Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC

Founded 1966 • With Angi since March 2006

3.5

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

17340 W 12 MILE RD #100

SOUTHFIELD, MI 48076

Description

ADDITIONAL PH#: (313)863-9400....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/12/2020


Laqueline C.

I gave them $990 on May 5th. I have not heard from them since. Called them on June 2nd. When I called them today he told me he was cutting the railing on the porch. I asked them to return our down payment. Told me I signed a contract and had three days to dispute it. He had told me he would do the work in two weeks.

Description of Work
replacing the railing on the front porch

Category decks

5.0

08/09/2017


Elissa G.

I'm going to use them again.

Description of Work
They removed awnings from my front porch and replaced it with new awnings. They did excellent work.

Category house cleaning

1.0

12/08/2016


layna T.

They gave me the run around and they placed blame on everything on others. This has taken 3 months, yesterday they came to put in the window and they didn't fill the gaps so cold air is coming through. They stole my stained glass windows they said they cracked and they threw them out. I am so frustrated with this company. He said he would be back in 4 days he guesses.

Description of Work
I needed brand new windows.

Category replacement windows

1.0

09/02/2014


Laura H.

Based on our experience, this is the WORSE construction company in Michigan. Our intent is to warn Senior citizens and women in the region, so that they do not fall prey to Good Housekeeping Construction. Before you hire this company, research their license (2101067320) through the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs and you will find that the company received two disciplinary actions that were backed by fines for failing to make repairs/corrections. We made a mistake by not doing so. We paid in full to have a new roof placed on our home that would take care of a major leak. Once the installation was completed, we noticed that the leak was still active. We called them so they would honor their warranty and make corrections. They made two attempts to inspect the situation and never returned. Over a seven month period we called and called to get them to come back to make corrections, but they never did. In the months that followed, four new leaks in different areas happened in the home causing major damage to the interior. We took Good Housekeeping to court and to arbitration. During that time we discovered that the company did not pull a permit after the City did an inspection. The arbitrator rendered an award in May that would allow us to hire another roofing company to make corrections, but, as unbelievable as this may sound, Good Housekeeping has failed to pay the award in full. Good Housekeeping Construction delayed, denied, and defended their poor roofing installation, which caused interior damage and financial strain in legal fees. The worst part is that an 80-year old woman has to live under a roof with five leaks, while the owner and workers of Good Housekeeping are nice in dry in their homes. It just isn’t fair, and we do not want any women or Senior citizen to ever go through what we experienced.

Description of Work
Roof installation

Category roofing

1.0

09/02/2014


Laura H.

They never fixed the leak when we pointed it out and they never came back to fix the leaks. Since the first leaks happened, four other leaks have started. We had to take them to court and arbitration. We are having to take them back because they have not paid us what they were supposed.

Description of Work
We hired them to do a complete tear off and a new roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

she tried to sue us but was thrown out of court. we voluntarily went to arbitration for good will. she was awarded half the money she requested. we volunteered to fix work that needed repairs and denied us the opportunity. Original contract was with hter husban and unfortunately he dies. daughter gave mother terribl information and therefore never had a chance to really do anything to satisfy them.
1.0

06/23/2014


A J.

Description of Work
They scheduled an appointment with all of my contact information and did not show or call to reschedule.

Category awnings, interior painters

Service Provider Response

we were 15 minutes late and no one was home. did not return our calls and when he finally did was rude.
5.0

05/14/2014


Bonita S.

Everything was excellent

Description of Work
Took the old wood down and replaced the awnings

Category awnings

5.0

07/29/2013


Bonita S.

It looks really nice. My mother is very pleased. They were here bright and early in the morning and they stayed until everything was done. They worked until everything was done and the boss came out and inspected everything to make sure it was ok. They cleaned up their mess and did a good job. I am also on a very good payment plan with them.

Description of Work
They put down some wood overhang on my porch and installed awnings for me.

Category awnings

5.0

05/28/2013


Willie J D.

They did a great job on the bathroom. I had them redo the paint job and it looks great. I have ha nothing but good comments on the work they had done for me.

Description of Work
They put in a bathroom for wheel chair accessibility. They also put in a rail in the shower and next to the toilet. They also put in a exhaust fan as well. They also brought heat to the new bathroom. They also painted the rooms as well.

Category home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

02/15/2013


Vinnie S.

I have not had a problem since they did the work. They were great. I had no problems with them.

Description of Work
They did waterproofing for my basement.

Category basement waterproofing

1.0

03/12/2009


Deborah Wardell N.

Because of my work schedule I asked for 8am on a Monday. The guy who answered said it might have to be 9am but the worker lived in my area. I told him to call me either way. I might be able to go into work a little later. No one ever called me back or came to do an estimate. I used another company with Angie's List who did it all right.

Description of Work
I called to get an estimate.

Category gutter repair

Service Provider Response

we never had anyone working for good housekeeping living in her area . she was told we no longer work in ypsilanti and we therefore would not be coming out.
5.0

03/23/2006


Karen W.

THIS COMPANY WAS REFERRED TO ME BY MY NEIGHBOR. I LIKED THE WORK HE DID ON HIS GUTTERS AND HE DID THE SAME QUALITY WORK ON OURS. THEY ARE A FRIENDLY BUNCH OF GUYS AND WE DID GET A WARRANTY ON THEIR WORK.

Description of Work
THEY REPLACED THE GUTTERS.

Category gutter repair

1.0

03/23/2006


Keith K.

I WAS NOT SATISFIED WITH THEIR WORK. THEY MADE A HUGE MESS AND THEY DID NOT DO WHAT THEY TOLD ME THEY WERE GOING TO DO. IT ALSO TOOK THEM A LONG TIME TO COMPLETE THE JOB.

Description of Work
THEY REMODELED MY BATHROOM AND MY GRANDDAUGHTER'S BEDROOM.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

4.0

03/23/2006

THEY DID GREAT WORK. THEY GOT THE JOB DONE FAST AND MADE SURE THAT THEY CLEANED UP THEIR MESS. THEY WERE VERY RESPONSIVE AND SHOWED UP A FEW DAYS AFTER I CONTACTED THEM.

Description of Work
THEY REPLACED MY GUTTERS.

Category gutter repair

5.0

03/23/2006

THEY ARE A VERY EXPERIENCED ROOFING COMPANY. THEY HAVE VERY AFFORDABLE PRICES. THEIR SERVICE IS EXCEPTIONALLY GREAT. THE WORKERS GOT THE JOB DONE QUICK AND DID TERRIFIC.

Description of Work
THEY BUILT A NEW ROOF FOR MY HOME.

Category roofing

5.0

03/23/2006

I THOUGHT THAT THEY DID A GOOD JOB. THEY WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL. THE WORKERS WERE VERY POLITE. THEY HAD THE JOB DONE FAIRLY QUICKLY. I WAS VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE WORK THAT THEY DID.

Description of Work
THEY CLEANED MY GUTTERS.

Category gutter cleaning

4.0

03/23/2006

THEY CAME AND GAVE ME A PORCH AND A WALKWAY TO THE SIDEWALK. IT WAS WONDERFUL OF THEM TO MAKE SURE THAT EVERYTHING WAS O.K. WITH ME AND THAT I WAS HAPPY.

Description of Work
THEY POURED CEMENT FOR THE NEW PORCH AND WALKWAY TO SIDEWALK.

Category concrete repair

1.0

03/23/2006

THEY DID A HORRIBLE JOB. THE KITCHEN STILL IS NOT DONE, AND THEY COMPLETELY MESSED UP THE FRONT PORCH. IT WAS LIKE THROWING MONEY DOWN THE DRAIN. EVEN AFTER THE CITY TOLD THEM TO REDO THE PORCH WITH SCREWS, THEY STILL USED NAILS.

Description of Work
THEY REMODELED OUR KITCHEN AND BUILT OUR FRONT PORCH.

Category home remodeling

3.0

03/23/2006

I WAS REALLY NOT HAPPY WITH THE WORK THEY DONE. THEY HAD TO COME BACK OUT TO REDO MY GUTTERS TWO TIMES. THE QUALITY OF WORK WAS REALLY POOR. I WILL NOT USE THEM AGAIN.

Description of Work
THEY REPLACED MY ROOF AND GUTTERS.

Category roofing

5.0

03/23/2006


Anton A.

AFTER ANOTHER COMPANY HAD BOTCHED A REPAIR JOB ON MY GUTTERS, GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CAME OUT AND THE JOB THE RIGHT WAY. THEY DID A FANTASTIC JOB AND THEY EVEN REPAIRED A BIRDHOUSE FOR ME AT NO EXTRA CHARGE.

Description of Work
THEY REPLACED THE GUTTERS AROUND MY HOME.

Category gutter repair

4.0

03/23/2006

I WAS PLEASED WITH THE PROMPTNESS OF GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION. THEY WERE VERY FAST AND HAVE QUALIFIED EMPLOYEES. THEY CLEANED UP AFTER THEMSELVES AND GAVE ME NO WORRIES.

Description of Work
THEY SIDED MY HOUSE.

Category siding

5.0

03/23/2006


ROZ S.

GOOD HOUSEKEEPING IS A WONDERFUL COMPANY, AND THEY ARE VERY RESPONSIVE. MY ROOF STARTED LEAKING AND THEY CAME AND REPLACED IT VERY QUICKLY. THEIR PRICES ARE MORE THAN FAIR.

Description of Work
WE HIRED THEM TO PUT A NEW ROOF ON OUR HOME.

Category roofing

5.0

03/23/2006

I AM SURPRISED THAT THEY ARE SUCH A GOOD COMPANY. I WAS IN NEED OF A ROOF AND THEY JUST HAPPENED TO CALL AT THE RIGHT TIME. THEIR PRICE WAS GOOD AND THEY WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL.

Description of Work
THEY CAME AND PUT A NEW ROOF ON MY HOUSE.

Category roofing

3.0

03/23/2006


AMY B.

THEY NEVER FINISHED THE JOB THEY STARTED. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE BECAUSE IT TAKES THEM TOO LONG TO FINISH THEIR WORK. I WILL NEVER USE THIS COMPANY AGAIN.

Description of Work
THEY REMODELED MY KITCHEN AND BATHROOM.

Category home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Veterans Residential Painting LLC

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Referral Painting

    Free-Estimates, Self-Owned Business, Reasonable Prices  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Referral Painting	 on Angi
    GMC Painting LLC

    GMC Painting LLC is a family owned business, providing the highest quality painting services in the metro Detroit area. With nearly 40 years of combined work experience, a team of father and two sons will work to ensure that your project is completed in a timely and professional manner.  

    Offers by GMC Painting LLC on Angi
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    all home improvements

    Services Not Offered

    basement waterproofing and house building

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC

    How is GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC overall rated?

    GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC is currently rated 3.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC open?

    GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC provide

    GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC offers free project estimates.

    Does GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC?

    Yes, GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC offers warranties.

    What services does GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC offer?

    GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC offers the following services: all home improvements

    Are there any services GOOD HOUSEKEEPING CONSTRUCTION INC does not offer?

    basement waterproofing and house building