Almar Carpentry

About

Founded 1987 • With Angi since June 2010

1 employee. I am a finish carpenter with 34years in the trades. I have owned my company for 24 years. All other trades are subcontracted....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

..

+3 more images

Verified Reviews

5.0

(58) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

56

4

0

3

0

2

1

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

woodworking (54)cabinet makers (13)general contractors (10)door installation (9)home remodeling (8)basement remodeling (7)plumbers (6)electrician (6)drywall (6)tile installation (6)cabinet refacing (5)handyman (5)
Showing 1-25 of 58 reviews
5.0

02/12/2022


Linda M.

It is a beautiful piece of art. He did a great job, he was professional the whole time. I would recommend him 100 percent. He was so talented.

Description of Work
He built a new staircase and railing for our stairway.

Category remodeling, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2022

5.0

12/30/2020


Ken L.

Alan recently completed a full stairway replacement in our home. We now have a beautiful oak stairway to enjoy. This was the second time we contracted with him for a home upgrade project. As before, his craftsmanship is excellent. He is committed to quality and professionalism in every aspect of his work. We will certainly contact him again for our next project.

Description of Work
Stairway Upgrade

Category woodworking

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2020

5.0

12/22/2020


Mark G.

It was a great experience. Everything we planned to do was done including some things that we added during the process. Almar was willing and able to accommodate any changes, revisions or additions to the original working plans we had. We are more than satisfied with the results and would highly recommend Almar to anyone looking to finish or update their living space.

Description of Work
Almar Carpentry finished our basement including adding a bathroom and shower.

Category contractors, ceramic tile, closet systems, countertops, drywall, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, doors, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2020

1.0

11/07/2020


Albert C.

Never responded. Angie's list seems to be filled with contractors who list themselves but aren't even willing to bid.

Description of Work
Carpentry work

Category custom cabinets, contractors

Work Completed On 11/07/2020

Service Provider Response

Mr, [Member Name Removed], I reviewed five pages of Angie's list estimate requests going back to October 1st,and was unable to find your request.I'm sorry but I cannot respond to a request that I did not receive.

5.0

08/02/2020


Thomas M.

Alan and team did a great job on our basement. Very high quality work and attention to detail. Job was completed in a reasonable timeframe and all inspections passed with no issues. Tom and Shirley Mobley P.S. This is the fourth job that we have used Alan for — a new stair rail, bathroom remodel, family room ceiling redo, and this basement finish.

Description of Work
Finished Basement

Category contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, woodworking, doors, basement remodeling

Cost $29,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2020

5.0

05/07/2020


MARY T.

If anyone is contemplating remodeling of any type, hire this man. Period. He reworked our fireplace & surrounding bookcases to a completely new look, and also replaced a set of stairs with new handrail, etc. All work turned out beautiful. Al is hands down the best contractor we've ever worked with. He is a perfectionist, and his work reflects that. I would not hesitate to hire him.

Description of Work
Total re-design of the fireplace & surrounding area. New bookcases, built in around fireplace with new mantel.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, remodeling, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/10/2020

Images

Review for Almar Carpentry - 10263 Brunswick Dr, South Lyon, MI - 38547542

+2 More

5.0

08/20/2019


Sue M.

Excellent. Very punctual. Very neat and clean. Excellent communication. Excellent work.

Description of Work
Remodel Master Bath and Miscellaneous Carpentry work

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2019

5.0

07/24/2019


Mrs C.

Almar Carpentry was very professional and collaborative with design questions. Very skilled in fitting cabinets in tight spots and provided complete job with plumbing, drywall, electrical, cabinets and countertop. Cleaned up every day, on time and responsive and flexible when changes needed to be made.

Description of Work
Updated master bath and vanity

Category woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2019

5.0

07/03/2019


Kirsten L.

Alan was great to work with. He was collaborative, professional, neat, and detailed. The work was excellent quality and was finished on time and on budget. The only downside with working with Alan is that he's so busy (with good reason!) that you have to book out months in advance.

Description of Work
Custom cabinets built in family room and new stair railing/newel installed

Category woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/03/2019

5.0

08/28/2018


Jennifer S.

Alan created beautiful built-in units in our main living area and dining room. He is one of the best contractors we have worked with over a five year period while remodeling and old home. He is very personable, professional, and knows his trade very well. Of the many good things, one of the best is his flexibility to make changes on the fly because he is building on-site. There wasn't a single thing we asked for that Alan wasn't able to figure out. We would definitely recommend him! In fact, we are having back next year to finish our basement.

Description of Work
Built-in entertainment center, buffet, bench seats, and bookshelves

Category woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2018

5.0

11/05/2017


Sue M.

Alan did a fantastic job replacing 14 interior doors. I would definitely hire Alan again for future work. He was extremely punctual and communicated very effectively. His work was very neat and clean. He is very professional and passionate about his work. The doors look beautiful.

Description of Work
Replaced 14 interior doors

Category woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/05/2017

5.0

11/04/2017


Christy W.

Excellent. Easy to reach and always responded promptly to phone calls or texts. Kept the area immaculate for the duration of the project. Excellent quality of work. The project turned out better than I imagined it would. This is the third time I have used Almar Carpentry

Description of Work
Finished basement including addition of full bath

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, doors, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2017

Images

Review for Almar Carpentry - 10263 Brunswick Dr, South Lyon, MI - 36522206
5.0

08/14/2017


Dana T.

Alan does great work, he does not cut corners. Everything he has ever done in our home was built to last. The total kitchen remodel was a huge project which required subcontracting electrical, plumbing, drywall, and HVAC. Everyone Alan brought in was equally as courteous and talented. Alan follows a predictable schedule, which is tough to find for a project like this, and was very much appreciated. Because of the size of the project (taking down walls, moving plumbing lines and heating runs, etc) surprises are to be expected. Alan was very good about explaining the work needed, and the added cost involved. He always cleans up as well as can be expected. He is very easy to have around. I highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Alan has done many projects in my home, the latest being a total kitchen remodel. (Other projects include a built-in desk with shelving unit, crown moulding, updated base moulding, beadboard in laundry room, and a built in window seat with storage)

Category custom cabinets, contractors, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2017

Images

Review for Almar Carpentry - 10263 Brunswick Dr, South Lyon, MI - 36028337

+2 More

5.0

04/23/2017


George R.

Alan did a wonderful job building bookshelves in our living room. He is very knowledgeable and meticulous about carpentry. I would highly recommend him for any finish carpentry work.

Description of Work
Built in bookshelves.

Category custom cabinets, electrician, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/03/2017

Images

Review for Almar Carpentry - 10263 Brunswick Dr, South Lyon, MI - 34881087
5.0

01/09/2017


Brian H.

Alan is probably one of the best contractors I have ever had! He is very talented, does as excellent job, is on time, and cleans up after his work. The basement and half bath turned out fantastic! Instead of putting a door to my sump pump he built a book shelve on hinges and it turned out great! He also did some finishing trim work in our bathrooms and kitchen and he did a great job. Without a doubt I would recommend Alan and will call him again for future work!

Description of Work
Finish basement and trim work

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, woodworking, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2016

5.0

01/09/2017


Brian H.

I would highly recommend him. He is meticulous, does quality work, he cleaned up after himself.

Description of Work
He finished our basement

Category woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/13/2016

5.0

11/10/2016


Greg M.

Alan is an excellent carpenter. We hired him to build a new fireplace mantel with surround after seeing previous Angie's List postings. We showed him a picture as an inspiration piece and when he came out for the estimate, he offered several different suggestions that were a big improvement over our picture. On the day of the build we made many last minute decisions together as to size of trim, sides, etc. He was the artist completing a masterpiece with our input. We will definitely hire him again and have already requested an estimate for our next project. A+

Description of Work
Fireplace surround and mantel.

Category woodworking

Cost $1,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/07/2016

5.0

10/07/2016


Jennine M.

Fantastic. Allen and his drywall subcontractor probably made 6 or 7 trips to the house. The job was pretty involved, and Allen put a huge amount of time into it. Stairs look great, and I plan to use him for the next project.

Description of Work
Installation of stairs from main floor of house to basement.

Category contractors, remodeling, woodworking

Cost $2,750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/03/2016

5.0

09/25/2016


Laurie M.

Mr Eskovitz was very professional and did an excellent job for me. Even though my job was very small he took great care in completing it and I am very satisfied with the results. I would certainly contact him for any future carpentry needs.

Description of Work
Cabinet finishing and repairs in my kitchen

Category custom cabinets, woodworking, cabinet refacing

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/23/2016

5.0

03/25/2016


Marlene M.

It went very well. He was easy to work with

Description of Work
Remodel the kitchen and bath

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $23,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2016

5.0

02/08/2016


Susan S.

Excellent. Al is everything the other reviewers say. Meticulous, prompt, courteous, thoughtful in his approach to the job. Note that cost excludes reclaimed lumber, which I purchased separately.

Description of Work
Installed wood beams using reclaimed lumber.

Category woodworking

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/03/2016

5.0

02/02/2016


Bruce E.

Alan did quality work and is a true craftsman. He communicated with us from the time he came out and gave us an estimate until the job was completed.

Description of Work
Installed Crown Molding and Wood Beam in Master Bedroom.

Category woodworking, basement remodeling

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2015

5.0

09/18/2015


Kristian L.