Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ostlund A Service Co

Founded 1959 • With Angi since January 2011

4.8

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

105 East Main St

Pinckney, MI 48169

Description

Our Company vision is to provide all of our clients with honest, dependable and industry leading workmanship, accompanied by superior customer service. Ostlund Services is the leader in plumbing, electrical, HVAC-R and facility services. Let us help you with all of your residential, commercial and restaurant needs. At Ostlund Service Company we specialize in Commercial and Residential services for Plumbing, Electrical, HVAC-R and Facility Maintenance. Simply put, we are the best and we have the track record to prove it. Our staff of technicians are all state licensed professionals, in their fields. We service thousands of clients throughout the Midwest...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/18/2017


Sandra J.

Very high caliber of professionals. Respond quickly and get the job done correctly. I continue to use them for all our home issues. I highly recommend their services.

Description of Work
Hot water tank not working. Recently, another time furnace problems.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

07/26/2017


Lenore F.

We love these guys! No waiting around for weeks before they can come out. We call and they come out almost immediately and even with non-emergency work, it was finished within a week.

Description of Work
Plumbing repair and Heating/Cooling inspection

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

02/10/2017


Ray L.

Excellent! Fabulous! Had to have him come back the next day to stabilize the toilet. Seems the bolts need to be tightened.

Description of Work
Old toilet wasn't working and wouldn't unclog. Install new toilet.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/11/2014


Sandra J.

It was great, very professional and came as soon as they could get there. Horrible weather, truck got stuck, had to send someone else to get them, and then they got to the house. Quick, got it done, turned everything back on! We had to pay a little more because of course this happened on a weekend, but I would call them again, no matter, to get the job done right! I will be calling them for all future needs.

Description of Work
We had a pipe that broke (hole), in our baseboard heat . One of the coldest, snow everywhere, and it was of course Saturday. We had to pay more because of the weekend/after hours rate. They came out and fixed the pipe, put it all together and then reopened/bled the pipes for the entire system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

07/09/2014


Antoinette G.

Repair was done quickly and efficiently. Toilet was leaking in to basement bathroom and he checked everything before he made repairs. He also checked an issue with a bathroom faucet and told us what parts were needed to fix it and said he would come back and make the repairs when we got the parts. this man went above and beyond what was required and deserves an A+ for his service!

Description of Work
Toilet flange cracked and broken at bolt slots.Installed repair ring and replaced wax ring.

Category plumbing

5.0

04/20/2014


Bonnie W.

They were prompt to reply to my request for quote, when most providers don't even return phone calls. They were ready to schedule the work almost immediately. They came when they said they would, and they did great work. They did a perfect job for me. They'll be the first ones I call in the future for household projects I don't want to tackle myself. I'm not affiliated with Ostlund Services, just a satisfied customer.

Description of Work
Ostlund installed natural gas black pipe inside a new detached garage, between a new gas meter and a hanging heater. I had an idea where and how I wanted it run, and Ostlund services complied perfectly and did a perfect job. I also had them come back and install the chimney stack, and again, they did a perfect job.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

1.0

01/17/2014


Stephanie P.

Appointment was set up and they were a no-show, no-call. I was called a day after the fact and was told they took other and quot;priorityand quot; callsand quot; over me such as no heat, broken pipes in restaurants etc., I told the women that called me how did she know that I didn't have heat and her response was and quot;you would have calledand quot;. Fact is, I didn't have heat in two rooms as two of the steam radiators weren't working. I had told Ostlund this when I called and set-up the original appt. They are unreliable and I would never call them again.

Description of Work
Appointment was set up and they were a no-show, no-call.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

01/07/2014


Stephanie P.

) I called them on January 3rd, and they were to come out on January 6th for maintenance work on my boiler; in addition I had 2 radiators that were not working. They didn't show, which I attributed to the bad weather but they also didn't call. On January 7th I received a phone call from them, wanting to reschedule. When I asked why they didn't call the day before to cancel, rather then just not show up, the women was extremely argumentative and gave me a list of reasons why they didn't show (workers couldn't get to work, restaurants with broken pipes, homes without heat, etc,) and when I asked why they didn't call to cancel the women claimed I never had a scheduled time for January 6th. If I didn't, then how did she obtain my phone number and why did she call me, a day late, to reschedule??? This business is unreliable, and the office staff argumentative. Finally, when I called other businesses to schedule an appt none of them had the high fees of a $65 service call plus $90 for the first half an hour. I would not use them nor recommend them to anyone!!!

Description of Work
Didn't show up on scheduled day of January 6th nor did they call on January 6th.

Category plumbing

5.0

11/06/2013


Virginia A. Z.

Cost ( $65 service call and $90 per hour labor) explained when appointment made. Service provided day after appointment was made. Called ahead of time to get make and model number and to ask about the problem ( to research before appointment). Explained the symptoms, service tech. knew what the problem was and estimated the amount of time needed to repair. Checked the system to make sure their were no other issues before leaving.

Description of Work
Cleaned and checked on demand hot water boiler.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

10/27/2013


Laura S.

Tried to reach the clog from several clean outs, eventually was able to reach it power auger. Repairman told me what he was going to do every step of the way and explained things well. Would use them again.

Description of Work
Diagnosed clogged drain and resolved issue with power auger.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

4.0

10/15/2013


helen L.

Good ,on time and very polite

Description of Work
Installed two new faucets/valves and repaired hot water tank

Category plumbing, water heater repair, drain cleaning

5.0

07/31/2013


Bob and Alma G.

We've had otherwork by these people do ther work for us. They are excellent!

Description of Work
The plumber found some leaks in a spot nearly unreachable and fixed them. He was very patient and he was absolutely right in doing the needed task.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/18/2013


Joe K.

Very smooth once I turned it over to the professionals. I attempted to replace the hot water cartridge on my olf faucet, however i could not find the right one anywhere. So I purchased a new one and had it installed. It took about an hour, they did a really nice job.

Description of Work
Replace bathroom sink faucet

Category plumbing

5.0

05/25/2013


Thomas & Teresa M.

Installation went great. Faucet had been in for over 10 years and was a difficult removal. Ostland missed the estimated service window as their scheduler dropped or mislaid the appointment. I could not reschedule for a different day - they scrambled and sent a rep in an hour (Kevin). Great job. I would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Removed kitchen faucet and installed customer purchased replacement. Installed shut-off valves under sink.

Category plumbing

5.0

05/08/2013


Laurie-Jo S.

very responsive to my arrival dates and pets

Description of Work
spraying for pest control

Category interior painters

5.0

11/22/2012


Darcy B.

Went very well. Central AC had difficulties earlier in the summer, I wanted it disconnected and careful inspection of furnace before using for winter. They did a great job and provided information on other questions/areas we will work on in the future.

Description of Work
Checked Air Conditioning unit - disconnected it. Furnace inspection and cleaning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/06/2012


Keith K.

Service professional Bruce was dispatched to look at a toilet that was leaking into the basement when it was flushed. Bruce arrived promptly at the scheduled time of 8AM and analyzed the situation. Bruce removed the toilet fixture, cleaned away the old sealant wax and prepared the closet flange (the pipe that the toilet bolts to) for new fasteners as the old ones had failed. He stabalized the closet flange with additional fasteners, applied a new wax seal and repositioned the stool. He checked for leaks in the basement and had me watch for leaks as he flushed the toilet upstairs. Finally, he explained to me that the fasteners and sealant wax are not really what holds the toilet to the floor and keeps it stable it's the caulking under and around the toilet that does that! This toilet had never had caulk around or under it and I've owned the house for 15 years. Bruce applied the caulk and cleaned up the work area to complete the job.

Description of Work
Remove toilet, remove sewage sealant wax, stabilize closet flange and provide new mounting fasteners for stool. Replace sealant wax, stool and caulk around toilet.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/29/2012


Willie B.

He came the same day that I called. It was very pleasing to know that a service company like this exists.

Description of Work
He resealed our toilets so there was no more leakage.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/10/2012


Gary C.

My old dishwasher went kaput, I received delivery of a new one but couldn't pull the old one out of the opening. Bruce arrived a couple hours after I called and it took approx. 2 hours to have my new dishwasher installed. Very professional and efficient considering the difficulty removing the old dishwasher.

Description of Work
Uninstall existing dishwasher and install a new dishwasher.

Category plumbing

2.0

06/15/2012


Nia N.

I have been calling companies to get an estimate to either repair or replace our current water softener. I contacted this company this morning to see if they could come today after 3pm if possible. When i hadn't heard by 4 i called back and was told they would send someone within the hour. Service tech arrived and was cordial and put booties on. I asked him if he knew what he was here for and he said yes. I still reiterated that we anted an estimate to repair what we have or pricing for a new system. The tech took water samples and ran the softener stating that it was going through the cycles but would take the water samples to the shop to see if it was softening the water and what we would need in terms of a new system. He went to his truck and came back with his clipboard and an invoice for $150! I expressed my shock and said that when i called this am i said i wanted an estimate for repair or new system and there was NO mention of a service call charge. He went out to talk to someone and came back in saying he couldn't reach the office but he was stuck in the middle and not do anything samples. I am appalled first that they thought it was a service call, that they charge to get estimates for new equipment AND that they would charge $ 150 when no service was done.

Description of Work
There were no services performed other than seeing if my equipment worked, which it did. I told him the softener goes through the cycle but isn't working as well as it should and i surmised the resin tank would need to be replaced. He said that its possible that the controller was going, too. That's when i said that was why we needed the estimate for either repair or a new system. The system is between 8 and 10 years old.

Category plumbing, water softeners

Service Provider Response

The call from this client came in on Friday 6/15/2011 at 10:36 am. She requested that we look at her water softener system to see if it could be repaired or if it needed to be replaced. We were unaware that she needed or wanted a technician to come out the same day. At the time the call came in, we had already booked our technician for the day. When she called back because we hadn't been there yet and we hadn't called, we immediately sent the next technician that became available. He happened to be our field supervisor and he arrived at 4:52 pm. He inspected the system and was at her home until 5:47. Since, it was after 5:00, the office staff had gone home. Normally, this would have been a $150.00 charge, but this was only supposed to be an estimate and the technician was unaware that it was just an estimate. The water samples that were pulled were not tested because the customer choose not to work with us. Once the technician got back out to his service van, he was able to get in touch the Director of Operations and was told that this call should have just be an estimate for repairs or replacement. THE CUSTOMER WAS NEVER CHARGED FOR THIS CALL AND WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN, because it was supposed to be an assessment and not a service call. The problem resulted because of the latest of the hour. We did not want to make the customer wait for us to come out on Monday and the technician was confused about the type of call. He thought it was a service call. We were trying to be customer oriented and obviously we failed. As soon as the mistake was discovered, we corrected our mistake and did not charge the customer for anything we did that night. We believe that the negative rating it unwarranted and MISLEADING. Please read the other reviews and take this one with a grain of salt. We hope you understand that this was a misunderstanding and we thought we had corrected our mistake.

5.0

04/05/2012


Jeanine G.

They were on time, did a great job, everything works great, they were very professional and easy to work ith

Description of Work
They did plumbing in my basement for a new bathroom.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/31/2012


Susan D.

Overall, the experience was excellent. The employee that came out was a certified plumber, so he did a thorough job. It was a courteous emergency service.

Description of Work
They provided emergency plumbing services.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/20/2012


Elise M.

I called about the drain and he was here within an hour he came out. He was here just to work on the bathtub drain. I had some people who were delivering a washer and dryer and they ran into some problems with the drain. He replaced the drain for the washing machine, installed a dryer vent and secured the washing machine hose. He also tested my well water while he was here because I am considering installing a new water softener.

Description of Work
I called them to unlcog my bathtub drain. They repaired that. I was having a washer and dryer delivered while he was here and there were some problems. He ended up replacing part of the hot water drain for the washer, installed the dryer vent and helped to secure the discharge hose for the washing machine.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

07/21/2011


Bob and Alma G.

The craftsmen from Ostlund have transformed our bathroom from slightly tacky to positively regal. Our house is old and in spots improvised. Yet all their lines are straight and crisp and the whole room looks brand new. They were even kind to our pesky little dogs. Finally they revived our electricity which had gone off during one of the nights between the days they were due here.

Description of Work
A business representative came in and gave us a bid on lowering a toilet , replacing the bathroom floor, and finishing the wall as necessary. We accepted the bid and they did all necessary work flawlessly. It took three days. They were never in the way, tidied up at the end of each day, and worked more than full time each day. They kept us fully informed as they worked and occasionally asked our opinion heeding what we requested. They left the work site impeccably clean, were always courteous, and were always on time.

Category plumbing, interior painters

3.0

07/08/2011


Chris V.

It was easy to schedule a visit from Ostland, and they were available the next morning. The person who worked on the water heater was professional and courteous. He spent the better part of an hour cleaning out underneath our water heater, removing the existing assembly, cleaning it, and then reinstalling it. The problem with our water heater is that perioudically, the pilot light would go out. Unfortunately, the plumber was unable to reproduce this, but seemed confident that the cleaning would do the trick. Overall, the experience was a positive one, right up to the price tag. I should have checked first, but apparently this company charges two fees for one visit ... a and quot;service chargeand quot; of $65, plus an hourly rate of $85, for a minimum total of $150 for a visit. Perhaps I'm out of date, but I expected something around $70-90 for a visit that did not include a single piece of material and took less than an hour. Ouch. I would be happy to use this company again ... but not for those rates!

Description of Work
Removing, cleaning, and reinstalling the pilot assembly.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Painter1 of Mid-Michigan

    Painter 1 paints interior and exterior residential housing.  

    Tri County Water

    We are a family-owned company focused on delivering the best water treatment products and services in the industry. We can fix your water! Put our 55 years of expertise to work. We service all makes and models and offer free estimates. Evening and weekend appointments available!  

    Offers by Tri County Water on Angi
    Krutsch's Renovations

    I specialize in in interior and exterior painting services, staining, cabinet painting, and more! I provide quality work in a timely manner, I pride myself on cleanliness, punctuality, and attention to detail. I have been in business since 2020, but painting was passed along through the generations of my family. I would be happy to help your vision come true!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask For Details

    Services Offered

    Residential, Commercial, Industrial Hot Water Heaters, Video Inspection, Sewer Cleaning & Jetting, Ejector Systems, Gas Piping, Roof Drains, Sewer Replacement, Plumbing, Heating Repairs, Masonry Work, Drywall Repair & Painting, Generators, New Circuits, New Panels, Rooftop Exhaust Fan Service, New Equipment Wiring & Lighting Repair, Backflow Testing. Welding

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ostlund A Service Co

    How is Ostlund A Service Co overall rated?

    Ostlund A Service Co is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Ostlund A Service Co open?

    Ostlund A Service Co is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Ostlund A Service Co provide

    Ostlund A Service Co accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Ostlund A Service Co offer free estimates?

    Ask Ostlund A Service Co for details on free project estimates.

    Does Ostlund A Service Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Ostlund A Service Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Ostlund A Service Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Ostlund A Service Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Ostlund A Service Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, Ostlund A Service Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Ostlund A Service Co?

    No, Ostlund A Service Co does not offer warranties.

    What services does Ostlund A Service Co offer?

    Ostlund A Service Co offers the following services: Residential, Commercial, Industrial Hot Water Heaters, Video Inspection, Sewer Cleaning & Jetting, Ejector Systems, Gas Piping, Roof Drains, Sewer Replacement, Plumbing, Heating Repairs, Masonry Work, Drywall Repair & Painting, Generators, New Circuits, New Panels, Rooftop Exhaust Fan Service, New Equipment Wiring & Lighting Repair, Backflow Testing. Welding