Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Allen Brothers Inc

Founded 1950 • With Angi since September 2006

4.6

(39) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2691 Leach Rd

Rochester Hills, MI 48309

Description

Family owned & operated. 25-30 Employees. Cost is determined by the job. Additional e-mails - info@allenbrothersinc.com, rallen@allenbrothersinc.com. Additional phones - (248) 852-4770, (248) 642-1010, (248) 651-0766, (248) 852-6122. Additional DBA - Birmingham Roofing, Rochester Roofing.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/03/2016


Matthew B.

Paul Allen was a top notch professional. All phone messages were returned within minutes and he was very patient to answer all my questions. He was even able to work with me on the price a little bit. Their roofing products were a higher quality than those offered by other contractors I talked to which was the main reason I went with them. The outstanding customer service was an added bonus! I left for work one morning and by the time I got home the roof was completely done! I couldn't believe how quickly they completed the job.

Description of Work
Complete tear off (2 layers) and replacement of entire roof including installation of new edge and ridge vents.

Category roofing

5.0

04/10/2015


Robert K.

Job was finished on time and area cleaned up.

Description of Work
Corrected an issue with roof flashing

Category roofing

5.0

10/13/2014


ANTHONY G.

They were very quality-minded. I wanted a quality job so I called them because Angie's List has them on their list of highly rated service providers. They made recommendations on the job that actually saved me money. Not only that, but the job that they did was excellent.

Description of Work
They put a new shingle roof on my house.

Category roofing

4.0

10/06/2014


Wendy R.

Did a good job, but left pieces of shingles, nails throughout the yard. I didn't feel they did a great cleanup, but it could have been worse. Dented up some of our gutters and after complaining, they were replaced very quickly. Dump truck that was parked on the driveway left a large oil stain. One area of flashing needs to be nailed down. Have asked twice, was promised someone would be right out. It's been a month and still haven't seen anyone.

Description of Work
Complete tear-off and new roof installed.

Category roofing

5.0

06/15/2014


Suzanne C.

We had a leak in our roof and Allen Brothers came out and put a temporary patch on and gave us a quote on replacing the entire roof. We got four quotes and Allen Brothers were not the lowest price however they were very professional, had many references in our area and are a family owned company in our town. The crew showed up on time and completed the job as scheduled. They were very professional and considerate of landscaping and the surrounding area. They cleaned up the work site at the end of each day. We had no complaints with the work that was completed.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced roofing.

Category roofing

4.0

04/12/2014


Marilyn H.

Job was completed without problem

Description of Work
Replaced caulking on chimney's and vent on roof.

Category roofing

5.0

04/07/2014


Roy M.

They are by far the most capable roofers I have come across. They are fast and the quality is excellent. If you want it done right and have the money, I would suggest calling them every time.

Description of Work
These guys did a massive tear off and replacement roof for me. The house was built in 1930 and had the original roof still on it along with 3 to 5 other layers of roofing. They also provided some metal roof on some bays.

Category roofing

4.0

10/15/2013


Patrick P.

One of few people who did the job at the price they said they would

Description of Work
roof as subcontractor. Copper

Category roofing

4.0

05/15/2013


SUSAN D.

It was late in the season, it was done late in December and they have to battle cold weather and we have an interesting roof and it's a man's hard work. The roof on the top, roof in the front of the house and then the lower roof and they seem to do a good job. It was not one of their crew, it was crew that they contract with which was a little bit disappointing to me but in the end they have to have to come back in and repair a little of things. Also, they didn't clean all the debris out of the gutters so we had a little problem in the spring with some gutter run-off but they came back out and cleared out my gutters and they did a good job when I asked them to do the gutters. Overall, the roof is very solidly constructed. Their price was higher than some but I knew they do a good job.

Description of Work
I used Allen Brothers Inc for roof replacement.

Category roofing

5.0

04/11/2013


lynn C.

a very good job PLEASE CHECK YOUR RECORDS BECAUSE I SUBMITTED A REVIEW OF THIS COMPANY PREVIOUSLY, POSSIBLY UNDER FORMER EMAIL ADDRESS.

Description of Work
removed old roof repaired boards as needed installed new roof

Category roofing

4.0

10/15/2012


elaine D.

The salesman, one of the Allen Brothers, was prompt to come out and look at the roof. He called with an estimate, but seemed irritated that I was getting more than one estimate. He told me he would not be in a bidding war. I never asked him to. I asked him to bid specific items so I could compare apples to apples and he was a middle of the road price for the job. He never met with me in person, nor did I ever get a written estimate. That combined with his impatience led me to choose another company.

Description of Work
Roofing estimate for 1550 sq foot home with att garage and hip roof.

Category roofing

4.0

09/22/2011


Brent T.

The representative that presented the quote was very knowledgeable about the business and what we might need. We chose not to go with them because 1) they were about 15% more expensive than the vendor we chose and 2) the representative, while knowledgeable, was pretty negative about competition and rating services. I don't like mudslinging in polities and don't like it in salespersons either. Pricing was by far the primary deciding factor.

Description of Work
Allen Brothers provided a quote to do the roofing on our house.

Category roofing

5.0

08/23/2011


SUSAN D.

They did everything they should have, and the roof looks very nice and does not leak. It was not necessarily great weather when they were working; it was very cold. I would use them again in the future if necessary.

Description of Work
I used Allen Brothers Inc for roofing work.

Category roofing

5.0

06/30/2011


William H.

They were more expensive and provided a little less service. Getting the estimate was an "A", the problem came after I told them I was going with someone else. They were pretty argumentative. They did come out right away.

Description of Work
Allen Brothers Inc gave me a quote.

Category roofing

5.0

04/04/2011


JANICE S.

They have done a good job. They have been out several times and have mostly done a good job.

Description of Work
Repairing the gutters and roofing

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

01/21/2011


JOHN L.

I wanted a high-quality job by a well-qualified company, and that's what I got. The estimator was pleasant and easy to work with, and there was no high-pressure sales pitch. I wanted all brand-name roofing components, and all the work was done with GAF products. The crew was on-time and professional, and cleaned up well. The crew leader explained exactly what they were going to do and kept me well informed with their progress. In addition to the on-site crew leader who was in charge, a field supervisor checked on the job several times as the work was being done, and did a thorough on-the-roof inspection when the job was done. A lot of my sheathing was damaged from poor ventilation and moisture problems in the attic. I identified the sheets I wanted replaced and they did all the work I requested.

Description of Work
Complete tear-off and replacement of roof on a two-story colonial house, including 30 sheets of deteriorated sheathing.

Category roofing

4.0

12/09/2009


lynn C.

Things went very well. They did a good job.

Description of Work
They replaced my roof.

Category roofing

5.0

11/20/2009


Beverly S.

They were super-dooper. I got a 30-year warranty. I think there might have been lower prices, but they didn't have this length of warranty. They were done in a day and had a large crew. Mr. Allen told me we needed more air intake in the roof and my airflow is better. I would recommend them to anybody.

Description of Work
I used Allen Brothers last summer for roofing.

Category roofing

1.0

07/26/2009


KEVIN R.

I called Allen brothers roofing on July 16,2009. I spoke with a lady and she took down all my information and phone numbers to call me both home and cell. Today is july 26th and I still did not hear from them. The lady said that a salesman would call me. No one did and I got my new roof done already by Scott Adams.

Description of Work
company did not return my call. so no estimate

Category roofing

1.0

05/11/2009


Maury N.

I emailed him back and told him a $165 fee for a roof inspection was ridiculous and unacceptable. I received no reply

Description of Work
I was not happy because my initial email contact told me that he "didn't believe" there was a charge for a roof inspection (residential), but when I spoke to the woman who sets up appointments, she informed me there is a $165.00 inspection fee. It seems to me the gentleman who I made initial contact with via email, and whose title was Marketing Manager (I believe) should not guess at things like the cost of an inspection, or even if there is a cost or not. And if they're not sure, DON'T GUESS. It makes him & his company look like they do not know what they are doing. .

Category roofing

3.0

05/08/2009


DAN M.

The first time they came out they papered over the board. There was a leak in the roof, and the board needed replaced. I went up on the roof, and ended up having them come out to replace the rotted board. Another issue I had was that when they scheduled the appointment I told them specific days I would be home, but both times they called and said they wouldn't be able to make it and scheduled it on a day I would not be home. I wasn't thoroughly happy with them, so I might consider using them again in the future. Their bid was higher than others.

Description of Work
They replaced a rotted board.

Category roofing

4.0

05/06/2009


Sara W.

I called on March 10 and because there had a been a lot of rain in the area, the company was swamped with requests. Initially, the receptionist said they couldn't come out to look at it for a week, but then she called back and was able to work us in, just two days later, to have someone come by to look at it. The guy who came out pinpointed the problem, told us a verbal rough estimate, and said that the company would get back to us with a formal estimate and to schedule the repair. By March 29, I hadn't received an estimate or scheduled the repair, even after a call and an email. Finally, after the email, they responded, faxed us the estimate, and then called back to scheduled us for the repair the following week. As I said before, this was just after a period of heavy rain for several days, so I give them the benefit of the doubt that they had a rush of customers during this period and given ours was a relatively localized leak, it was further down on the priority list. The workman arrived on time, was very professional and courteous. He did a fine job on the work as far as I can tell (I haven't been up on the roof to check, but so far no more leaks). He left no messes behind and did the work quickly. So the scheduling part was a bit drawn out, but the work itself was good and the price was fair. They also didn't try to sell us a whole new roof as some other companies we'd contacted had tried to do.

Description of Work
We had a roof leak and water was coming into the house. They patched the area on the exterior part of the roof.

Category roofing

5.0

01/16/2009


ANTON C.

After many years of ice dam problems and discovering our old roofer didn't give us proper vents and soffits, I found Paul at Allen Brothers. He first recommended I contact an insulation company to review our insulation, which I did. I then had Allen Brothers install proper ridge vents and soffits. Guess what? No more ice dams. Allen Brothers knows what they're talking about, and I would hire them any time I may need roofing work.

Description of Work
Installed new ridge vents and soffits.

Category roofing

5.0

11/26/2008


Timothy M.

They came to my home and gave me an estimate, which is what I paid. They were professional, timely, and they did good quality work. They cleaned up when they finished.

Description of Work
They came to my home and did patch repair on my roof.

Category roofing

5.0

10/18/2008


Dennis K.

It went fine. They did a very good job. It had been there for a while. We organized a time for them to come out and replace a section of the roof. They were to our house when they said they would be. And I thought the price was agreeable. They were very courteous and respectful of our property.

Description of Work
They came to our house and repaired a leak in the roof.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Artuso Seasonal Services

    We offer quality and affordable gutter and window cleaning services.  

    Angi Certified

    Royal Outdoor Services

    Royal Outdoor Services operates on delivering the best value for our clients with premium customer service and top-tier resources. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Diamond Shine Window Cleaning

    Hi, I'm Kurtis, the owner of Diamond Shine Window Cleaning. Since opening our doors in 2016, my team and I have dedicated ourselves to providing SE Michigan with the best window cleaners around. With our long list of satisfied customers, we feel confident that we will continue to provide top-tier service to our growing customer base. We prioritize safety and efficiency, all while delivering a level of quality that only comes from proper training and experience. We specialize in cleaning windows (in/out), sills, screens, tracks, and gutters. Call us today to give your windows the "Diamond Shine" they deserve!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Installation and repair of roofing, siding, gutter & sheet metal fabrication.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Allen Brothers Inc

    How is Allen Brothers Inc overall rated?

    Allen Brothers Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Allen Brothers Inc open?

    Allen Brothers Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Allen Brothers Inc provide

    Allen Brothers Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Allen Brothers Inc offer free estimates?

    Ask Allen Brothers Inc for details on free project estimates.

    Does Allen Brothers Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Allen Brothers Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Allen Brothers Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Allen Brothers Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Allen Brothers Inc?

    Yes, Allen Brothers Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Allen Brothers Inc offer?

    Allen Brothers Inc offers the following services: Installation and repair of roofing, siding, gutter & sheet metal fabrication.