Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Best Chimney & Roofing Co

Founded 1962 • With Angi since December 2005

Best Chimney & Roofing Co. is a family owned business, governed by old-fashioned values, quality and manners. We have been in business since 1963. We believe in quality workmanship, and treating our customers with respect and integrity, which have been lost in the business world today. We feel it is important to give our customers 100%. We will ALWAYS take time out to explain what is happening in the restoration process of your chimney. Keep in mind, the nice thing about dealing with a family owned business is that we take the time and care about your family like our own.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(68) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 68 reviews
Scott A.
5.0
04/30/2022
Received a quote from Chuck last September & when I called in March, they said they’d be out to do the porch repair for the same price, as soon as it was warm enough. A couple weeks later, I received a call on a Friday from Chad saying he’d be able to start work that Monday. He and another guy removed and replaced the large, busted steps without damaging my existing wooden railing, patched and replaced pieces of the cement cap, adding a clean, fresh layer of cement on top, filling a bunch of cracks between bricks that had settled, and reattaching my downspout. These guys went above and beyond and had most of it done in one day. An added bonus - I worked from home that day, and I barely heard a peep. Very respectful, mindful of my property and neighbors. Good-looking, fast work for a reasonable price.
Description of Work
Porch cap repair and steps replaced
Category
concrete repair, decks
Sharon D.
5.0
05/25/2018
They were out within hours after we called. Not one but two squirrels fell into my Mom's chimney within a week because the screen was old and tore. Was fixed quickly - would call them again!
Description of Work
new cap with screen for chimney
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
Rod M.
3.0
07/28/2017
I was told there was a crack at the top of my chimney, allowing water to enter the chimney, was told they sealed it and no more water would get in. The next rain storm, tons of water leaking inside, called them to have them come back, was told someone would be out, no one came, called three more times on different days, was told twice someone would be out, no one came, eventually they stopped returning my calls. Had another company come out, they immediately found a few areas where mortar was completely missing around some bricks and the old caulking at the roof line had large holes in it. The other company sealed and caulked, no more leaks. When Best Chimney replaced the porch steps, they only mortared one side of the steps, but left large gaps at the top of the step where it met the porch and left large gaps open along the other side where each step met each other and met the side of the porch. The large gaps will make great homes for ants and wasps, when asked why they didn't fill the gaps all the way around, I was told because it will just crack open when the house shifts. It really just looked like they ran out of mortar mix and didn't want to waste time/money making more. I sealed up the gaps myself. When they did the gutter, they ran the down spout right up against the house below my window, so water will pour out against my wall/house. Never saw that before, everyone knows you need water to run AWAY from your house, not against it. I had to remove the down spout and fix it myself. They're responsive until they do the work and get your money, but after that you will never get a return call and no one will ever come back to correct any issues. They did this to me the last time I used them about 3 years ago for brick work. I will never use or recommend this company again.
Description of Work
Leaking chimney, replace porch steps, add gutters, caulking around windows.
Category
decks, gutter repair, chimney repair
larry G.
5.0
12/13/2016
Replaced Cap with high quality metal product that is far superior to the original builder quality one that was originally installed by unscrupulous homebuilder. Replaced warped would around chimney and stopped the leak that was going to my living room ceiling.
Description of Work
Chimney Cap Replacement
Category
chimney repair
BRIAN C.
2.0
12/02/2015
Not very good workmanship. Picked bricks that did not match and talked me into believing the selection was the best match. I later discovered this wasn't true.
Description of Work
Chimney repair
Category
chimney repair
Moonira I.
4.0
11/06/2015
Charles the salesman was fast and quick and professional. When I called the office to set up a time it took a while for the permit to be past and it's took a lot longer than they told me that it would be for them to start. But considering how busy it is the season it's easy to see that everyone is busy. The only real issue I had was I had to get in the habit of calling their office to remind them of my job. Which I think I shouldn't have to do. But once the work started the workers were professional and the work looks to be done well.
Description of Work
Chimney tuck point and porch point
Category
masonry, chimney repair
Matt P.
1.0
11/04/2015
I contacted Best Chimney to get my chimney repaired. Charles the estimator was professional and courteous. He gave me a reasonable quote and told me the job should be done in a day. Unfortunately at that point the professionalism ended. I called them the week of October 19th to get a date scheduled. I didn't get a call back until the week of the 26th. I asked for a date the week of Nov 2nd if possible and was told by Charles that tehy would do their best based on availability and they would call and tell me a specific time since I needed to schedule the time with work to be home. I then get a call from Dave on the morning of the 3rd around 8:15am asking if they can be there in 30 minutes to start. Since I had no notice and was on the way out the door to work. I told asked to schedule for the 4th. Dave agreed and said he be there around nine and would call. On the morning of the 4th I got a call from Dave around 9:35 that he was running late and he would be on site in about 20 minutes. Fifteen minutes later, I get a call from the office saying that Dave had to take care of an emergency call and would not be at site until after noon. When I asked if the job would still be done in day, I got first a very vague answer and then a "Well, the rebuild would be done but he may have to come back for the flashing" . When I asked for a more certain answer, I was given to Dave who was back at the office. He told me that he had to go back to his previous days worksite because of an issue with the inspection and would be back at my site afternoon. When I asked for some assurances on when he would be on site I didn't get any so I cancelled. Best Chimney did not show ANY respect for my time after the original estimate visit. the scheduling took forever and I never got any reasonable notice to get my service date set up. Also, your employee being required to go back to a previous work site to correct something is NOT an emergency. Given Charles estimate and original inspection I was considering Best for some roofing work next year. Not now . Not ever.
Description of Work
Estimates for Chimney rebuild/reflash
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, roofing, chimney repair
Joe & Carol J.
1.0
05/07/2015
I had called and asked them to schedule an estimate on another property we own. There were complications and I tried to follow up with them about 3 times within a two week period and when I did speak to them, the person on the phone began to yell at me and said that he will never go out there and to leave us alone and find somebody else. It was horrible considering we had a pretty good experience in the past and all I was doing was trying to schedule to use them again! I will definitely never be using them again!
Description of Work
I had used them in the past to replace a step on a house that we own.
Category
concrete repair
Kenneth H.
5.0
04/22/2015
The work went great they where there early and were done in one day.
Description of Work
Replaced rotted boards on roof and replaced the shingles with new on garage side room roof.
Category
roofing, chimney repair
Jim P.
5.0
04/16/2015
They came on time, price was reasonable and completed in a timely manner.
Description of Work
.
Category
chimney caps
Bonita E.
5.0
03/27/2015
They showed up promptly, finished the job in the time promised, and cleaned up everything very well. They were courteous and did a wonderful job. I have a large roof so it was quite a job.
Description of Work
Did a double tear down on my roof and replaced it as well as replacing all the fascia boards and painted them to match my trim.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, chimney repair
Jonathan H.
5.0
01/29/2015
I had Best Chimeny out for a repair estimate. I had been quoted a lot of money from a different company and wanted a second opinion. My understanding from my initial home inspection led me to believe the first estimate was off. Best came out and completed an inspection. I was informed that it was a few simple repairs that would be needed and the price was about $1500 cheaper than the other company that want me to put in a whole new fire box and chimney stack. I have not contracted the work out yet but the inspector was professional and nice. I will surly use them when I am ready for the work to be done.
Description of Work
Estimate for Chimney repair.
Category
chimney repair
Michael O.
4.0
01/05/2015
I contacted the company in September, and they couldn't get the job started until December. I took that as a good sign that they were busy because they were good., and that turned out to be true. The workers were prompt, and it went quicker than I thought. The brick was a good match but the mortar didn't match like I expected. The only other issue I had was that by the time the job was finished, it was too cold to acid wash the brick, so the leftover mortar dust is still on the brick. Otherwise, they did a nice job.
Description of Work
Replaced brick and liner on chimney, also tuck pointed several areas on front and back of house.. I also had a window air conditioner removed, and the opening bricked in.
Category
masonry, chimney repair
John M.
5.0
12/16/2014
After investigation, we discovered that having a poured cement cap was far superior to a mortar or sandstone cap. Best Chimney fully agreed and replaced our cap with a poured, cement cap at a very reasonable cost. They also replaced about 70 bricks. After an acid wash they matched almost perfectly. Additionally, at no extra cost, they tuck pointed and sealed the inside "fire box". The whole job, including clean up, surpassed our expectations. We would highly recommend Best Chimney and would use them again. Cost, quality and on time service deserve an A+
Description of Work
Tore off & replaced chimney cap. Removed & replaced approximately 70 bricks.
Category
masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair
Thomas P.
5.0
11/08/2014
Showed on time, checked that the order was correct and proceeded with work. Cleaned up area and again checked that all was as I wanted it. Job was done in a timely manner and a quality job.
Description of Work
New chimney cap, new top tile liner in chimney, added mortar and repointed bricks top 8-10 rows of brick on chimney. Took out old milk pass thru box and bricked in hole, replaced 20-30 weathered bricks and repointed 8-10 square feet of wall.
Category
masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair
Anne Y.
5.0
10/18/2014
Very nice professional and clean. On time and price was reaaonable
Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and repair very satisfied
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Kenneth H.
5.0
09/24/2014
They showed up on time and did the work and cleaned up after . Every thing looked great and they were nice.4819
Description of Work
Replace chimney
Category
chimney repair
Patricia T.
5.0
09/18/2014
They did a very good job, were prompt, came when they said they would.
Description of Work
Installed chimney liner.
Category
chimney repair
Justin B.
5.0
08/06/2014
The overall experience with Best Chimney was very positive. From the very beginning we were treated well. Charles provided the estimate, arriving on-time and giving a complete explanation of each point of both chimneys, including what was good and bad about each (in the future I'm skipping the pre-purchase home inspector altogether and just getting review As for the job, it went well - I think. I have no other experience with fireplaces and chimneys and don't know if I could spot a bad job or not, so all I can go on is their word. That said, I still think it went well. The workers (who, I should mention, were actually subcontractors and not direct employees, though that didn't appear to make a difference in the expected quality) began work as soon as they arrived, which was on-time. They periodically gave us an progress assessment, worked efficiently and safely, and, once they were finished, gave us an explanation of what was done, ensuring that what was done matched what we were quoted for. They were even very patient with our 7-year old. Again, it was an altogether postiive experience.
Description of Work
The call consisted of the following services: R&R of chimney crowns from two chimneys; R&R of topmost bricks from one chimney; sealing of counterflashing; refilling of tuckpoints on one chimney; and installation of rain caps.
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair
Jonathan H.
5.0
07/10/2014
I called Best Chimney on 7/8/2014 and they came out the same day for an estimate. The man who came out wrote an estimate right on the spot and explained what needed to be done. The next morning I called Best Chimney to let them know I'd like to go ahead with the work. They came out the same day. Two workmen arrived about 4p and it took them about 3 hours to complete the job. They worked quickly and efficiently. They cleaned up the mess that was left too.
Description of Work
Tuckpointed entire brick porch and replaced about 8-10 bricks on the chimney and under front window
Category
masonry, chimney repair
Jacqueline S.
5.0
06/21/2014
Called this company after a very bad phone experience with another company. I was told by the office that Chris would call me back for an appointment for an estimate. He returned the call within a couple of hours and came right over. The estimate was competitive with the first company. The job was scheduled for the next day and the workers arrived on time. They were polite, neat and efficient. I was shown pictures of the completed job. They cleared all of their debris. I greatly recommend the company and would use them again if needed.
Description of Work
Installed a chimney hood, and stone cap. Resealed the chimney.
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
Terri and Jim P.
3.0
06/20/2014
The work was good but they had to come three times.
Description of Work
We used Best Chimney & Roofing for roofing.
Category
roofing
Douglas B.
5.0
05/19/2014
Best Chimney did some work for us last summer so they were our first choice for more cement and brick repair this year. Charles came out on a Saturday morning to provide a quote. The work was done a couple if weeks later. Right after they left we noticed that one small part of the quoted job had not been done. After a quick call there were back out that same day to complete the job, including an apology about missing it the first time. Overall high quality work and great customer service.
Description of Work
Replaced pre-cast concrete steps on our front porch. Repaired mortar damage between bricks by the garage door.
Category
masonry
Ray K.
5.0
04/24/2014
I was referred to Best Chimney by an friend and also saw the great Angie's list reviews. Without a doubt, this is the best home improvement contractor I've ever worked with. My initial phone call was answered courteously. I was told an estimator would contact me within a day. I got the call in about three hours. We arranged for an inspection the following day. The estimator (Arlo, who also turned out to be the project supervisor) came right on time and had an estimate prepared within 15 minutes. We set a date for the work. I got a call that morning that they were running a bit behind, but would be there within two hours. An hour later they were on site setting up scaffolding. The estimated time to do the work was "a day". They actually used about half of that. When they were done Arlo pointed out exactly what they had done area by area on the chimney. It looks great. In most places it is impossible to see the lines between old and new. Cleanup was thorough. The only thing left to evaluate is the durability, but based on watching them work, I'm confident that won't be an issue. What else can I say? They did what they said they'd do, on time, in budget and competently. No exceptions. I'd happily have Arlo and crew back to do any other masonry work that I need.
Description of Work
Replaced spalled bricks, repaired shoulder and tuckpointed chimney.
Category
masonry, chimney repair
Brett E.
5.0
04/23/2014
First of all, I suggest that you ask for Chad and Joe to undertake any work that you may need. We had an issue matching the brick color to the rest of the chimney. Chad went far beyond the norm to match the replacement brick with the brick of my chimney. We still couldn't come with a close match, so we settled with a solution that made me happy! My recommendation is the company needs to ensure that their dedicated, hardworking, loyal employees have the appropriate materials to ensure an efficacious job. Chad and Joe went beyond what their boss expects to satisfy a customer. Two good ole boys that will work their butts off to make you happy.
Description of Work
Removed the old mortar crown, and capped the chimney eradicating the broken bricks.
Category
masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Other local Pros in your area

Above All Masonry & Construction LLC

From chimney cleaning to a new roof, we can help improve the look and value of your home or business. We have over 25 years experience adn we are fully insured and licensed. Above All Masonry & Construction, LLC is dedicated to home beautification and restoration for both Residential and Commercial properties. Protecting our clients' investment with durable, guranteed products, increasing home values and our professional, courteous employees are all sources of pride. We treat every project like its our own home. We are a member of the Better Business Bureau and the Detroit and Downriver Business Association.  

Angi Certified

Oscar's Cement Co

We accepted credit cards Winter hours M,T,W,T,F 9:00am-2:00pm  

Angi Certified

Atlas Home Improvement

Atlas Home Improvement is a Specialty Contractor that has served more than 20,000 satisfied customers since 1989. We are a CAPS (Certified Aging in Place) Contractor that offers Jacuzzi Bath Remodel solutions including bathtubs, showers, tub to shower conversions and barrier free showers. Additionally, we sell both complete Bath Remodeling as well as Kitchen Remodeling. We sell Gutter Helmet gutter guards and seamless gutters including a heat wire solution to melt icicles and help with ice damming. As part of our Aging In Place division, we also offer Walk-in Tubs and custom Stair Lifts.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

5861 Pardee Rd

Taylor, MI 48180

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Best Chimney & Roofing Co is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Best Chimney & Roofing Co is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Ask Best Chimney & Roofing Co for details on free project estimates.

No, Best Chimney & Roofing Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Best Chimney & Roofing Co does not offer warranties.

Best Chimney & Roofing Co offers the following services: Chimneys, Chimney Covers, Roofs, Walls, Porches & Bar-B-Q & Fireplaces.