Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Blackberry Window & Door Systems

Founded 1980 • With Angi since October 2009

4.6

(56) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6477 W KL Ave

Kalamazoo, MI 49009

Description

BlackBerry has been improving homes in Kalamazoo, Grand Rapids, Battle Creek, St. Joseph and all of West Michigan for 34 years, with over 19,250 satisfied customers since 1980. We strive for excellence with every customer, providing the best quality home improvements and installation with Replacement Windows, Patio Doors, Entry Doors, Vinyl Siding, Decking, Roofing, Gutters, and Sunrooms. Additional DBA - Blackberry Systems Inc. Additional phone - (269) 962-7288. Award winning....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/17/2020


Rebecca W.

Well I really was trying to not do this but I really feel this has to be said. First off we were told the crew to put up our siding would only take two weeks and it ended up taking two months! The workers were playing their music REALLY loud everyday. They left half drank Pepsi or Coke bottles in the yard when they left for the night. They left nails everywhere and never cleaned them up. We ended up cleaning up most of them. Also one of the crew members smoked on our property constantly. They re-wired our electrical wrong from an outside outlet. How do we know? My husband looked at it and knew it wasn’t right and called Blackberry and threatened to call the builders association if something wasn’t done. They sided over both doorbell wires and only uncovered one so we could have at least one doorbell. Sliced one of our brand new screens on our brand new windows, never let us know . BlackBerry did bring out an electrician that told us our house could have burnt down due to the faulty wiring. We found numerous issues that was due to poor workmanship. They rewired the air conditioner wrong per the electrician. They broke the conduit on the electrical box to our pool pump. Pieces of siding that was too short , left holes in the siding by the pool pump. Didn’t nail trim around garage door on one side so it sticks out further than the other. Gutters leaked everywhere so they had to come back and fix that. Now our siding is buckling , which we kinda knew was gonna happen and informed BlackBerry while they were still putting the siding up but nothing was done. Now we have distasteful buckling of the siding that needs to be fixed. Doug has been helpful at times. There is so much more wrong I don’t know what else to say. I’m very disappointed and wouldn’t send my worst enemy to them . Oh and they did let us know they fired the crew that sided our house . Well good for other people but too bad for us and the sloppy workmanship we have to put up with . When you pay this much money you expect good results.

Description of Work
Replacing siding and gutters

Category contractors, decks, siding

5.0

12/03/2018


Chris H.

Over the past 20+ years we have contracted with Blackberry Systems for windows, doors, roofing and siding. Our most recent work with Blackberry was completed in November, 2018. Quality of materials, installation skills, project management, customer relations and honoring of warranties are all reasons why we have returned to Blackberry Systems time after time for new projects. Over the years, they have stood out in all of these areas. A few years ago there was a dip in project management and customer focus, but these have been more than remedied recently to the point where I can currently recommend them unconditionally. They take on varied projects, including two large custom triangular windows which were ordered and installed to our complete satisfaction. Their installers are professional, courteous and clean up very well after themselves. Their current project manager is at the absolute top of his game, keeping us appraised of progress and timing while making sure that work is done to exact specifications. In the couple of occasions where we had issues with installation, Blackberry spared no effort in making sure that these were fixed and that they wouldn't arise again. In another case the seal on our double-pane slider failed after 7 years, and this door was replaced under their lifetime warranty at no cost to us. We continue to enjoy our windows, doors, roof and siding years (and in some cases decades) after they were installed. For quality workmanship and customer service it would be very hard to beat what we have found with Blackberry Systems over many years.

Description of Work
Complete window and door replacement for 1 house, complete window replacement for 2nd house, complete window and door installation for new construction of 3rd house, roof repair on one house, siding replacement on one house

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your comments, we truly appreciate you honest opinions of our work and processes. Thank you for your business!

4.0

08/28/2017


Tim W.

We had siding done and are going to have a roof put on. They were a little tardy on the siding but they did a super job. The work was excellent, the house looks great but it was so slow. The quality of their work is super, it's excellent. We've had them do a four season porch and all of our windows over the past year and their work has always been very good. This summer was kind of an issue because they've had trouble keeping staff but I would recommend them.

Description of Work
Siding install

Category siding

5.0

07/05/2017


Nova S.

They are a local company. They've been here 20+ years. They do windows and roofs.

Description of Work
I had some roofing done.

Category roofing

5.0

03/20/2017


Daniel M.

Everything went great! The doors did take a little longer than expected to install, but that was due to weather so the company can't be blamed for that. They were very helpful, friendly, punctual, and made sure I was getting the product that I wanted, not the one that they wanted to sell. My windows have made a massive difference in the heat retention in my home, and the doors look amazing (it's crazy how a slider door that actually opens changes your life haha). If I have any further projects I will definitely look to Blackberry to help me with them! Pricing was pretty reasonable too! Windows were roughly $8 ,000, and doors were $5,000. The doors were a bit more than I expected, but they do custom painting, and the installation was worth it and my new sliding glass door is just amazing. They arrive on time (or call otherwise), are friendly and do their work with out making you feel awkward about being there (you don't actually have to stay there if you don't want, they're trustworthy), and they clean up these mess completely so you don't have too.

Description of Work
At first all the windows in the house, then I liked the job so much I ordered all new entry doors.

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank for your business, we appreciate your comments.

1.0

01/04/2017


Thomas L K.

I would give them a very bad grade because of that change in the estimate price. You know its funny because I ended up paying Lyster about the same amount. I just couldn't trust them. You know to have somebody make such a huge change even after they have a signed contract made me doubt whether or not I would get quality work further on down the line with that project. I wondered what else is going to change so I just run away from them because of that. I mean I really dont have experience I mean, they may have done a fine job and I paid about the same amount with Lyster, Its just that I couldn't trust them, you know. They were very response. They came right out. It seems to me even after they signed the contract. Even if they considered it an error for something. They should have stuck by it. They offered a service. I gave them the money and then they changed it. That is not very professional.

Description of Work
They were part of the bidding process. (We got an estimate from them). We actually signed a contract with them for the job and because they have essentially the some quality, everything about the job was the same. The price was much lower. However, a few days after I signed the contract the guy calls up and says they can't to it to that price and it was much higher. So I canceled the contract right then and there. I mean I couldn't trust there integrity with such a huge change in the price. (They were supposed to do siding as well) I didn't have to pay anything though. There was no charge for there estimate.

Category siding

5.0

04/20/2015


Don D.

Their installer came and spends about 2 hours with us matching the color of the trim. When they actually delivered it was the same color. The are more expensive because they do triple paint rather than double paint. They have higher quality but they tell you upfront that they are not the lowest. We had three cats and a dog and they guys made sure that they did not go outside through the big hole they were working on.

Description of Work
We use Blackberry and they were terrific. They did my windows. It was three windows in our living room.

Category replacement windows

5.0

01/24/2015


ROBERT N.

I had to wait 9 weeks from the time I ordered the windows till when they installed them. I thought this was quite a long time, but I understand this included the time to get the windows from the the manufacturer. I was totally pleased with every other part of the install. They were on time, the windows were exactly what I ordered, the installers were very professional and did a fantastic job. They cleaned up everything when done, I am totally happy with this company and will use them again.

Description of Work
Installed 18 new windows in my home. 14 on main floor and 4 in basement.

Category replacement windows

4.0

01/21/2015


Thomas R.

Sales person was professional but once we had comitted to the project was rather unavailable. Experienced delays in getting samples and follow-up contact. Project manager was hard to contact, left VM messages unreturned several times. Project was originally given a 6-8 week schedule from contract signing. Project wasn't initiated until 12 weeks after signing, making coordination with other contractor difficult. Project took 3 weeks to finish because of underestimated materials and incomplete supplies.

Description of Work
Replaced siding soffitt fascia and gutters

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows

5.0

10/21/2014


Karen M.

Great. They are prompt, efficient, good quality and good clean up.

Description of Work
Windows, door, patio door.

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive rating and response to our service too you. We very much appreciate your business and kind word.

5.0

09/07/2014


Robert A.

I did most of my own installation, feeling I could take my time and insure things were sealed well. Very satisfied with windows, much warmer (triple pane glass). Had energy audit done after first half of windows installed and they were quite impressed, said as good as anything they had seen. Had a few small issues which they took care of promptly and professionally. I would recommend the Alside windows

Description of Work
Furnished windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

09/05/2014


Don D.

They are the ones that did our windows and they did absolutely a fantastic job. They did a perfect job. They did a beautiful job. Now, I can open the windows first time in 20 years. I'm so happy. They are a little more expensive than other people, but they're not any more expensive than anybody else.

Description of Work
Blackberry Remodeling did windows. We have three antique windows that had to go because they stuck the wind open and they had to make custom windows for us.

Category replacement windows

5.0

07/26/2014


Carolyn L.

The estimate was very professional detailed and complete.

Description of Work
They gave me an estimate.

Category replacement windows

3.0

07/07/2014


ERIN L.

initially (1st phase) great customer service and response, when we brought them back for the remainder of the windows the following year we had installation problems where we had to have them back 3 times to get it right. The salesman never followed up to see how/if we were satisfied. Overall this left a poor taste in our mouths regarding this service provider. I would not recommend them.

Description of Work
Replacement windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Occasionally a manufacturer defect is discovered during the installation. We installed the new components under warranty when they were received from the factory. We regret this took longer than the standard 2 weeks and were not aware of the customer's unhappiness. Our full time service department handles all service and inspections by salespeople and are typically not necessary. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused to our customer. We, as a company in whole, strive for 100% customer satisfaction on every project!

5.0

05/27/2014


PRUDENCE T.

They were very professional. A mistake had been made on the order but Blackberry covered some of the additional costs. Apparently, due to the type of door I ordered, there were added costs for certain parts but I did not have to pay for the whole amount because it was a mistake on their end. The door is wonderful. No problems and it has been 2 years. The door has reduced my energy costs in the winter, works great, and looks beautiful.

Description of Work
Sold me a garden door.

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/22/2014


Joseph S.

They're wonderful and excellent. They're very straight forward, their price was very good. They're punctual. They did an excellent work and cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
I used the services of Blackberry Window & Door Systems. We got a titanium window and they just installed our garage roof this week.

Category roofing, replacement windows

5.0

04/25/2014


Gene M.

Blackberry Window & Door Systems are good. Their window crew came out. One had been with the company 22 years and the younger guy had been with him 12. The roofers that came out, both had at least 15 years with the company. They don’t put a lot of extra people on but they have several long term crews. They are really very careful. We installed the windows along with an engineer and I saw how they put the window in and install them. They also recommended a company to do my thermal insulations on my walls. A lot of other guys will put the new roof over the old roof. These guys will not do that. They’ll say if you want them to do the work they take the old roof off. They’ll charge you but it’s a fair charge. Then they put down a modern and high-tech interface sealers over the roof wall, check all the roofing and they replace a couple of panels so they really go over it. They also crawled into the upper space and they made sure that they allow the house to breathe and ease. They are very thorough in their examination and follow up.

Description of Work
I use Blackberry Window & Door Systems for my door. They also installed all my windows and completely re-roof the house.

Category roofing, replacement windows

5.0

04/07/2014


Lucienne L.

They were great: they came when they said they would they did not try to upsell me they came in on budget to the penny installers were very professional and cleaned up after themselves its been 4 or 5 months and I LOVE my windows! especially after this winter.

Description of Work
Replaced all my windows with new ones!

Category replacement windows

4.0

03/06/2014


Tamera L.

The salesman was very helpful, informative, and prompt. Just as we were ready to sign the contract, Blackberry ran a sale that was very well advertised. As our installation date approached, we received a letter that stated our original date may need to be pushed back due to high sales volume. After speaking with the project scheduler, we were accommodated within our original installation timeframe. There were some details of the project, like applying for a permit in a timely manner and the proper structural bracing for the new door, that I feel I had to be on top of or it would not have happened to my satisfaction. In the end, the work was done correctly and to Blackberry's credit they returned to replace a sash on one of the windows because it had been damaged in transit. I hadn't even noticed the problem with the sash. The issues I had were, I believe, a reflection of the success of their fall sale and a heavy work load for their staff.

Description of Work
Removed a single door and installed a sliding glass door, removed an old window awning, repaired/replaced siding pieces, and replaced two windows.

Category replacement windows

4.0

02/21/2014


Jo W.

Sales and service folks are nice and professional in their work. However, the door was not as "advertised" by salesman nor was installation. The screen was supposed to be able to be on top or bottom; however, the installer didn't know how to adjust it to be on top and told me "owners usually can figure it out." I could not and needed someone to come back to help with that and adjust overall fit so door closed correctly. The "fix" required drilling part of the door window frame as the product was not actually supposed to be adjusted as I was told. That work was done promptly and professionally, once they got to my house but it took three tries to actually get the service person there. I know this company has a very good reputation, and I would use it again as I believe this particular incident was not the norm. However, I will be much less trusting and a lot more cautious next time.

Description of Work
Provided and installed back storm door

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

01/20/2014


Pamela M.

The salesperson was professional and explained everything clearly and made perfect measurements. It was complicated.. The windows were many different sizes and different color on outside than inside. All went smoothly. The folks who installed were absolutely amazing. They worked long hours to complete and our home was cleaner when they left then when they arrived. We are delighted with how they turned out. My only disappointment was that there was no response to our request to use the discount I found on Angie's list (10% off) but did not find until after we'd accepted the quote. There was also some delayed responses from the project manager but nothing that inconvenienced us. This is the only reason I gave pricing and quality a B so overall I would still rate as an A or A- We are very, very happy with our windows! I wanted to put in a photo but couldn't figure out how to insert. Maybe next review I'll have that mastered.

Description of Work
Installed 33 windows and surrounding trim

Category replacement windows

4.0

09/20/2013


Jeffrey J.

I took several estimates and Blackberry came with the best price and waranties. They were on time to the job and took care of my property as they did their work. It was done professionally and looks great. Have since got estimates from them for a deck and some windows.

Description of Work
Put a new roof on

Category roofing

5.0

08/27/2013


Maxine & Theron M.

It took 2 days. We loved their employees. They were not contracted in. When they were done installing the windows, They vaccumed every thing up. They washed all the window inside and out. We ordered 3 full screens later. When they came to install the screens. they were smaller than they should be. The person installing the screens told my husband they were not the right size. (He went ahead and installed the screens with spacers so we could use them.) He measured the windows and is ordering new screens again for us. (He told us we could keep the wrong size ones too) We had talked to 3 other vendors for windows. When we saw Blackberry's triple pane windows we loved them. We paid a little more but we did get an excellent quaiity window.

Description of Work
replaced all of our windows except one. (We replaced picture window a few years ago by someone else!

Category replacement windows

5.0

07/17/2013


larry V.

Very well and we are very happy about the results.

Description of Work
New windows, new siding and new deck

Category decks, siding, replacement windows

5.0

07/08/2013


Jacob B.

Very impressed with their service from the beginning. Our salesman, Scott, was laid back, knowledgeable, and most importantly did not attempt to over-sell us. He even recommended we scale back on some of the add-ons because they were not necessary given the condition of the home. Installation went very smooth and quick. The crew contacted me the previous day to request to come out early to start work given the forecasted weather conditions. They finished all 17 windows in half a day, and cleaned up very well. Overall, very satisfied. Price was great, service was great, so far windows are working out very well.

Description of Work
Window replacement for the entire house, 17 double hung tilt in windows, double pane.

Category replacement windows

    Other local Pros in your area

    OAX Construction

    Local to Kalamazoo, Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Bay to Bay Building Concepts

    We are 4th generation Roofing & Exterior Experts. We are GAF MasterElite Roofing Contractors and a Mastic Preferred Siding Contractor. Licensed, Insured and a member of the BBB. We offer Lifetime Warranties, Competetive Pricing, Quick Quality Installation and Proven Superior Customer Service. Call Bay to Bay Today.  

    Patriot Exteriors LLC

    We specialize in quality and complete roof replacement using GAF shingles and a 50 year guarantee. We have years of experience and with the GAF system, years of a no leak roof  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Home improvement. Windows & doors. Roofing. Siding. Sunrooms & decks. Glass & glazing.

    Services Not Offered

    Construction & remodeling.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Blackberry Window & Door Systems

    How is Blackberry Window & Door Systems overall rated?

    Blackberry Window & Door Systems is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Blackberry Window & Door Systems open?

    Blackberry Window & Door Systems is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Blackberry Window & Door Systems provide

    Blackberry Window & Door Systems accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Blackberry Window & Door Systems offer free estimates?

    Yes, Blackberry Window & Door Systems offers free project estimates.

    Does Blackberry Window & Door Systems offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Blackberry Window & Door Systems offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Blackberry Window & Door Systems offer a senior discount?

    No, Blackberry Window & Door Systems does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Blackberry Window & Door Systems?

    Yes, Blackberry Window & Door Systems offers warranties.

    What services does Blackberry Window & Door Systems offer?

    Blackberry Window & Door Systems offers the following services: Home improvement. Windows & doors. Roofing. Siding. Sunrooms & decks. Glass & glazing.

    Are there any services Blackberry Window & Door Systems does not offer?

    Construction & remodeling.