All Type Landscape Co

About

Founded 1977 • With Angi since May 2010

Over 41 years of operation in Outstanding Landscape design, Paver's, Hardscaping, Retaining walls and Drainage Systems, installations. All Type Landscape was founded in 1979, 41 years ago with one goal in mind - to provide full range superior landscaping services, including landscaping,

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

See how a a new fire pit can enhance a back yardFinished jobFire Pit, stainless steal hardscape grill & lighted retaining wall.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(54) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

51

4

1

3

1

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (49)hardscaping (22)drain pipe installation (16)stone & gravel (8)tree service (7)lawn care (4)Patios (3)landscape lighting (2)
Showing 1-25 of 54 reviews
5.0

10/10/2022


Geoff C.

I hired All Type through an Angi booking. Tom came out promptly and ran me through some options. I think he got the clue pretty fast that I had no idea what I actually wanted so he worked with me to give tons of ideas. After we settled on a plan the crew came out and banged out the job in a couple of days. I am super impressed with the quality and will be calling them back for more work in the future.

Description of Work
Landscaping my mess of a yard

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2022

Images

Review for All Type Landscape Co - P.O. Box 201, Whittaker, MI - 39903498
5.0

07/22/2022


Sandy D.

Tomand his crew actually were able to start the job ahead of time which worked well forus.theygot the old pation torn out very quickly. And they had to remove abigold stump, which was alarge partofthegrading problem.sotheremoved the stumpand the lateralroots, and used their tractor toregrade thare really good, then they were able to bring in the base crushed stone tostart the grading for the new pavers theywere going toinstall, they were able to doa computergenerated picture of what thepatio would looklike when doene, fromabefore pic ihad taken, cause the new patiois alittle largerthan theoriginal, but muchmore beautiful, tomeven added some planting arounto make the are feel more welcomingwe talkedabout what kind of plants ilike, and he picked perfect specimans. Iwould definatley reccommend alltypes landscaping to anybody that has aprojectthey need done.

Description of Work
Wehad on old flagstone patio that had been here foryears when we bought the houseand the grading was allslpoed towards the house

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Cost $11,567

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2022

5.0

02/13/2022


English G.

Finished in one day as stated, and it looks great!

Description of Work
Retaining wall

Category landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping

Cost $5,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2021

5.0

09/17/2021


Larry H.

Tom came out immediately to look at the job and give me a quote with a plan on how to repair. Once the signed quote was submitted he came out within a reasonable amount of time and completed the job within 3 days. We are very satisfied and the wall looks great.

Description of Work
He tore down and rebuilt the retaining all

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2021

5.0

09/07/2021


Nicole K.

I hired Tom and his crew for two separate projects this summer. The first project they removed a large stump from the middle of our deck and rebuilt an old retaining wall for us and it’s so gorgeous that I decided to hire them again to install a paver patio and fire pit. It looks beautiful!!!!! They started the job on time in both cases. The crew is friendly and professional. They are always on time and clean up the job site well. Tom worked with me through design changes up to the day they started the project and got my input throughout the project. Tom made sure I was completely satisfied with everything before finishing the job. I highly recommend All Type Landscaping!

Description of Work
Retaining wall, Stump Removal, Paver Patio with Fire Pit

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/03/2021

Images

Review for All Type Landscape Co - P.O. Box 201, Whittaker, MI - 39465852

+2 More

5.0

09/01/2021


David L.

We are very happy with the work All Type Landscape performed on our property. We were looking to rip out most of the existing landscaping in our front yard and replace it with fresh plantings. Tom came out several times to look at our property and develop a new landscape design. He put together a great proposal at a very reasonable price. Tom was very easy to work with and communicated with us frequently as we discussed various changes. He and his crew were very professional and left the site in great shape when the job was done. We look forward to working with him again soon on our back yard.

Description of Work
Landscape design; removal of existing plantings and installation of new plantings; mulching

Category landscaping

Cost $8,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2021

5.0

07/06/2021


Chad B.

Tom did a great job explaining the details of the work needed on a large repair of collapsed timber retaining walls at a residential site. He developed a plan to have minimum impact on the existing landscaping, thoroughly explained the technical needs, and understood the scope of the project. He looked for ways to save project cost and never attempted to "oversell" the project. His crew was on time, every time and cleaned up upon completion. I felt confident that the job was done right.

Description of Work
Large repair to timber retaining wall

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/06/2021

5.0

09/09/2020


Katrina H.

Tom and his All Type Landscape Co team did an outstanding job of installing a channel drain in our driveway plus an outdoor pump to solve the problem of water flooding into our garage. His team also fixed a grading issue in our backyard to resolve water leakage into the laundry room. Of the several landscaping companies that proposed solutions, All Type Landscaping Co did the best job of walking us through the details, pricing, and process. Tom was also readily available for any questions and concerns. Overall it was great working with All Type Landscaping Co, and I will continue to work with them in the future.

Description of Work
Exterior drain and pump solution

Category drain pipe

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/28/2020

5.0

05/30/2020


Pamela L.

Fabulous experience - All Type Landscaping is terrific! We had an old stone patio that was a mess, and was surrounded by old overgrown bushes. Tom is just great to work with. He listened to what we hoped to achieve, presented various ideas, and was on the job each of the four days. As they were going to update a retaining wall around the patio area, he suggested we meet to look at rocks and boulders, as well as the stone for the patio, which we greatly appreciated - it was a HUGE help. We also liked that he communicated frequently, told us what would and wouldn't work and offered alternatives. He is truly a craftsman and expert. And his employees are outstanding, as well. We loved them! They're super hard workers who know what they're doing and are invested in their jobs. All Type completed our project today - we are stunned at the transformation and could not be happier! Our backyard is opened up, the new look blends in naturally and beautifully. We will work with All Type again, hopefully next year, for another smaller project. We highly recommend. Five stars and more!

Description of Work
Old patio torn out; new patio installed with fire pit; boulder retaining wall and landscaping

Category landscaping, patios

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/30/2020

Images

Review for All Type Landscape Co - P.O. Box 201, Whittaker, MI - 38604548

+2 More

5.0

12/21/2019


Carrie T.

Tom jumped in when our previous work had been rejected by the city. He agreed to start right away since the work was in progress. He added some where we felt additional depth was needed. He worked with us on a reasonable price and was overall good to work with.

Description of Work
Retaining Wall

Category landscaping

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2019

5.0

09/23/2019


Michael H.

Installed a french drain to solve a backyard drainage issue and also diverted sump pump output. Great work. Tom is all that I look for in a contractor: knowledgeable, competent, responsive and fair. I intend to use Al Type again for a different drainage job on the other side of the house.

Description of Work
Solve backyard drainage issue

Category landscaping, drain pipe

Cost $3,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/03/2019

5.0

07/17/2019


Nora C.

Tom. the owner, contacted us and came out to give us an estimate on the job. He was very cordial and polite and was able to figure out our needs/requirements without me even telling him what needed to be done. He recommended we expand the size of the porch, put in a couple of steps and replace the side walk and porch with brick pavers. He provided us with a quote that was fair and within our budget. Even after we requested some changes/enhancements he was very respectful of our budget by letting us know up front of the charges to complete the job. Whenever we had questions he was very prompt at getting back to us via email or phone. We never felt like we were just another job. Frequently he would notify us to let us know when he was going to get to our job so we never felt lost in the loop. He brought a very talented group of guys, like Chris, the supervisor and his son David and Tom's son and several others to do the job. David dug up a tree/bush that was growing out of control at the side of our house that had nothing to do with the walkway, but we had requested that it be pulled when negotiating the contract. The whole team was very polite and respectful and worked extremely hard in the heat. Tom made the decision to add another step to the front walk as it was still a little too steep. All of which we appreciate. it is now safe for to leave through the front of out home We are extremely happy with the job that was done by All Type Landscape. They are very professional and easy to work with. A job well done. Thank You very much. We will recommend this company to anyone we know who needs any outside work done on their property.

Description of Work
We needed to have our front sidewalk and porch redone as the sidewalk in front of the porch was sinking. It was becoming a safety hazard to try to get on our porch to enter the front of the house. Porch, sidewalk, and steps leading to the front of house.

Category landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2019

Images

Review for All Type Landscape Co - P.O. Box 201, Whittaker, MI - 37992401

+2 More

5.0

05/31/2019


Eiran W.

Work was done on time and we were extremely satisfied with the work done

Description of Work
Needed our lawn reseeded

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/31/2019

1.0

04/06/2019


Chris A.

Nightmare experience. Very argumentative guy that talked a lot but did really mediocre to poor work for very high prices. My advice would be to get everything he promises verbally put into the contract. They didn’t do the work right, cut corners and it was such a battle just getting them to fix the grading and properly seed AND IT STILL ISN’T FIXED. I seriously question this guy’s ethics and I personally would never trust this business. BE VERY CAREFUL.

Description of Work
Residential grading and downspout drainage installation

Category landscaping

Cost $0.01

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2018

Service Provider Response

This client changed almost all items on contact after work began. Added multiple items that were completed at no charge, was rude and used objectionable language towards our crew. He approved and was thankful upon completion. We came back and reseeded added areas as requested for free. He was over 120 days delinquent sending contact payment. That is the only reason our warranty was voided, because we always stand behind all our work. He added that he did not have the funds to pay for completed work. He lied multiple times regarding his late payment, and I add he would not have paid in full if he had a ligitiment complaint. We tried our best to deal with this person and he told us he was satisfied after returning to deal with issues that he added beyond the scope of contact. We always try to do our best as you can see with all of our many other reviews. As our ANGIE'S LIST SERVICE AWARD shows, our commitment to excellence that only goes to the top 5% of contactor's.
5.0

10/12/2018


Tony T.

He seems to be priced fairly. When I talk to him about something he does it.

Description of Work
He did some spring clean up and fixed a retaining wall. He also took down some dead trees. He's currently quoting some repairs for grading.

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2018

5.0

10/08/2018


Tony T.

job was done quickly and drainage turned out well.

Description of Work
Fenceline clearing and drainage.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, tree service

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/19/2018

5.0

10/03/2018


Eric B.

Tom and his work crew (4 people total) came with all of their equipment on Monday September 17 and completed brush removal (2 ponds) and vertical drain installation (1 pond) within the space of 2 day.s Tom is a highly skilled operator. He had the right size work force and the needed equipment (2 tractors, 1 w/bush hog, 1 w/backhoe; and 3 trucks with 3 flat bed trailers for equipment transport and 1 dump box for brush disposal to complete all work within 2 days. Most importantly he was able to complete this work ahead of heavy rains coming within a few days of job completion which would probably have prevented this work from being done during this season. For subs in need of detention pond work I would highly recommend All Type Landscaping.

Description of Work
Our Sub Detention Ponds: Drain improvement (1 pond); brush removal (2 ponds)

Category pavers, gravel, tree service, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2018

5.0

10/01/2018


John S.

Tom and his crew did a great job. This is the second time we have used his services, and would not hesitate to use him again. Anne & John Sloan

Description of Work
Rebuilding retaining wall and stairway

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2018

5.0

09/30/2018


Samuel S.

Tom and All Type Landscape Co. have been phenomenal to work with. Extremely professional and easy to communicate with. Tom and team worked efficiently and are dedicated to results and following up with their work. Tom and team cleared an area of my property (with a significant amount of trees and root material), leveled, seeded new grass. Extremely knowledgeable and recommend for others.

Description of Work
Cleared approximately 0.25 acre of land and seeded a new lawn

Category landscaping, tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2018

5.0

09/26/2018


Janis V.

Tom's crew worked well as a team and promptly got the job done. Tom's design was on point with what I wanted. He has excellent design sense.

Description of Work
Grading, hardscape, pavers, landscaping

Category landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/27/2018

Images

Review for All Type Landscape Co - P.O. Box 201, Whittaker, MI - 37426352

+1 More

5.0

10/10/2017


Sarah V.

Tom knows basically everything there is to know about patios, and takes his work very seriously. Actually, he knows so much about patios that at first it was a bit overwhelming to determine what we actually wanted, but Tom was very patient with us while we figured it out. He also worked with us to keep our project within budget. He was very responsive, and checked in continually as the work was being done to make sure we were happy. His crew was friendly and professional, and the work got done faster than we had anticipated. The end result was a superbly crafted and gorgeous patio, and a much better drainage system than what we had before.

Description of Work
All Type installed a large paver patio with accent walls, fire pit, and lighting, a retaining wall, a leveled pad for a shed, and an underground downspout with a pop up drain.

Category landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2017

5.0

09/18/2017


Rose M.

Tom and his crew did the job quickly and well. Tom was easy to work with and made sure we were happy with the quote before starting work. He took precautions to ensure our old shed did not break when being moved and always kept us informed on the progress of our project.

Description of Work
Adding privacy trees; moving a shed to create a stone patio

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2017

5.0

03/16/2017


Brad Y.

Tom and his team did a great job in all aspects of their job installing their French Drain system in our backyard. He is very responsive when called and provides great detail about what work is being performed so the customer understands how it works. Tom also stands by his work and has followed up with us numerous times to make sure we are happy with the service he provided. We would recommend All Type Landscaping for future jobs.

Description of Work
French Drain Install - Backyard Drainage Issues

Category landscaping, drain pipe