Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Phillip Ryan Handyman Service

Founded 2003 • With Angi since March 2012

4.8

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1051 Phoenix St

South Haven, MI 49090

Description

I have worked as a top rated Handyman in the city of Chicago for ten years. My family and I recently moved to beautiful Southwest Michigan this spring, 2013. May contact through email, phone, or text. Cost is based on an hourly rate and is determined per job. Personal checks and cash accepted.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/04/2016


Ruth S.

He was very personable, and we were pleased with his work. We will definitely use him again.

Description of Work
He installed a microwave oven and a garbage disposal.

Category handyman service

1.0

11/17/2015


Greg K.

Description of Work
Scheduled an appointment for an estimate, then called to reschedule. Never showed up at all.

Category handyman service

1.0

11/03/2015


David N.

Description of Work
He never responded.

Category decks, handyman service, woodworking, doors

1.0

09/02/2015


Carrie R.

Never returned my calls.

Description of Work
Never returned my calls.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

It was busy summer: Balancing handyman work, running an organic farm, and not having a secretary. I apologize for not getting back to you promptly.
5.0

08/10/2015


Ann M.

He was very good. I needed the house updated to put on the market. He put tore out the floor, put down tile on the floors and in the shower. He worked with the plumber on what to install. He took out all the nails in the walls of the whole house, patched the walls and painted. In addition he moved a wall for the furnace. As well as little odds and ends. This was done over a period of six months. He was very good to work with and did a though job.

Description of Work
Rebuilt two bathrooms, painted whole house, rebuilt part of a wall.

Category handyman service

5.0

01/01/2015


Grace P.

Ryan returned our call promptly. He met his schedule. Cleaned up after himself. Charged a fair price. Did good work that will not have to be redone by another contractor. We look forward to scheduling more of his services in 2015.

Description of Work
Install Storm Door. Interior repairs. Built ramp to storage building. Home handiman repairs.

Category handyman service

2.0

12/08/2014


Michael H.

Set a date and time to come look at work to be done. Never showed up and didn't answer/respond when called to see if he was still coming. Very disappointing.

Description of Work
We discussed on the phone to do misc jobs at my home.

Category handyman service

5.0

11/24/2014


Kathy C.

Phil is very nice, gets busy and gets it done. The door looks great, but the tub repair is amazing you can't even tell where the repair is.

Description of Work
Phil painted our exterior done inside and out and repaired the damage on our fiberglass tub.

Category handyman service, plumbing, house painters, interior painters

2.0

11/07/2014


Bill L.

Phillip committed verbally to perform work for us at a client's location and then backed out at the last minute. When someone makes a commitment to our company either verbally or in writing, we fully expect them to follow through.

Description of Work
Committed to perform work and then backed out.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

I apologize for backing out of the work. My schedule in the fall is very busy and as much as I wanted to generate a new relationship with (Removed Member Name)'s company, I just did not have time to commit to his system which involved a considerable amount of paperwork and training. I called him as soon as it was apparent that I could not do the job we had discussed which was two days after he asked me to meet with a client. I notified Bill five days ahead of the actual day I was supposed to meet with his client.
5.0

10/22/2014


CJ G.

Phil Ryan was a wonderful professional to work with. During the estimating process he returned all my calls/emails promptly and answered all my questions thoroughly. He did a good job of asking lots of questions about the job to anticipate and prevent problems later, and I especially appreciated how he worked with me to make sure I got exactly what I wanted within the budget I had. (For example, did I want him to paint the ceiling after the repairs or did I want to do that myself?) He did a fantastic job of masking and draping everything so that my cabinets, appliances, and other rooms all remained dust-free. He worked steadily throughout the day and cleaned up everything at the end. Very respectful and quiet while working. Needless to say, the fan works well and the ceiling repair looks good too. I would heartily recommend Mr. Ryan!

Description of Work
We had an ancient exhaust fan in the ceiling of our kitchen that was not properly vented to the outside. Phil Ryan removed the old fan, installed a new fan that we had already purchased, installed proper venting and repaired the area of the ceiling where the new fan did not match the old fan's footprint.

Category drywall, electrician, handyman service, woodworking, ceiling fans, interior painters

4.0

10/15/2014


Mike A.

Category handyman service

5.0

09/17/2014


Donna B.

Description of Work
We are new owners of a small lake house and needed some basic handyman work to move things along, such as making and installing ceiling fans, assembling a gas grill and mounting a basketball hoop. He did them all, promptly and accurately.

Category electrician, handyman service, ceiling fans

5.0

08/08/2014


Stephen K.

Phil was on time and quickly identified the problem. We procured the necessary replacement part ( a shut off valve) and Phil efficiently removed the old valve and installed the new one and had everything completed in less than an hour. Work area was clean. Phil was polite and pleasant.

Description of Work
Replaced a broken/leaking water inlet valve under the kitchen sink.

Category handyman service

5.0

06/22/2014


John O.

Very meticulous. Professional, great job, never a drop of paint anywhere.. Very good at getting all the hard to reach areas like under the mulch at ground level. Very good job!,,,,

Description of Work
Painted the brick on my house with a special brick paint

Category handyman service, house painters

5.0

05/07/2014


Phillip S.

Description of Work
everything

Category handyman service

5.0

04/28/2014


Sue C.

Description of Work
Removed dryer vent in basement to find deceased animal

Category handyman service

5.0

04/02/2014


pat L.

WOW.. I was so impressed. From the time we made contact to the time the job was done was less than a week. The actual work he did in a day and a half.. His quality was top notch.He was punctual, polite and professional.. I will definitely call him again.

Description of Work
He repaired two door frames. Made a door to my attic. He installed a toilet and a screen door.. Built a bench on my deck. Repaired a ceiling.

Category drywall, handyman service, plumbing, doors

5.0

12/22/2013


DEE E.

Phil did a number of small household jobs and did them thoroughly, efficiently. We then had him construct a small deck which he did very well, following sketched plans effectively and making changes when asked. He is a very good worker, polite and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
.

Category decks, handyman service

5.0

09/10/2013


Sue C.

Phillip did an outstanding job painting the main bathroom in my home. It is a 1930's home with a great deal of neglect from years past and long before I purchased it. After having to have a new bathtub and walls replaced, the bathroom was in need of painting because the new tub was smaller than the old one. Phillip caulked where needed, finished painting the walls, painted all the trim, and installed all the new hardware. Phillip was very polite and was nice to talk with during his time here.

Description of Work
Finished a painting project I started myself in my full bathroom.

Category handyman service, interior painters

5.0

09/09/2013


Phillip S.

He has worked for me on a once a week basis for a couple of years. Services depend on what is needed. I have yet to find a task he has not mastered, including installing an inter com system that provides help for my arthritis.

Description of Work
Phil performs a number of services on an ongoing basis. He is experienced in plumbing, electric, painting, etc., all services expected of a handyman.

Category electrician, handyman service, plumbing, interior painters

5.0

08/05/2013


Jennifer D.

Mr. Ryan was very easy to work with. He showed up on time and was very courteous. His job performance was professional, complete, and to our specifications. We will hire him again in the future.

Description of Work
Prepped living room for paint & carpet. Painted closets and hung custom closet organizers, painted closet doors.

Category handyman service, interior painters

5.0

07/24/2012


Phillip S.

I have him on retainer and he is full service; he comes once a week. I am very pleased with him and he is the best there is.

Description of Work
I used Phillip Ryan Handyman Service for weekly service. Among other things he does handyman, plumbing and electric projects. He also does gardening, transportation and shopping; you name it he does it. I

Category electrician, handyman service, lawn service, plumbing

5.0

03/30/2012


Phillip S.

I found him through Angies's List when he was with another company. He's now on his own. I am elderly, and I have him on a retainer. He does everything from taking me to the store, to fixing my TV. He recently repaired an out door fountain, and put out the hoses for the summer. He is a very good painter. There isn't anything I don't like about him, except I wish he wasn't so busy. He's a very intelligent, and a personable person. He's easy to work with, and pleasant to have around. I pay him $30 per hour. Some others pay $40 per hour depending on the job. Most of his customers are charged by the job. He has 5 kids, so sometimes he needs to pick up, drop off etc. He doesn't arrive too early or stay too late. His pricing is good, and the quality of his work is excellent. Call him up, and have him come over for an estimate!

Description of Work
I use Phillip Ryan Handyman Service. He was here yesterday, and I've been using him for about 1 year.

Category handyman service, house painters, interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    W.M.G.B. Inc

    30 employees. Uses some subs for digging, everybody else is an employee of WMGB Inc. Cost is determined by the job. Financing is Available, Travel charges may apply. No service fee. May contact through e-mail. Additional phone numbers -Lansing area (517) 371-7023,Kalamazoo area (269) 385-5930, Muskegon area (231) 755-0826 and 800-766-0500 everywhere else. Additional contact name Julie Cowan  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    ARC Painting

    Here at ARC Painting we work with only the best everything! Prices Products End results!  

    Angi Certified

    HandyCo

    As a Handyman I take pride in my work. I offer many services such as drywall installation and finishing, flooring, cabinet, and sink installation. If there is anything else you need done like gutter cleaning, power washing, mowing or anything of that nature we can knock that out for you as well. Affordable convenient to your schedule.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Wears MaskWears Mask
    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Number
    2101211736
    Trade License Locale
    Michigan
    Trade License Authority
    LARA
    Trade License Expiration
    05/31/2019
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Over the past ten years I have offered a wide range of maintenance services for the home, helping customers accomplish many repair issues with one phone call. I'm a "punch list" guy; perfect for the projects that add up and need to get done or a home soon to be listed for sale.

    Services Not Offered

    Appliance repair.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Phillip Ryan Handyman Service

    How is Phillip Ryan Handyman Service overall rated?

    Phillip Ryan Handyman Service is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Phillip Ryan Handyman Service open?

    Phillip Ryan Handyman Service is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Phillip Ryan Handyman Service provide

    Phillip Ryan Handyman Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Phillip Ryan Handyman Service offer free estimates?

    No, Phillip Ryan Handyman Service does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Phillip Ryan Handyman Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Phillip Ryan Handyman Service offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Phillip Ryan Handyman Service offer a senior discount?

    No, Phillip Ryan Handyman Service does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Phillip Ryan Handyman Service?

    No, Phillip Ryan Handyman Service does not offer warranties.

    What services does Phillip Ryan Handyman Service offer?

    Phillip Ryan Handyman Service offers the following services: Over the past ten years I have offered a wide range of maintenance services for the home, helping customers accomplish many repair issues with one phone call. I'm a "punch list" guy; perfect for the projects that add up and need to get done or a home soon to be listed for sale.

    Are there any services Phillip Ryan Handyman Service does not offer?

    Appliance repair.