Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling

Founded 1975 • With Angi since August 2010

4.3

(47) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5700 Aurelius

Lansing, MI 48911

Description

G.L. Wilson is part of a group of five family-owned & operated companies that merged in 2009 to better serve residential and commercial customers throughout Michigan with exceptional HVAC, plumbing and electrical sales and service. With an emphasis on innovation and energy efficiency, We are poised

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Rina R.
1.0
02/03/2020
A gentleman showed up early in a truck with a different name. I had just bought a furnace from them but he wanted to charge me for the service. I declined saying some free cleanings were included with the installation. He did not know it was supposed to be free. He did not plug something back in. I was out of heat so I called another company out to look to look at it. They took care of the problem but I called GL Wilson with pictures to let them know this happened. I asked for another free cleaning for the problem but they have not returned my call regarding that. And this was months ago.
Description of Work
They service my HVAC system annually for two houses.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Wei Z.
5.0
07/09/2019
The service was pretty good. The person who came knows what he does, didn't sell me anything and did a good job.
Description of Work
Maintain my air conditioning and furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Sam T.
5.0
10/15/2018
The Technician, Jim, who had done a superb job cleaning and checking my AC in the late spring of 2018, did an excellent and conscientious job on the furnace, taking his time and thoroughly checking the whole system.
Description of Work
Furnace clean and check.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
JANE P.
5.0
11/28/2017
Adam was very polite and did a great job. I have used this company for about 4 years and will use them again.
Description of Work
Furnace cleaning for Winter.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Ignacio C.
1.0
04/17/2017
They install my furnace and air condition unit with three zone and since then has been the worst nightmare ever.
Description of Work
They install my furnace and air condition unit with three zone and since then has been the worst nightmare ever.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We explained to the customer that we DID NOT install her equipment. The previous company that installed her equipment went out of business in may of 2015. We purchased the phone number and when she called for service we explained to the customer that we would cover the parts cost if any but they would be responsible for labor costs. That was unacceptable to the customer and this "review" is the result of that process. Thank You Steven Bez owner
Sandra G.
5.0
10/19/2016
I've been using them for a long time. He may call you and sat it's time and I know it's time you know what I mean I know it's about six months so they're efficient in doing that. I think that they do a good job, and it doesn't matter who I get do you know what I mean. This one guy I have a lot, often but it doesn't matter because this time I had someone else and he was very good. So it's uniformed that's what I;m trying to say.
Description of Work
I use G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling for heating and a/c services.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Frederic E.
5.0
10/17/2016
It was fine. They took care of it right away. They did a good job.
Description of Work
I used G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling when we had some problems for them to come and fix them up.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Joydeep M.
4.0
09/08/2016
They were very knowledgeable and the job was really well done. Although while taking the furnace down to our basement, they damaged our wood floors. They were unable to replace those because we would have had to take out the whole flooring. Fortunately, it was not in the main foyer. It was in a nook where we have to go down to the basement so we are living with it. I will hire them again.
Description of Work
They did a furnace replacement.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Judy W.
5.0
10/25/2015
Service was provided efficiently and professionally.
Description of Work
Checked to ensure my furnace was working appropriately and safely.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Marvin D.
5.0
10/14/2015
.they still need to perform the service call.
Description of Work
After there was a mix up about contacting us , they made a good effort to contact us and set up a service call quickly.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jim F.
5.0
05/23/2015
I like them. They are good and on-time. They are just fine. Their price is average.
Description of Work
For heating and air, we used Pritchard Wilson Heating & Air Conditioning. I bought and they installed a new furnace and an air conditioner for us.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Dan H.
5.0
05/02/2015
quick response to initial cost estimate request; Gave several options not just highest cost option; Installation went smooth even in somewhat difficult basement location for unit; Lennox product has performed very good.
Description of Work
Install new Lennox furnace and whole house air conditioner
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Dave W.
5.0
04/02/2015
Everything went as well or better than planned the installers arrived on time, were professional, friendly and went above and beyond the call of duty by tearing out and removing an old incinerator that was there when we moved in 25 years ago. All of my questions were answered and I was educated about the care and maintenance of the new system. We have yet to use the AC, but the heating system has been flawless
Description of Work
Installed new HVAC system and water heater
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair
Erin G.
1.0
01/30/2015
Scheduled a time for the sales contact, Ryan, to come out and look over installing a gas furnace. He arrived as scheduled and sounded like they would be interested in doing the job. Indicated we would receive a quote the following week, which was not received. We have emailed twice and no response. Wish companies that are not interested in quoting would respond or provide a decline of the quote request.
Description of Work
Quote to install a gas furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Sam T.
5.0
01/11/2014
I've used this company for many years, including buying my last furnace from it. Good to work with; fairly priced. Expect to buy my next furnace from Pritchard/Wilson as well.
Description of Work
Furnace check for winter.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Marlee R.
4.0
01/25/2013
service tech did a through safety and mechanical check did a great job, friendly and provided helpful suggestion price we paid was a 'sale' price, advertised on TV only complaint was that the office staff was not able to give a specific time of the appointment, only between 12-5, however, they did call and update us on the expected arrival time. Tech arrived just before 5 pm, but this is a busy time for them.
Description of Work
Furnace inspection, in working condition, just a mechanical and safely check
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Terri G.
5.0
11/05/2012
I have a time-controlled thermostat that changes the temperature in the home depending on the hours set. For the pastfew weeks, the furnace wouldn't warm the house at the time designated. After determining it wasn't the thermostat, I mistakenly called a different company (thinking it was Wilson). That was 2 weeks ago, and they still haven't returned my call. This morning, I awoke to a house temperature of 52 degrees. I tried raising the temperature, but the problem wasn't with the thermostat - it was the furnace. I found the Pritchard Wilson phone number on the furnace and I called them before they were open and left a message on their phone. I didn't label it an emergency, yet I received a call just a few minutes after they opened. A repairman was at my door within a few hours and the problem was fixed. Unfortunately, the furnace stopped again several hours later - after normal work hours. I placed a call and, again, got a return call in less than 5 miinutes. The repairman walked me through a few minor steps that taught me how to read the code on my system. He quickly identified the area and was at my home within the hour! Not only did he explain what occurred, but gave me tips on how to maintain my 10 yr old furnace so that it lasts for a very long time. Both men were friendly, professional, and willing to help me become a more knowledgeable home owner. There was no extra charge for the 2nd call's services, and I have a 3 month warranty on the service. I was very impressed with the quick response and level of service. I will never make a mistake in who I call for service again!
Description of Work
Furnace did not heat the house.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
William S.
5.0
10/18/2012
They were confident, professional and I did not have a problem with them. They were not really available to do the whole thing so we did not go with them. Their price was a little higher but it was not outrageous. Initially they were there on a couple of appointments but when we changed the scope of work a little bit, they called us back and cancelled out.
Description of Work
GL Wilson Heating and Air Conditioning did an estimate for installation of Furnace and air conditioning system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Donald I.
5.0
08/23/2012
The service technician came when he said he would come, and performed his work within an hour or so - entirely satisfactory in my opinion
Description of Work
Annual maintenance on furnace and AC
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Luke R.
5.0
10/17/2011
They were excellent and had the best price for the type of furnace we got. They were very efficient and installed the furnace in one day. This company did a very nice job and I will use them again in the future.
Description of Work
I used G L Wilson Heating & Air Conditioning to install a new furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Marsu M.
3.0
09/20/2011
The area manager - Chris - was responsive and made inquiries about setting up appointments, explained information and was always available if we had questions. He provided good customer service and made sure that we were satisfied and were informed. The installation went well. There were a couple of glitches that needed to be fixed but they were all fixed in a timely manner. They arrived on time a majority of the time. The sales team was a little different. I was disappointed with my interaction with them. It was difficult to get in touch with them, it was hard to get a call back and I had to repeatedly call and leave messages to get a return call. I asked for a list of references and it took awhile for Wilson Heating and Cooling to provide them. When we tried to get information from the sales rep in order to get a rebate from the gas company, it took several weeks to hear back from him. I have a warranty so they will return to my home to service my system but I would hesitate to recommend them.
Description of Work
Wilson Heating & Cooling installed my heating and cooling system in my home. They returned when the ground thawed to finish some outside work.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Ellen H.
5.0
05/25/2011
Each time I have used this company I have been very pleased with all aspects of the job and the subsequent service. This last project was done in a 100 year-old house and they encountered many unforeseen challenges But they went above and beyond what their contract required to do a great job...All members of their team were exceptionally friendly, helpful, energetic and professional. The prices they have quoted have always been extremely competitive.
Description of Work
I have used this company three times....for AC in 1997, an energy efficient furnace in 2007 and in 2011 they installed an energy efficient furnace, air conditioning and a high-efficiency water heater. (I have multiple properties.)
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair
Harry M.
2.0
07/29/2010
I used them fairly regularly until 2007, when a technician showed up in the morning with a really bad attitude & reeking of alcohol. He checked the furnace, but not the a/c, even though i asked him to. I refuse to use them again.
Description of Work
Annual furnace & a/c check.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Diane B.
5.0
04/15/2010
It went very well. They did an excellent job. People were friendly, they showed up on time, and they did the work very well. I was pleased.
Description of Work
They put a new furnace and air conditioner in.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
RUTH U.
5.0
10/12/2009
The person who came to the furnace check was, prompt, polite, and courteous. He appears to have done a good job.
Description of Work
They performed a furnace check for me. I have been using them for some time.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    WireWorks Inc

    For faster service please contact the office directly at 517-333-9473 or via email at scheduling@wireworksinc.com. Office hours are 8:30a-4:30p, after 5p appointments available based on schedule availability. Install all electrical residential, commercial or industrial including build outs, renovation, retrofitting or trouble shooting, any electrical include phone, data, TV, power quality, heated driveways roofs and floors, sub-metering, motor controls, repair storm damage and electrical protection from arcing & ground faults. We also install Sense, the home monitoring system to track energy usage right on your smart phone.  

    Angi Certified

    Dick's Appliance Service

    We Work in a 20 Mile Radius from Lansing's Eastside. We do not service foreign brands such as Samsung, Bosch, etc. We Work on Most Makes & Models, Specializing in Kenmore, Maytag, Whirlpool, GE & Frigidaire. Let Us Know You Found Us Online for an Additional Discount. For Your Convenience We Can Service Your Needs After 5 PM M-F & Saturdays by Appointment. Operational Hours: Monday Through Friday - 9:00 AM-5:00 PM  

    Angi Certified

    Home Town Heating & Air Conditioning

    Official Carrier dealer, offering full line of industry leading heating, cooling, and indoor air quality products and services including duct cleaning, 24 hour emergency service, free sales estimates and great customer service.  

    Angi Certified

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heating, Air Conditioning, Water Heaters, and Maintenance.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling

    How is G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling overall rated?

    G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling open?

    G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling provide

    G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling offer free estimates?

    Ask G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling for details on free project estimates.

    Does G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling offer a senior discount?

    No, G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling?

    Yes, G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling offers warranties.

    What services does G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling offer?

    G.L. Wilson Heating and Cooling offers the following services: Heating, Air Conditioning, Water Heaters, and Maintenance.