Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bobson Construction Co

Founded 1953 • With Angi since March 2006

3.8

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

24470 Telegraph Rd

SOUTHFIELD, MI 48034

Description

10 Employees. Fully licensed and insured. Periodic discounts and specials. Senior citizen discounts. All of our installers are fully experienced and professional. All jobs are coordinated by our superintendent. The company owner personally visits most job sites during or after construction. We offer a very high level of service and peace of mind. Visit our website at bobsonconstruction.com. Right now we can offer up to 5 years no interest financing on most roofing, siding, and window jobs with approved credit. Prior orders excluded....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/01/2018


Terri S.

I have never been so pleased. We have hired many, poor, contractors in the past. Not anymore. Richard Miller and his team were amazing. My crew did show up on time everyday. The quality of their work was perfection. If there was a problem, it was fixed, no questions asked. We loved the fact that Richard agreed to all the little extras, without charging more, so we could stay within our budget. Our crew cleaned up sooo well each and everyday. They worked 10 hour days, never left the house and had a quick 15 min. lunch. We felt like family to them. I will miss them!! Stupid, I know, but, true. Brenda and Sean took care of all our needs, personally and on the phone. No answering service there! We loved Richard. A truly, honest, person. We spoke almost everyday to make sure we were happy. Everything was done by the book!! Permits and other legal requirements, DONE!! Please don't hesitate in hiring this company. Totally worth it!! Thank You Bobson and Staff!!

Description of Work
Siding and windows

Category siding, replacement windows, home remodeling

5.0

04/02/2018


Sandra B.

Bobson did a great job. I needed to get new siding. They were very professional and it looks great. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Replace Siding

Category siding

1.0

07/05/2017


STAN W.

They were over an HR late on time were supposed to be there , and person who came was very rude

Description of Work
None was just wanting quote was at least he late from we had set up person who came was very rude

Category garage builders, home remodeling

5.0

05/13/2017


Sandra B.

It went great. The work was done quickly, it looks great, and the cost was reasonable.

Description of Work
I had siding replaced on my home due to hail damage.

Category siding, home remodeling

5.0

04/24/2017


henry C.

They did a very good job. They were easy to work with and they worked with the price. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They built a new garage addition and paved a new concrete driveway that went around to the back of our house.

Category concrete driveways, garage builders

4.0

07/17/2012


Larry P.

Overall the work performed was very good, sometimes the schuedling was a bit continous and haggleing with the owner Richard could get a bit trying but I was more concerned about the work and quility and any to get proper permits for our own documentaion.

Description of Work
We had a complete bathroom renovation from the entire plumbing in the crawl space to joist and floors and walls, everything electrical also. We new there work was excellent from a previous job on another room, We ask for the same contractors who did the previous project and got them. Again the project came out very nice and we are completely happy with there work. We would like to thank Marcus,Paul and Bruno,Tim and Dave and of course Frank all of them were professionals and knew the trade very well. If you should go by way of Bobson ask for these skilled workers.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

1.0

04/21/2012


Steve B.

Approximately 27 months later, after a rain storm, the roof began to leak. I then called Bobson regarding the leak, and was informed that because I was out of warranty that I would have to pay a $250 service fee. I paid the fee and Bobson came out and did a 15 minute calk job to what they "believed" was the issue. Three weeks later, after another rain storm, the roof began to leak again; this time much worse. I contacted Bobson about this most current leak, and was told that they were unable to find a problem from the last time they came out. They simply refused to send anyone out to look at the roof as the water was coming into my house. DIck Miller, the owner of Bobson, finally called me back and said he was not going to send anyone out, but said that I could make an appointment to have window treatments installed (which he bought may be the problem), for between $500 and $1,000. The bottom line is that in my opinion, not only does Bobson perform terrible work at high prices, but they refuse to back up their work. The company had the nerve to call me this Spring offering 10% off on various spring home improvement projects. I have been told that at this stage, the owner simply sub-contracts out a lot of the work- and in talking to him on the phone, he seems to have little if any knowledge on the nuts and bolts of construction work. Bobson has sure changed (and not for the better) with its ownership. I will never hire them again, or recommend them to others.

Description of Work
I had originally hired Bobson to replace my roof in 2009. The price quoted on a 30 year roof, and what I paid, was relatively high compared to other estimates I had received. However, because I was familiar with the name Bobson, I went with them and paid $8,000 for a 30 year roof on an 1850 square foot house. The roof replacement went smoothly and was very quick (almost too quick it seemed).

Category roofing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Bobson did send out our service person twice to investigate the customers complaint of a leak. Our service person found that the leak was not from the customers roof but was in fact from a window sill above the bathroom area that was rotting out and allowing a small amount of water to enter. Bobson did suggest to the customer that the window should be re trimmed with aluminum and we did offer to provide that service for an additional charge. The customer agreed but when we tried to call him to schedule the work he refused to return our calls. We called him several times and never got any response. Bobson was not hired to perform this work. The roof that was installed by Bobson never leaked. As far as the personal attacks on me, I am a residential builder with over 25 years of experience in the home improvement field. Bobson has an A+ rating with the BBB which we would not have if claims like this one were correct. Richard Miller President
4.0

01/23/2012


Anita S.

I enjoy what they built for me. The only thing I did not like is that they gave a quote of $5000.00 but then the owner came out and said that it would cost more.

Description of Work
They built my porch and stairs and they also replaced the sidewalk.

Category decks, remodeling

1.0

01/22/2012


Richard S.

In a few years, paint was peeling. They refused to honor the lifetime warranty. In my opinion, this company does not operate with integrity and is a good one to avoid in light of the better ones out there.

Description of Work
Painted house using premium process.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

This person never purchased any work from Bobson Construction Co. They purchased a home where Bobson had done work several years ago for a prior homeowner. This person is trying to get something that they are not entitled to. Bobson Construction Co. Management
1.0

06/29/2011


Miranda L.

The owner Richard came out for a quote on a new roof and siding. I could not believe this guy was a business owner as he was dressed like he just rolled out of bed and had absolutely zero people skills. He could not have been less professional; didn't smile, didn't shake my hand and was completely unfriendly. He would not even give me pricing until I told him what my budget was. Finally I persuaded him to give me a number on the roof (which he did not even go up on the house to measure), his quote was the highest of 4 different quotes I got for the roof. I then asked him to measure the house for a quote on the siding, he said he would measure it and let me know in a few minutes and also email me a written quote for me to review; what happened next is pretty bizarre and unexplainable - I walked back inside my house and he hopped in his car and drove away literally screeching his tires as he did so. Needless to say I was dumbfounded. I could not understand what had just happened- all I could think was that maybe he had just received an emergency phone call that he needed to tend to right away. Well, I never heard back from him, not a phone call, not an email, nothing. Too bad for him because I had the work done by someone else and I paid cash for the whole job the day they finished- his unprofessionalism cost him a pretty good sum of money- this guy is bizarre!

Description of Work
none

Category roofing, siding, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I do not recall this particular customer. This customer did not purchase any work from Bobson. Their claims seem highly unlikely to me since I normally spend as much time as necessary with a client in order to provide an accurate estimate. Judging from their personal attacks that they claim that "I looked like I just rolled out of bed", I would assume that they were just having a bad day. Richard Miller
5.0

05/15/2011


Dawn B.

Workers were polite but most didnt speak English. I believe they spoke Polish. The manager was very nice and explained the progress of the job to me. One day about four workers were finished for the day but had to wait for their ride home. They waited til 8:00pm in my driveway. That was a little weird. I am very satisfied with the look and quality of the job. It took about 10 days.

Description of Work
Siding, and Trim

Category siding

5.0

07/28/2010


KATHLEEN N.

They were efficient and courteous. They did a great job on clean-up. They didn't leave any junk around. They were also prompt. They either came when they said they would, or they called early. Overall, I thought they did an excellent job. The roof is beautiful, and the toolshed is wonderful.

Description of Work
They put a set of fold-down stairs into our attic, enlarged the cut opening for the attic, repainted some of the ceiling in that area, and did eight-foot doors for the toolshed. They also did my roof in 2007.

Category remodeling, roofing, interior painters, doors

5.0

11/10/2008


KATHLEEN N.

We have used this company once before because we liked the service that we had gotten before. They are licensed and insured. The work was good quality. They used good quality of materials. They used a master carpenter. The bonus was that they hauled all of the debris away after the job was done. They will call you if anything came up. There is a reason that they are still in business after 35 years. They are accountable and local. We got what we paid for.

Description of Work
We had them install four doors to our shed and they put in a new opening and a set of pull down stairs to the attic.

Category home remodeling

4.0

10/08/2008


WILLIAM T.

They were professional and knew what they were doing. They got the job done in a timely manner and showed up on time. They were easy to work with and I would recommend them.

Description of Work
They came out to our home and replaced the interior stairway.

Category woodworking

1.0

07/06/2007


ILSA D.

See above.

Description of Work
They replaced my front porch (among other things, like the roof and plaster repair); the cement began to flake by the next year. They wouldn't do anything about it. the supporting brick started coming out within a couple of years. The roof wasn't nailed properly, part of it started coming up and cost me $500 to have it repaired. They never put flashing around the dormers in the roof, which I didn't know. I kept trying to repair the leaks it caused by tarring every few years. Finally, everytime it rained, the water would just pour down the walls, I had to hire someone else to repair the under roof, put in the flashing and replace the gutters for another $3,000. They don't stand behind their work.

Category decks

5.0

12/14/2006


JOSEPH P.

Very pleased with remodeled bathroom. They did a good job. Doug was accurate, clean, knew what he was doing and how to adapt to the problems of an older home. He constantly was checking with me on different decorating ideas and work in progress so that we knew what was going on and what to expect. My two Collies loved to watch him work from inside their crates!

Description of Work
Closed off extra door and made wall to accommodate larger shower stall. Installed shower unit and modified plumbing to accommodate. Replaced floor, molding, and second interior door. Repaired numerous cracks and repainted.

Category flooring contractor, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

1.0

08/28/2006


TIMOTHY E.

Bad workmanship! I had to fight to get steps going out my doorwall. Leaks in my roof,and sidewalls. Snow would blow right through where the addition met the house.

Description of Work
Addition-to the back of my home.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

4.0

03/23/2006

I WAS MORE THAN SATISFIED WITH THE OUTCOME OF THEIR WORK. WE HAD A SMALL PROBLEM AND THEY CAME OUT AND FIXED IT RIGHT AWAY. THEY MADE SURE THAT I WAS HAPPY WITH THE WORK BEFORE THEY LEFT THAT DAY. THEY ARE A VERY PROFESSIONAL COMPANY.

Description of Work
THEY ENLARGED OUR DECK AND ADDED A COVER TO IT.

Category decks

5.0

03/23/2006


JEFF G.

I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY. THEY SHOWED UP ON TIME AND WERE VERY QUICK WORKERS. I THOUGHT THEIR PRICE WAS A LITTLE EXPENSIVE, BUT OTHER THAN THAT, EVERYTHING WAS FABULOUS.

Description of Work
THEY REMODELED THE ENTIRE KITCHEN.

Category home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Epic Home Solutions

     

    Somerset Painting & Professional Improvements

    Somerset Painting and Professional Improvements is an Angies List Super-Service Award-Winning Michigan-based company that specializes in both residential and commercial improvements with over 39 years of experience. Check out our video on our website! Award winning. Additional email - naomi@somersetpainting.com.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Somerset Painting & Professional Improvements on Angi
    Francesko's Painting LLC

    Francesko's Painting is a locally owned and operated company that values honesty, integrity and stands behind our work. We specialize in both interior and exterior residential painting projects. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work as well as our commitment to outstanding results. We look forward to building long term relationships with our clients so call us today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    $100
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Additions, siding, gutters, home improvements, shingled roofing, flat roofing, basement remodeling, windows and doors, kitchens, bathrooms, cement work & porch enclosures.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bobson Construction Co

    How is Bobson Construction Co overall rated?

    Bobson Construction Co is currently rated 3.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bobson Construction Co open?

    Bobson Construction Co is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Bobson Construction Co provide

    Bobson Construction Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Bobson Construction Co offer free estimates?

    No, Bobson Construction Co does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Bobson Construction Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Bobson Construction Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bobson Construction Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Bobson Construction Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Bobson Construction Co?

    Yes, Bobson Construction Co offers warranties.

    What services does Bobson Construction Co offer?

    Bobson Construction Co offers the following services: Additions, siding, gutters, home improvements, shingled roofing, flat roofing, basement remodeling, windows and doors, kitchens, bathrooms, cement work & porch enclosures.