Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup

Founded 1935 • With Angi since December 2011

3.8

(49) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12898 Westmore Rd

Livonia, MI 48150

Description

Roto-Rooter offers commercial and residential plumbing services. And there’s no extra for nights, weekends and holidays. From emergency plumbing to drain cleaning, sewer cleaning to pipe work, Roto-Rooter can help you with any plumbing problem. Roto-Rooter plumbers are licensed and insured and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/19/2021


Christopher D.

They came. Charged $600. Popped a hole so sewage could flow. Backed up again day later. Would not return for three days. Called Hoover who actually chopped out the roots and cleared line. Roto wanted to charge another $300 fit camera and another $1100 to actually clear line. ABSOLUTE WORST COMPANY. YOU ARE MAKING A MISTAKE OFF YOU CALL THEM. THERE'S A REASON THEY HAVE A LOW RATING AND IT'S BECAUSE THEY SUCK. THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF AND NOT DO THE JOB NEEDED. CONSIDER YOURSELF WARNED. Photo shows blockage from end at City feed.

Description of Work
Blocked sewer line

Category sewer cleaning

1.0

07/20/2020


Deidra C.

This is by far the worst place I have ever dealt with. I had called to ask if someone was available for a same day appointment because my son had flushed a shampoo bottle down the toilet and it got stuck in out pipes. I was assured it was something they could deal with that and and therefore called off of work to wait for them to come out. I waited two hours past the promised appointment slot before calling to find out what was going on. I was told the person was caught up on another job and we may need to reschedule! When I said that that was no possible because I had to work the rest of the week and had already called off that day because they said they could get someone out to me. Finally the man named Scott called back and hour later to tell me the technician could not come out and we would have to reschedule I was livid. I made an appointment for Sunday and was assured I would be the first customer serviced. The next day I called to speak with the supervisor over what I believe is totally unprofessional behavior. After waiting 20 mins for someone to answer the phone I had to hang up and get to work. I then throughout the day revived several calls from the supervisor named Victoria informing me someone was in my area and wanted to know if he could come out and work. Since I am at work right am not able to take her calls. I called when I got off and was told the supervisor had went home for the day. On Sunday, the day of the reschedule appointment I waited another two hours before calling to find out what was going on! It was then that I learned that my appointment had been canceled. The supervisor named Victoria cancelled my appointment. This place is full of incompetent people, why on earth would you cancel and appointment without confirmation from the client? Is this how you treat essential workers during the time of a global pandemic? Not everyone gets to sit at home making phones calls some of us have to go out to work. Unacceptable.

Description of Work
Unclogged pipe

Category plumbing

1.0

01/08/2019


Scott E.

Technition mislead my daughter into believing that they tried to snake the clog but only showed her how they used the scope to identify the clogged spot. They then said that there was no way to snake the clog and the only thing that would take care of the blockage was for them to dig outside to put a clean out in and then they would be able to hydro jet the pipe for $1,900. I could rip up and replace the whole pipe with a new pipe for less than half of that. She declined the quote and they insisted they weren't trying to take her money even tough they continued to increase the price of just snaking the drain because she took off work in order to get get the drain unclogged. She then asked them to leave and then found a real professional that was able to snake the clog that apparently couldn't be fixed by snaking it. They are extremely shady and are just trying to take advantage of people in need with trying to convince them that they need services that are not necessary at all. Never use this company!

Description of Work
Sewer drain clogged between house and septic tank.

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

5.0

06/11/2018


Robert D.

Did a thorough job removing tree roots from basement storm drains.

Description of Work
Storm Drain Cleaning

Category plumbing

1.0

11/27/2017


VELVET H.

Plumber did not make 1st appointment, called & reschefuled for the next day, Did not show up in 4 hour window, called again was told he will be a little late. 6 hrs of waiting, he shows. Started in the kitchen showed him hole in pipe under sink, dishwasher issue, and in bathroom toliet back up. Plumber wrote up the estimate we agreed to the price (he did not give us the estimate kept it on his clipboard) The price was $50 more than the plumber who could not do same day. When he said he was finished the kitchen sink & dishwasher were not repaired. The plumber said he only quoted the drain cleaning. But I reminded him my exact words were "The jobs starts here and pointed to the sink. Roto rooter plumber Charles says he doesnt have the part for sink and has same issue at home with his dishwasher and really can't fix it either but he will give me a new estimate. So I paid $495.00 to have my drain snaked. Next day I called 9am. 9:45am Supervisor Dylan called me back I explained concerns, he tells me Charles did his job and the price was right, and he can send him back out for $300 to complete the job. BUYER BEWARE !!!!!

Description of Work
Hose/pipe under kitchen sink has a hole needed replaced. Dishwasher repair, toliet backing up.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

3.0

06/29/2017


Timothy H.

No work was performed due to price. They were almost 3 times as high as the other two quotes I received.

Description of Work
I needed 3 new ball valves on my toilets and a clog removed from one of them. This clog was below the toilet drain and required removal of the toilet to snake out.

Category plumbing

1.0

05/02/2017


James D.

They gave me an arrival window of 9 AM to 1 PM. At 11:30 they said they were running late. At 3:15 or so I called them asking for a status. They had no answer other than I was next on the plumbers list. At 6:15 PM I called again and when there was no updates, I asked for a manager. He said he had a guy that was just getting off that he could maybe catch and send to my House. I was told he was heading to my house at 7 PM and that it would take an hour to get to my house. At 10 PM, the guy shows up. He snakes the storm drain and ends up going into the bleeders up stream about 14 ' where he gets the snake stuck. He said he does not know what to do at this point, so he would have someone come out the following day to look at it. I contact 4 other plumbing companies and get a bid on getting the line cleared and the snake removed. Roto-Rooter calls around 2:30 PM and I tell them that I will have someone else look at the problem since I was not happy with their ability. The new plumber gets the water draining quickly, but he cannot get the snake from Roto-Rooter out. The end result was that the snake had to be dug out, meaning the basement concrete had to be broken out and pipes broken, and removed to get the snake out. This was expensive. I called Roto-Rooter back and they said they do not hold themselves financially responsible for getting the snake stuck in the pipes. I believe this was because I paid the Roto-Rooter guy the night the snake got stuck. I should not have paid or signed the work order until everything was handled. Getting the snake out cost $6,400. I plan on taking legal action to get reimbursed. I am attaching some photos of the rebuilding process.

Description of Work
I had water in my basement, because the storm trap was backed up. I needed it to be snaked to the sanitary line.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/15/2017


Laura O.

Much better than expected. I scheduled it online for the following day because I believed the office was closed. Apparently the office was in a meeting. Someone called me right away while I was in the grocery store and said someone could be there within 30 to 45 minutes and sure enough someone came to our door to unclog our drain while I was making my husband's lunch for work. The same gentleman (Pat) who unclogged my drain will be coming back tomorrow to replace my garbage disposal.

Description of Work
Clean out a clogged drain in our home.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

01/16/2017


Terry C.

It went fine. A.J. took the time to explained what he was doing and why. He also took the time to try to find someone to clean our septic tank for us. He was very friendly and professional.

Description of Work
A.J. cleaned out all three of our toilet lines. He also recommended that we get our septic tank be cleaned out, which we will be doing soon.

Category plumbing, septic tank, drain cleaning

1.0

12/26/2016


jackie K.

Never again!! I waited 7 hours for them to show up for my 8-12 time frame. 3 pm they finally showed up and wanted $270 to come into my house! They refused to give me any cost info on the phone and didn't care about my time. I refused the service from the porch and called a1 plumbing! Roto is the worst company!!

Description of Work
Sewer clean out

Category sewer cleaning

1.0

08/22/2016


Peter R.

STAY AWAY!!!!! No repair done. RotoRooter no-showed the appointment which was confirmed by me three times in advance - by phone, by email, and by its website. I stayed home from work for my 12-4 pm appointment. During that time, I never received a call from RotoRooter that service was going to be late. Don't be fooled by this franchise - completely unprofessional! Actually, I did receive a call . . . at 4:09 pm . . . that no one would come for the day. Said their technicians were very busy, could I make an appointment for another day. I said no, unless RR pays for my lost time. PS - don't be fooled by RotoRooter's response, should it state that the wrong office has been identified by me . . . I back-tracked to the phone number from which it called me.

Description of Work
A simple toilet fix for "ghost" flushing

Category plumbing

5.0

07/18/2016


C B.

Professional service, thorough, quick and tidy

Description of Work
tub unplugged

Category plumbing

3.0

05/12/2016


Judith B.

They determined that the existing faucet was unable to be repaired so I authorized them to go ahead and replace it with a new one. I chose a $90 faucet from the list of options they gave me. It took them approximately 20 minutes to replace the faucet and the total came out to $449 + $39.95 travel fee. They were well behaved but I felt the price was exorbitant. I have reached out to the company to discuss the price further but they have not responded

Description of Work
I initially hired them to repair a bathroom faucet

Category plumbing

1.0

02/25/2016


Eliyahu S.

Over quoted a blockage in the faucet and couldn't fix the problem after 20 min recommened to replace a brand new faucet for 300 that's after taking 238 for "troubleshooting" the problem. I asked other plumbers what they would have done they all said they would have taken the 238 and rolled it over into the install since not much was done to fix the problem. The plumber Tim was very rude and the Manager was even more rude talking down to me as if I was not important enough to make happy. Horrible service If you want your wallet to get ROOTED call RoTO ROOTER

Description of Work
Over quoted a blockage in the faucet and couldn't fix the problem after 20 min recommened to replace a brand new faucet for 300 that's after taking 238 for "troubleshooting" the problem. I asked other plumbers what they would have done they all said they would have taken the 238 and rolled it over into the install since not much was done to fix the problem. The plumber Tim was very rude and the Manager was even more rude talking down to me as if I was not important enough to make happy. Horrible service If you want your wallet to get ROOTED call RoTO ROOTER

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Would you please consider checking the location of the company who provided the service your review is related to? Unfortunately, your review was assigned to the account of the Roto-Rooter franchise that services only Washtenaw and Livingston Counties (MI). We do not service [Removed Personal Info], and were not the ones who provided the service you have concerns with. We are a family owned, independent Roto-Rooter Franchise, in business for over 40 years. Our main goal is to provide our customers with excellent service at a fair price. We have no connection (other than name) to the franchise that would service Oak Park. While I understand your frustration with the services you were provided, I would hope that you would like to be sure that the location/company who actually provided the service was made aware of your concerns. I would also hope that the management there would welcome the opportunity to communicate with you directly to try to resolve any issues. Would you please consider updating your review so that it is directed to the company who actually provided service to you? Review sites such as Angie's List can be very helpful, but when there is confusion, they can also be very harmful. Thank you for your time and attention to help correct this confusion, David D. Fowler, Roto-Rooter of Washtenaw and Livingston Counties (MI).
5.0

01/26/2016


Bonita E.

Called at 8 a.m. because pump was continually running. They had a plumber here in less than an hour and he had it replaced and was gone in about an hour and a half. They have always been very courteous and kind when I call and I consider their prices to be very reasonable. Work is done very well and service personnel have always been very professional.

Description of Work
Replaced a defective sump pump

Category plumbing, wells

1.0

08/11/2015


Michael D.

I hired another company which was $1000 cheaper to replace the same pipe only to find out after them digging up the pipe and removing it in pieces that the pipe was in very good condition. (((THEY WERE EITHER INCOMPETENT OR SCAMMING ME))) The video could show no bottomless pipe (I was there when dug up it was EXCELLENT and there was no other line to be confused THEY NEVER DID SEND ME A VIDEO AS STATED I WAS ENTITLED TO! Mr. Dodson, I have reviewed all video work and still the bottom line is that you paid my company for cleaning. You then took a recommendation for further work and contracted another company to complete the work. I cannot be held responsible for a task you did not contract my company to complete. I cannot be assured that the company you hired even broke up the right pipe. If you would like to hire my company to complete work we stand behind our diagnosis, workmanship, warranties, ect. I will not take responsibility for work I did not complete nor will compensation be given. Thank YouGeorge Johnson

Description of Work
He scammed me. They said I needed a $900 pressure chain cleaning to clean my drain line and then (((after the $900 attempt)) They said my pipe had NO BOTTOM and it would cost about $4000 more!!! ANGIES LIST....YOU LET ME DOWN

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

1.0

07/03/2015


samuel H.

Didn't fix clog then tried to sell me a huge fix cost but I am a contractor that was out of town came back was bad pump and a check valve in pipe. This type of contractor service is criminal!

Description of Work
Tried to fix clog in basement drain

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

04/06/2015


Karen H.

On April 04, 2015 my sister discovered water gushing from the drain in her finished basement. After calling several 24 hour emergency service plumbing companies that would not come out to help, I called Roto-Rooter. Within an hour Dan , the service man, came to help. He not only fixed the problem but was very careful with his machine making sure it did not damage or leave a dirty mess behind. My sister and I are so grateful as we felt helpless with water gushing into her finished basement. Dan worked several hours to stop the gushing water. Thank-you Roto-Rooter and a special thanks to Dan. I will use and recommend your company to everyone.

Description of Work
The provider came within an hour of receiving my call.

Category plumbing, water damage restoration

5.0

02/17/2015


Jan B.

I called Roto-Rooter at 8am and was told someone would be out to unclog my drain between 12-4pm. A technician arrived around 2pm. He was very professional and got right to work. He took the time to explain the problem, what he thought might be the cause(s), and went over my options. We decide to "snake" the drain to restore flow. After, we discussed the possibility of using a hydro-jet to clean the drain but decided it was not necessary at this time. The technician worked quickly and was out within an hour. He was even nice enough to take a minute to discuss another plumbing project that I was considering and give me an informal estimate. In the end, I would recommend this service to others but I would recommend shopping around to see if you can find it cheaper. I did not shop around do I cannot tell you if this was a good deal or not. Just that you will be happy with the service.

Description of Work
I had Roto-Rooter cable my underfloor kitchen/laundry drain from the 2" stack clean out to unclog it. Flow was resotred and tested.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

01/19/2015


James G.

It went very well. Mark was very courteous and professional. He explained everything that needed to be done, why and how to prevent future problems.

Description of Work
Installed new garbage disposal

Category plumbing, drain pipe

5.0

12/27/2014


Kristyn W.

Unfortunately I dropped a bracelet in the toilet, and was super embarrassed. I knew we needed to have it removed because of our past history with sewer/plumbing issues. I was very surprised that Roto Rooter was open on Christmas Eve. We had a great experience, Eric showed up around 7pm (although late, we were surprised that he showed up at all). He let us know how he was going to try to get the bracelet out and the price, we agreed. He was done within about 15 mins. We were very satisfied with our service and would call again (but hopefully we won't need to!).

Description of Work
Retrieved a bracelet from the toilet.

Category plumbing

5.0

12/09/2014


JoAnne F.

Snaking the drain in the laundry room solved the problem. He explained there was a build up of soap scum and lint in the drain and suggested using a lint trap at the sink. Would hire this company again with any plumbing problems in the future

Description of Work
Snaked the drain in my laundry room which was backed up.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

11/15/2014


Benjamin M.

Technician arrived on time and preformed services as described. Technician took care to wear protective footwear and laid tarp for equipment load in. Completed the job with satisfaction, and ensured that the problem did not persist. Would use this team again.

Description of Work
Snaked my sewer drain to remove a soft blockage. Capped an old commode opening.

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

5.0

09/23/2014


Jack C.

Mitch was timely and professional. Work was done when scheduled and he was up-front about various options and costs. I also have to give him credit for working in an old, small crawl space!

Description of Work
New outdoor spigot installed with new copper line back to main in order to install a winterizing valve.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/05/2014


Louis J.

Russ Tech #428 was very friendly, frank and informative. He explained everything as he was doing it and then we discussed what we saw and options/remedies. He was very helpful.

Description of Work
Used a camera to view our sewage drain and advised us about remedies.

Category plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    All Type Landscape Co

    Over 41 years of operation in Outstanding Landscape design, Paver's, Hardscaping, Retaining walls and Drainage Systems, installations. All Type Landscape was founded in 1979, 41 years ago with one goal in mind - to provide full range superior landscaping services, including landscaping, hardscaping and drainage solutions, all at affordable rates. Our company has grown over the years from a few person operation into a full staff of professionals able to meet your every landscaping needs. We are dedicated to building long term relationships with our clients by providing the highest standard of quality on each and every project we do. Our reputation for customer satisfaction in the S/E Michigan area is what has made All Type Landscape an award winning customer service company.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    MJM Restoration LLC

    MJM Restoration bring together in our team a combined 50 year tradition of applied, proven property restoration services that have resulted in multiple successfully completed projects. The MJM team is highly experienced in the technical displines necessary for performing the complicated tasks required to provide property restoration services. Our professional staff includes estimators, projects managers, skilled construction tradesmen and certified technicians. MJM completes projects in a most responsive and cost effective manner by paying attention to schedules, goals and budgets. Communication between MJM and it's clients is our #1 prioity. We emphasize on the need to asist our clients in understanding every aspect of their projects by explaining the technical procedures and scope of work task.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Icon Restoration & Construction LLC

    At Icon Restoration & Construction we understand the emotional trauma and financial burden you experience at the onset of your personal or business property disaster. We are committed to providing you with the quickest response time. Our team of construction experts are dedicated to completing your project, large or small, with quality results, on time. Fast service is paramount in every phase of the restoration process, from roof covering to board-ups, water extraction to cleaning and deodorization. We are a full service reconstruction company dedicated to providing unmatched performance and quality. We implement the industry's most sophisticated estimating software, inspection instruments and construction equipment available. We provide you with a 5 Year transferable guarantee on all materials and workmanship we provide. We will work diligently with you and your insurance provider to get you back in your home as swiftly and seamlessly as possible.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial plumbing, drain cleaning including sewers, faucets, sinks, toilets, showers, tubs, leak, pipework, heaters, septic tanks, video camera inspection, garbage disposals, water restoration, grease trap, liquid waste pumping & hauling. We also offer water restoration services.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup

    How is Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup overall rated?

    Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup is currently rated 3.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup open?

    Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

    Monday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

    Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

    Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

    Thursday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

    Friday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

    What payment options does Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup provide

    Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check

    Does Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup offer free estimates?

    Ask Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup for details on free project estimates.

    Does Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup offer a senior discount?

    No, Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup offer emergency services?

    Yes, Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup?

    Yes, Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup offers warranties.

    What services does Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup offer?

    Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Water Cleanup offers the following services: Residential and commercial plumbing, drain cleaning including sewers, faucets, sinks, toilets, showers, tubs, leak, pipework, heaters, septic tanks, video camera inspection, garbage disposals, water restoration, grease trap, liquid waste pumping & hauling. We also offer water restoration services.