Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Scapes Professional Landscaping

Founded 2003 • With Angi since December 2008

3.3

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6450 W Stoll Rd

Lansing, MI 48906

Description

We provide Lanscape services in Lansing,EastLansing,Dewitt,Mason,Haslett,Charlotte,Grand Ledge areas.We provide for commercial and residential properties.Scapes Professional Landscaping is fully Insured.We offer credit card payment options as well.Billing/Invoicing for mowing and snow removal

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Barbara V.
5.0
05/11/2015
This is the third year I am using them. They talk to me and return all my calls. He tells me whether or not he can provide it while other companies don't. He will also do other things. He has a separate fee for pruning the leaves. I pay $35 per hour.
Description of Work
I have used Scapes Professional Landscaping for cutting the grass.
Category
landscaping
Melany H.
2.0
11/11/2013
I've used them for four years. The first three went fine but this last year the quality and punctuality really went down. They used to have the snow cleared early in the morning. This past year we were lucky if they came around by noon to clear the snow which defeated the whole point. They would show up in the early afternoon after I already dug myself out and most of the snow had melted. They also failed to clear the snow between the vehicles in the driveway as they had done in the past. Their lawn care was also lacking this past year. We were lucky if they came by once a week even though we requested more frequent service. They would typically come very early in the week even after we had discussed wanting them to come later so the lawn would be short for the weekend. And they did not take care of a particular area of the lawn that the owner and I specifically discussed early in the season. Time to find another provider.
Description of Work
Lawn care and snow removal.
Category
landscaping, snow removal
Martha H.
1.0
11/01/2013
The deal was made for several jobs to be done and Dan said they would be able to start in one week. I made a hefty down payment at that time. As time passed, I was beginning to feel like I had been ripped off. Three weeks later I called Dan to see what the hold up was. At that point I told him I needed a particular job done first. He agreed. That job was done last. Dan and I had discussed how I wanted the landscaping job to be done and he agreed with what I wanted. I was not available when they were doing the job and they did it an easier way. It was not what we agreed on, it does not look right, it is not correct. I had to call Dan several times during the weeks of these jobs and I felt like I had to be pushing them all the way to get the work done. Also, after every mow, I would be finding cigarette butts in the yard and driveway. At last I had to let them go. My computer was down for some time, BUT...if I had had Angie's list last June, I am sure I would not have hired Scapes.
Description of Work
Landscaping, mowing, yard work.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
byron K.
4.0
11/02/2012
It was kind of hard to stay in touch; he wasn't the best at returning our calls. He didn't start exactly when he said he was going to. He did finish the job in a very timely fashion, his follow-up was non-existent. Also, he didn't have any warranty to cover the plants or flowers if they died soon after planting them, which I would have appreciated because some didn't make it.
Description of Work
He removed our old landscaping and replaced it with all new.
Category
landscaping
Bari Wood K.
1.0
07/30/2012
Miserably
Description of Work
They contracted for several jobs on our land, and did them all badly, badly, badly.They were careless and overpriced and I advise anyone to try someone else.The owner cared only about getting paid, not at all about the quality or completeness of his men's work.AWFUL!
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Kenneth B.
5.0
06/16/2012
Everything went well with the services. The team of landscapers arrived on time and the work took a total of four days. They did a few extras not in the estimate in order to make the area look better. They cleaned up everything, as they said they would.
Description of Work
There were a number of parts to the services performed: Spring cleanup, dead apple tree removal, small trees next to house removed, cleanup of old landscaping stone/timbers from around house, old grape vine removal, created an island flower bed between two big maples in front lawn, a new flower bed in front of garage and replace top soil in cleaned up areas and seed/straw the areas.
Category
landscaping, leaf removal, tree service
Bari Wood K.
2.0
07/09/2011
The work was slipshod. I had asked for a particular size of stone for one section of the job, they came with much larger stone, and had it half installed before I noticed it was the wrong size. Then told me, the right size stone available was too dirty...odd, but I let it go and figured I could live with it. But then, they left another section more or less undone, and no one said anything maybe hoping I wouldn't notice. Most of all the attitude had nothing to so with how well it was done, how good it looked. The boss (owner?) came to collect a day later, after I'd told him it wasn't a good time, and asked him to wait a day. For my convenience, and also to give me a chance to look the work over. At no time did he show any interest in our satisfaction, or how the job looked. It was not high on his list of priorities; that was all taken up by getting his check. The work was rushed, sloppy and expensive. I'd have given them straight F's, but my husband lost his temper with the boss (can't blame him, since the boss was interested in making excuses, or arguments, not in what could be done to improve the work's appearance), so there's no way of knowing what, if any, remediation they'd have done.
Description of Work
They cleared, edged and mulched some sections of our yard.
Category
landscaping
Rachelle H.
2.0
06/16/2011
Scapes Professional Landscaping was one of three landscaping firms I requested to provide me with an estimate for land/hardscaping services around my home. The owner and designer, Dan, was friendly and showed up at my home to speak with me in person and get a better idea of our needs so he could provide an estimate. As with the other two landscaping companies, Dan walked around my property and asked what I had in mind. I gave him a general idea, but what I found a bit odd was that he asked for specifics "how much dirt did the other landcaping firms estimate you would need?" or "how do you want this wall to look? What type of material were you thinking?" And when he failed to mention using Round Up in an area that the other landcape firms suggested it was needed, I told him there were many invasive weeds and perennials (which were quite evident) and he said "Oh, really? Well, maybe we would need to use Round Up then." That said, my initial impression of Scapes was they they could not provide the professional advice, vision and design that I wanted for our property. But, Dan took some additional pictures of our property before he left, and said he would contact me with the estimate in about a week. This was a negative as well, because the other landscaping firms both e-mailed detailed estimates to me within a couple days time, but Dan said he avoided e-mail as much as possible and would either mail or call me with the estimate (I can't recall which). Well, I never received the estimate. It's been more than a month since their visit, and Scapes never called or mailed an estimate to me. No follow up whatsoever. Based on a couple of other favorable reviews of this company, I suspect they might be OK for basic landcape jobs like freshening mulch, weeding, trimming shrubs, etc. Needless to say, I have hired a different landscaping company for our home project - one that actually responded to me.
Description of Work
The owner of Scapes Professional Landscaping, Dan, came to my house to walk around the property and discuss our landscaping needs.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Stephen B.
5.0
06/06/2011
Dan was very helpful, and provided a good description of work and estimate. I ended up doing the job myself, with a little help from nurseries where I bought some of the larger plants (trees, shrubs). Also used Scapes this winter for some snow plowing and he was very prompt, helpful and prices were reasonable. I especially liked the attention to site preparation that he provided, compared to other landscapers who seem to just want to dig a hole and stick the plant in. Although my job was small enough that I could handle it, I did have a good experience with Scapes and would definitely used them in the future. The owner strikes me as a hard working, straightforward, honest guy.
Description of Work
Received estimate to do some landscaping in the front of my home.
Category
landscaping
james H.
5.0
05/22/2010
Dan, comes out personally, walks the job, calls that day with an estimate, comes with the crew, comes back at the end of each day as they have several jobs going at once and at the end of the project he comes and walks through what they did and our level of happiness with the job done. Very friendly and easy to talk to. Since he began doing work for us he and his family have been to our famous New Year's Eve party. He is a great part of the Lansing community with a great product and a nice delivery.
Description of Work
I found Dan in the craziest way. We recieved a phone call from a business in Florida that was looking for Scaped in Lansing, MI to snow plow and salt one of their businesses long distance. We spoke and I offered to find Scapes local number which I did. We had a new year's eve party and we live on a 2.5 mile private road that we plow ourselves. As the afternoon progressed the snow got deeper so I called Scapes as I didn't know who else to call. From there we used them several times to remove snow and then in the spring to remove dead trees, re-mulch out beds, add landscaping, mow and trip. So far we have use them abou 6 times for large and small jobs and wouldn't use anyone else.
Category
landscaping
J W.
5.0
12/29/2008
I called him for a estimate and he was on time and professional. I received the estimate when promised and quickly. The work was completed basically on schedule although he did have to work around some early snow falls (which happens in Michigan). Some additional work was added to the original bid which was done quickly and at a fair price.
Description of Work
Added soil and mulch around the home to improve drainage. Removed two shrubs and trimmed several others. Removed several large piles of debris. Cleaned up entire yard.
Category
landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Window Washing Plus

    Window washing, gutter cleaning, pressure washing, Family business for over 19 years. Reliable, Courteous, respectable quality work, at reasonable prices!  

    Angi Certified

    Prestige Landscape & Design LLC

    Prestige Landscape and Design is dedicated to providing outstanding landscape projects for our customers, utilizing innovative design and quality installation. We are focused entirely on landscape design and construction, offering over forty years of experience in all aspects of the landscape field including paver patios, retaining walls, water features, gardens, new landscapes and landscape rehabilitation. Our mission is to maximize and enhance the use, living space and value of our customer's property. Real estate appraisers know that a pleasing landscape can increase property values significantly. "Curb appeal" is considered to be one of the most important factors in selling a home.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Dynamix Property Solutions LLC

    Landscapes & Designs, Hardscaping, Paver Patios and Sidewalks, Tree Planting, Topsoil Delivery & Installation, Bush Trimming, Yard Maintenance & Fertilization, Mulch and stone Installation, Clean-Ups, Snow Removal, Estate Cleanouts, Moving Cleanouts, Junk Removal (building material and debris cleanup) & Hauling  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape design,aeration,dethatching,lawn mowing,tree trimming/tree removal,stump grinding,retaining walls,brick pavers,water falls,gutter cleaning,delivery/lanscape materials,grub control,spring and fall cleanup,brush/trash removal,grass seeding,grading/water run off issues,snow removal,salting,deck staining also availible,hand weeding,weed control, planting/design,landscape drawings availible.

    Services Not Offered

    Fertilizing,Irrigation/New Install

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Scapes Professional Landscaping

    How is Scapes Professional Landscaping overall rated?

    Scapes Professional Landscaping is currently rated 3.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Scapes Professional Landscaping open?

    Scapes Professional Landscaping is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Scapes Professional Landscaping provide

    Scapes Professional Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Scapes Professional Landscaping offer free estimates?

    Yes, Scapes Professional Landscaping offers free project estimates.

    Does Scapes Professional Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Scapes Professional Landscaping does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Scapes Professional Landscaping offer a senior discount?

    No, Scapes Professional Landscaping does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Scapes Professional Landscaping offer emergency services?

    Yes, Scapes Professional Landscaping offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Scapes Professional Landscaping?

    Yes, Scapes Professional Landscaping offers warranties.

    What services does Scapes Professional Landscaping offer?

    Scapes Professional Landscaping offers the following services: Landscape design,aeration,dethatching,lawn mowing,tree trimming/tree removal,stump grinding,retaining walls,brick pavers,water falls,gutter cleaning,delivery/lanscape materials,grub control,spring and fall cleanup,brush/trash removal,grass seeding,grading/water run off issues,snow removal,salting,deck staining also availible,hand weeding,weed control, planting/design,landscape drawings availible.

    Are there any services Scapes Professional Landscaping does not offer?

    Fertilizing,Irrigation/New Install