Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

C&L Outdoor Design and Landscapes, Inc.

Founded 2000 • With Angi since June 2008

4.8

(7) Verified Reviews

Description

C&L Outdoor Design & Landscapes, Inc. is a complete landscape construction company based out of Belle Plaine / Le Sueur, Minnesota. C&L was founded in 1999 and serves residential clients from the Mankato and St. Peter areas to the Twin Cities Metro/Suburban areas. C&L is a close knit company with 3 to 10 employees depending on the season. Chad has a hands-on connection to each project in which C&L is involved. Whether the project is large or small, C&L takes pride in serving clients needs in a professional and respectful manner. We guarantee all of our work and install our work to the highest quality standards. For more information, a complete listing of the services we provide and additional project photographs, please visit our website at: www.CLoutdoor.com...

Other local Pros in your area

J’s Rain Drains

J's Rain Drains installs drain pipes (tile) from gutter down spouts and sump pump outlets to divert the water away from your homes foundation. We have the unique ability to bore under the sidewalk to install the tile. We never lift a section up. J's always uses a catch basin in our instillation so that the down spout will not blow out in the back from ice build-up. We also address water issues in other areas as well. We use golf course quality Rain Bird products to ensure the best results.  

Diversified Drainage

Diversified Drainage is a full service drainage company, providing solutions for ponding water, soft or saturated soil, excessive patio or deck post heaving due to freezing in winter, waterproofing foundations to stop water infiltration. There are usually 5-6 Employees working during the season including the 2 owners who have 30 plus years of combined experience in drainage solutions. The scope of our job size on the smaller scale is $1000.00 and up as we use mostly specialized equipment and trained employees our mobilization costs are at the least a few hundred dollars. We may sub-contract out services that others are better able to perform than us in some situations like patching asphalt, underground boring, and bolder landscape walls. All payments are due upon completion and generally will collect payment onsite. For special promotions and financing options ask your rep.  

Complete Building Solutions

SUPER SERVICE AWARD FOR FOUR CONSECUTIVE YEARS! Complete Building Solution's team of professional engineers and consultants brings residential and commercial structural engineering solutions to our Midwest based clients. We are here to remove the mystery of structural engineering; bridging the gap between construction and engineering in a consumer-friendly way.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/08/2015

I have not made up my mind what to do yet. so no alternative has been acted upon.

Description of Work
Chad provided me with clear options regarding the drainage problems with our driveway. He was thoughtful, courteous and able to give me quite detailed descriptions of the possible alternatives, including what he thought was the best choice, an option that his company did not provide. He gave me a referral to an excellent company that he trusted would do good work. He helped clarify my thinking and I quite appreciated it

Category landscaping

5.0

07/28/2014

From our very first meeting with C & L, Chad was always responsive, courteous and willing to listen to our questions, ideas and concerns. He offered us many suggestions and ideas that we wouldn't have thought of on our own. It was a partnership from the beginning. Chad was constantly thinking of different stone options, different design ideas... he never quit thinking! He worked hard to make sure the end result was exactly what we wanted and that it fit our lifestyle and looked right with our home. Chad has great vision and attention to detail. He is meticulous in his work. He doesn't cut corners. He was constantly making sure everything was done the right way. Even as we worked thru the project Chad continued to come up with other ideas and offered us options. He constantly updated us with his schedule, asked if we had questions and communicated with us daily. Chad and his crew treated our project and home like it was their own. They cleaned up the worksite every night and were respectful of our property and home. Our project was quite large and both my husband and I felt very comfortable hiring C & L to complete it. We never questioned the quality or integrity of work or worried how it would turn out, we had complete confidence in Chad and his crew. Our yard has been totally transformed into a beautiful, inviting space and it reflects exactly what we wanted. Our backyard patio area is an area that I didn't think I would every use and Chad transformed it into such a peaceful, tranquil space that we can't wait to use it now! It doesn't even look like the same space! Chad took the time to listen to us and spent countless hours designing, planning and constructing a beautiful yard that we will enjoy for years to come. It was an investment in our home and we couldn't be happier. Chad went above and beyond our expectations and we will highly recommend C& L to all our family and friends.

Description of Work
We originally hired C&L Outdoor Design and Landscapes to help with water drainage issues and grade issues on an existing home we purchased. Chad, the owner of the company met with us several times in early spring to look at the property and listen to our concerns as well as provide us with suggestions and recommendations. We ended up having C&L install drain tile and bury all of our downspouts, replace the front sidewalk with bluestone which has sloping towards the house, replace the back cement patio that was cracked and sloping towards the house with a beautiful paver patio. C&L removed existing over grown trees and plants in the beds, they designed new beds, added boulder walls and enhanced existing walls as well as regrading the property. Added more zones on our existing sprinkler system, installed a fire pit patio, raised vegetable garden, added dry river beds, rocked, mulched and sodded. We couldn't be happier with the finished product! We no longer have to worry about any water drainage issues and our landscape looks beautiful! The design flows with the house, both inside and out and looks like it was originally designed as part of the home.

Category concrete repair,landscaping,lawn service,irrigation systems,mulch,pavers, gravel,tree service,drain pipe,hardscaping,patios,outdoor kitchens

1.0

05/14/2014

C & L booked this appointment 3 weeks out and on the day they were supposed to come they canceled. I expressed my disappointment. Instead of acknowledging my disappointment, Chad described how overwhelmed he was and how he should not have booked the appointment. He talked about staying up until 4 AM and not being able to keep up and how he hated this part of his job. As a potential client, I felt that his excuse for canceling was extremely unprofessional. Business ethics dictate that a client's disatisfaction should be handled diplomatically. I did inform C & L that I would be calling the people who referred us to let them know what happened. He said I could "lose his number" if I called the previous owners to describe this incicident to them. Chad became extremely hostile and hung up the telephone on me. Among other things, he said he did not want customers like us and I guess he will not be gaining my business. I sure hope that others will follow my lead and not call C & L for their landscape needs. This business failed in so many ways when they could have had an excellent client. I am a very loyal person who has never written one bad review except this one.

Description of Work
Former owners of my home had used C & L for many years. When we bought the home, we called expecting to develop a great working relationship with Chad and C & L. We requested a consultation to go over what C & L had been doing for the previous owners and for C & L to turn on the water fountain feature (at a cost of $200.00). Chad explained that he may be looking at charging us $1800.00 for a spring clean up as the work needed a big crew etc... I was surprised at this figure and expressed this fact but agreed to have him come consult anyway. We intended to give C & L the chance to earn our business but C & L did not even show up... .

Category landscaping

5.0

10/11/2012

We called Chad Sparks (owner, C & L Outdoor Design and Landscape) to give us a bid on the implementation/work of a design plan we had previously purchased from another landscape designer. He reviewed our plan, met with us and walked thru the property and talked through our vision and goals. Afterwards he was able to give us some verbal estimates so we had some idea as to how we wanted to proceed. We weren't sure if we wanted to tackle the whole project all at once or do it in phases. We had a very large wooded and weedy side yard that was just a mess so we knew that we wanted to pursue getting the buckthorn and weeds removed and treated right away. So, Chad came out to walk through the yard again and make sure he knew exactly what we wanted and how we wanted to proceed. During this second meeting and walk-thru, Chad gave us another great idea for our yard that wasn't part of the initial design but in truth, it's what we really wanted from the beginning - more yard. The project became much larger in the end, but it truly is the vision we had when we bought the house. We love the wooded lot but there was no usable green space. Now with the help of the designer and C & L, we have a purposeful, usable yard. The changes in the front and side yard transformed the entry into our cul-de-sac too. We had what I called, a "forest" where you couldn't really see our house as you approached the circle, now we have a welcome and and beautiful corner entry. Our backyard was very wooded but was mostly ungraded, and full of buckthorn too. We followed the initial design plan for the most part in the back, putting in a walking path and a "bags" court. I was thoroughly impressed with the installation process Chad used for this. He created a template to hold the gravel path in place and it really makes it look sharp and clean. Chad also recommended leveling out our bonfire pit area and adding a small semi circle of boulders to mirror what we already had off of our back deck. I'm so glad he had this vision because it really looks nice and it gave us a level spot for chairs when sitting around the fire. It required taking out a decent sized tree that was in the way but by taking it out, it provided a little more sunlight into the back. I cannot stress enough how thrilled we are with our newly remodeled yard. We still have lots of trees but we have beautiful green space too. We have gotten so many compliments from our neighbors and strangers that walk by on a regular basis. I would definitely recommend C & L Outdoor Design and Landscape to others. Chad is truly an honest, hard working, good guy.

Description of Work
Design implementation included; tree and buckthorn removal, grading yard, installing gravel path, regrade & rebuild of fire pit area (including boulders and stone steps), planting shrubs/bushes, laying sod, adding sprinkler heads and installing fencing.

Category landscaping,hardscaping

5.0

01/28/2010

Great job! We want additional work done in the future and will be asking them to do the work for us. Very professional and gave us several options to choose from (with pricing) for alternatives that we had not considered. Chad also did follow up work a couple of months later to ensure that we were still happy with the final product. We would recommend their work to anyone who needs landscaping work done.

Description of Work
Removal of front wooden fence, and damage front walk, installed french drain, relandscaped area in front of house and installed paver walkway. We also had work done in April of 2005 to enlarge an existing garden area, install boulders, top soil and add boulders around trees

Category landscaping,lawn service,hardscaping

5.0

06/11/2008

Exceeded our expectations. Chad Sparks has great customer service skills: very thorough, great communicator, and wants to delight his clients. We are very happy.

Description of Work
Regrade yard, removal of old concrete and old crab tree, install new paver patio, build and install lattice structure, dry creek bed, plantings, sod, mulch, and bury gutter downspouts.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/11/2008

Exceeded our expectations. Chad Sparks has great customer service skills: very thorough, great communicator, and wants to delight his clients. We are very happy.

Description of Work
Regrade yard, removal of old concrete and old crab tree, install new paver patio, build and install lattice structure, dry creek bed, plantings, sod, mulch, and bury gutter downspouts.

Category hardscaping

    Services Offered

    SERVICES INCLUDE: COMPLETE LANDSCAPE/HARDSCAPE DESIGN & INSTALLATION, IRRIGATION AND LIGHT EXCAVATION SERVICES AND CONCRETE WORK. WINTER CONSTRUCTION SERVICES INCLUDE: LIGHT REMODELING.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    Warranties
    Yes