Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Home Improvements

Founded 1994 • With Angi since November 2011

4.7

(33) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2930 Belle Chase Blvd

Kalamazoo, MI 49009

Description

I am a Licensed builder and generally do all the work myself but have sub-contractors that have been working with me for several years to help. My proposals indicate that a deposit is required to schedule job and most large jobs only require 1/3 down. I....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/19/2016


Sharon P.

Great. They came on Saturday after talking to them on Monday. Quick and efficient.

Description of Work
Built new steps

Category decks

5.0

07/07/2015


gloria E.

Tim is great. Have hired him for multiple projects. This fall will have him remodel my kitchen and build me a fireplace mantle. He has been very helpful in helping us get a house ready to sell. He works quickly and is quite professional

Description of Work
Fixed ceiling in kitchen

Category handyman service

5.0

06/08/2015


Lonnie C.

Angie's list solicited input for this business. We are DIY-ers, but when we need help, we will definitely call Home Improvements. Tim did not solicit this review.

Description of Work
Tim Shaver is my former neighbor. We have not needed his services, but I wanted to post something about him personally, as an objective reviewer. His own home and lawn were always kept beautifully. He and his family cared for their elderly neighbor, looking in on her, spending time with her, and keeping her son posted on how she was doing. Tim was more than gracious to us when our dog bit him (we later found that the dog was poorly bred, and had to be put down). He is a hard-working man of integrity and character. Should we ever have need for what he does, he will be the first person we call.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member name] for the kind words, most people would not go out of there way to say such nice things. I thank God I have not changed my ways, Feel free to look at what I have been up to on my business Facebook:Home Improvements By Tim Shaver. Say hi To [Member name] and kids.
5.0

04/20/2015


Don D.

He took the screens that we wanted fix away with him to get it refixed and he said he would call us back. This was on a Thursday and he said he would call us on the following Monday to set up a date. He called and said because he is 50 miles away he could not get to us for another week and that was ok. The following Monday he was here with the screens and installed them which I did not expect him to do. It was great work and I got some other stuff I want him to do in a couple of weeks. He is terrific and I would use him for anything including redoing my entire kitchen. I thought the price was a little high but considering the quality I would not argue.

Description of Work
I use Home Improvements. I had him come over to put a new door lock on an outside screen door which had it have a lock on it because it is the only door between my disabled wife and the outside backyard. He brought over 2 different door locks because he wasn’t sure which one to fix. One of them fixes and he didn’t charge us for the second one.

Category handyman service, screen repair, doors

5.0

10/25/2014


gloria E.

He is very professional and Knowledgeable. Would hire him in a heartbeat. As a matter of fact may have him redo my kitchen.

Description of Work
repaired kitchen ceiling. Did a good job

Category handyman service

5.0

09/05/2014


Mary P.

The team came on time and did all of the projects on my list, including taking the extra effort to fix issues with my screen doors that I hadn't included. Only issue was the amount of time after buying service that we actually got it done (April-September).

Description of Work
install exhaust fan, some electrical work, miscellaneous projects.

Category electrician, handyman service, doors

2.0

07/21/2014


Ellen P.

Tim does a good job and he is overall a pleasant fellow, but I was disappointed with the overall value. I purchased the deal last fall because I had a long list of projects: faucet that needed replacing, a shower that needed new tile, kitchen counters replaced. Unfortunately these were not on the list of projects Tim could work on. Tim did come and replace a light fixture that I wanted done before Thanksgiving, but I needed to pay separately for this because he didn't have time in his schedule for a day of work. Tim showed me a list of projects he does and it included roofing and plastering. So in February I contacted him about fixing a roof leak and plaster repair in the garage once the weather permitted the repairs. When spring arrived he informed me he wouldn't do the roof repair but did recommend a good roofer who fixed my leak in May for a reasonable charge.. Last week Tim came and fixed the plaster which required two trips in one day, the first one took less than an hour and the second one took less than 30 minutes. So although the work was OK, I am not convinced it was worth $299. So my advice for any such Angie's List deals, look at what services are provided by the handyman service before purchasing.

Description of Work
Repaired plaster damage in our garage, approximately 1 square yard.

Category electrician, handyman service

Service Provider Response

[removed member name], was very pleasant to work for but I agree with her on the value of this job, it is hard for a homeowner to know what all can be done within the Big Deal value, if they do not have a list of project to do that day or my schedule is booked past expiration date timing can be a issue. I received top grades on my personal/work so i am surprised she would not at least recommend me to neighbors, they don't have to buy the big deal. It is too bad I received a overall bad grade based on a deal/fine print that I have no control over.
5.0

05/04/2014


gloria E.

He was really great. Could not say enough good things about him. We are trying to fix a parents house for sale. He gave us tips. He cleaned up.. He even did work on his day off to help us out. The new fixtures look great. He was able to deal with the challenges a 90 year old house had to offer. THE FIXTURES LOOK GREAT. HAVING HIM DO MORE WORK FOR US

Description of Work
Changed out 4 fixtures a little bit of plaster work.. Work was done well. He was super nice. Have made arrangements for him to new more work for us.. He was willing to work with our schedule and was really great

Category handyman service, plastering

4.0

04/06/2014


Sharon N.

I originally purchased the deal to install a doggie door in my basement door but needed additional work done also. Tim contacted me and we discussed the doggie door and since he couldn't fit in the whole days work for quite a while and I needed the doggie door within 2 weeks, he told me he could fit me in for the doggie door but he would have to put me on his waiting list. So here we go, right off the bat I had to pay for the doggie door separately because he had no time in his schedule for some time to fulfill a whole days work (got the $299 for a whole day) After you purchase it, you find out that it is only for 6 1/2 hours of work or 3 1/4 hours if 2 guys are working on it. When he came, he started the work but was having issues getting it all the way in. So he pulled the door back out after working on it for a half hour and brought it up to show me what the issue was. I asked him if he gave it all he had to push it in and he said he would try again. Seems he had no problem getting it in after that. So good he got it done, but con he wasted time taking it back out and putting it back in when he could have had me go down there to look at it. When he arrived, I asked if he would have time to put together an entertainment center I had just purchased and found that it was way over 100 lbs so I could not assemble it like I thought I could. He said yes but needed his helper. After installing the doggie door, he started getting all the parts arranged and completed it when his helper finally arrived. Tim did a good job so happy about that part of it. Then scheduled him to do the baseboard to use my deal for the whole days work. He arrived and set up the saw and got started and then his helper arrived and they completed the work. I was pleased with the work. Though Tim's work is good. I was a little put off by his comments about his pricing. He is a lot more expensive than other companies and he made some comments to defend his pricing and also talked about another client though he didn't name the person, of course. Tim does a good job and he is overall a pleasant fellow, but I was disappointed with the overall value.

Description of Work
Installed baseboard in living room/dining room-and hall.

Category handyman service

5.0

03/13/2014


Pamela H.

This day went fairly well. Tim was very prompt and thurough.

Description of Work
Was helpful on various electrial work projects, Also led me to consider some other areas that needs work.

Category decks, handyman service, siding, home remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

03/01/2014


LYNNE W.

He was very patient. I bought the deal for outside work. He came to my house and showed me all of the projects that he could get done in the 6.5 hours. As I added a job to the list, I kept thinking that it was too much and he told me that I could add more. He got all of my jobs done in the time allotted and they all look beautiful. He even through in some light bulbs and a wax ring that doesn't seem to be on my bill but were replaced. The best part was that he purchased all of the items for me and did it way more efficiently than I ever could have. He was neat, timely and even played with my dogs. I would recommend Tim to anyone needing home repairs of any kind! He truly is a gem!

Description of Work
Put in an interior door and frame, hung curtain rod, hung blinds, fixed toilet, fixed corner crack in bedroom, gave me estimates and ideas on how to repair other projects

Category contractors, drywall, handyman service, doors

5.0

01/15/2014


LYNNE W.

We are still trying to figure out dates that he is available and jobs that are covered for the price of the deal.

Description of Work
I purchased a BigDeal from Home Improvements By Tim Shaver.

Category remodeling

5.0

12/14/2013


Madelyn P.

I had a very long "to-do" list of improvements and repairs. I was not sure if the list could be completed in the time allotted. Not only were all of the repairs completed, Tim actually went above and beyond on other repairs that I had not noticed. I would highly recommend Tim Shaver.

Description of Work
.

Category handyman service

5.0

11/16/2013


Ron C.

I found him off Angie's List. I saw he had Saturday hours and I called him. I saw some fascia had fallen off my house for some reason. We were supposed to get a big storm tonight and tomorrow so I wanted someone to come and fix it. Within a couple of hours of leaving a message for him, he came over and repaired it. He was very professional and fast. The fact it was a Saturday and he came over between doing his own house work and a wedding to do this speaks volumes for me. Highly recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
Emergency roofing/siding repair

Category siding

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words [Member Name Removed], look forward to working with you in the future.
4.0

11/08/2013


Marialice D.

Tim is very good, professional and can handle all kinds of jobs. Ceilings look fabulous as well as the baseboard trim. He picked up the drywall sheets, arrived on time and even helped do a few other small items like replace a smoke detector on a very high wall.

Description of Work
Tim repaired some ceiling drywall and replaced baseboard trim in many rooms.

Category handyman service, remodeling

5.0

09/30/2013


keith H.

I'm satisfied with the work that was done. The cost was what was quoted; so, I cannot complain. I expect I could have gotten it done a bit cheaper but there are a number of other factors to consider when one is having specialized work performed that are important, and Tim fulfilled those needs. He impressed me as a person who knows his trade and how to get the work done efficiently and effectively--can be trusted to do things the right way. Reliable. Can be counted on to do what he says he will do.

Description of Work
Corrected exterior to interior water leak problem, resulting from improper draining from roof and gutter to base of corner of house. Involved removing water damaged sill plate, 2x4 framing and replacing & sealing area as well as installing flashing, sealing, replacing shingles to the roof area above.

Category handyman service

5.0

09/26/2013


Jennifer H.

Very well. Tim is punctual, professional, neat and clean. He helped us out a week later, in the evening, on very short notice when we needed him to repair a door as an emergency. We have hired him to replace 3 more exterior doors and to paint the exterior of our house and barn. He is not a "professional" painter, but I am confident that will will probably do a better job than the painters we have used in the past. He is the only one that agreed with me that our cedar sided house (that does not have paint cracking or peeling) did not need to be power washed. We have had the siding cleaned prior to him painting. He is respectful of our property and that means a lot when we hire someone to do work at our house.

Description of Work
I bought The Deal of the Day to have 4 doors ( I purchased) installed (3 storms and 1 exterior). Tim was upfront that he could install 3 doors in one day and could come back to do the 4th. He was able to come back the next morning and installed 4th door and adjusted another exterior door.

Category handyman service

5.0

09/06/2013


Ray S.

very well, professional and thorough

Description of Work
Repaired ceiling and molding

Category handyman service

5.0

09/05/2013


Meredith W.

Tim was prompt, organized, and very efficient. Great communication skills, solid technical skills - would definitely used again.

Description of Work
3 indoor doors installed, 2 sliding glass door locks fixed, 1 drywall repair, 1 tub drain swap

Category handyman service

1.0

08/19/2013


patricia H.

that's it in a nutshell. a wholw house inspection is just that. they inspect it from top to bottom and are to bring attention to everything wrong with the home so you know where to start. he told me nothing. .l

Description of Work
walked around the house and yard taking pictures on his ipad. told me he comes out and does a whole house inspection thus the charge of 175.00. I have a 83 doubwide home on the st. joe river..so I said when your done with this inspection I will know whats broke and needs to be fixed to get everything going before remodeling. toilets would not fill with water and a line to sink not getting water. he was 2hrs late and argued the fact he would be there after his family get together I remember the conversation differently 5:00 p.m anyway he refused to crawl in crawl space said that was a plumbers job. whole house inspection is and should be the whole house not just parts so he said one thing and did another. I had to hire another person to crawl under there and he found all of the trouble which is getting repaired. what tim did was take a check for175.00 that wasn't earned. no paperwork did I see just a get back with you im swamped with estimates so it will b awhile. well still haven't heard from him. ive stopped payment on the check. in my opinion hes a con. should have not called someone with only 2 reviews.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

I showed up at the time I had told (removed member name) with several un- answered calls to her as I drove there, when I showed up no one was there but I still proceeded to inspect home . After 30 min. (removed member name) and her daughter showed very sorry they were not there to meet me. I continued to look over the modular home even going up on roof, with some plumbing issues that I told them a licensed plumber would be needed, crawling under the home was not needed as I told them they already need a plumber. As I continued to look over home they mentioned to me that they were having trouble with there riding lawnmower and asked if I could look at it. I went to garage and started to get the tire back on and told them what they needed to do, they were very thankful. I came up with and suggested many improvements from flooring styles, kitchen remodel, to painting the paneling that was through out the outdated modular home. after spending 3 hours there I told them it would take two weeks to put the report together with pictures and pricing, they did not tell me that this was not going to work for them they were just ready to get started. I new there was something wrong with this when 6 days later they stopped payment on my check of $175.00 so I called her right away, of course no answer. I have seen this happen before were I give all my great ideas and they don't hire you for the job. If she had any problems with me why would she be so nice and grateful and write me the check right then, she new what she was doing by canceling the check and not calling me. She had no intentions of paying me it was a out of state bank that I could not go to and cash only at my bank. I am not a licensed home inspector and do not do Radon testing etc. and do not charge $250 plus she new who I was. (removed member name) is my 11th review so she had all the positive review before to look at.
5.0

08/09/2013


Nelson H.

I contacted Tim about work on the roof a a rental house I own. He went onto the roof and examined the roof. He found no problem with the roof but the chimney has issues. He does not do chimneys which is O.K. He only charged me $45.00 to do the examination and I felt that was fair. Being satisfied with that project, I asked him if he could repair an electrical outlet on another rental I own. He said he would and he did. The renter tells me he did a "very good job" and I agree.

Description of Work
Repaired a broken electrical outlet and installed an additional outlet.

Category electrician, handyman service

5.0

07/06/2013


Christine D.

Tim did a great job. He was very easy to work with and provided us with several ideas that improved the project. He was on time and on budget. Throughout the project he would explain the details of the work to ensure we were happy with the results. The work included framing walls, wiring, drywall, recessed lighting, doors and trim work. Tim was willing to let us do some of the work to keep the cost down which was great. I am sure we will be using him for our next project.

Description of Work
Built a 12 x 15 rec room in our unfinished basement.

Category handyman service, basement remodeling

5.0

02/14/2013


Dalynne A.

It went really well. He showed up on time and was very professional. We went over our list of items and we talked about dates they needed to be completed. He then emailed a quote and the prices were reasonable. He has a $75 per visit minimum. He was great with communication and I would recommend him as a handyman.

Description of Work
Tim did several small, odd jobs, mostly electrical like fixing the light in a ceiling fan, installing a vanity light and adding an additional light switch in our basement. He also installed a shower door and fixed the base of a broken recliner. He seemed willing to take on any job we asked. He even fixed the stopper in our sink that he noticed was broken without being asked and at no charge.

Category handyman service

5.0

12/20/2012


Lee W.

Tim was very professional in every way came on time for the estimate with Eric both knew their product and Eric and his partener came on time to install the product on time I would highly recomend Tim and his crew. A++++++++++++++++

Description of Work
insulation installed in home

Category handyman service, home remodeling

5.0

10/31/2012


LUCIANO D.

Tim was wonderful. His craftsmanship is outstanding.

Description of Work
Windows relaced. Skylite removed.

Category handyman service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Hands On Deck Painting and More

    Hello ladies and gentlemen, my name is Lynese Davenport. I am an expert in painting, carpentry, flooring, and custom counter tops. I have been doing these jobs for 3yrs, so any work you have for me, I am guaranteed to get it done. So when you have time, we should get to know eachother  

    Ledbetter Construction

    Ledbetter Construction specializes in nearly every need a home owner could run in to. We aim to provide quality service in a timely manner. With over 40 years of experience we are equipped to take care of your home! Our mission is to improve the community that we live in. Seeing our neighbor’s lives impacted by the services we offer is why we do what we do. The quality of our work gives a sterling reputation for you to trust and rely on. Working with you is a great honor and provides an opportunity for us to put our words in to action.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Searles Painting

    Searles Painting is family-owned and operated, we're committed to making your home painting experience easy and low-stress with our unique combination of personalized service, quality work, and an efficient process. As an Owner Operated company, I take pride in all of my work and I guarantee my customers satisfaction. Please call us or click for an estimate today!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Home improvements also additions, decks, basements, kitchen and bath, siding, screened-in porches, custom bars and fireplaces. I am very successful in repairs and maintenance in residential homes & commercial offices.

    Services Not Offered

    HVAC, concreate & brickwork.Majior plumbing

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Home Improvements

    How is Home Improvements overall rated?

    Home Improvements is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Home Improvements open?

    Home Improvements is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 10:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 10:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 10:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 10:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 10:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    What payment options does Home Improvements provide

    Home Improvements accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Home Improvements offer free estimates?

    No, Home Improvements does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Home Improvements offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Home Improvements does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Home Improvements offer a senior discount?

    No, Home Improvements does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Home Improvements offer emergency services?

    Yes, Home Improvements offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Home Improvements?

    Yes, Home Improvements offers warranties.

    What services does Home Improvements offer?

    Home Improvements offers the following services: Home improvements also additions, decks, basements, kitchen and bath, siding, screened-in porches, custom bars and fireplaces. I am very successful in repairs and maintenance in residential homes & commercial offices.

    Are there any services Home Improvements does not offer?

    HVAC, concreate & brickwork.Majior plumbing