Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating

Founded 1981 • With Angi since May 2006

4.5

(397) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

31675 W 8 Mile Road

Livonia, MI 48152

Description

Rooter MD has been performing premier residential and commercial plumbing, heating and cooling services in Southeast Michigan since 1981, providing the “cure” for all plumbing, piping and sewer problems, no matter how big or small. Call us today to schedule your next appointment!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/05/2018


Paul B.

stay away- they are very dangerous- improperly installed (twice before realizing their error) a natural gas water heater in a home that only has natural gas. Luckily no harm - this time- but realize the water heater states to use the proper gas- danger of harm including death. Please be aware that they took the old water heater out - so they should have known the type of gas (plus drove right pass the big outside LP tank multiple times) There are a lot of other issues but this was the most disturbing

Description of Work
replace 3 water heaters

Category plumbing, water heater repair

1.0

02/09/2018


Linda M.

Not good. I run into a problem every time for maintenance of my furnace. My chosen date and time have not been honored at least two or three times. I find out at the last minute that my appointment needs to be rescheduled. Last year took the cake. My appointment was at 5:00. The technician called at 6:00 to say he was way on the other side of town. He knew that at 5:00. I scheduled a time the next day. I stepped out to my garage for a quick minute when he called to confirm about 40 minutes before my appointment. He asked me to call him back via voice mail. I called right back and his mailbox was full and he never answered after several attempts to reach him. Foolish me, allowed another appointment with him, John. He gave me a weak apology. Went in my basement and apparently did nothing to my furnace. This was on November 27, 2017. On December 24, 2017, I awakened to a freezing house. I had to call another company to assist me with this emergency. Expert Heating and Cooling came to my rescue. Their technician completed several tasks I have never seen Rooter M.D. attempt. Every procedure completed was written on the invoice. This was not done in the past. I will demand from now on a list of what was checked. The problem with my furnace? The thermostat needed new batteries. I have been in this home for ten years and never knew batteries were needed. It cost me $150.00 to have 2 AA batteries installed during this emergency. I would assume checking the batteries should be included in the yearly maintenance of my furnace. No one from Rooter MD bothered to call me back after I placed an emergency call to them first. The young lady who answered the phone led me to believe they would call. Needless to say, I was not happy. Called and spoke to the owner the next week, who insisted the employee had been terminated. I am not sure I can trust their quality of work nor their professionalism at this point. No heat on Christmas Eve was not pleasant!! Hire again? Maybe. The plumbing and air conditioner techs are great!

Description of Work
Furnace maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/13/2018


Kelly F.

Maurice did an awesome job! He was professional and explained everything and came out in terrible weather to replace our sump pump when our basement flooded. Thanks so much Maurice for all of your hard work! I would highly recommend Maurice!

Description of Work
Repair of sump pump

Category plumbing, wells

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful words on Maurice. We will pass this on to him as we strive to keep all of our techs courteous and professional.
5.0

09/23/2017


Carol H.

It was fine. They were punctual.

Description of Work
Sewer clean out.

Category sewer cleaning

4.0

04/05/2017


Dayna A.

It was not really what I expected it to be, they really didn't clean much. There was just one worker who came to do the work. The worker was fine. It didn't take long at all to finish the work.

Description of Work
They did air duct cleaning.

Category air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry but we provided a service for your sump pump on May 23 2016. We do not provide duct work cleaning. We do however provide any plumbing and hvac work you might need in the future.
5.0

04/01/2017


Linda M.

I like them. I have a contract and they come out and check the furnace, air conditioning, plumbing, all plumbing services. It's not really expensive and they come and do all the maintenance. They are always very professional, always on time. I will be using them again in the future.

Description of Work
They came out to inspect my furnace last fall.

Category plumbing

5.0

04/01/2017


Linda M.

Alex came out and she was really good. The technicians are all very professional. They explain everything they are going to do. If anything is wrong they let me know. They are punctual. Just a good company.

Description of Work
Came out and serviced my sub-pump.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/02/2017


Amy H.

It went very well. They were super professional yet friendly and replaced my sump pump quickly.

Description of Work
I needed a new sump pump. My old one was decades old and getting noisy.

Category plumbing, wells

5.0

02/07/2017


Carol H.

If you sign up for an preferred partner planned. That includes air conditioning system for seventy nine dollars. Plumbing inspection for ninety nine dollars, and furnace inspection for ninety nine dollars. Plus ten percent off any work they perform. To me its worth it. They are very good and very reliable. I had an issue with my air conditioner system last year. It was very hot, and they couldn't get to me that week. I was very disappointed. They then called me back, and had an cancellation. Since I was an preferred plan customer, they gave me that spot. They came that day, did what they had to do, and left the same day. They were very good. They are kind of pricey.

Description of Work
It was for an inspection on my furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/07/2017


Carol H.

I renewed this partnership thing with them, because they give these inspections for $270. I know I looked at other companies, its more of an less. If I need anything done. They can come out and tell me what needs to be done. I would consult with my neighbor before I go ahead with this work. They give you a price, and in the future I would ask my neighbor if the price is good. Depends on if they quote me a price through the roof, I would consult with my neighbor. The person from Rooter said I needed a new central air conditioning system for about thirty two hundred. The guy across the street quoted me on two thousand.

Description of Work
They did an furnace exaust repair.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/16/2017


Daniel C.

No surprises, reasonable price and arrived when promised.

Description of Work
Furnace inspection

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/27/2016


Samuel M.

It worked out fine. It was very good. They offered me some sort of a membership deal for nine or ten bucks a month for annual checkup on stuff. I did not take that though. They sent a technician out and she seems to know what she was doing. She was thorough, efficient, and informative. So, I was totally satisfied. They were on time. She is professional on how she approached it and inform you on what was going on. I thought the price was a fair deal.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for RooterMD Plumbing & Heating. It was $39 for sump pump pit clean out and replacement check valve. They cleaned out the sump pump and put in a new check valve.

Category wells

1.0

11/09/2016


Gina T.

They wanted $89 just to show up, then wanted $272 to install a garbage disposal. We already bought the part so the $272 was all labor. In total they wanted $775 to fix three small problems. I'll never use this company and I would never EVER recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Replace garbage disposal, correct pitch of under sink pipe, clear drainage blockage

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

09/12/2016


Tracy H.

Awesome. Great price, very friendly and fast

Description of Work
Change outdoor hose bib

Category plumbing

5.0

09/06/2016


RICHARD G.

Went fine. They were prompt, very approachable.

Description of Work
Hired RooterMD to replace a broken toilet and water line to the toilet.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/24/2016


Mel L.

It was really good. They did a fine job. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
It was for plumbing and heating.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

08/16/2016


Marc J.

I couldn't have asked for better. They showed up within the provided time window, having called me 30-45m ahead of time like they said. They were quick to check the issue and confirm it was not working. They also confirmed it was not possible to fix the issue. The pump had stopped triggering on when the water level went above a certain height. I had suspected it would not be repairable given this unit was many years old, possibly part of the original build in 1997. They gave me a price which matched what the original dispatcher had given us, nice that they were on the same page :) The price was below $400 which I thought to be reasonable. They were there in the house just over an hour in total. Besides being pleased with the quality, cost, and timeliness of the work they did, they were also very courteous, answering all my questions with clear and comprehensive answers, and took great care to keep the house clean as they walked through it and did their work.

Description of Work
Test sump pump and confirm if it was working or not. If not, check to see if it could be fixed and fix as needed. If no fix was possible, replace it with a new sump pump.

Category plumbing, wells

1.0

08/08/2016


Paul H.

Denise on the phone was rude and hung up on me after I asked too many questions stating "so your just price shopping"... WOW. Questions that customers should ask before hiring a contractor. Reading some of their other recent reviews it seems like this company that has gone downhill and are just seeking money. Pay a bit extra elsewhere and get better service.

Description of Work
Denise hung up the phone on me.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

07/26/2016


Michelle A.

It was okay. I feel like they wanted to do more than needed to be done. I didn't go further and do a big replacement. I thought they were pretty good. They should continue to listen to the person that hired them to come in there. They can suggest things but they should make sure if it's necessarily needed right now.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for RooterMD Plumbing & Heating. It was something with the sump pump. They replaced a part for me.

Category plumbing, wells

4.0

07/25/2016


Robert D.

They came out a couple days after I called. The good part is that they were able to clean the sump pump and now it is working a lot better. The service was fine.

Description of Work
I used RooterMD Plumbing & Heating for a sump pump clean out and talked to me about a possible replacement. They also fixed the toilet in the bathroom where the water pumped into the toilet.

Category plumbing, wells

4.0

05/21/2016


Mike P.

They did a good job on it. They are good on price. They sent a young lady out for the cleaning and she knew what she was doing. There were a few areas that she didn't know about the mechanics, but she was learning.

Description of Work
Rooter MD Plumbing & Heating cleaned the drain pipe for the sub-pump.

Category water heater repair, water softeners, wells

3.0

05/18/2016


Greg F.

They had to come back. The way the sump pump is set up you have to have an air hole to allow it to work and they didn't have it so they had to come back and do that. It's fixed. She came back and was very cooperative. She put a check valve on it and it is pretty heavy so it caused the drain pipe to tilt so I'm still kind of working on that. It was a young lady that came out and she was very hospitable, very cordial. It just didn't quite work out. I get the impression that she could have had more experience.

Description of Work
I used a Big Deal with RooterMD Plumbing & Heating.

Category plumbing

2.0

05/01/2016


subhash K.

Denise from this office quoted me a fixed price to clean my plugged drain. The crew who came to my job did not have the right equipment to detect the clog. The left the job without completing it. I had paid them in advance to come and do the job. The owner,MR Wood had a discussion with me and was very sympathetic however was willing to complete the job and stated that I should call another provider who i DID call and did finish the job in no time. This company is great for marketing and hooking you with front desk staff who are very good but the real workers are far from being professional,THEY WERE SMOKING AND SPITTING IN THE DRIVE WAY. Will not call again.

Description of Work
UNPLUG THE DRAIN IN THE BASEMENT.

Category drain cleaning

5.0

04/14/2016


Michele O.

Excellent job performed! Very pleased with the professionalism. I was concerned with the existing sump pump which I was concerned was burning out. Alex told me what should be looked for in these circumstances and recommended, based on what she saw, to replace. While performing the health check the existing part began to emit smoke, so she went ahead with the replacement. Total job took just under 1 hour to complete. Very happy I called them and would definetly use them again in the future.

Description of Work
Health check performed and determined that a replacement was necessary.

Category plumbing, wells

5.0

04/12/2016


Diane R.

Arrived on time. Cleaned up after completion

Description of Work
checked sump pump

Category plumbing, wells

    Other local Pros in your area

    All Type Landscape Co

    Over 41 years of operation in Outstanding Landscape design, Paver's, Hardscaping, Retaining walls and Drainage Systems, installations. All Type Landscape was founded in 1979, 41 years ago with one goal in mind - to provide full range superior landscaping services, including landscaping, hardscaping and drainage solutions, all at affordable rates. Our company has grown over the years from a few person operation into a full staff of professionals able to meet your every landscaping needs. We are dedicated to building long term relationships with our clients by providing the highest standard of quality on each and every project we do. Our reputation for customer satisfaction in the S/E Michigan area is what has made All Type Landscape an award winning customer service company.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Hydro Clean of Michigan

    Hydro Clean of Michigan provides professional strength air duct cleaning using a truck mounted negative air pressure system. In fact, this system is powerful enough to lift a cinder block! 16,000 cfm! Our system, expertise, and attention to detail will make your vents some of the cleanest air ducts in Metro Detroit. We’ll show you the difference in your ducts with before and after camera inspections. I learned the business working for the largest company in the state, slowly saving up to start my own company. I invested in the best commercial-grade equipment that I trained on so I can give myself an edge, knowing I am more thorough then most of my coworkers were. The pandemic has been tough on everyone’s business. Let me prove to you that experience counts. My work speaks for itself. Just ask me for referrals. I will match and beat any price for a job done with similar hardware. If you find a quote for half the price, you will get half the quality most likely. A lot of Air Duct companies don’t invest in the right equipment (negative air pressure system) Your HVAC unit is spewing dusty air. Nearly all of them are. Give me a call and you can take a breath of fresh air. 248-497-6464. Professionally trained and fully insured.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Reynolds Water Conditioning Co

    Reynolds Water Conditioning Co is Michigan's oldest water purification and filtration company, since 1931. Still owned and operated by the Reynolds family, we specialize in solving problems typically associated with both well and city water in Southeast Michigan. Our professional grade service and products are guaranteed to give you better water at a cost effective price. Ask us about our new ClearStream Iron, Rust and Odor Filter.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & Commercial Plumbing – Leak Detection & Repair, Sewer Drain Jetting, Replacement, & Repair, Disposals, Toilets, & Sinks, Sump Pump Repair, Hot Water Heaters, Tankless Water Heaters, Drain Service, Water Jetting, Drain Cleaning, & Drain Scoping. Heating – Furnace Repair & Replacement, Heat Pump Service, Boiler Service, & Furnace Tune-Up.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating

    How is Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating overall rated?

    Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating open?

    Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating provide

    Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating offer free estimates?

    Yes, Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating offers free project estimates.

    Does Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating offer emergency services?

    Yes, Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating?

    Yes, Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating offers warranties.

    What services does Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating offer?

    Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating offers the following services: Residential & Commercial Plumbing – Leak Detection & Repair, Sewer Drain Jetting, Replacement, & Repair, Disposals, Toilets, & Sinks, Sump Pump Repair, Hot Water Heaters, Tankless Water Heaters, Drain Service, Water Jetting, Drain Cleaning, & Drain Scoping. Heating – Furnace Repair & Replacement, Heat Pump Service, Boiler Service, & Furnace Tune-Up.

    Are there any services Rooter MD Plumbing and Heating does not offer?

    ask for details