Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Lewis Landscape Svc Inc

Founded 1983 • With Angi since August 2010

Welcome to LEWIS LANDSCAPE SERVICES INC. This is our 30th year of doing business in the mid-Michigan area offering a wide array of landscaping services for both businesses and private individuals. Please take a moment and browse our website to see how we can assist you in achieving your landscaping goals. (517) 484-6620

Verified Reviews

4.7

(49) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 49 reviews
Ward F.
2.0
02/01/2021
I was never contacted, so they apparently did not need or want my business. Therefore, they get a D, for did not contact.
Description of Work
Complete landscaping of a new build
Category
decks
william D.
1.0
11/28/2019
The remove and the build went fine. Two years later I noticed the wall tilting. One year after that it was worse and I contacted Randy Lewis (owner) and he came out and inspected and agreed that he needed to come back out and excavate and rebuild the top 3 feet of the wall with more "deadmen" reinforcements. It is now 6 months later and despite promises he has not showed up. Soon it will be snowing and freeze the ground.
Description of Work
Remove and replace a retaining wall
Category
landscaping
Ward F.
3.0
05/12/2019
I submitted a request for a bid, but never heard anything from the business. I will not kill their average by submitting a D or F, but since I did not hear from them, I can give them no higher than a C.
Description of Work
Bid requested for top soil and sod.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

my apologies for not contacting you sooner. I am not much of a computer user. So I don't look at my computer much. Charlotte is a little to say for me to go to. For I live in the Dewitt area.
Shawn H.
5.0
10/05/2017
Very well. Arrived exactly when they said they would, worked hard until complete (during a 95* heat wave). Offered to return extra supplies to Menard's when finished even though he was running late for plans with friends - thats going the extra mile.
Description of Work
Retaining wall as pictured
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Sheryl M.
5.0
05/13/2017
The experience was fine; it went well. I had gotten some other estimates and I went with Lewis Landscaping because of the price. I felt like he would be good to work -- he was easy to communicate with. A big part of that was re-setting the pavers because that was a lot of work. They had to take out all of the pavers and re-level. The walkway looks really good now. One of the plants that he planted for me is not looking very good right now and I haven't contacted him about it. That is the only negative thing I can say about that experience. Otherwise I was happy with everything. It wasn't over the top plants and landscaping or else the price would have been more. The landscaping was basic, people don't look at it and ooh and aah, but it is basic -- it looks nice and neat. One thing I appreciated about them was that they came in and stayed on this job until it was done; they only took two days to do everything. It wasn't just him and another guy; he had a crew working to get the job done and I appreciated it. From start to finish was very efficient. They just really went at it and got it done. They get a lot of work done because they are all working.
Description of Work
They reset a walkway of pavers that I had put in many years ago and was starting to look very bad. They also put in new foundation planting, edging and mulch on two sides of the house.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Sheryl M.
5.0
12/12/2016
The job went fine, Randy was attentive to my goals and his crew got the job done very efficiently. The walkway looks 100 per cent better.
Description of Work
Put in new foundation plantings, including soil, weed barrier and mulch. Also reset a paver walk and steps that had buckled over time.
Category
landscaping, mulch, hardscaping
Tina A.
5.0
10/31/2016
Excellent work!! Helped us to make sure the front yard had the correct amount of sprinkler heads to make sure plants as well as grass got wet. Thank you.
Description of Work
Sprinkler system
Category
landscaping
Wendy F.
5.0
04/11/2016
Great - took a while to get a response back but once we spoke, everything went quickly. They provided great service, did a lovely job and were very customer focused. I'd recommend them again.
Description of Work
lANDSCAPING IN FRONT AND BACK YARDS, MOVED SUMP OUTFLOW
Category
landscaping
Jerri A.
2.0
12/16/2015
I purchased a deal on Angie's List for yard clean-up. When the person arrived to look at the yard, he told me that they don't like doing yard clean-up and they don't make any money on it. We canceled the deal for a refund. He seemed like a nice person but must have forgotten to update the ad on Angie's List after revising their list of services.
Description of Work
Explained why they didn't want to honor the deal on Angie's List.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Robert G.
4.0
10/03/2015
You need to call Lewis Landscape to set up this appointment, rather than rely on Angie's List forwarding it automatically. I was able to set up an appointment in a timely manner, and Mr. Lewis came out in a foot cast despite an injury. His recommendations were clear and cogent, but for only $50 you're really not getting a full landscape plan so much as an expert's ideas and an estimate. The ideas were reasonable and included some things I hadn't thought about; the estimate was also reasonable given the scope of the job. I did contract with him to do the work and paid an initial 50% down. The work was to be done by the end of September but it is now October 3rd with no contact from Lewis. I'm not overly concerned since there are always scheduling issues and I indicated that I was somewhat flexible, but I think you can expect 3-6 weeks scheduling delay with any work you contract for from this supplier, and you may need to do some follow-up phone calls yourself to stay on top of it.
Description of Work
Came to provide a landscape plan as part of Angie's List special for $50.
Category
landscaping
Linda J.
5.0
07/04/2015
Randy responded within 24 hours to my initial phone call, came by the house within a few days to look at the job and completed the work within the quoted time frame. He went above and beyond with another small landscaping job while at our property. I would certainly call Lewis Landscaping again.
Description of Work
Repaired some uneven flagstones on a walkway and stairs.
Category
landscaping
William H.
2.0
06/30/2015
6After purchasing the plan for $49 on 5/18/15, I finally was able to get him to the house on 6/27/15. Unfortunatley, he was not able to provide living space evaluation with plan. The only thing he provided was a business card of someone who installs aluminum awnings. No outdoor design package and/or computer-generated designs and consultation with drawings. I'm looking to get a complete refund because was offered that was advertised.
Description of Work
Absolutely nothing except give me a business card for someone who installs aluminum awnings.
Category
landscaping
Ericka K.
2.0
06/26/2015
First I had to contact the company myself after the message told me he would contact me in two days - a week later I hadn't heard anything. After I called the company directly it was another few days before I got a call back. They finally sent someone to look at the clean up I needed done and refused to do the job, claiming they are "landscapers, not yard people." I waited almost two weeks to be told they wouldn't do it.
Description of Work
This provider refused to take the job after I paid for it.
Category
landscaping
Karen P.
4.0
06/17/2015
The job went very well. They were professional and easy to work with.
Description of Work
Spread mulch, trimmed small trees and bushes. redefined the edging.
Category
landscaping, mulch, tree service
Tammy P.
4.0
05/14/2015
I was able to get in contact with Lewis Landscape and had a positive experience. Work has not be completed, but comment after services have been completed
Description of Work
I purchased a deal from Angie's list for a landscaping plan and was told when I purchased it that Lewis Landscape would contact me by April 28, 2015. I believe that this company and maybe others don't realize that Angie's list tells customers that the company will contact them. If this is true it can reflect badly on the company.
Category
landscaping
Kristen C.
5.0
04/28/2015
They are very good. Few people are willing to pay that to put on their yard each year but its worth it. This subdivision was a new subdivision and they were working next door and so I just went over and was like, 'Would you do somethings for me?' I rely on them heavily. I am here to catch any mistakes. I am a retired landscape architect so I know what I want but I also want more unusual things. I am here pretty much to guide them if I want something unusual. I think they are really quite reasonable. They don't arrive in little neat uniforms. They are very professional.
Description of Work
For landscaping for 20 some years, I have used Lewis Landscape. They edged all the beds and mulched. They cleaned out my pond and did some pruning. They are coming back this week for a little bit more.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
Robert D.
5.0
11/09/2014
When I checked Angie?s List for landscaping service, I found several that caught my attention. I chose Lewis Landscaping because of good evaluations and took advantage of a special coupon. I paid for the service, contacted the owner, and we set up a date for the work. However, I had to cancel the work due to my need for surgery. After I recuperated, I contacted Randy, and he was very generous, considerate, and helpful. We arranged for the work to be done, and he and his crew completed it in a timely manner. Randy gave me more than my money?s worth, and I am grateful for the excellent service.
Description of Work
Lewis Landscaping came to my home, trimmed some trees, prepared my lawn for the winter, and cleaned up some heavy branches left from last winter.
Category
landscaping, tree service
Joseph C.
5.0
10/17/2014
excellent in thatut in much sturdier wood framing for the brick. They did excellent work, of high quality, with excellent design, and great prevention of environmental damage. They worked in a very timely fashion and did excellent cleaning up. I built the porch and sidewalk 15 years ago, and it took me more than two weeks to do what they did in two days, and they did it with much better quality of product. They put in much better framing than I had done for the sides of the brick walks, and did much better-designed supports to keep the wood frames from shifting sideways. Both the gravel undersurface and the polymerized sand for the surface grit were of much better quality than what I had used. They also were in very good spirits, were quite communicative with me, and open to my thoughts about particular matters. Their work was of excellent quality, and the price Mr. Lewis charged was much lower than any other bids I had received, so the value of their work is excellent in that sense as well.
Description of Work
They rebuilt our wide brick front porch and brick sidewalk leading from the driveway up to the house. It involved installing ca. 50 ft. of heavy wooden framing, straightening the ground, laying new underlayment, re-laying the ca. 800 bricks, re-gritting them with polymerized grit, and re-aligning the sidewalk both horizontally and vertically without harming the underlaying tree roots and nearby plants.
Category
landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thankyou, [member name removed] was great customer, and it brings us joy to make his home nicer.
Steven C.
5.0
10/06/2014
After reading the good reviews on this site, we called Randy Lewis to discuss options for a patio in the back yard. He talked us through the design and made suggestions about materials before showing us a photo album of his work. We went to a landscaping supply store to pick out the brick pavers we wanted, and a couple of days later he had an estimate for us. We couldn't be happier with the finished product - the timbers are straight and solid, the bricks are level and laid in an interesting pattern, and they even built an extra short brick entry path leading from the gravel to the main patio. The job was done in the time promised. And, more important, Randy accommodated us when a unexpected development caused us to put off the project until later in the summer. Thanks to him and his crew. We highly recommend them if you're considering a brick patio.
Description of Work
Designed and built a 16 x 10 foot brick paver patio. They also created a 10 foot pea gravel path leading from the deck to the patio.
Category
landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

Great people to work for, and how is that new dog making out, he had a good personality.
susan F.
5.0
09/14/2014
Randy came out to give us an estimate but it ended up not being for grass. He recommended that we change the whole backyard over to wood chips. We were skeptical at first, but he assured us that it would look great (and it had to be better than the mudpit we currently have). We then asked him about putting in a small patio near our deck. He suggested a brick patio and also some improvements to help the drainage in our yard. We received his proposal and the bid was less than we had thought it would be. We talked to him about the color of brick and at that time I asked him to add ripping out some old large shrubs in the front yard. He was very accommodating about the additional work at that time and during the project. The Lewis crew showed up when they said they would, they did their work efficiently and with great care for the quality of their work. The job came in early and on budget. And the best part is it looks fabulous. The brickwork is amazing and the woodchips look so fresh.
Description of Work
We contracted Lewis Landscape to work on our small backyard. We have a small city lot and 2 dogs and have been unable to keep grass in the yard due to the dogs and how shady our yard was. Several years ago we had the lawn re sodded and it looked good for about a year and then the grass started dying off. We called Randy Lewis to come out and give us an estimate for redoing the lawn.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, patios

Service Provider Response

thank you for the good review, let me know when you want to put some plants in the front beds. And again thanks. Randy
Judy S.
5.0
09/07/2014
Randy is a joy. He knows his plants, loves his work, is good with clients and is more than willing to connect them to other experts as needed. He is flexible and very motivated to make his jobs win-win. From the first time I met him, he just focused on doing what needed to be done. He did many things at no cost because to him, it was the right thing to do, such as hauling away several bushes we had dug out before calling him, and also trimming up a couple of trees. Landscaping can get expensive and when we found that our budget didn't meet the needs of our space, he worked with us to find a good solution. I appreciated him working us into what seemed a very busy schedule. His crew is great and friendly. I look forward to having them back next year to expand on this work.
Description of Work
Removed bushes in front of house; planted new, flowering bushes, trimmed trees and everything else in sight and installed a border to make things neat. In back, Randy Lewis and his crew removed significant grass and weeds to create a large planting area ,then installed a brick border around the site and designed and planted the entire area to complement a few young white pines and give the yard eye appeal.
Category
landscaping
James O.
5.0
08/26/2014
This crew is very experienced, very meticulous, and very professional. They worked hard all day and moved fast, but never compromised quality. They were very thorough. Also, friendly and fun to interact with. We even got fresh veggies from Randy's garden. They were in close communication throughout the process, always keeping me informed of progress and plans, and also was very flexible and fair with my "extras" I wanted done. I would absolutely hire this crew again!
Description of Work
Very professional and fair bid. He tore out old steps and concrete retaining wall up to house and replaced with landscape timbers and steps with brick inlay. Also regraded lawn, buried drain, removed broken concrete patio, built railings around porch and generally cleaned up all the overgrowth around the side of the house. Turned out beautifully. We love driving up to our house and seeing the great work they did.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping, patios
sheila E.
5.0
08/04/2014
Everything went very well and he did a beautiful job.
Description of Work
landscape grading and mulching
Category
landscaping, mulch
THOMAS M.
5.0
07/15/2014
Everything went great. His entire crew is friendly and hard working. They had the job done in two days. I would/WILL be using them in the future.
Description of Work
mulched entire house. Planted and transplanted different trees, plants and shrubs. Cleared a mulch be an laid down sod .
Category
landscaping, mulch, tree service
Donna B.
5.0
04/25/2014
Very well. Randy Lewis and his crew were prompt, fast, hardworking, friendly and professional.
Description of Work
Installed screened topsoil, edging, stone border across entire front of house, which included 2 window wells. Excavated out new parking area (expansion of existing driveway) along entire side of garage; built up 6 x 6 wolmanized wood retaining wall; graded, tamped down and filled with crushed concrete/stone. Reseeded front lawn, covered with straw, dug out and re-stacked existing stone "well" around mature tree to accommodate new growth.
Category
landscaping

Other local Pros in your area

CAP'S Nursery and Landscape

Since 1970, our family owned and operated company, has been providing our clients with outdoor spaces that are both functional as well as beautiful. Whether you want to update your yard for the summer season or you want your landscape completely redesigned, we can help. Our Certified Green Industry Professionals, will work with you to come up with a cost effective landscape solution that you will love. From brick pavers and walls to water features, plant-scapes and sustainable landscapes, our professionals can Imagine, Design, Create. Maintain. it for you.  

Angi Certified

Prestige Landscape & Design LLC

Prestige Landscape and Design is dedicated to providing outstanding landscape projects for our customers, utilizing innovative design and quality installation. We are focused entirely on landscape design and construction, offering over forty years of experience in all aspects of the landscape field including paver patios, retaining walls, water features, gardens, new landscapes and landscape rehabilitation. Our mission is to maximize and enhance the use, living space and value of our customer's property. Real estate appraisers know that a pleasing landscape can increase property values significantly. "Curb appeal" is considered to be one of the most important factors in selling a home.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

DT Removal

We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

16521 Turner Dr

Lansing, MI 48906

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Lewis Landscape Svc Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Lewis Landscape Svc Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Lewis Landscape Svc Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Ask Lewis Landscape Svc Inc for details on free project estimates.

No, Lewis Landscape Svc Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Lewis Landscape Svc Inc does not offer a senior discount.

No, Lewis Landscape Svc Inc does not offer warranties.

Lewis Landscape Svc Inc offers the following services: Landscaping, Brick Work, Decks, Fences, R.R. Tie Walls, Planter Boxes, Block & Bolder Retaining Walls, Plants, Soils, Mulch, Pruning & Haul Away, Large Tree Planting, Bush & Tree Removal