Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Adkins & Sons Inc

Founded 1979 • With Angi since July 2007

4.7

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

13789 Dix-Toledo

Southgate, MI 48195

Description

Family Owned and Operated since 1979. Certified & Experienced Installers that have been with the company for over 20 years. We offer FREE in home estimates and financing. Our windows come with a 15 year Labor Warranty along with the manufacturers warranty....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/28/2019


James A.

My wife i could not have been happier with the way things went . They were on time ,very clean making sure to keep the house clean. There were three men with Pat taking the lead on the job . They here to work and to make my wife and happy with the work they were performing. No trash was left in part of the house. Pat, was working in one bedroom and because it was winter took his shoes off not track up the house. I asked if they would fix one piece on the garage no problem they went a head and cut it out replaced it with a new piece. I have all ready talked to them about another job in my house. They just finished and i'm writing a review that should tell how felt about their work.

Description of Work
I had Adkins to install two storm doors ,four picture windows to replace the single pane in the breezeway.

Category replacement windows, doors

1.0

01/06/2018


Regina C.

Worse experience ever .

Description of Work
Siding windows doors

Category siding, replacement windows, doors

5.0

01/12/2017


William J.

Installed on time and perfect by a professional two man team. The lock had a mechanical issue. The business owner (Kyle) was contacted, responded immedialty in person, and corrected the issue with the manufacturer. I would recommend Adkins and sons to anyone. Turns out they installed all the Pela windows in my house before I purchased it. It pays to shop local with great personal customer service.

Description of Work
Custom front entry door.

Category replacement windows

5.0

07/05/2016


LAWRENCE L.

Description of Work
Great service, workers did a fantastic job. Could not be more satisfied.

Category replacement windows

5.0

01/22/2014


Kathy W.

Windows are beautiful. Installers were very professional, knowledgable,respectful of my home and property,and friendly. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Replaced 15 windows in my home and garage. Kyle, the owner gave an excellent presentation of the windows available and appropiate for my older home.

Category replacement windows

1.0

11/07/2013


Yishi Y.

The owner came to give us an estimate on the front entry door. He came 30 minutes late due to traffic, which was understandable since it was rush hour. We realized that they also do windows so we agreed that he'd come back again for windows estimate at 3pm on Saturday. On Saturday, he did not show up at 3. We waited until 3:30 and called his phone. There was no answer. I left a voice mail to ask if he still plans to come. Never got a call back from him.

Description of Work
Estimate for doors.

Category replacement windows, doors

1.0

09/07/2013


Denise L.

Only showed me bottom line products and was very condescending in his attitude. He never sent me promised/requested quotes.

Description of Work
Owner came out for requested quote. Only showed me bottom line products and never sent me promised/requested quotes.

Category replacement windows

5.0

08/26/2013


Kim C.

Showed up on time, worked all day, prepped as to not ruin anything inside. Cleaned up after they were finished. Showed us how the window operates, asked if there were questions and said to call if later thought of anything.

Description of Work
Installed a pella bow window with blinds in between panes in living room.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

08/08/2013


Andrew B.

We were very pleased with the overall process. We had stopped in at their showroom to view the selection of brands which they sell. We then had Kyle come out to our home to provide a written estimate. Once that was complete and we placed our order, we waited for the manufacturer to make them. This process took about 5 weeks. Once the windows and door were delivered to Adkin's & Sons we were able to get on their installation schedule within a few days. The installation process went great. Pat & his crew were wonderful to work with. Friendly, honest, down-to-earth, knowledgeable, professional in both their work and attitudes. They patiently answered all our questions and were always ready to explain what they were doing and why they were doing it. They were very respectful of us and our home. We appreciated the fact that they took care to section off their work areas, laying down tarps as necessary to protect our property. They also were extremely professional in their conduct while on the job site...conversations were clean and music was kept low (when it was even on, which wasn't often). They worked efficiently, but did not rush. The attitude was very much one of "do it right", not "do it quick". We did run into a problem with the doorwall that the manufacturer had made and shipped but Kyle worked to quickly get us a temporary door until the manufacturer could produce and ship the correct one. Everything looks great and we would not hesitate to recommend Adkin's and Sons to anyone looking to replace the windows in their home.

Description of Work
We purchased 9 new windows and 1 new sliding doorwall from Adkins & Sons. The contract also included the removal of our old windows and the installation of the new ones.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

06/20/2013


Lou B.

Owner came out and we ordered a new door wall. It took about six weeks to come in. Installers came on time and did a great job.

Description of Work
Installed new door wall which was custom ordered.

Category doors

5.0

05/10/2013


MARGARET B.

Kyle, the owner, gave me the estimate of the job and was great to work with. His crew that did the work, Pat and Mark, were on time, polite, cared about my house/furniture/carpet, they cleaned up the debris very well, and the work that the completed was done very perfect

Description of Work
My project was replacing 3 more windows in my home. I have used Adkins & Son, Inc. before to replace other windows and because I was happy with that finish product of the first time I used them I wanted them to do the last project.

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/25/2013


Jim K.

I had used them previously and was happy to hear that they were highly rated on Angie’s List. They again proved to be a great company. I’ve gotten to know the family that owns the company and they always do a great job.

Description of Work
They replaced the glass in my steel doors as well some gutter work.

Category glass repair, gutter repair, doors

4.0

12/28/2012


susan R.

Very nice and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Very good service and price. Had a lot of different ideas for the front door of my home and the price is still the best that I have seen. Just waiting to come up with the money.

Category doors

5.0

12/28/2012


Robert P.

Overall the job was done to our satisfaction.

Description of Work
We did not do comparison shopping, so we are unsure if we got a fair price. We did order the most expensive triple pane Pella windows available. The workmanship was excellent, and the workers cleaned up after they were done. We got our appointment moved up because of another customer's cancelation. You must allow sufficient lead time for the windows and blinds to be ordered.

Category replacement windows

5.0

07/04/2012


Willy Y.

After going to a home show and looking at ProVia doors, we found Adkins & Sons, Inc. via an Internet search for ProVia dealers in our area. Kyle Adkins provided us with a a proposal for installing a ProVia door for the front of our home. He reviewed all the specs for ordering and installing the door. The job included a front door, 2 side panels, and an oversize transom window. The work was completed in one and a half days. The installation was thorough and complete. The installation crew worked with the security company to re-install the front door alarm and made the security company's work easy. The installation crew was respectful of our home during the removal of the old door and the installation of the new door. Because our door molding is no longer available, they were able to remove the existing molding and re-install it. At the completion of the job, the installation team cleaned up the work site. We are very pleased with the overall experience working with Adkins & Sons, Inc. They are professional and provided quality work.

Description of Work
Adkins & Sons, Inc. provided sales and installation of a new front door, side panels, and transom window to our residential home.

Category doors

5.0

04/19/2012


Darlene S.

Due to extenuating circumstances, the initial appointment was not kept. However, the Owner did call and immediately made good on his estimate in a very punctual and professional manner! Installation was rescheduled a day later than originally planned. Installation costs were $300 cheaper than Lowe's! Owner AND Installers showed up promptly as scheduled and finished earlier than anticipated! They cleaned up after themselves and did a beautiful job! Am very happy with the work performed and would definitely recommend them to others and use them again! Thanks Adkins & Sons (Southgate)!

Description of Work
replaced a 22 year old patio door (Bought door at Lowe's)

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

01/10/2012


Kristen M. H.

Overall, it went well. The owner came out to give the estimate immediately. He was here the next day. He gave me the best price. He was friendly. He gave me the price right on the spot. He came out to my house, measured and gave me a price right then. I had no problems; they cleaned everything when they left.

Description of Work
Adkins & Sons Inc put on my sliding glass door right after Thanksgiving.

Category doors

5.0

11/08/2010


Betty W.

They are really great! We purchased Pella tri-pane windows, which added a bit to the cost, but they are the best windows in the industry. They are very honest, friendly and down-to-earth. There was no pressure to buy, and the choice was up to us. They gave us a very detailed estimate. I would definitely use them again!

Description of Work
They installed new windows throughout our 2-story colonial home. We also had a bay window installed.

Category replacement windows

5.0

06/17/2010


Dick M.

Visited Southgate store and saw samples of windows from several brands. Made appointment for several days later to measure windows at my home and provide detailed estimate. Installation process was explained and cost estimate provided in less than 2 hour visit.

Description of Work
Obtained in home estimate for replacement of 6 windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/14/2010


Rona D.

We've wanted to replace our old, drafty patio door for a while and had been shopping around and getting estimates. We wanted to take advantage of the tax credit as well. Adkins and Sons gave us a general estimate over the phone which was a terrific price for a Milgard Tuscany patio door and hundreds of dollars less than their competitors. We set up an in-home consultation. Kyle Adkins Jr. was very informative, went through the installation process and backed up the price we received over the phone. The installers did a terrific job! They went through all aspects of the door, answered my questions fully, cleaned up spotless, and offered to come back if we had any problems. Moreoever, Kyle and the installers were very punctual. We highly recommend Adkins and Sons and would use them again in a second!

Description of Work
They replaced our sliding patio door.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

07/01/2009


David S.

They were good at helping us choose material & style of windows. They put finish on interior wood veneer on windows. They did a neat job of replacing window casings.

Description of Work
Replace windows in three bedrooms of house.

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/02/2009


MARY K.

The people that he has working for him are very reliable and professional. I have used him multiple times so I have no problem allowing them into our house. I don't think that he is the cheapest, but he is very conscientious of his workers and how they do their work.

Description of Work
He has put in all of my windows, he has done an addition for me, he built a ramp in the back off of my deck for my dog, he's rebuilt a fence for me, he's done built in bookshelves for me, etc.

Category replacement windows

5.0

07/30/2007


JOAN H.

The work was beautiful. We liked the Pella window brand and they gave us exactly what they said they would. We were so impressed we referred them to our neighbors for their windows. They were very knowledgeable and we were impressed with their attitude toward their business.

Description of Work
Adkins & Sons installed 5 double windows and stained them. Three of them were 70 inches wide by 4 1/2 feet tall. The other two were smaller 3 feet by 3 feet.

Category replacement windows

    Other local Pros in your area

    Go Gutters LLC

    Go Gutters LLC is a small business located in Pontiac Michigan that specializes in residential and commercial seamless gutters and filter protection at an affordable rate. Go Gutters LLC was started because we saw the high-pressure sales tactics and unnecessary add-ons that pressure homeowners into paying high prices. Which is why we offer straight forward pricing, no gimmicks, just quality work that is reasonably priced. We pride ourselves on great customer service and satisfaction which has made us a trusted and sought-after gutter company. Make gutter installation a painless and easy process. Set up an appointment for a FREE estimate today!! Check out our Facebook page @goguttersllc.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    JK Home Improvement

    We are a family business where the owners of the company do the work! 3 brothers with over 25 yrs. of experience. Our prices are fair and our quality is our trademark. No high pressure sales, the owners will quote your job, and do your job. No communication problems.  

    All American Gutter Protection - Detroit

    The best decision you'll ever make! All American Gutter Protection is an innovative gutter protection company that is established and manufactured in the USA, who prides themselves on the highest quality product, installation, customer service and satisfaction. Specializing in seamless aluminum gutters and a stainless steel micro filter gutter guard, All American Gutter Protection is the number one choice when it comes to all gutter needs. All American Gutter Protection uses only authorized, trained technicians and a lifetime performance warranty.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    We specialize in Window & Door sales, Custom Bow & Bay Windows, Custom Stain Matching. We offer a variety of window & door manufacturer's to meet your needs & fit your budget. We also do Siding, Kitchen, Bathroom & Basement Remodeling.

    Services Not Offered

    Roofs, sell individual parts & glass replacement

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Adkins & Sons Inc

    How is Adkins & Sons Inc overall rated?

    Adkins & Sons Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Adkins & Sons Inc open?

    Adkins & Sons Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Adkins & Sons Inc provide

    Adkins & Sons Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check, Financing Available

    Does Adkins & Sons Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Adkins & Sons Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Adkins & Sons Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Adkins & Sons Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Adkins & Sons Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Adkins & Sons Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Adkins & Sons Inc?

    No, Adkins & Sons Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Adkins & Sons Inc offer?

    Adkins & Sons Inc offers the following services: We specialize in Window & Door sales, Custom Bow & Bay Windows, Custom Stain Matching. We offer a variety of window & door manufacturer's to meet your needs & fit your budget. We also do Siding, Kitchen, Bathroom & Basement Remodeling.

    Are there any services Adkins & Sons Inc does not offer?

    Roofs, sell individual parts & glass replacement