Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC

Founded 1950 • With Angi since March 2006

4.7

(38) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

967 E TIENKEN RD

Rochester, MI 48306

Description

Family owned and operated, we have been serving metro Detroit, including Macomb, Oakland and Wayne counties since 1985. Our plumbing professionals respect your home (or business) and always treat you just like family. That’s why we say….’you’ve got family in the plumbing business!’ If you are in

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/02/2020


natasha V.

! have a lot to say. It has been over a year since my last residential service from Putman, and that should give you some idea of how bad a job they did if I still come here to talk about it. Let me start by saying that the majority of people in their crew aren't licensed master plumbers, and they are highly incompetent. The most competent person I worked with (I did over 10k worth of various projects with them) was named John and he would be considered incompetent too. John installed all new trims throughout my master bathroom. Since we were remodeling we hardly ever used the bath tub, so when ceiling stains showed up we called them back (and PAID for their time to look at the stains). John said he couldn't think of a reason for a leak when he opened up the drain. I happened to notivce a smaller amount of water stains under another bathroom floor, so I had him look at that too. Sure enough, he said he thought it was from the kids splashing in the tub. Some weeks later the wall cabinets of our laundry room under the master bathroom mysteriously fell OUT of the drywall and the stain was growing. That is when we called a different company. We opened up our drywall and found the leak just in time. It was a bad seal on the drain. It had not been screwed in very tight and no putty was used. This had been done by John. So, yes we spent over a thousand dollars fixing the damage john caused, and when we notified Putman of what happened, they refused to cover any of the repairs (another plumber, a carpenter, and a painter) because we had called another company. In fact, they denied it was caused by them in the first place. I have the photos and videos of the damage. And the leak in the second bathroom? I went ahead and tore into the drywall of the ceiling below, and sure enough, it was a leaking pipe. Another repair; at opening drywall on this one was necessary and less repair was needed since we caught it in time. (that is what plumbers are supposed to do). So, this was the last thing. But prior to that, they installed a laundry room for me, and one of their plumbers cut a power line and didn't tell anyone. Fortunately we caught it thanks to an electrician we hired the days before we were installing 3k worth of tile in that room, or else we would have had a live wire under our floor. So, these are the issues we experienced with Putman. Of, John also tried really hard to sell me a huge job we didn't need done on another ouse we own nearby that is much older, claiming the main line under the house had dissolved with age. Apparently, according to another plumber from another company we talked to, this is a common scam in that neighborhood over by Tienken. Oh and I almost forgot:; John was over billing me for his time. Putman was nice about fixing that one when I complained, and it was these little things that had me going for so long, giving them more chances. But the final straw was the massive water damage and leaks that were a direct result of their incompetence. This is a small family owned company and all I can say is that if you are in the market for a plumber to do anything more than unclog a toilet: wait. Put it off. Now is a bad time to hire a plumber for major jobs in Rochester.

Description of Work
A vast amount of jobs including floor drains, laundry rooms, fixture upgrades.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

09/14/2017


Nancy O.

They did the job. My husband supervised it and he did not say anything so I am sure that it is just fine.

Description of Work
They replaced two outside hose spigots and a shut off valve.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/26/2017


Peter C.

Greg did a great job showing me what the problem was with my drain. He cleared it out and gave me some very good tips to keep it clear.

Description of Work
Video and snaking of clogged drain

Category plumbing

5.0

09/14/2016


Emily L.

Let me paint a picture for you -- last night, I go downstairs to change the cat litter and MY ENTIRE CEILING IS WET AND DRIPPING. I have no clue what to do, and I also have no one to call. I finally found the water supply valve (in a crawl space full of spiders! AHHH!). Then, in the middle of the night, I let my elderly dog out to pee and she gets SPRAYED BY A SKUNK. I have to turn the water back on to bathe her. Leak starts again x5. Turn the water off again, go back to sleep. Get up for my NEW job, and call 5 plumbers on lunch. No one calls me back. I leave at 3:45pm knowing this is an emergency, but apparently no plumbers answer their phones or messages. So what happens next? A DARN MIRACLE! Putman & Sons CAME THROUGH LIKE CHAMPS. 20 minutes after I called, I was clearing the flooded area out and they pulled into my driveway. It should have been an after-hours call, but I swear Heather was put on this earth to solve flooding issues, including tears. JOHN was AMAZING. He TROUBLESHOOTED, DISCOVERED, and RESOLVED the issue. I was so impressed with his professionalism and dedication to detail. John told me Putman & Sons services Meijer stores and dentist offices -- places where the job needs to be DONE RIGHT, THE FIRST TIME. I'm going to need a complete tear down and rebuild of at least one wall, and carpet replacement. I had a HUGE plumbing issue that escalated FAST and NO ONE called me back -- except Putman & Sons, who got a professional plumber into my house within a 1/2 hour. I will forever and ever recommend this company. I've already lined up a couple projects for them around my house, including PREVENTATIVE work. If you need plumbing EXPERTS, with PROMPT SERVICE, these are the people to call!

Description of Work
Troubleshot, discovered and RESOLVED a fridge line leak that had slowly destroyed my lower level wall.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/14/2016


Heather C.

This was an after hours call. They came in a timely fashion. Took care of the issue. Snaked the toilet and the main. They are very clean and professional.

Description of Work
Emergency. Towel flushed in the toilet.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

08/27/2015


susan R.

Very professional, prompt and knowledgable. Would use them again and have already recommended them to friends.

Description of Work
Moved and secured gasline for our new dryer.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/05/2015


Mark H.

Problem was diagnosed right away and fixed with least invasive procedure.

Description of Work
Found and repaired a leak from our 2nd story drain inside our kitchen wall.

Category plumbing

5.0

07/07/2015


Mary Kay C.

Frank was great! Arrived early and very professional and courteous. Highly recommend them and they are our new go-to Plumbing Company.

Description of Work
Replaced all flappers in 3 Toilets in Home

Category plumbing

3.0

06/12/2015


Michael W.

Technician arrived to replace a leaking check valve on sump pump. Old check valve was removed, the new one installed in about 20 minutes. The charge was $150.00 for labor, $15.00 for the part. That's $165.00 total. Thought the labor charge was extremely excessive. That rate translates to a $450.00 per hour labor rate. I called the next day to ask them to explain how their labor rates are calculated. They never returned my call. It took longer for the technician to walk from the truck to the basement, from the basement to the truck, calculate and prepare a bill, walk back into the house and present me with the bill, than it did for him to perform the work. Suggest getting an estimate first, before doing business with this company.

Description of Work
Replaced check valve at sump pump.

Category plumbing, wells

5.0

05/29/2015


Brett S.

He was very nice and eager to help (it was late on a Sunday night). He was the only plumber (and I called about 20) who was willing to come out and actually do the work. Everyone else would only come out and turn off the water (which i did myself). I had a housefull of guests, so I needed the work done and the water turned on.

Description of Work
Fixed a leak and replaced a valve

Category plumbing

5.0

06/04/2014


susan R.

Went great. Very professional, kind and cleaned up.

Description of Work
We bought a new dryer and when it was delivered, we were told by Home Depot contractor that we needed to completely reroute our gas line and install a new shut off valve next to dryer. Home Depot contractor told us it would cost close to $350. I had heard about Putman and sons, so I called for an estimate. They came out and gave me an estimate of $130 to $150. They came back and did the job, using the parts that came with the machine and saved us 20 dollars. Cost us $130 .

Category plumbing

5.0

04/30/2014


Carol S.

Our sump, only three years old, had been having problems freezing up. This morning I had a basement full of water. I called the emergency number at 7am. Mark called me back in ten minutes, was out at the house by 8am and all was done by 9 am. He answered all my questions, spent time explaining what he had done and why. He was nice to our little terrier! I asked him for advice on a back up system and he explained the pros and cons of each choice, the cost of each and what each would and wouldn't do. He was very professional and educated. I appreciated the timeliness of his response, his professional but friendly demeanor, and the no-surprise quote. We will definitely use his services in the future.

Description of Work
Replaced our sump pump.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/27/2014


Stacy C.

These guys are great! Very friendly, fast service. Technician arrived earlier than initial arrival estimate given by phone rep; solved our leaking ice maker connection problem, and even took the time to adjust the faucet in our bathroom (something I had not asked about when booking the visit). We will be using this group for all our plumbing needs in the future (of course, crossing our fingers we won't need a plumber all that often...)

Description of Work
hooked up ice maker line in new refrigerator, plus adjusted faucet in bathroom

Category plumbing

5.0

07/10/2013


Mark F.

It went well he showed up on time. He finished an hour earlier than he had anticipated.

Description of Work
They replace my sump pump and installed a back up.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/25/2013


Edward M.

They were on time and the job went very well. You can go ahead and use them because they are local and they are good.

Description of Work
I used Putman & Sons Plumbing for a bathtub sink.

Category drain cleaning

5.0

02/06/2013


Leigh S.

Excellent. The service was prompt, affordable and I will definitely use this company again.

Description of Work
Fixed leak in shower that had created water damage in floor/ceiling below.

Category plumbing

1.0

05/21/2012


Catherine H.

Putman';s was unprofessional in that they did not return my phone call or respond to my need. Putman's was the first call I made for my plumbing dilemma. A woman answerd the phone. I explained my dilemma. She indicated that she was driving and could she call me back in about 10 minutes when she reached the office. That phone call was never returned. I had another experience with Putman's quite some time ago, and the same thing occured, phone calls were not reurned when they said they would. I would not attempt to use this company again.

Description of Work
No services were performed.

Category plumbing

5.0

05/09/2012


Ellen H.

Had walk in tub put in and it required a new water heater. Putnam put it in

Description of Work
New water tank put in

Category plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

04/10/2012


Valaria J.

These guys took care of us despite some ups and downs. We had sewage water backed up for days and couldn't fix it after renting a tool ourselves. They came late the same day and stayed until after 9pm, finding signs of a collapsed pipe. It was disappointing they didn't fix the problem, but knew to call in their boss for a second opinion. The owner insisted the crew come back the next day and try a different approach. After WE missed that appt, they were finally back the next day and that approach worked + no collapsed drain! Finally the owner came through a few days later and inspected with a camera, showing me the root build up and real cause of the problem. They were consistently professional, considerate, and helpful explaining everything they tried and found. We are still waiting to clean out the roots and get charged for the inspection, but that's OK because I appreciate them waiting until we have the extra cash. Great service we highly recommend!

Description of Work
Basement floor drain clean-out. Camera inspection. Root removal.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

4.0

01/06/2012


James K.

In 2011 I called to get the filters replaced in the RO unit. Took seveal phone calls to reach anyone, then after 3-4 conversations they never did replace the filters. In one call they told me the customer normally provided the replacement filters. Apparantly part numbers changed over that last year and I could not locate the right parts.Then Putman said they'd have ?forget name? call. They did not specifically say they would not do the work, simply never got back to me. At all. I went to A-Fordable Plumbing. Had several conversations while they tried to figure out what specific parts fit my unit. They do not stock this brand. At their request I photograhed my unit, emailed them the photos. They put in considerable time determining the correct part numbers for my MacClean unit. They replaced the filters. I am thankful. I intend to stay with A-fordable.

Description of Work
Installed RO unit 2003, also a water softener. Serviced both. Installed Mansfield outside faucet 2009. Serviced RO unit in 2010. Good Work. Normally just a little hard to contact. I always paid the bill the day they did the work.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

11/29/2011


Sue E.

They are very good and I have used them in the past. They are effective, efficient and clean. I will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I used Putman & Sons Plumbing to repair leaks in my kitchen and bathroom.

Category plumbing

5.0

10/20/2011


George H.

Putman Plumbing was very responsive to my request. The owner, Ralph, was leaving town that afternoon, but came by to take care of the problem. We discovered the other two valves were leading while trying to drain the house lines, which wouldn't drain at all. Had to call the City Water Dept to mark the City shutoff valve at the street. Once this was done, I called Putman and Ralph came the next day. All three valves were replaced without a problem.

Description of Work
The original problem I had was the sprinkler system shutoff valve was leaking through and needed to be replaced (cheap valves installed by the original builder). In the process of starting that fix we discovered that the valves on either side of the city water meter were leaking through because we couldn't drain the house lines even with those valves tightly closed. Therefore, the work involved replacing 3 water valves.

Category plumbing

4.0

12/02/2010


James P.

In general, the work held up. It was less than pretty, and the second repair caused some minor problems that needed fixing again. I have since found another plumber that I use.

Description of Work
I've used Putman Plumbing on a couple of occasions. They replaced a sill bibb for me several years ago. The serviceman was on time and professional. Charged a fair price for the on-site call. Unfortunately, the bibb started leaking a couple of years later. Can't remember now if I had them come back and replace again or if I used another plumber. Faulty seat, maybe? And long ago, they replaced a three-hole bathtub mixer faucet that was installed in a common wet wall. They had to bash a huge hole in the back of the vanity in the other bathroom. It was rough and ugly, but they got the leaking faucet out, replaced with another that never leaked in almost twenty year. We just recently remodeled that bathroom and replaced the standard tub faucet with a single-handle. The bathroom with the big hole in the wall was never repaired, just covered with the vanity. When we replaced that vanity, we left an access panel to get to that plumbing repair if necessary. It was never needed.

Category plumbing

5.0

04/20/2010


George H.

They took a very logical approach to determining the exact location of a drywall nail that had punctured a copper water pipe. Made minimal cuts into drywall in order to locate the leak. Kept me well informed of what we he doing every step of the way.

Description of Work
Found and repaired plumbing leak, and fixed a broken shower valve. Leak was evident in my basement living area, and was obviously coming from the bathroom on the 3rd floor.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/23/2006

THEY KNEW WHAT THEY WERE DOING. THEY WERE VERY RESPECTFUL. THE PROCESS WAS NOT VERY LONG. THE PRICE WAS CHEAP FOR THE WORK THAT THEY DID. THEY DID AN EXCELLENT JOB.

Description of Work
THEY FIXED THE PIPES UNDER MY TOILET.

Category plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Atlantic Coast Waterproofing Inc

    Atlantic Coast is waterproofing Michigan basements one home at a time. Each job that we do receives the proper inspection, diagnosis and quality workmanship that the customer deserves. Our waterproofing solutions are permanent and are not designed to try and stop water but are engineered so we can carry the water away. The key to this fact is that you need to be able to move the water away faster then it is received. Contact us today through angie's List message center or, Additional Contact Number - 248-597-7000 Additional email - contactus@atlanticcoastwaterproofing.com. Owner operated. Check out our Basement Waterproofing videos on Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/Atlantic-Coast-Waterproofing-Inc-248-597-7000-128372753843315  

    Angi Certified

    All Type Landscape Co

    Over 41 years of operation in Outstanding Landscape design, Paver's, Hardscaping, Retaining walls and Drainage Systems, installations. All Type Landscape was founded in 1979, 41 years ago with one goal in mind - to provide full range superior landscaping services, including landscaping, hardscaping and drainage solutions, all at affordable rates. Our company has grown over the years from a few person operation into a full staff of professionals able to meet your every landscaping needs. We are dedicated to building long term relationships with our clients by providing the highest standard of quality on each and every project we do. Our reputation for customer satisfaction in the S/E Michigan area is what has made All Type Landscape an award winning customer service company.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    RIES WELL DRILLING, INC.

    Since 1983 our family-owned business has provided Southeast, Michigan with Water Well Drilling and Well Repair Services. Your water well issue will be quickly addressed on time and in budget thanks to our prompt and affordable services. We accept Check, Cash, VISA, M/C and DISCOVER  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Full service Plumbing Company ◾Commercial / Industrial ◾New Construction ◾Remodeling ◾Occupancy Inspections ◾Water Heaters ◾Water Filters &Softeners ◾Shower / Tub Upgrades ◾Sinks & Faucets ◾Toilet Repair & Installation ◾Garbage Disposals ◾Dishwashers ◾Water Leaks ◾Drains ◾Backflow Prevention & Testing ◾Sewer Cleaning / Repair ◾Copper Piping ◾Gas Lines Install / Repair ◾Medical Gas Installations

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC

    How is PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC overall rated?

    PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC open?

    PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC provide

    PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC offer free estimates?

    No, PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC offer a senior discount?

    No, PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC offer emergency services?

    Yes, PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC?

    No, PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC does not offer warranties.

    What services does PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC offer?

    PUTMAN & SONS PLUMBING INC offers the following services: Full service Plumbing Company ◾Commercial / Industrial ◾New Construction ◾Remodeling ◾Occupancy Inspections ◾Water Heaters ◾Water Filters &Softeners ◾Shower / Tub Upgrades ◾Sinks & Faucets ◾Toilet Repair & Installation ◾Garbage Disposals ◾Dishwashers ◾Water Leaks ◾Drains ◾Backflow Prevention & Testing ◾Sewer Cleaning / Repair ◾Copper Piping ◾Gas Lines Install / Repair ◾Medical Gas Installations