Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

John Jackson Handyman Service

Founded 2002 • With Angi since September 2011

Over 15 years experience. Small jobs are always welcome. I am also an installer of EZ ARMOR CONCEPTS. This a product to prevent kick in of your entrance points, such as entrance doors and the door between your house and garage. also locks for your sliding glass doors to prevent them from being opened by prying. Award winning.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(171) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 171 reviews
Carole R.
5.0
03/29/2022
He did a great job and he cleaned up afterwards.
Description of Work
Repaired little things around my house.
Category
handyman service
Kevin J.
4.0
08/12/2021
He did what i ask for. He left some material that i need to patch and paint.
Description of Work
Fixed a stairs step and rehung a pocket door
Category
handyman service
Kayleigh F.
5.0
05/12/2021
John was wonderful. Punctual and great communication. He made us beautiful custom closet shelving exactly like we wanted. Hung new closet doors throughout our home. Amazing! One of the best!
Description of Work
Custom closet shelving and closet door install
Category
appliance repair, closet systems
Shelia H.
5.0
03/29/2021
Mr. Jackson actually answered my call immediately and when he arrived to perform our service, he was punctual, professional and the quality of his work was great. I will definitely call him again for handyman services.
Description of Work
repaired and re-installed mailbox
Category
handyman service
Virginia G.
5.0
02/26/2021
Very well. He came right away and went above and beyond to get everything right. Would highly recommend and would not hesitate to use again
Description of Work
Kitchen cabinets and large drawer repair
Category
appliance repair, handyman service
Sam or Donna C.
1.0
05/27/2019
Company reached out stating he was out of town but never followed up on his return.
Description of Work
Handyman work - dryer vent and siding repair
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

I did contact the party upon my return was told the work was already scheduled with some one else , called them spoke with the lady of the house
Joseph C.
5.0
03/27/2019
John provided a quality end table with solid craftsmanship that turned the vision we had into a reality.
Description of Work
We needed an end table for the basement.
Category
handyman service, woodworking
Noelle S.
5.0
01/01/2019
John is a nice man. He is punctual and responsive. He does a good job.
Description of Work
Installed a mailbox and installed temporary fencing.
Category
handyman service, mailbox repair
Navin P.
5.0
01/30/2018
John was very punctual, came in time even it was snow today. He repaired my mailbox very well. He was very dedicated in his work, very organized. After reinstalling my towel hangers in restroom, he even painted the adjacent wall to look pretty. He brought accessories like hinge pin door stopper with him to install in the door. He did not leave any waste/garbage, kept it clean. He was excellent. It appeared to me that he really care for his customer. His price was reasonable.
Description of Work
John repaired my mailbox, reinstalled towel hangers in restroom, adjusted shower door
Category
handyman service
Bess B.
5.0
12/01/2017
He returned my call promptly gave me a time he would be at my home the following day....Showed up as stated and completed the job.
Description of Work
A new lock and dead bolt added to front door
Category
handyman service
Claudia M.
5.0
10/07/2017
So well that I am having him come ack formore as soon as he is free.
Description of Work
Many small and large jobs. From replacing deckrailing, fixing the basement stairs to installing new locks.
Category
handyman service
Janeen S.
5.0
09/15/2017
Great! He's my go to guy for my honey do list. I've hired him several times. Very competent and does a great job.
Description of Work
Sliding patio door adjusted, sliding internal door fixed, checked my roof, etc.
Category
handyman service
Peyton P.
1.0
08/14/2017
John had confirmed with me twice that he would arrive Thursday or Friday of the week that I spoke with him. He did not show up and did not call. I get weary of contractors who do this and then post some excuse which the customer cannot respond to. Whether you went on vacation, had an emergency medical situation with your wife, or anything else that left your brain functioning and your hands able to touch a button on a phone, it is not that difficult to call a customer (especially one that has purchased your service a few times before) before, during or after the scheduled appointment time to let them know the situation even if you have decided you no longer want to work with them. It is all about courtesy, character, customer service and respect.
Description of Work
John was to remove a satellite dish from my roof, assist a person in removing a pinball machine from my house among other things.
Category
handyman service
David E S.
5.0
08/04/2017
He was clean, personable, and completed the job.
Description of Work
Handymen Services
Category
handyman service
Mary Louise P.
5.0
08/02/2017
I was satisifed with the work he had done, and I had called him back to do some more work and I have not heard from him since. I told him what I needed done, and he said yes that he could do that, and he never got back in touch with me. He goes from A to E - he gets an A because the work he did for me was great and I really appreciate it, and now he doesn't get in touch with me. Price seemed a little high, but I may be out of sync with today's cost. I would use them again if he got back with me. I accessed Angie's List, got his name, it looked reasonable to me so I called him. He was clean, very personable. He was responsive and I was very satisfied.
Description of Work
He fixed some latches on a door, and a few other things.
Category
handyman service, lighting
Mary Louise P.
4.0
08/02/2017
I was satisfied with the work he had done and I called him back to come and do some more work. I haven't heard from him since. I told him what I needed done and he said "Yeah" he could do that and he never got back in touch with me. He goes from "A" to "E" because he gets an "A" for the work that he did was just great and I appreciate it, but now he doesn't get in touch with me. The price seemed a little high, but I maybe out of sync with today's cost. I don't have any great rating scale. I just accessed Angie's List and got his name, it looked reasonable to me and I called him. He was very personable, clean, and responsive. I was very satisfied.
Description of Work
He fixed some latches on a door.
Category
handyman service
James B.
5.0
07/25/2017
He was on time, did very well and I was very pleased with his service. He was very knowledgeable and gave me some good advice regarding my vertical blinds. I would and have recommended him to others.
Description of Work
I hired him to put up some vertical blinds in my living and bedroom and also installed a grab bar in my bathroom.
Category
handyman service
Amy B.
2.0
05/18/2017
Both done badly and no discount was given.
Description of Work
Cat door installed and garage rack
Category
handyman service
Linda S.
3.0
04/27/2017
Customer Beware of cancellations. After reading some of the customer reviews, I decided to give Mr. Jackson the benefit of the doubt, only to find out that I should have contacted another provider instead. I first contacted Mr. Jackson via email on Angie's List on Mar. 29th, in which he responded within a couple hours. We discussed the jobs that needed to be done and he said he wouldn't be able to do job until around the middle of April, as his wife was having foot surgery the next week. We were ok with this because we also needed to wait for slightly warmer weather for the caulking to be done. I Contacted Mr. Jackson on April 17th, he said he would come out and review the job, which he did the next day. We discussed him doing the job on the 26th or 27th, he chose the 26th and gave us a ballpark figure of $300-$400 to complete the job. Later that day he called and said he would need to change the date to the 27th, because his wife had a doctor appointment that he need to take her to. Again, we were ok with it, seeing that the 27th was one of the days we gave as an option. In the afternoon of Wednesday the 26th, I received a call from Mr. Jackson that he needed to cancel the job. Giving the reason that things still were not going well after his wife's surgery and things keep coming up. He said he was sorry several times, that he wanted to call on Sunday to let us know but didn't want to bother us on Sunday. However, he did not bother to call us on Monday or Tuesday either, but waited until less that 24 hours before he should have been showing up to do the job. THAT, I am not ok with. So, we scramble to find another provider. Seems that Mr. Jackson does not have good business practices and maybe should think about getting help for his wife or retire from the business to take care of her himself.
Description of Work
Needed to have a bedroom ceiling fan replaced and need the windows and doors caulked.
Category
handyman service
Mary Louise P.
5.0
04/12/2017
I needed some door jams adjusted, a door knob reattached and two light fixtures replaced.
Description of Work
He did some electrical and carpentry work for me.
Category
electrician, home builders
Maurice W.
5.0
03/22/2017
Excellent work and folllow-up. Trustworthy which is very important. Will be my exclusive handyman from here on out.
Description of Work
Replaced interior banister and mailbox
Category
handyman service
Kayleigh F.
5.0
01/27/2017
Wonderful service! I would definitely recommend. He arrived on time and did amazing work. We were thrilled with the outcome. His quote was very close to final cost. He called us a week later to follow up and make sure the doors were working properly and that we were satisfied.
Description of Work
Five interior doors installed, including reframing one doorway.
Category
handyman service, doors
Norman B.
5.0
01/17/2017
quick response and prompt, professional work
Description of Work
put post in the frozen ground, build a wood frame, and mount 4 mailboxes on it, with application of numbers
Category
handyman service
Brant F.
5.0
12/22/2016
The installation went very well. The new mailbox holder was put together and fully installed in about 2 hours. It is solidly in the ground and John placed it exactly how I wanted it. I was totally satisfied. I would use him again for any handy man type jobs around my home. He is a very friendly person to work with.
Description of Work
My mailbox is near the road in my neighborhood. The snow plows came buy and basically destroyed the mailbox. So I needed a replacement even though we are in very cold weather. I wasn't sure that it could be done. I called John and he was able to come over, review the mess, and ultimately put in a new mailbox.
Category
handyman service, mailbox repair
Richard G.
5.0
11/18/2016
Everything was done well and area was clean when he finished.
Description of Work
John did installation of lighting on 3 floors. Also repaired the seals on all doors.
Category

Phone

Address

2802 Dashwood DR.

Troy, MI 48083

Other Information

Services offered

Home Repair & Maintenance.

Services not offered

yard work , appliance repair , cermic tile ,roofing

Payment options

Check

FAQ

John Jackson Handyman Service is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

John Jackson Handyman Service is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

John Jackson Handyman Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, John Jackson Handyman Service offers free project estimates.

No, John Jackson Handyman Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, John Jackson Handyman Service does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, John Jackson Handyman Service offers emergency services.

Yes, John Jackson Handyman Service offers warranties.

John Jackson Handyman Service offers the following services: Home Repair & Maintenance.

yard work , appliance repair , cermic tile ,roofing

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Your one-stop shop for all your window treatment needs. From blinds to shades to sheers to shutters, we offer it all including premium brands like Hunter-Douglas. And with over 40 years of installation experience we can confidently say that we can correctly install your window treatments over any window (even if your windows are 50ft off the ground). So whether you've recently moved, are planning on moving, or just want to update the look of your home, we can help. Contact us today to schedule a FREE IN-HOME CONSULTATION call 248-346-0837 or email g41255@gmail.com. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service!  

Since 1982 Closets by Design designs has built a reputation of integrity as the industry leader in building custom closets, garage cabinets, offices, laundries, pantries and much more. With a wide selection of finishes, accessories and hardware, you will get the customized look you have always imagined. We are committed to quality from the beginning to the end of your project and look forward to earning your business. We also offer Financing!  

GEH COMMUNICATIONS

5.0

(3)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

GEH COMMUNICATIONS

GEH Communications has been in business since 1999. We service and install Alarm systems, Access controls, Intercoms, CCTV, Home theater and Surround Sounds. We are licensed and insured in the state of Michigan. Please ask us about our military, veteran and senior discounts.