always there on time and cleaned up the job site before they left. We have has other remodel projects done in the past and had a hesitancy in working with another contractor. Tom was wonderful to work with and we would hire him again if needed.

Description of Work
We had Tom tear down a two story solarium and replace it with a two story 4 season addition.

Category picture framing,roofing,siding,replacement windows,woodworking,sunrooms,basement remodeling

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/25/2016

Images

Review for Wilmes Construction LLC - 800 East State Street, Belle Plaine, MN - 33786107

+4 More

Services Offered

Construction and Remodeling, Bathroom upgrade, Kitchen upgrade, New Construction, Basements, Framing, Decks, Garages, Additions, Roofing, Siding, Windows and Doors & Storm Damage.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check
Senior Discount
No
Warranties
Yes