Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep

Founded 1998 • With Angi since April 2010

4.3

(95) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

967 Norris

Williamston, MI 48895

Description

Located in Williamston, MI since 1998, Alpha & Omega Stove and Sweep serves a large portion of the state of Michigan, . With a knowledgeable and courteous staff (some of whom have been in the business for over 20 years), we make every effort to ensure a positive and educational experience. We hold a mechanical license with the state of Michigan. We are a full service chimney company, providing services for all things chimney/fireplace ....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/26/2019


Sharon B.

Alpha and Omega does great work, very thorough and guaranteed to make your system safe and efficient. They are very busy so you need to call to get an appointment about a month ahead.

Description of Work
Wood stove and chimney annual cleaning and chimney check

Category chimney sweep

2.0

09/26/2019


Linda A.

No work has been performed because the business has not gotten back to me.

Description of Work
I needed chimney repair that they recommended last fall when the sweep came out. I called in the spring and was never called back. I called again in the summer and set up a visit on Aug. 15 to get an estimate. They came out and discussed several possibilities, but never sent the estimate, despite my calling the office two or three times. Each time, I was told, "Oh, yes, I see you here, and we should get that to you tomorrow or very soon." Six weeks later, with time running out to do repairs this season, I have not heard back.

Category chimney repair

5.0

06/16/2018


Margaret T.

I selected Alpha & Omega because they offered a camera inspection of chimneys and since it was off season they were running a special promotion. Technicians were on time and professional, chimney was very dirty but the crew protected the area around the fireplace. They inspected the hot water heater venting and informed me that it was not to current code. When I latter had my gas meter upgraded, the Consumers technician failed my hot water heater due to improper venting. I had Alpha & Omega return to upgrade my hot water heater vent and install a chimney liner with a chimney cap. I did not get any other quotes for these services as the prices seemed reasonable based on past experience.

Description of Work
chimney inspection of a double chimney on a newly purchased home that also required cleaning, they inspected the chimney in the basement and recommended installing a chimney liner and upgrading my hot water heater vent pipe to current code

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps

5.0

05/21/2018


James R.

We've been very happy with their work and will continue to call them in future.

Description of Work
Chimney, wood fireplace and gas fireplace.

Category chimney sweep

2.0

01/21/2018


Debra K.

Initial job went well...scheduling was problematic. Owner was apparently confident, but difficult to schedule. Since installation we've had problems, which Alpha & Omega has failed to address. Insert came loose, and needed resetting. Alpha & Omega did so, but scheduling and follow-up were extremely difficult to organize. Eventual warranty (manufacturer) work has been impossible to coordinate, and Alpha & Omega has refused to do the work. So...initial work was ok, but follow-up and service have been very bad...thus, the "D" rating.

Description of Work
Gas fireplace insert installation, flue pipe installation

Category fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We are not the the Alpha & Omega that performed the work at your home. We are located in the Lansing area. Sue
5.0

12/14/2017


Sarah S.

We were very impressed with the professional job that they did. Would hire again!

Description of Work
Chimney sweep

Category chimney sweep

5.0

10/18/2017


Judy W.

They crew was very friendly, and completed the job very quickly.

Description of Work
Cleaned my chimney and recommended sealing a couple of cracks in my firebox.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

10/09/2017


NORMAN K.

Done well. Services provided met expectations.

Description of Work
Chimney sweep

Category chimney sweep

5.0

04/11/2017


Lori J.

Very well they were prompt, efficient and clean.

Description of Work
Cleaned out the fireplace chimney.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

03/22/2016


Nancy A.

I did all this on a previous review.

Description of Work
clean & repair gas fireplace

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

5.0

01/09/2016


Stacy R.

They did a great job. The work was done in a timely manner and they were professional.

Description of Work
They lined chimney with stainless steal.

Category chimney sweep

1.0

12/16/2015


STEPHANIE S.

He cleaned the furnace and attempted to use his camera to take a visual of the inside of the furnace. His camera broke and he assured me that he would have the office contact me to schedule another appointment. He did not charge for the cleaning and he never had the office call to set up another appointment to finish the inspection. Unreliable! Will not use again nor do I recommend to anyone!

Description of Work
He was SUPPOSE to clean and inspect furnace with camera to make sure all was up to code since the house hadn't been lived in in a couple of years. Price was almost 400.00.

Category chimney sweep, heating & air conditioning/hvac, chimney repair

3.0

12/04/2015


Deborah G.

They arrived on time and did a thorough inspection. But I was very disappointed in a few things. One, they asked me for a match to light the pilot. I had one match in the house. Seemed odd they would come without matches when they are inspecting a fireplace. Later, one of the employees had a box of matches in his hand. Was he too lazy earlier when he asked for one and did not want to go to his car to get his matches? I don't know, but that was a put off. Two, they could not find the switch for the fan. It was on the wall next to the fireplace. I cannot believe I was disturbed from getting ready for work to show them a switch on the wall next to fireplace. Three, they could not get the fan to work. I had to ask them if they checked the fuse box to see if it was turned off. Of course it was. These, to me are simple steps and troubleshooting measures that any person coming to the home would know to do. If they cannot figure out simple things like these, it makes me feel uncomfortable. To pay $189 for a gas fireplace inspection for a fireplace that does not produce heat and is for show only seems really high to me. I am more disappointed because I have had them come out before and do work and in the past were very professional and did an excellent job. I was disappointed this time. I am not sure if I would use them or not in the future. I marked yes because there is not an unsure option.

Description of Work
Inspected and cleaned our gas fireplace

Category chimney sweep

5.0

11/24/2015


Charles W.

Very knowledgeable and professional.

Description of Work
Cleaned and inspected wood stove and chimney.

Category chimney sweep

2.0

09/04/2015


Evelyn A.

The technicians arrived on time, were very friendly and professional. They got out their equipment and after making a phone call, went to my basement to do an inspection up my chimney with a camera. They did not have any equipment with them to do an inspection from the top of the chimney as it was a 2 story, steep roof access. They then proceeded to tell me that I had a blockage in my chimney and they could not perform their services. After several phone calls with the owner, Steve, there was not a charge for coming to my house as they could not perform any services as they were hired to do. Steve indicated that the charge to clear the blockage would be a minimum of $500.00 and a stainless steel pipe would be $2500. but he did not want to clear the blockage on a separate trip, just do the entire job in one shot. Lots of money so had to think about it. The next day Steve actually told me that he did not want to do the job at all but then finally agreed to it. I then got another expert to inspect my chimney and they found NO BLOCKAGE AT ALL. When I told Steve this information, he was very, very, very rude. He offered no explanation or apology. I don't think that this was a scam and but just the inexperience of the technicians with my type of chimney. After this experience I don't think I would use this company or recommend them to anyone based on the owner's rudeness and lack of customer service.

Description of Work
The company was hired to clean my chimney and do a level 2 inspection with a camera of my chimney.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

I began in the chimney business in 1992 in our Plymouth/Ann Arbor store. I have a mechanical license issued by the State of Michigan and have been nationally certified for 15+ years. Also, we are proud to serve a data base of 19,000+ clients. After reading the review, I must say, I thought the fact that we did not charge you for the initial visit, we set up a follow up visit for me, the owner, to confirm the concerns of our technicians and the fact that I said to you several times that "I really wanted to earn your business", you would not view us in a negative way. I'm incredibly proud of my guys for referring to me on a job where there is a potential blockage of a fuel oil furnace that has a clay liner only. The home is at least 50 years old and we always recommend a liner for a fuel oil furnace, as the exhaust from the fuel oil is Super corrosive and very hard on masonry liners. Also, the pail of broken clay liners at the bottom of the chimney near the clean out sent up a red flag to the guys as well. We would be willing to help you in the future if you so desire. Thanks so much.
1.0

05/22/2015


gerald L.

I will go with businesses that give free estimates for work.

Description of Work
This company charges for estimates.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your interest in Alpha & Omega Chimney Service. Our free estimate offering is very specific and works for scores of clients every month. If you send us a picture(s) via email, of your problem areas we will give you a tight quote "range". This is extremely attractive for our clients because it saves them the time of meeting on sight for the evaluation and it saves our company the time and money of sending a technician to the job site for something that can be done with pictures. We land up to a dozen jobs a week using this method. It is very effective. If this method is not attractive to you, we charge an up front fee of $115 for sending a licensed/certified tech to your home to discuss issues and problems related to your chimney/fireplace/wood stove/gas stove/pellet stove/ (or) structural or mechanical issues related to your chimney. If you decide to hire us 100% of this fee is applied so in essence it becomes a free estimate if you decide not to hire us we have given you advice/ideas/sounding board and other valuable information from being in business for 20+ years. So, if you didn't get the full gist we are sincerely sorry...if you got the gist and didn't like our approach we are also sorry, it is just how we conduct business.
5.0

05/11/2015


Gregory V.

They were excellent. They called 10 minutes before they got to the house arriving at the beginning of the 2 hour window they quoted. They did a thorough job and were extremely professional and friendly.

Description of Work
They cleaned the chimney and fireplace insert in our house.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

03/17/2015


Kathi B.

It went exactly as expected and they were so nice! Very patient, explained things well, showed me what the camera was seeing as it snaked up the chimney looking for cracks. I'd definitely recommend them. Price was kind of high, but worth the quick response and scheduling date. I still haven't heard from the other companies I called and that was over one month ago.

Description of Work
Inspected, cleaned, and trouble shot 3 gas fireplaces that had not been used in years and an indoor grill that I had never turned on in 12 years.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces, gas logs

4.0

01/12/2015


Brian O.

They did what they were hired to do in a timely and professional manner.

Description of Work
Cleaned chimney, inspected.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

12/07/2014


Timothy D.

When we read some reviews on other sites we were a little hesitant to do business with Alpha & Omega but after reading several reviews on Angie's list we decided to go ahead and give them a try. First of all we called them on the Friday after Thanksgiving and left a message that we wanted them to come out and sweep our chimney. Thought they would follow up on Monday but to our pleasant surprise they called us back that Friday early evening and we set an appointment for the following Tuesday which we thought was great. They called prior to coming out and were on time with when they told us they would be at our home. They protected the rugs before coming in with their equipment. They were courteous of our home and made sure they kept the dirt outside where it belongs. Their cleaner was actually placed outside and the hose was run over to fireplace. In addition to doing the sweep the patched some cracks in the back of the fireplace for $20. The sweep was $189. Was very pleased with the work and our fireplace is burning nice and clean. Will use them again!

Description of Work
Cleaned out chimney and did level 1 inspection.

Category chimney sweep, heating & air conditioning/hvac, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

11/24/2014


kathryn S.

They were able to schedule me pretty qucikly, especially for the busy season. Their rates seemed very reasonable and they had very nice customer service. I ended up having to cancel but they were very understanding and thanked me for calling to let them know.

Description of Work
I scheduled a chimney sweep and inspection.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

11/17/2014


Lisa T.

The fireplace looks great is clean and ready to go. First time inspection and cleaning of new house. They were courteous, answered all questions, and clean.

Description of Work
They did a level 1 inspection of my fireplace and chimney and thoroughly cleaned my fireplace. They noticed insulation in the fireplace so they added a sealant for $85.00.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

11/08/2014


Leslie B.

Everything went well they suggested the chimney cap but did not have the proper size with them. They returned two days laer and installed the cap.

Description of Work
clean wood burning fireplace and chimney. Put on a chimney cap.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

08/20/2014


Mary J.

They were wonderful. They did a great job, and we felt very comfortable with them. They are very neat, clean, efficient, and we burn a lot of wood in our fireplace, so they had a big job.

Description of Work
They came out and cleaned our old fireplace.

Category fireplaces

5.0

08/08/2014


Judith P.

They did really nice work. They're very good. They were very easy to work with. The owner came out initially and looked at everything. He was very pleasant, very nice to work with. They did have a small showroom in Williamston. They don't have that anymore but they're still listed. They did very good work. They're on time, neat, clean, they pick up after themselves, knowledgeable.

Description of Work
For fireplace, we had a gas log put in and that Alpha & Omega. They cleaned the chimney. They capped the chimney. They put in a gas log.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, fireplaces, gas logs

    Other local Pros in your area

    Looking Glass Mechanical & General Contracting LLC

    Full Service Heating, Cooling and Plumbing. We have over 20 years of experience in the Residential and Commercial HVAC, Plumbing Services & Repairs. We get it right the first time, we strive to deliver the most comprehensive heating, cooling, and general contracting services in the greater Lansing area, including installations, upgrades & repairs. Schedule Services - 517-894-4547. PLEASE NOTE WE DO NOT SERVICE OR INSTALL BOILER UNITS. HVAC & Plumbing Renovations. We specialize in renovation projects in the greater Lansing Area. With our experienced technicians your renovation projects will be in good hands. Ask About Our Renovation Services - FREE Quotes 517-894-4547. We also provide these additional services: Power Washing, Landscaping Projects, Subcompact tractor rental, Remodels, Brush Clearing, Doors, Windows, Handyman Services!!! Give us a call for any and all home project needs! CALL FOR OUR AFFORDABLE Spring AC Specials!!!! (commercial and residential)  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Looking Glass Mechanical & General Contracting LLC on Angi
    Doty Mechanical Inc

    For over 30 years the Doty family has been providing quality heating and cooling installation, maintenance and repair service to the Lansing area. As Lansing's only locally owned Carrier Factory Authorized Dealer, Doty Mechanical is committed to Lansing and the people that live here. We are dedicated to offering the exceptional service our customers deserve. That is why our technicians are NATE Certified (which goes way beyond being factory trained). We can repair your furnace or air conditioner regardless of brand, or if you are ready to purchase a new one, we will happily provide you with a FREE ESTIMATE! Our customers are a huge part of our past and, more importantly, our future success. If you are new to Doty Mechanical again we say welcome, if you are a current customer we thank you for your continued patronage.  

    Heavy G Heating & Cooling

    Heavey G Heating & Cooling takes pride in offering the best customer service, the most technically trained service professionals and the friendliest team. No one loves helping you like we do, and it shows! Our goal is to exceed your expectations to provide a true comfort experience that feels right, because you know it’s right.  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    7116215
    Trade License Authority
    State of Michigan
    Trade License Expiration
    10/01/2019
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Chimney cleaning, repair, installation, removal, restoration & wood and gas fireplace/stove cleaning, inspection, repair, relining, dampers, fireplace masonry, animal removal from chimneys, tuckpointing & heating system safety inspections.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep

    How is Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep overall rated?

    Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep open?

    Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep provide

    Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep offer free estimates?

    Yes, Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep offers free project estimates.

    Does Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep?

    Yes, Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep offers warranties.

    What services does Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep offer?

    Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep offers the following services: Chimney cleaning, repair, installation, removal, restoration & wood and gas fireplace/stove cleaning, inspection, repair, relining, dampers, fireplace masonry, animal removal from chimneys, tuckpointing & heating system safety inspections.

    Are there any services Alpha & Omega Stove & Sweep does not offer?

    Ask for details.