Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mike's Heating and Cooling

Founded 1979 • With Angi since May 2013

4.6

(39) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

46149 Van Dyke Ave

Utica, MI 48317

Description

With more than 37 years in the heating and cooling business, Mike's Heating & Cooling is dedicated to providing the best possible service for you and your family. Carrier factory authorized dealer, 11 employees, billing, paid in full upon completion, wells fargo financing available (upon approval),

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/16/2022


Shyraw S.

We hired Mike's Heating and Cooling to install a tankless water heater. After the completion of the install, at 4:00 am our carbon monoxide detector went off alerting us of carbon monoxide. After speaking with the technician, he advised that he didn't check the furnace vent when the chimney was capped and although he was very apologetic, we could have lost our lives. Had it not been for the carbon monoxide detector, we would not be alive today. Although the problem has been fixed, I feel that this was gross negligence and I expected better from a "professional" heating and cooling business.

Description of Work
installation of tankless water heater

Category water heater repair

5.0

11/28/2020


Matt T.

It was a warm day in November before things got to busy. When I called first thing in the morning, they were able to schedule me same day. The technician arrived within the window of time given. He wore a mask. He did a thorough job and found a capacitor that needed replacing, which probably saved me a service call later this winter. I was happy with the service and would use them again.

Description of Work
Annual furnace inspection

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/11/2020


Paul B.

Well, he went the extra mile to resell my incompatible condenser as well.

Description of Work
Replace condenser after determining the incompatible condition of sear ratings as the root cause of issue.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/27/2019


Paulette B.

Great - They are the best - very honest and professional and always do the job right - in an emergency they come out immediately and for standard issues you can schedule within a few days and they are always prompt - would highly recommend them to anyone

Description of Work
Furnace issues

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/19/2018


Chris L.

It went great. Would hire them again.

Description of Work
New Furnace and Water Heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]! We hope your enjoying your new units!
2.0

06/01/2018


Mike M.

I was a previous customer. they have been here 2 times. I Set up a prevent appointment, They gave me a time and day . No show no call. When I called to inquire, they said I was on a list . I asked why THEY made an appointment, they said they did not know. 4 hour window time, and my time wasted.

Description of Work
AC check and recharge

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We would like to take this opportunity to SINCERELY apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. After the Memorial Day weekend we were inundated with hundreds of calls for people without air conditioning. We attempted to reschedule anything that wasn't an emergency and prioritize accordingly. Again, we sincerely apologize as we were doing the very best we could given the circumstances. I absolutely agree, you should have received a phone call. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We really strive to make sure all of our customers are taken care of.
2.0

12/26/2017


George A.

Mike's Heating & Cooling replaced a component on my furnace less than a year ago. New component is failing and they say only warranty work & component for 30 days (none of which is stated on their website). I verified the component warranty with Lenox and they stated 1 year warranty.

Description of Work
Needed Furnace Exhaust Venter Blower replaced (Diagnosis from Mike's Heating & Cooling). The component was replaced.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/02/2017


Judith W.

Expertly done. Service men are very knowledgeable and professional. I was particularly happy with the clean up after the new furnace and AC installation.

Description of Work
Seasonal AC Check. In the past I have had this company do all my furnace and AC work including replacing both 3 years ago.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/22/2017


Nancy U.

Price was good. I would use them again.

Description of Work
A/C Maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/20/2017


Larry H.

Called Mikes and was told to immediately turn off the unit and that they would have someone over the next day. They called two hours later and said that they could come by then. After deducing that we had a frozen system due to lost Freon, they said to keep the system off and that they would be back at 10am the next day. They arrived on time and charged the system and we were back cooling again within the hour. Repairman did note that if the Freon leak persisted, that we would need a new system. So he left some brochures with us to view. So far, we are cool and comfortable!

Description of Work
Home air conditioner froze up and stopped cooling during the 90 degree heat wave.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/05/2017


Kellie N.

I loved the way Mike Jr. gave me a very detailed estimate with multiple options to choose from. He was willing to conference call with my husband and took time to answer all of our questions. After getting several estimates, Mike quoted a superior high efficiency system at the same price others quoted for an 80 percent efficient system. We were happy with the installation and are happy to be nice and cool again!

Description of Work
Replaces furnace and air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/10/2017


CARL K.

It went very well neat clean and no complications.

Description of Work
New Furnace and Air Conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]! It was a pleasure helping you with your heating and cooling needs. We hope your new unit keeps you and your family comfortable and worry-free for years to come.
5.0

02/20/2017


Rchard M.

Paul who serviced the furnace and air conditioner several times is professional and to be trusted.

Description of Work
Installed gas water heater and serviced furnace and air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your glowing review. We are pleased to hear Paul was able to assist you and in such a professional manner. We look forward to servicing your heating and cooling needs in the future.
5.0

01/22/2017


Ronnie S.

Everything went perfectly for both installations.4,500

Description of Work
Had new A/C unit installed in 2015 and new furnace in 2016. Installations and use instructions were excellent. We have used Mike's for almost 15 years and would never change!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! We are thrilled that we were able to help you with your heating and cooling needs.
5.0

01/22/2017


Lorraine M.

We had problems with our condo board of directors. They insisted that we must put the two pipes out the back of the unit. Mikes tech. checked it twice and said it wasn't in code to put it there. He said it could go out the side of the unit with a small cover hiding the pipes. After three letters to the board, we finally got the approval and are more than satisfied with their work. They could have done what some other units did and put the pipes out the back against city/state code,but they insisted on doing it right. I'am thankful that they we used a good reputable shop like "Mikes Heating and Cooling".

Description of Work
A new furnace and AC.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for such a great review! It was a little sticky getting all the kinks worked out, but we are pleased that we were able to do the job right the first time.
5.0

10/31/2016


Eleanor S.

Mike's was able to come in the next day for a burner replacement we couldn't get another provider we had been working with in for for at least another few days. Manufacturer supplied the part and the replacement went smoothly. Price was reasonable compared to other places we received quotes from in trying to get repair done ASAP.

Description of Work
Burner replacement on water heater.

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Mrs. [Member Name Removed] - We know that your time is precious and we appreciate the time taken to give us this review. We look forward to assisting you with any of your HVAC needs in the future. Sincerely, Your Friends at Mike's Heating & Cooling
5.0

04/24/2016


Ron P.

Everything went well. Needed work done right away and they were the fast appointment I could find. No problems for two years so I am now contacting them for a hot water tank replacement

Description of Work
Replaced furnace and AC.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] for your glowing review. We are thrilled you had such a positive experience with Mike's Heating and Cooling. We see that you were looking for information in regards to a water heater, we will be calling you soon to give you the information we have on our Bradford White water heaters made right here in Michigan. If there is anything else you need with your HVAC needs, please don't hesitate to call, we would love the opportunity to work for you again!
5.0

04/01/2016


Dawn E.

Everything went great. I would use them in the future.

Description of Work
They fixed the furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] - We know that your time is precious and we appreciate the time taken to give us this review. We look forward to assisting you with any of your HVAC needs in the future. Sincerely, Your Friends at Mike's Heating & Cooling
5.0

08/13/2014


Patricia S.

They were punctual, professional, honest and informative. They solved the problem.

Description of Work
They replaced a capacitor in the air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed], for taking the time to give us such a glowing review. We always appreciate hearing from our customers and we are thrilled that you had such a great experience. Please don't hesitate to call if you have any other HVAC questions or concerns.
5.0

09/08/2013


Jim or Sue C.

It went very well. Mike Jr. arrived at the appointed time and place. He was friendly and polite. Introduced himself and asked a few questions regarding the problem. He went straight to work and had me turn the unit on. He quickly identified the problem. He performed the needed repair, then checked the current draw of the compressor and the condenser fan motors before confirming that the coolant line was getting cold and the airflow was getting warm. Finally, he checked the tightness of all exposed fasteners.He advised me of the service cost and that they would accept a check or a credit card for payment. I wrote a check and he gave me an itemized receipt before leaving for his next appointment. He was done and gone within about 30 minutes. Very knowledgable and helpful.

Description of Work
Replaced the failed dual run capacitor in the central A/C condenser unit. Checked amperage draw of A/C compressor and condenser fan motor and confirmed they were within specifications.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you, Mr. [Member Name Removed], for taking the time to give us such a glowing review. We always appreciate hearing from our customers and we are thrilled that you had such a great experience. Please don't hesitate to call if you have any other HVAC questions or concerns.
5.0

05/19/2013


Thomas P.

A friend called me to look at her 30-year-old furnace, because it had stopped heating. I was unable to diagnose anything simple, so I suggested she call Mike's since it was nearby. Mike's came out, gave her an estimate, and she had a new working furnace the following day. The installation looks very professional.

Description of Work
They replaced a furnace for a friend of mine.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you, Mr. [Member Name Removed], for taking the time to give us such a glowing review. We always appreciate hearing from our customers and we are thrilled that you had such a great experience. Please don't hesitate to call us for any of your HVAC questions or concerns.
5.0

05/08/2013


Karen I.

The technician was prompt and professional. They were very honest. They gave us a cost effective solution that worked, instead of selling us an expensive part.

Description of Work
We had a problem with our furnace ignitor.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed], for taking the time to give us a review. We always appreciate hearing from our customers and we are thrilled that you had such a great experience. Please don't hesitate to call if you have any other HVAC questions or concerns.
5.0

10/23/2012


Diane M.

All went very well and the job was completed in a day as promised. The two man crew was professional, polite and neat. We also were able to take advantage of a Carrier and utility rebate.

Description of Work
Had a new high efficiency Carrier Infinity furnace and air conditioner installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed], for taking the time to give us a review. We always appreciate hearing from our customers and we are thrilled that you had such a great experience. We are always happy to share the amazing rebate options that Carrier and various utility companies offer, and we are pleased you were able to take advantage of these offers. Please don't hesitate to call if you have any other HVAC questions or concerns.
5.0

07/23/2012


Nicole D.

We called Mike's and they came out to give us a quote very quickly. The heat from this summer was worrying us and after a few quotes from other companies, we were comfortable with the brand Mike was selling (the owner gave us the quote) and he also had a manufacturer's rebate on the unit he could offer us and they also take care of a rebate from Consumer's and DTE. We went on Angie's List after the quote and saw only one review with the bad rating. We decided to give Mike a chance to explain because there are two sides to every story. Mike knew the customer that the review belonged to and explained what the customer was unhappy with and all that they did to help rectify the situation. He wasn't unkind towards that customer, but gave us the facts. He also offered up several paper reviews from happy customers. Mike handled the situation nicely and we felt comfortable with him. They called us up the day after we decided to go with them and offered us a portable a/c unit to borrow until installation of our new unit. It worked great and we were impressed with the kind offer. The Tuesday after the 4th of July, two men came around 8:30 am, which was when we were expecting them. They were very nice and we were able to ask all of our questions and received the answers we were looking for. We felt comfortable leaving the two men in our home as we went to work and they offered to call one hour before they were done, so we could be back to go over everything with them. We offered some solutions for locking up the home if they wanted to leave for lunch, but they had brought their lunch. They were done around 4 and my husband met up with them to inspect everything. The timeline was exactly what we were told to expect. The unit was cooling our house just fine until the following Sunday, when the air did stop working, but we were confident that Mike would send someone out asap and left a voicemail on Sunday afternoon after we were sure the air was not coming back on. First thing Monday, 7 am or so, someone called and said they would send a technician around 8 am. The technician came and got it working right away and took about an hour to diagnose the problem since it was a setting and he was able to get it working right away. He fixed the setting that was just being sensitive and it has been working great ever since. We really appreciated the professionalism of the employees at Mike's and the promptness from quote to installation to emergency call.

Description of Work
Installation of new furnace, air conditioner and humidifier. Our furnace was from the 90's and our air conditioning had not worked since we moved into our house (five years).

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed], for taking the time to give us a review. We always appreciate hearing from our customers and we are thrilled that you had such a great experience. We look forward to working with you on any other HVAC questions or concerns.
1.0

06/18/2012


Carolyn M.

They were sloppy, and it was so bad that he fired the first crew that was here for two days. We have already had 6 service calls since the installation. The AC went out yesterday, the hottest day of the year. We are not happy with the way the system was installed, and has been serviced. We had purchased filters from them before, and wanted to keep our business in the neighborhood.

Description of Work
They installed a Carrier furnace, air conditioner, and humidifier.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Davco Heating & Cooling, LLC

    We are your complete licensed and insured heating and cooling contractor! We have affordable service rates and all of our work is guaranteed for your peace of mind. Remember, Your Comfort is Our Concern! If you're interested in replacing an old system, all estimates on new installs are absolutely FREE! Already have a quote? Ask us, we may be able to beat it!  

    Angi Certified

    Cregger Plumbing, Heating & Cooling

    If you’re searching for a trusted Detroit plumber that serves Wayne, Macomb, and Oakland Counties, look no further than The Cregger Company. The third-generation plumbing company offers a wide range of high-quality services including general plumbing repairs, sewer and drain cleaning, backflow prevention, water heater services, boiler services, and flood control. Considered as expert diagnosticians, the company’s plumbing team has the experience, training, and equipment to solve even the most challenging plumbing issue. Day or night, The Cregger Company works around the clock to keep your plumbing system safe and efficient. Call now to schedule a service. The company provides free estimates and has flexible financing options available to help with budget concerns. The Cregger Company loves what they do, especially when customers like you are happy.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers by Cregger Plumbing, Heating & Cooling on Angi
    Hoover Electric, Plumbing, Heating And Cooling

    Since 1980, Hoover Electric, Plumbing, Heating And Cooling has served Southeast Michigan with exceptional work at fair and affordable rates. What began as a small commercial electrical business has since diversified to include all the services you need under one roof. Because Hoover is a one-stop shop, the company is better able to manage and negotiate the costs of each project and pass savings along to the customers. Every Hoover technician undergoes rigorous trainings and continuing education to ensure they are up to date on the latest technology and methods available in the industry. Technicians make comfort and safety a top priority of every job, and strive to present themselves in a courteous, professional manner in every interaction. The business stands behind its top-quality work with a 100-percent satisfaction guarantee.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Water Heater Installation & Service, Furnace Installation & Service, Air Conditioner Installation & Service, Heating & Air Conditioning, AC.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not offer duct cleaning.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mike's Heating and Cooling

    How is Mike's Heating and Cooling overall rated?

    Mike's Heating and Cooling is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mike's Heating and Cooling open?

    Mike's Heating and Cooling is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Mike's Heating and Cooling provide

    Mike's Heating and Cooling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Mike's Heating and Cooling offer free estimates?

    No, Mike's Heating and Cooling does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Mike's Heating and Cooling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Mike's Heating and Cooling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Mike's Heating and Cooling?

    No, Mike's Heating and Cooling does not offer warranties.

    What services does Mike's Heating and Cooling offer?

    Mike's Heating and Cooling offers the following services: Water Heater Installation & Service, Furnace Installation & Service, Air Conditioner Installation & Service, Heating & Air Conditioning, AC.

    Are there any services Mike's Heating and Cooling does not offer?

    We do not offer duct cleaning.