Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Elkour Lawn Service

With Angi since December 2011

2.5

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

355 Windridge Ln

Ortonville, MI 48462

Description

No description has been provided for this pro.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/15/2022


Bryan D.

The service was excellent, the crew showed up on time, and my yard looked fantastic and clean when they left.

Description of Work
Landscaping and Edging

Category mulch, lakefront landscaping

1.0

09/07/2022


Nancy S.

Paid for lawn service for spring thru fall cuts. So far had about 5 cuts. Doesn't come out until several attempts of contacting him. He always has an excuse or another why he couldn't come out to do the job he was paid for. Also paid for paver sealant but never happened as promised by mid Aug. And we're going into mid September. Would never recommend to anyone.

Description of Work
Lawn services

Category concrete repair, lawn service

1.0

10/04/2021


Joe M.

Gave him two years, didn’t perform work he was paid for. Small claims judgment against him/business on the record.

Description of Work
Took the money, no work

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel

5.0

09/26/2021


Scott B.

I have had Elkour Lawn Service since 2012 and Zak has always been responsive to any minor issue that has popped up. I sign up for the every other week lawn mowing and fall clean ups. I have a large number of trees on my lot and all of the leaf's are taken care of in a timely fashion. He has also taken down 2 100 year old pine trees that were dying without any issues.

Description of Work
Lawn Mowing and Leaf Removal

Category landscaping, lawn service, leaf removal, tree service

5.0

09/21/2021


Harold K.

It has gone above & beyond my expectations. The yard is impeccably maintained, the driveway is kept clean & plowed so I can access my home anytime I show up there. The previous local maintenance company dropped the ball, Elkour came in & restored my faith in dealing with a company who does what they say & proves it with a very thorough follow through. Thank to everybody at Elkour.

Description of Work
Lawn & yard maintenance, snow plowing, spring & fall clean ups.

Category concrete repair, lawn service, leaf removal, snow removal

5.0

09/20/2021


Gordon C.

I have signed up with Elkour Lawn Service for 3 years now and everything is going well. I prepay for each year which makes the signup easy and I have been able to get a great rate on every contract with them. I have special needs like keeping the brook clean from leaves, going easy on the rubber mulching in the flower beds, and keeping the courtyard and deck areas free of debris. There are also trails and certain areas in the yard I want mowed in certain patterns. The crew has kept up on all my needs so I keep renewing my contracts. I also signed up for the snow removal and they come out as soon as 2" fall and keep my driveway clear.

Description of Work
Tree, Lawn, and Snow removal services

Category lawn service, leaf removal, tree service, snow removal

3.0

09/15/2021


ANICA F.

Elkour Lawn Service has done quite a bit of work at my home including lawn maintenance which started in 2019. Elkour has also removed an old chain link fence, cut out trees, installed a patio, installed a gravel driveway and installed a vinyl fence at my home. The work was completed but there are workmanship concerns in certain areas. For example the gravel driveway isn't a full 12 months old and there are weeds growing thru the gravel. This lets me know that the ground was not properly prepped prior to gravel topper. With consideration to the pandemic and worker shortages, it seems that Elkour Lawn Service (aka Oakland Counties Finest Lawn & Landscape) takes on more jobs than the manpower can support. If there was more [experienced] staff to support the contracts, I believe that the quality would be better. I have had to call/text consistently to keep contracted jobs moving forward and/or to have my lawn serviced on a somewhat regular basis. The patio was installed and a small 3" x 10" brick near the foundation of my house (built in 1965) was cracked after the job was complete. Zak was concerned about disrupting the integrity of the entire patio if the paver was replaced; therefore, I had another company repair it. It took 10 minutes for removal, paver cut, and re-install. The vinyl fence was installed in October, 2020. At first it looked really nice. Unfortunately, by November 23, 2020 I noticed that one panel was not maintaining position. Zak mentioned that a small piece was broken and he would take care of it. By May 2021 - September 2021 the appearance continued to degrade and the posts at the rear of my yard are unstable and are starting to lean. I have been in contact with Zak and he says that he will take care of it today (9/14/21). I will update this post to provide information on how the vinyl fence concern was addressed by Elkour Lawn Service. Update 9/14/21 8:30pm EST - The fence was not addressed; Elkour was no call, no show.

Description of Work
Lawn Maintenance, Vinyl Fence, Patio, Gravel Driveway addition, Tree Removal

Category concrete repair, fencing, landscaping, lawn service, mulch, pavers, gravel, tree service

1.0

07/18/2018


mary S.

had a date set ,I waited the day he was to come, he did not call to tell me he needed to reschedule,icalled him, he said I come tomorrow. I asked for another dat because next day was not good. got another date he didn't show or call. told me I messed up his schedule. I said just pay me back. I don't think he will, I see he has done this to other people about paying back money. He makes a lot of excuses. do not use his service. the 120.00 was for two mowings.

Description of Work
lawn cut and trimming

Category hardscaping

1.0

12/10/2017


Mary D.

read his reviews then find yourself a reputable company to hire!!!!

Description of Work
Hired Elkour Lanscaping Sevices for lawn maintenance, first two weeks everything was fine, on week three one of the guys using a weed wacker busted a panel in sliding door wall. Zak looked at the damage and assumed company responsibility. I did get an estimate from the company that installed the door wall. I called Zak later that day with the estimate of $300.00, which he agreed to pay. It's now December, this happened in June, the only thing we've received from Zak are lame excuses as to why he's never paid, i.e. out of town, oh thought his secretary sent a check, gave it to his guys to give to us and I'll stop over next week with cash. Still waiting Zak

Category lawn treatment, hardscaping

1.0

12/02/2016


Clarence W.

It appeared to go real well except they did not finish. I have several piles of leaves still in the yard instead of in the tree line where they were contracted to be put. Several calls to Elkour with promises to return and finish were to little avail.

Description of Work
fall pick-up of leaves

Category lawn service, hardscaping

1.0

06/04/2015


Katye B.

They basically threw a bunch of mulch on top of what was already there and didn't weed a lot of the stuff that they said they did, and then where they can put the fabric they just put it directly over the weed. After I payed them, they assured they were gonna be back the next day to finish some tree trimming and some other stuff, but they just never came back and told me to see them.

Description of Work
They were supposed to edge my property, weed, put a carpet down and mulch.

Category lawn service

2.0

05/27/2015


Robert L S.

This project took place in the fall of 2014 . (It's now the end of May 2015 ) Since I was extremely busy, I had my wife handle this project since she knew exactly what she wanted done. Zak dropped off only 2 young guys to do the whole project in 1 day. They wheel barrowed the sand to the rear of the house and did a decent job on the beach . Next they moved a couple of shrubs out front and cut back the plant area of the yard, and relocated the edgers. These edgers weren't even dug in....they were just laid on top of the soil !! Zak had estimated only 14 yards of topsoil to cover the entire front yard and in his words "the whole yard will all be even and seeded the same so that there won't be any color difference between the old and new grass." Well guess again......14 yards of topsoil covered only a fraction of the yard and he kept asking my wife for more money to for more topsoil. After telling Zak that the lawn was very uneven, he told her that they don't use rollers and not to worry about it and that it would all settle down over winter. Well we now have a very uneven lawn with very little grass. After seeding the yard he told her that the grass would come up soon and if there were any problems , he would come right out. Well guess again.... no grass came up. She called him , and called him but he does not answer calls. You have to leave a message. Zak would not return her calls let alone and come out to check his mess. As soon as I got home that day and saw the miserable job that he had done, (and of course he made sure that he was paid right away) , my wife had called him to finish up the job properly but he's never been back Just before memorial Day weekend, I had to trick him into calling me on my cell phone. Of course he was full of apologies and said he would be out on Memorial Day to look at it. Of course he was a NO SHOW and we have an unfinished front yard and he got his check.

Description of Work
Re landscape front yard . Added topsoil and seeded. . Added sand to beach at rear of house.

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

1.0

02/02/2015


Francisco M.

This season has been cleaned only three times. The excuse is they serve first commercial. When they come, they arrive way late, after snow is sitting for long hours(after the whole subdivision is cleaned) they perform sloppy work. You have to clean it yourself. If you call to request service only excuses and reasons on why they can't come.

Description of Work
Offered snow removal, driveway and walkway. Received quote, seemed fair charges.

Category hardscaping

2.0

02/02/2015


James F.

This company promised things to get the contract and did not deliver, in lawn work or in snow removal. Changed terms once work started. Does not supervise workers. Sloppy and incomplete work, which my husband had to finish...while in a cast. When you call him on the poor work, he gets nasty. I recommend you look elsewhere.

Description of Work
Season contract for snow removal and lawn work

Category lawn service, snow removal, hardscaping

2.0

04/01/2013


Lynda B.

The low spot was not fixed, the drainage installed to fix it was put in the wrong place, the underground watering system for the trees in the garden was pulled up and cut, the solar lighting around the garden was knocked over and broken, excess sand and gravel was dumped all over the garden destroying years worth of perenials, and what was supposed to be crushed concrete was so full of sand that the driveway looked like an unfinished muddy mess. The crew did try to clean some of the sand out of the decorative rocks and side drainage system, and the owner said he would fix the garden (10 years worth of plantings) with $50. worth of bulbs, but never acknowledged the watering system and told me the broken lights could be bought for $9. at Home Depot, made excuses for the sand and destroyed parts of the garden, wouldn't listen regarding the work being started too early in the season (the ground was still frozen), wouldn't wait until the tree removal crew was done with their job (part of why the garden got destroyed, too much large equipment in the yard), advertised a senior discount and satisfaction guaranteed, and yet I believe I was overcharged for materials, talked down to and felt threatened by his manner. It may just be his arrogance, but I believe he took advantage of me, and now I am paying someone else to finish the job. While Zack (the owner) did have a nice young man on the crew who worked very hard, others were inexperienced and sloppy, and if you tried to talk to him about the damage, he not only didn't listen, he kept trying to sell me other services. It was so exasperating dealing with this man that I would never hire this company for anything!

Description of Work
Was supposed to regrade and gravel a driveway, put in drainage to eliminate low sp ts and widen where needed.

Category gutter cleaning, landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

This was first job of the 2013 season. Customer wanted it done asap I felt it could wait. This job was a confusion from the start. She kept adding thing to the job and was very very rude to me and my other Bussiness partner. We were not completed with job. Told her to not have anyone drive on driveway till job was complete she didn't listen and it ruined a section was going to fix for free and she didn't want me to told me to never come back then didn't pay full amount and shorted me and my partner 1600 dollars. My tree company finished job and didn't make any money because he felt bad for her and didn't know what else to do. Elkour lawn service is a very well known name in Ortonville area and has won 3 awards for best lawn maintenance company and when I come to a estimate I have numerous jobs to look at and customers names and phone number of work we have done. The older customer June I feel very bad for and wish her the best.
2.0

12/22/2011


MARY C.

They ended up plugging one of my downspouts. We had a terrific rain shortly after, which flooded the gutter. I have called them at least 4 times now to come out and resolve the issue. When they finally return the call, they promise to come out and they never do.

Description of Work
They attempted to clean out my gutters. They also gave us a quote for tree service and snow removal.

Category gutter cleaning, snow removal

    Other local Pros in your area

    It's the Brick Guys

     

    Angi Certified

    BCM Roofing

    Here at BCM Roofing, we strive to provide quality work and exceptional customer service. BCM has no pushy sales people, no leaky trucks, and won't leave a mess behind after the job is done. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction, and it shows. We want to give you the best price possible and offer up only quality craftsmanship on every job. We handle everything from mold problems to structural repair. We can fix any leak, and provide a preventative maintenance program. If you need other work, we can help, or refer you to a professional. Contact us today for a FREE estimate on your next roofing service! Ask about the BCM referral program offering Home Depot gift cards or check it out on the website today!  

    Angi Certified

    Artuso Seasonal Services

    We offer quality and affordable gutter and window cleaning services.  

    Angi Certified

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No

    Services Offered

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Elkour Lawn Service

    How is Elkour Lawn Service overall rated?

    Elkour Lawn Service is currently rated 2.5 overall out of 5.

    Does Elkour Lawn Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Elkour Lawn Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.