Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

LaFata Cabinets

Founded 1958 • With Angi since March 2006

3.9

(33) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

50905 Hayes Road

Shelby Township, MI 48315

Description

LaFata Cabinets offers timeless cabinetry work for those who would like to remodel their home. With over 50 years of experience, let us add a personal touch to your home. We are located in Shelby Township, MI....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/30/2021


Chet W.

I live in an area where LaFata cabinets were part of many new homes - from the 70s through current. In 2020, we had kitchen appliances that needed replacement, and opted for different configurations, which required subtle changes to the refrigerator cabinet. Initially, LaFata worked well, and upon reviewing the invoice on Aug 22, 2020, I signed and presented the check - in full - within five minutes, knowing we would have to wait. What an understatement. In February12, 2021 (you read that right), the cabinets were delivered, though I needed to finish painting the walls and ceiling of the kitchen. As it turned out, the cabinets were made 6 inches too tall. Leon from LaFata's shop arranged to retrieve them, altered the height and were delivered later that week. After many delays in scheduling, the cabinets were installed June 19, 2021, with Blake and Joe as friendly, skilled installers. The top door was too short and needed to be remade, and Joe noticed a blemish in the tall lower door, so he removed and retained that as well. The next day, we noticed scratches on the painted surface in bright midday sun. I contacted Monna, the sales person, who said when the doors are ready (resized, and blemish repaired), the issue would be assessed. July 8, Vince arrived and installed both doors, though now the lower door was warped, standing 3/4" away from the cabinet at the bottom. Vince wiped mineral spirits on the scratched paint as a 'fix'. July 20, nearly one calendar year later (!), we have a warped door and scratched paint on cabinets we paid a 'quality' cabinet company for. I visited Giovalli at LaFata as well as via phone call, text to try to use a polite demeanor to resolve the quality issues. He suggested I bring the warped door in, since he didn't have enough personnel to bring it in. He would then have weights sit on the door for a length of time as a way to repair the warpage. He did not address the scratches in the painted panel. All of this has not allowed us to use our kitchen for more than one calendar year, and by the communications with LaFata, they are not motivated to any true customer service. I would not, could not, recommend LaFata to me worst enemy. I have had numerous acquiaintances watch this situation, some owning million dollar homes, looking for reputable cabinet installers. The laughable quality, delivered cabinets that were too small, warped doors, scratched panels, and seemingly apathetic attitude when these issues were brought to their attention reflects an amateur operation at best. I am glad we did not have an entire kitchen, bathroom or home quoted by LaFata. Learn from this experience and stay far away.

Description of Work
Single kitchen cabinet

Category custom cabinets

1.0

09/30/2021


Erick P.

STAY AWAY! Like you, we were excited about remodeling our kitchen and heard about LaFata. Paid the $3,000 fee (yes, $3,000 after their initial design) to design our kitchen and have a structural engineer visit our home to make sure were able to remove some walls. When you finally receive a quote, it will be a grand total and not broken down by demolition, electrical, plumbing, etc. We asked repeatedly for a breakdown and our designer wouldn't give it to us until we committed to them and paid the large deposit to start cabinet construction. When we finally received their terribly inflated quote (we have since found an awesome contractor that will do it for half the price) and we told them that was outside our budget, they ghosted us and kept the $3,000 deposit. I called and spoke to Giovanni Lafata, the owner, asking if we could get our deposit back and was denied. I told him that other kitchen centers design the kitchen for free and if you are going to keep our deposit, can we at least have a copy of the structural report we paid for. He told me that would not be a problem and he would have someone send it to me. (BTW, after the initial "free" design they gave us, we met twice with our designer to make changes, It's not like we monopolized them and expected a total kitchen design for free). After 2 weeks of repeated calls, emails and voicemails, Giovanni will not talk to me directly and keeps telling me "I'll have someone send it to you today". After 2 weeks, still nothing. After meeting with a couple more contractors and getting other quotes, we have learned that our experience is common and LaFata is not the company they used to be. My guess is they are so busy right now they just don't care. It sucks that we are out $3,000 but we are so glad we didn't give them tens of thousands of dollars and learn this after it was too late. Like I said, we have since found an awesome contractor and kitchen designer and it is a night and day experience. It's actually enjoyable! I plead with you to go somewhere else. Feel free to DM me if you want more details. I'll even give you the name of our new contractor. He's awesome.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodeling

Category custom cabinets,home remodeling

1.0

02/07/2021


Council B.

HORRIBLE Service!! I paid $2500 for my cabinets to be installed by Lafatta because I was told that if anything happened to my cabinets during installation they would be replaced. So during the installation period it was 3 huge holes cut in my cabinets . Upon noticing TERRIBLE installation work I immediately notified my sales person Debbie and she took my phone to show manager the POOR WORK . She shortly came back out to tell me that it would be taken care of before my granite countertops was installed which I told her the date of my installation on countertops. No one NEVER came out or contacted me from Lafatta to setup replacement of cabinet . Therefore I had to get countertops installed or wait two months to get countertops installed. Again I contacted Lafatta , This time I was told it would be resolved. Resolution was them putting another piece of plywood over cabinet to cover holes . I didn’t spend 14K on cabinets to later have my cabinets patch repaired . Owner refused to reimburse me for cabinet or installation cost . Warning: DO NOT BUY CABINETS FROM LAFATTA . HORRIBLE Service!! I paid $2500 for my cabinets to be installed by Lafatta because I was told that if anything happened to my cabinets during installation they would be replaced. So during the installation period it was 3 huge holes cut in my cabinets . Upon noticing TERRIBLE installation work I immediately notified my sales person Debbie and she took my phone to show manager the POOR WORK . She shortly came back out to tell me that it would be taken care of before my granite countertops was installed which I told her the date of my installation on countertops. No one NEVER came out or contacted me from Lafatta to setup replacement of cabinet . Therefore I had to get countertops installed or wait two months to get countertops installed. Again I contacted Lafatta , This time I was told it would be resolved. Resolution was them putting another piece of plywood over cabinet to cover holes . I didn’t spend 14K on cabinets to later have my cabinets patch repaired . Owner refused to reimburse me for cabinet or installation cost . Warning: DO NOT

Description of Work
Remolding of Kitchen and Bathroom

Category custom cabinets,home remodeling

1.0

09/09/2020


Mark G.

Cabinets arrived damage and while Lafata was initially willing to accept responsibility for finish pealing off cabinets, two months since receipt of cabinets and there are still issues. I have been lied to repeatedly by two Salesman's and the GM. It is clear that while this may be a family run business currently, Jr. is not able to follow in the footsteps of previous generations (in quality of productions or keeping emotions in check).

Description of Work
Horrible Customer Service

Category custom cabinets,countertops,flooring contractor,home remodeling

3.0

08/03/2020


Carol R.

Cabinets are pretty and installation went fine, but when it came to service they just kept putting me off. They had no problem taking my $7,000plus! Could not get any commitment on when they could come out. One of my drawers broke.

Description of Work
Kitchen cabinets in new home

Category custom cabinets

5.0

07/07/2020


Richard B.

Everything looks absolutely fantastic. I write this review not because all went well every step of the way. I write this because of how Lafata handled the tough stuff. My wife and I had a bit of a concern with our island cabinets in the kitchen. Even though we had Lafata do our entire project (full kitchen, bar, 3 bathrooms, laundry room and garage) there was a slight concern we had with our kitchen island cabinets. Most people would not have even noticed this concern but we did. My wife has an inspector's eye! Lafata handled our concern with the exact same professionalism they did with the design, build and installation of all our cabinets. We are 100% satisfied with the work, and the professionalism (designers there are very helpful and extremely knowledgeable) from start to finish. We recommend them fully. Now when people come into our new home and see the finished product, they often ask "who did all your cabinets?" and we happily tell them Lafata did this for us. Thank you Team Lafata. We will be back when we finish the basement!

Description of Work
We built a new home and used Lafata cabinets in all bathrooms, the entire kitchen, bar and even in the garage.

Category custom cabinets,countertops,home remodeling

5.0

06/03/2020


Steven G.

It was very good. They did good work.

Description of Work
New Kitchen remodel

Category home remodeling

5.0

02/22/2020


Lawrence W.

Excellent. 5 Star. Everyone was absolutely super. The designer Monna was wonderful and worked with us to ultimately design our perfect kitchen. The man who came out and did the measurements gave my wife more ideas and it all came together just like my wife wanted. The man that made it all work, Tom D., oversaw the entire installation. Every Tradesman that came in to do work was top notch. We were notified in advance of all planned installation. We were given a schedule, in advance, of every person who was to do work, day and time. All were on time and called in advance to confirm. Every person, electrician, plumber, drywall, and installers, checked with us before starting work to insure that what they were doing was what we wanted. Tom D. called or came over to verify that the work was done to our satisfaction. All of the tradespeople cleaned up when they were done. Before the job started, the floors were protected and plastic was put up to minimize the dust. I just can't say enough about they great job that Tom D. and his crew did.

Description of Work
kitchen tear out and new complete kitchen remodel.

Category custom cabinets

1.0

09/16/2018


Kristine K.

Do not waste your time with this company. My husband went into their showroom six weeks ago. He saw a display, which is exactly what we want in our house. My husband was told by a salesperson that he would receive a quote within a week. After waiting two weeks and not receiving a quote, he gave them a call and was assured he would receive it within the week, which he did not. By the sixth week and many more calls to LaFata's, he called to speak with the owner. He spoke with the owner and was told by him that he would call him back the following day to get to the bottom of why my husband has not received a quote. Well, a week later, my husband is still waiting for a call back. A company with service this poor at the quoting stage would certainly not be a company you want doing work in your home.

Description of Work
Bathroom and bar renovation

Category custom cabinets

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], we're sorry to hear that these communication issues are occurring. We'd like to get this resolved as quickly as possible. If you can, please privately message us your email on our Facebook page or contact us at https://www.lafata.com/pages/contact-us so we can pass it along to our customer support team. We hope to fix this quickly.
2.0

11/11/2017


Debbie C.

Worst customer service experience ever! The ordering process was only mildly bad...many versions of the design with multiple things wrong each time....no big deal we got through it. They came out twice to measure giving me the confidence things were going to be right. Also, Since we were doing a fireclay sink they needed it actually physically there. Six weeks later cabinets arrived. Missing shelves, the sink cabinet didn't fit the sink that they had on site the entire time and the molding was short to the ceiling by more than an inch. Ok...so I understand things go wrong...to me it's really about how problems are handled. From the very first call about my issues it was an attempt to blame...your contractor doesn't know how to install the molding or the sink, you must have changed something so the moldings don't fit. They did come out and agree that the sink cabinet was wrong and the molding didn't fit. But there was no urgency to fix it...and complete disregard that it was costing me really money to have the contractor attempting to install things that were wrong and reinstall later. With each call I got passed around to more people who didn’t care to help, often needing to call back after no return calls. The worst part...when I finally talked to the owner to discuss the issues...he said "what do you want from me, I'm not giving you any money" and told me I was just a mean person for telling him the customer service was not good. Please check other reviews before purchasing from LaFata.

Description of Work
We purchased kitchen cabinets without installation

Category custom cabinets

1.0

10/07/2017


Flora G.

They did not deliver the cabinets I was shown in the West Bloomfield showroom. Also the hardware that I was shown was not what was delivered. Customer service is nonexistent. I would never use this company again and would never recommend them. I only wish that I had read their negative reviews on their facebook page before hiring them for the job.

Description of Work
desigh cabinets and install.

Category custom cabinets,countertops,plumbing

1.0

03/27/2017


byron P.

Never got to find out after 3 contacts with the office and awaiting preliminary design we never heard back from the

Description of Work
Kitchen and Bath remodel

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,flooring contractor,plumbing,home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are sorry to hear about your experience with LaFata Cabinets. Please give us a call at (586) 247-1140 at your convenience so we can figure out where communication broke down. We take our reputation very seriously and would love the opportunity to leave you with a better impression of us and our process.
1.0

03/22/2016


Sheila P.

I was contacted by a Lafata representative, who said I lived outside of their service area. Their website clearly says they service the metro Detroit area. The Angie's list site, clearly say they service Harper Woods. Wonder if I lived too close to Detroit. It's 2016 people!

Description of Work
I was interested in a full kitchen remodel.

Category custom cabinets,home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are sorry to hear about your experience with LaFata Cabinets. Please email info@lafata.com and we will follow up with you.
4.0

10/23/2015


Steve F.

Vince and Giovanni did the install and they are excellent. Do not buy from Lafata unless you have them do install, and insist on these guys doing the job. My brother is former carpenter, and he was very impressed with the fit and finish of the crown and molding work. Had some fit issues with a cabinet/pantry door initially, but they were very responsive and got it done right.

Description of Work
Cabinets and installation for kitchen

Category custom cabinets

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your feedback [Member name removed], we really appreciate it!
5.0

08/10/2015


Corene F.

The design was great. The ease of picking everything out was amazing (thanks Anthony!). They were punctual and had all my new cabinets installed in under 8 hours. It was pretty amazing. Dealing with LaFata was the smoothest part of my entire kitchen remodel. Not to mention the price came in well below everyone else I got estimates from. (The price above also included a granite counter top and sink, which was installed by Diamond Granite, who also did a great job).

Description of Work
Design and installation of entire new kitchen full of cabinets.

Category custom cabinets,countertops,plumbing,remodeling,home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Removed member name] thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad you had a good experience!
5.0

06/23/2015


Ted W.

Designer was great to work with and solved my issues with an unusual shaped kitchen space. The cabinet timeframe was accurate and the the install was on time. There were a few pieces not quite right when it all came together and the installers noted the problems and returned them to the factory for re-work as they wanted to ensure a quality job. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Kitchen Cabinets manufacture and install

Category custom cabinets

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, (removed member name). We are pleased to hear that you are satisfied with your cabinets and we hope you use us again in the future!
5.0

04/23/2015


marilyn S.

Delivered in perfect condition. Dimensions absolutely correct. Installed by Italy American bathroom remodel with no clitches. The cabinets are so very nice -love them!

Description of Work
Cabinets made in requested style and stain.

Category custom cabinets

5.0

04/05/2015


teresa L.

This company was simply excellent in every way. Quality and responsiveness were terrific.

Description of Work
Rehab of kitchen.

Category home remodeling

5.0

04/03/2015


Joe T.

Very well. Cabinets were exactly as ordered, and all trim was included as well as a repair kit if we ever need it. We picked them up ourselves and the warehouse employee was very helpful and careful in loading them. Cabinets were installed by our contractor for the remodel.

Description of Work
Made custom cabinets for our Master Bath

Category custom cabinets

2.0

02/25/2015


Brian C.

The carpenter who installed our cabinets dragged the new cabinets across our hardwood floors, causing deep gouges/significant damages. We are still attempting to receive reimbursement for same and the owner Giovanni has not returned our phone calls for three months, even though the lead carpenter (not installer) Tom told us at the time of installation that the floors would be repaired. Very unprofessional company. The estimate in damage is $2,000 to sand down to depth of damage and refinish in kitchen and dinette area. They have their money and now we must sue.

Description of Work
Manufactured and installed new kitchen cabinets.

Category custom cabinets,flooring contractor,remodeling,home remodeling

5.0

02/24/2015


Debbie S.

They started in January and completed it in February. They gave me a timeline and they stuck to it. They started when they said they would. They completed when they said they would. They were prompt at taking care of the minor details. I would highly recommend them. I would absolutely use them in the future.

Description of Work
I used LaFata Cabinets. They remodeled my kitchen.

Category home remodeling

5.0

02/03/2015


Carol L.

They did a beautiful job. They redesigned and rebuilt the kitchen in our condo to make it more efficient and up-to-date than the old kitchen. It is a small kitchen (since it is a condo), but so much more efficient now with lots more storage space than before. It is beautiful. I would use them again in a minute. They were so helpful with everything and exactly on time with my contractor so that everything ran smoothly. Very professional.

Description of Work
Replaced cabinets in condo kitchen.

Category custom cabinets,remodeling,home remodeling

5.0

01/22/2015


John K.

The job they did was excellent. They were on time and the pricing was right. The $6,500 included countertop and backsplash in the sink. That was an outstanding price.

Description of Work
I have used LaFata Cabinets. They did five upper cabinets, added floor to ceiling cabinets, and five more.

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,home remodeling

2.0

01/25/2013


kelly K.

Called on Monday to have someone come out for a quote. Said they would call back, did not here from them, so I called back on weds. They said schedueler not in until Friday. OK?? Finally someone out Tuesday 8 days after original call. All other cos. Had been out the previous week. I asked when I could expect to hear back, 1 week I was told. Didn't hear back for 2 weeks. By this time the company we chose had already started work. Job total 11k. Chose Sharf Construction instead of lafata and couldn't be happier - see their review.

Description of Work
Customer service is dead here.

Category custom cabinets

4.0

01/25/2012


Janet F.

They were all right. Decided not to do it right away. Made follow up calls

Description of Work
.

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,plumbing,home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mr. Sandless

    We are the company that invented sandless refinishing! Our traditional service uses wet solutions and our high speed machine to prepare your floor. Then we seal your floor with multiple coats of our commercial-grade, non toxic sealer and finish with your choice of top coat.  

    Karpet & Flooring Mart

    Canton, Michigan and serving the surrounding areas. We sell and install quality carpets, laminate, sheet vinyl, and luxury vinyl tile from top mills such as Shaw and Beaulieu. We pride ourselves in providing quality, value, and service – and our loyal patrons can attest to this rating us 4.75 out of 5 stars. We take a consultative approach with our customers. We will measure your homes, listen to your wants and needs, and then present solutions. We believe that bringing the products to you and allowing you to see them in the comfort of your own home gives you a better representation of what the colors and styles will actually look like. On installation day, our installers are professional, friendly, and expert craftsmen. For quality, value, and service in any of your flooring needs in Michigan, contact Karpet Mart, Flooring and Carpet Installation.  

    So Floored LLC

    At So Floored LLC don't expect anything less than quality, unique, and professional floor installation services. We can guarantee to exceed your expectations for all your vinyl plank and laminate flooring needs .Our flooring installation team has combined flooring installation experience of over 20 years. We only specialize and install vinyl plank & laminate wood flooring.  

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, MasterCard, American Express, Visa, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Custom Cabinet Manufacturer for any room in your house!

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about LaFata Cabinets

    How is LaFata Cabinets overall rated?

    LaFata Cabinets is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are LaFata Cabinets open?

    LaFata Cabinets is open:

    Sunday: Closed
    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does LaFata Cabinets provide

    LaFata Cabinets accepts the following forms of payment: Check, MasterCard, American Express, Visa, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does LaFata Cabinets offer free estimates?

    Ask LaFata Cabinets for details on free project estimates.

    Does LaFata Cabinets offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, LaFata Cabinets does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does LaFata Cabinets offer a senior discount?

    No, LaFata Cabinets does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by LaFata Cabinets?

    No, LaFata Cabinets does not offer warranties.

    What services does LaFata Cabinets offer?

    LaFata Cabinets offers the following services: Custom Cabinet Manufacturer for any room in your house!