Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

American Cleaning Services

Founded 1969 • With Angi since September 2008

20 Employees. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service charges.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(34) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 34 reviews
Michael F.
5.0
05/20/2016
Gary was very prompt from the start. He returned my initial call quickly and provided a detailed estimate after a site visit. He preformed the work when promised and worked with my wife and I scheduling the sealing portion around the weather and our dog issues. LOL He was very prompt and professional. I would recommend his work highly.
Description of Work
Cleaned and sealed deck
Category
deck cleaning
Chongwen Z.
5.0
04/21/2016
After one winter with snow storm, the deck stain proves to be with decent quality.
Description of Work
Replace rotten boards, power wash, clean and repaint my cedar deck by using Semi-Transparent Terra Cotta ST-118.
Category
deck cleaning, house painters
John N.
5.0
08/09/2015
My cedar wood deck was completely rebuilt in late 2014 and was left to season over the winter. Owner Gary Vargas took great care to clean it thoroughly and let it dry before applying the sealer(TWP which I had purchased). He was very careful in every phase of this project. It was a big job., Gary was a hard worker and very professional. The deck looks outstanding and I would definitely have Gary clean & stain my deck again.
Description of Work
Cedar deck cleaning & staining
Category
deck cleaning
Philip F.
5.0
08/03/2015
Gary did a very good job. Deck looks wonderful. We plan to ask him back to repair some additional boards.
Description of Work
repaired and stained deck
Category
deck cleaning
John K.
2.0
04/21/2015
No response to the email. No follow up to the phone call. Provider said they would come out, look at the project and provide pricing. Never heard from them.
Description of Work
Contacted by email then by phone to arrange a quote for deck cleaning.
Category
deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry for your experience. I never received an email, but did speak to you on March 17, 2015. At that time said that I could stop by the following week. I said I would call Monday or Tuesday late afternoon, early evening, when I was headed to your house. I called on Tuesday at 6:04 pm. I left a message on your machine, yet never heard from you. I do not like to be thought of as a pushy salesman, so I assumed that you had chosen not to use our services. I don't think it is fair that you have given our company a bad review, even though we did everything that we said we would do.
Ambra A.
5.0
02/06/2015
The job went well. Gary showed up on time at rental unit, which is extremely important when coordinating with a tenant. He used too much water on the carpet, and some of the stains came back. I have used Gary in the past with no complaints at all. My tenant was neglectful of the carpet, and ground in stains that should of been removed ASAP. I like his attitude, and his professionalism, and will use him again.
Description of Work
Cleaned carpets
Category
carpet cleaners, deck cleaning
Lou B.
5.0
08/27/2014
excellent work, very professional
Description of Work
Stripped and refinished large deck and balcony
Category
deck cleaning, pressure washing
Nancy H.
5.0
08/13/2014
1. Gary spent a lot of hours prepping first by removing all of the screens that were screwed in all around. He then began the task of stripping and power washing the porch back to the bare wood which was a lot of work from years of added layers of stain. he also did some minor repair on the stairs that were out of alignment. Weather issues caused some delays as the wood had to be thoroughly dry to stain and seal the finish. Looks almost new and I'm happy with the results. 2. I then needed some work done removing old carpet from my basement which he did on another day by appointment. He cut it all into 4' lengths, tied with twine and brought up to the garage to be disposed of on garbage day. He brought all of the equipment needed and cleaned up each day when working which was important as its in a condo complex with lots of rules. Would recommend his services.
Description of Work
1. power washed, stripped and refinished outside of screened in porch and steps for $700 2. pulled up, cut up and removed old carpet from basement for $125
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor, deck cleaning, pressure washing
Sylvia V.
5.0
07/17/2014
He cleaned an additional length of hallway carpeting with no extra charge. I would not hesitate to call him again.
Description of Work
He cleaned two rooms of carpeting, along with two long staircases and a hallway. Very pleasant gentleman.
Category
carpet cleaners, house cleaning, deck cleaning
Frances M.
5.0
07/13/2014
Owner was very responsive, showed up when he said for both the estimate and the work. Very professional and very hard worker. Made small repairs to deck before cleaning, weatherproofing and staining. My deck has never looked so good! He is the type of worker you don't find any more: punctual, hard working, professional and does what he promises and when he promises and goes above and beyond to make sure the job is done right, not just done.
Description of Work
Cleaned, repaired and stained deck
Category
handyman service, deck cleaning, house painters
Sherrie C.
5.0
06/09/2014
We are usually do it yourself people but our deck is huge and needed serious attention. I am so glad we found Gary. Gary Vargas is one of the hardest workers I have ever seen. He came early and left late, never seemed to take a break, just kept working. He was well prepared with all the right equipment. His attention to detail was amazing, he applied two coats on everything and went back to make sure it was perfect. He covered plants and was very careful of house siding when applying stain. His work ethic is the best and he is very considerate and concerned about the customers satisfaction with his work. We are a very satisfied customer. We would definitely have him back to do work for us. Our deck looks better than it ever has, thank you Gary.
Description of Work
Total deck rejuvenation. Cleaned- power washed (carefully), stained and sealed the deck. Nailed down nail pops and repaired what needed it. It was a huge job as our deck has never been stained or sealed. Built in 1985. It was still in good condition and Gary was very encouraging that it could look beautiful again. He is knowledge about the process and was able to counsel us on what would work/look the best.
Category
deck cleaning
Donna H.
5.0
12/27/2013
Came out right away, did a great job cleaning and restaining my deck. Not only did I get excellent service but the cost was more than competitive with similar providers. It was a pleasure doing business with American Cleaning Services and I would recommend them without reservation.
Description of Work
.
Category
deck cleaning
Anupama J.
5.0
12/09/2013
Gary was awesome. He gave me a very reasonable rate and was very punctual. His attention to detail is amazing. We wanted to list out house and employed Gary. He spent a week and a half at our house and completed everything. He did not mind staying late to finish the jobs. He was very professional and cleaned up well after himself. I've already recommended him to a few friends.
Description of Work
Deck painting, interior painting, dry wall repair, carpet cleaning, house cleaning and window cleaning.
Category
carpet cleaners, handyman service, house cleaning, window cleaning, deck cleaning, interior painters
Ambra A.
5.0
11/28/2013
Sweet. It went very well. If you were to look at my other reviews, I am not gushing over my suppliers. I think that does Angie's list a disservice. He promptly returned my initial phone call, set up a quote without me having to take off from work. He came to my work to pick up the deposit and final payment. After reviewing the finished job with my tenant. I called him, told him I was impressed with his work, and there was only a couple of nail pops which were OK with me. Un-requested, he set up a time with my tenant, fixed the nail pops, and informed me of the update. When interviewing him for the job, he was concerned about what I wanted done (rather how) and told me in detail why I should do it another way to preserve the deck as long as possible, and to produce results that would not besmirch his good name. Oh Lordy; Sold. I am an engineer by trade, and generally you cannot blow smoke up my behind about technical stuff without me feeling it. Conversely, I generally can spot someone who has knowledge of there craft. That's him. His work proved out my initial determination. I plan to use him for other services listed on his website.
Description of Work
Cleaned and finished deck using "Deckover" at my rental condo.
Category
deck cleaning
Dan Y.
5.0
08/28/2013
Gary is a great guy, and does great work. Gary came out and provided an estimate for staining, sanding, repairing, and washing. He was very careful to explain the entire process, the length of days it would take, depending factors on weather, etc. I liked that he did not use a high power pressure washer, and that he explained why he did not use it, in order not to damage the wood. The length of service took 3 days. One day to wash and prep, and two days to stain. We changed the deck color and so he had to ensure it was covered with two coats. Gary hand pained most of the floors and steps, the rails were sprayed. He was very thorough in covering hidden spots on the deck, like poles that are covered by dirt at the ground. Gary says he guarantees the work, and if we have any issue, he will come out and resolve. During the deck cleaning, he accidentally busted a solar light. He fixed it before he was done. Also, we had some loose brick pavers, and Gary fixed those for 65 bucks. Would recommend Gary for lots of household repairs...definitely for the deck...
Description of Work
Deck Maintenance
Category
deck cleaning
Thomas P.
5.0
06/03/2013
He showed up on time and did more work that promised. He did and excellent job. Everyday cleaned up and always left it nice and neat. I recommend him for deck work
Description of Work
They presser washed my deck , repaired it , and resealed it
Category
deck cleaning
Janet E.
5.0
05/20/2013
It went very well. This is my first experience with hiring a contractor I didn't know. He responded to my request that, if possible, he start earlier than the original date set. He used a cleaner on the deck and then power washed if off with a low pressure washer so as not to raise the grain of the w ood. After a 2 day drying period, he returned to stain and did that in 2 increments. He covered the condo's exterior brick and glass door with plastic. He used a spryaer on the spindles and in the cracks and crevices but the flat surfaces were done by brush - it appeared that he put 2 coats on. Price included quality materials. He also removed 3 large pots before he started. He was pleasant and professional.
Description of Work
wooden deck was thoroughly cleaned, power washed and stained including spindles, gate and steps.
Category
deck cleaning
John W.
4.0
10/10/2012
The quote by American Cleaning Services was extremely high. They were professional and responsive but I would not be using them again because of their high price.
Description of Work
I got a quote from American Cleaning Services with a 24-hour time period. I wanted them once a week for house cleaning.
Category
house cleaning
william A.
5.0
07/31/2012
They did a great job. Excellent all the way around. I will use them again in the future if needed.
Description of Work
I did use American Cleaning Services within the last month. They restored my deck for me.
Category
deck cleaning
Timothy K.
5.0
08/01/2011
He showed up on time and did the work quickly and well and he cleaned up absolutely everything.
Description of Work
Power wash and re stain of deck
Category
deck cleaning
Denise H.
5.0
10/11/2010
This job took place a really, really long time ago. I live in North Carolina and my mother lives in the Detroit area. I wanted to find someone who was a very good cleaner so my mother wouldn't have to clean so much. My mother kept complaining about the quality of cleaners she was finding So, I went ont to Angie's List and found this group. My mother thought they were very, very good but simply too expensive to use on a regular basis. Also, they were very corporate and my mom wanted someone she could relate to, build a professional friendship with. But, the whole experience encouraged my mother to find the right cleaning person for her at the right price. She found someone nearby who was a good cleaner.
Description of Work
House cleaning
Category
house cleaning
Katherine S.
2.0
03/13/2010
I didn't hear from Gary so I called after several days. He still never called. I waited for the housekeepers the next Friday as they were not on time. I called the office and was told they were coming. Fifteen minutes later I received another call and was told they were not coming. I again asked for Gary to call. He never did. I have no problem with the cleaning...they were good. I get the impression that the cleaners are under pressure to clean Gary's way in Gary's time. HE is unprofessional. The cleaning team was good.
Description of Work
Two people showed up on time. They did a good job for working in the house for the first time. They called Gary and told him that they had finished. He wanted to know what took them so long. He was told that I had my own way of cleaning and alot of wood and antiques in the house. I paid them and they left. I told them that I would like Gary to call me and that I would like them to come to the house the next week.
Category
house cleaning
Valerie L.
3.0
12/22/2009
Person scheduled was no-show. Manager came to start job and had others come to complete. Superficial cleaning done 3 hours, 3 people. Left cleaning debris, skipped parts of carpeting. Left fingerprints on white woodwork. Not what I expected for cleaning an empty space.
Description of Work
Cleaning of empty condo in prep for moving in.
Category
house cleaning
Charlene S.
5.0
05/06/2009
It went great and worth the price. I will use them again when I am ready for a monthly cleaning or cleaning to prepare for a get together. I plan to use this service when I clean my garage.
Description of Work
I used this service twice in one week. After the wonderful job done with cleaning the house, I reused them to help me organize my messy basement. This was a tough task for me because I recycle, but to watch time and cost, I tossed out that rule (but later had time to pull out boxes and paper to properly recycle). The person I had was wonderful to work with. She was personable and professional. I only have to stress one point made by another. You must be clear on what and how you need it done. I didn't have a clue where to begin my spring cleaning in the basement and the person was very helpful.
Category
house cleaning
LYDIA M.
5.0
10/31/2008
I love coming home to a clean house. They'll do whatever we need each week & will focus on specific problem areas if needed. I feel very comfortable having them in my home when I'm not here. The house always looks better than when I do it myself.
Description of Work
Cleaning of approx 1400 sq foot house.
Category
house cleaning

Phone

Address

18403 Twenty-Two Mile Rd

Macomb, MI 48044

Other Information

Services offered

We are a full service Home Services company. Here is a list of services offered - Carpet, Furniture, & Drapery Cleaning, Carpet Repair, Carpet Dye, Painting- Interior/Exterior, Deck- Cleaning/Staining/Sealing/Repair, Window Washing, Wall Washing, House Cleaning, Handyman Services, Floor- Cleaning/Stripping/Sealing/Waxing, Grout- Repair/Cleaning/Sealing, Caulking, & Wallpaper Removal.

Services not offered

As a full Home Services company, there are few home issues that we can't handle. Even if you don't see it listed, call us, we probably do it.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

American Cleaning Services is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

American Cleaning Services is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

American Cleaning Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, American Cleaning Services offers free project estimates.

No, American Cleaning Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, American Cleaning Services does not offer a senior discount.

No, American Cleaning Services does not offer warranties.

American Cleaning Services offers the following services: We are a full service Home Services company. Here is a list of services offered - Carpet, Furniture, & Drapery Cleaning, Carpet Repair, Carpet Dye, Painting- Interior/Exterior, Deck- Cleaning/Staining/Sealing/Repair, Window Washing, Wall Washing, House Cleaning, Handyman Services, Floor- Cleaning/Stripping/Sealing/Waxing, Grout- Repair/Cleaning/Sealing, Caulking, & Wallpaper Removal.

As a full Home Services company, there are few home issues that we can't handle. Even if you don't see it listed, call us, we probably do it.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

TCS is a 5 star Angi Service Provider. Your First Choice for Long-Term IT and Business Process Support including but not limited to computer and network support, computer repair, virus removal, setting up office and low voltage networking environments, mounting TVs  

Anthem Carpet Cleaning

5.0

(7)

Angi Certified

Anthem Carpet Cleaning

We Specialize in Spot and Odor Cleaning, Furniture, and Deep Steam cleaning! Carpet cleaning is a great way to keep your home looking and feeling fresh, and the benefits of booking a professional carpet cleaning business are numerous. Not only will you be able to have your carpets thoroughly and professionally cleaned, but you will also be able to have all of the dirt, dust, and allergens removed from your carpets, as well as any stains or discoloration that may have occurred over time. Additionally, when you book with a professional carpet cleaning business, they will be able to provide you with the necessary tools and techniques to keep your carpets looking and feeling great for years to come. With the right care and maintenance, your carpets will stay looking fresh for a long time.  

So Floored LLC

5.0

(8)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

So Floored LLC

Our flooring installation team has over 30+ years of combined experience. We offer financing starting as low as 0%. We only specialize and install vinyl plank & laminate flooring. At So Floored LLC don't expect anything less than quality, unique, and professional floor installation services. We can guarantee to exceed your expectations for all your vinyl plank and laminate flooring needs