Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Home Wreckers Construction Co

Founded 2003 • With Angi since April 2009

3.8

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2145 Georgetown Blvd

Lansing, MI 48911

Description

Home Wreckers Construction Company is locally and opperated. We have been in business for 10 years and provide a wide range of remodeling services. We employee 9 skilled carpenters to handle all of your project needs.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Mike S.
1.0
07/15/2019
Was part of homeowner association "upgrade" to the roofs of all of the garages in our complex. Home Wreckers were hired by the HOA to rip off, adjust, and reinstall the roofing of our garage. They got the roof ripped off then, with very obvious weather warnings, did not cover the garage roof adequately so rain water poured into our garage (as well as the adjoining neighbor) and completely soaked and ruined a ton of stuff including a brand-new work bench that had just been assembled. Calls to the owner during this catastrophe were unanswered and unreturned, only the HOA made any effort to try and re-cover the roofs properly during the storm. Very sloppy and unprofessional work even knowing there were afternoon rain and thunderstorms every day of the week they were working.
Description of Work
Their name says it all
Category
remodeling
Brenda F.
5.0
05/19/2015
Work was done on time. Work done was excellent. Mike is sometimes hard to reach. His work is top notch. Have used him several times in the past.
Description of Work
Fixed foundation of house. Fixed wood & added stained wood to family room.
Category
remodeling
Rachel H.
4.0
08/25/2014
Overall Mike and his crew did a fabulous job with our kitchen. As is the case with many contractors, punctuality, communication and scheduling were less than desirable. However, they completed everything they said they would in the end, just not in the timeframe promised. That was our only complaint. The quality of the work is exceptional. We worked with a kitchen designer and they constructed exactly what we wanted in our kitchen. Mike also designed a custom bench/locker area for us at the entry from our garage. It was way too large when he first started assembling it and he went back to the drawing board for us to make it right. This caused a lot of delays but they weren't necessarily his fault. The bench turned out beautifully and is exactly what we wanted. The delays at the beginning of the job were due to him over committing and at the end were caused somewhat by us tweaking things and somewhat by his erratic schedule. In the end everything has been completed and we are beyond happy with the results. Our kitchen is absolutely gorgeous and is a show stopper. He fixed many things for us for no charge and also did a lot of little extras that many contractors would not have done for no charge like install an extra outlet, install a lighting fixture, etc. He also came back recently and fixed something we weren't quite happy with on our island, no charge. If you are flexible in your timing and can roll with the job taking longer than promised you will not be unhappy with this company. The quality, especially the trim carpentry, is exceptional.
Description of Work
Pretty involved high end kitchen remodel
Category
contractors, electrician, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
Andy P.
1.0
05/13/2014
We signed a contract with Mike to replace all of the windows in our home in the summer of 2012. We paid half upfront as a deposit. Well, it's two years later, we have no new windows and Mike still hasn't paid us back a sizeable chunk of our deposit. We understand that he's going through some hard times but he has made no effort over the last 6 months to pay us back. He has stopped returning our emails/calls and we're considering legal action. It's very sad because he and his crew do amazing work. But it's just not the same Home Wreckers we dealt with years ago when he redid our basement. DON'T HIRE THEM.
Description of Work
We've used Mike and Home Wreckers before and they've done amazing work (basement remodel, new roof, etc.). HOWEVER, Mike has gotten into some financial trouble, apparently, and has owed us a LOT of money for two years and it doesn't seem like he's ever going to pay us what he owes us. It's sad because he does great work but things just aren't looking good.
Category
remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, basement remodeling
Judy V.
2.0
04/06/2014
Good News: We have used them on a few jobs and except for some time issues have been very happy with the work. Bad News: We were going to have them replace 2 windows. Paid for them up front in April of 2013. Mike said he had to order them and they should be here in about 1 to 2 weeks. Have received a few texts from him saying that he has not forgotten us and would be getting back with us to arrange for installation. It is now 1 year later and we still don't have the windows. It makes me sad to submit this review because we really like his workers and when the work is done they do a great job. Will not use them again. I would like to report that we received a call from Mike this week and he came & returned all our money to us. I was very surprised as I thought we would never see him again. He said he wanted to make things right. 5/28/15
Description of Work
Was supposed to install 2 windows
Category
remodeling
Myrtle G.
1.0
11/12/2013
Badly. We had to file a complaint with the Attorney General and LARA's Corporation Division. We are seeking a lawyer to sue Mr. Carducci in an attempt to get at least some of our money back.
Description of Work
The provider took our money and did no work. Trying to get our money back. Didn't follow through on any of his promises.
Category
home builders
jeanne S.
5.0
09/28/2013
No complaints. We have used Home Wreckers for major projects around our home for the past 3 years and will continue to use their services.
Description of Work
Did outside structural repairs in preparation for having our house painted including patching cement and replacing gutters. There were several areas of concern that were dealt with to our complete satisfaction. This included extensive water damage to our porch.
Category
remodeling
Judy V.
5.0
11/05/2012
Still in progress. Very satisfied so far. All workers are courteous, and professional. When they leave at night everything is cleaned up and except for the work done you would never know they were here. The only problem was time. The project was supposed to be completed in Dec. was not completed until Feb.
Description of Work
Kitchen and Bathroom Remodel.
Category
remodeling
jeanne S.
5.0
01/20/2012
We had a kind of a unique problem, we live in an older home. The foundation in our garage had rotted. It could have fallen over. Most of the people that came over said that it could not be fixed, and said it would cost $13,000. Mike from Home Wreckers came over and said that he knew exactly what to do and that he had done it before. The others we called, were not licensed, and did not have insurance, and it was amazing to me how many people were shadey. This company came and did really good work, and his bid was approximately a third of the other bids. They showed up every day, worked all day, and got it done in a timely fashion. Mike saw the need for a drain that we needed because of a swimming pool really close to the garage, and it never even occurred to me. The guy is a genius. The men really work very hard. I really felt sorry for them. They were nice and fun. Now we have other work to do on our house and Mike is the one that is going to do it.
Description of Work
It couldn't have been better.
Category
remodeling, garage builders
Andy P.
5.0
04/25/2009
They did a fantastic job from start to finish. Always on time (called if they were going to be delayed), clean, courteous and professional. They have a great eye for detail and they do very high quality work. They are now our go-to guys for any sort of job around the house. Can't recommend them highly enough.
Description of Work
Mike and his crew have done numerous jobs for us, the largest being the complete rehabbing of our unfinished basement. His initial plan was above and beyond what we were expecting as was the finished product.
Category
remodeling, basement remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Rangel's Waterproofing & Construction

    Leaky Roof? Wet Basement? Rangel's Waterproofing Specializes in Dryer Safer Homes. Our Services We Provide Range From Roofing Systems, Basement Systems, & Emergency Escape Egress Systems. Our Estimates Our Free & Financing Is Available. Call Today to Find Out Why More Homeowners Are Counting On Rangel's For A Dryer Safer Home!  

    Angi Certified

    New Gutters

    Been in business since 1986, Licensed  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Daniel Green Painting

    We are a locally owned, and operated company that values honesty, and integrity, and stands behind our work. We specialize in both interior, and exterior residential painting and drywall projects. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work, as well as our commitment to outstanding results. We look forward to building long-term relationships with our clients, and guarantee your satisfaction!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    We handle everything from new home construction to handyman srevices. We specialize in second story additions, ceramic tile showers, and custom cabinetry. Pleae call use for your free in hime Estimate today!

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Home Wreckers Construction Co

    How is Home Wreckers Construction Co overall rated?

    Home Wreckers Construction Co is currently rated 3.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Home Wreckers Construction Co open?

    Home Wreckers Construction Co is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Home Wreckers Construction Co provide

    Home Wreckers Construction Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Home Wreckers Construction Co offer free estimates?

    Ask Home Wreckers Construction Co for details on free project estimates.

    Does Home Wreckers Construction Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Home Wreckers Construction Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Home Wreckers Construction Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Home Wreckers Construction Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Home Wreckers Construction Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, Home Wreckers Construction Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Home Wreckers Construction Co?

    No, Home Wreckers Construction Co does not offer warranties.

    What services does Home Wreckers Construction Co offer?

    Home Wreckers Construction Co offers the following services: We handle everything from new home construction to handyman srevices. We specialize in second story additions, ceramic tile showers, and custom cabinetry. Pleae call use for your free in hime Estimate today!

    Are there any services Home Wreckers Construction Co does not offer?

    Ask for details.