Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Homeland Handyman Plus

Founded 1994 • With Angi since September 2009

4.7

(57) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 1452

Jackson, MI 49204

Description

Disabled-Veteran owned business specializing in many different services to assist with projects in your home or business. We are very customer service oriented and enjoy helping you explore your options before finalizing your plans, while offering free estimates. The company thrives on

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

04/25/2017


Garyt D.

He disappeared. I called them up, to fix a couple of things that weren't right. He doesn't return phone calls. I don't think he is in my area. So far, no good. He could be available to come back and fix what he didn't do right.

Description of Work
Kitchen and deck redone. A couple of other small jobs.

Category decks, handyman service, home remodeling

5.0

03/04/2017


Theresa K.

Bryan Craft returned my call the next day which was very responsive compared to other contractors that never returned my call at all. He was able to start the job within the next week and upon first meeting him, was instantly likeable. He was professional but also easy to talk to and did everything I asked for the project. He had difficult areas to work with on this job and handled them with no problem nor complaint. I appreciated his tips and suggestions. There were add-ons along the way and he charged accordingly and was very reasonable with his rates. I would hire him again with no hesitation. His work was of excellent quality.

Description of Work
I contacted Bryan Craft from Homeland Handyman Plus about remodeling a fireplace wall which involved removing old brick tile and refinishing with ceramic tile on the hearth and stacked stone up the wall.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, remodeling

4.0

11/01/2016


tom M.

he responded thru angies list email within 24 hours - he appreciated the work but it was a lil far for him to travel

Description of Work
install a range hood in a newly constructed kitchen

Category handyman service, home remodeling

5.0

10/26/2016


Susan D.

Bryan is great, did everything timely, good communication, very nice work

Description of Work
Multiple small projects as well as replacement of an exterior door and window

Category appliance repair, decks, gutter cleaning, roofing, replacement windows, doors

3.0

10/17/2016


Gwen R.

Ok. Could have been a little more thorough

Description of Work
Power wash was so so225

Category appliance repair

1.0

08/01/2016


Jamie H.

Called 2 times and emailed - no response at all

Description of Work
Estimate on drywall repair and new.

Category handyman service

5.0

06/30/2016


Jim F.

The job went absolutely perfect. I will have him back.

Description of Work
He completely cleaned and stained my cedar sided home. He also fixed a shed and sided it.

Category handyman service

2.0

01/08/2016


E R.

In April, 2014, several weeks after the contractor, Bryan, had come out to look at the property, I contacted them to see when I would be getting an estimate from them, as I had not heard anything from them. They responded the next day, apologizing for taking so long, saying they would get an estimate out to me by the end of that week. However, I heard nothing from them. At the end of the following month, I sent them another email. They responded, asking me if Bryan could come out again and look at the property, saying this would allow them to provide me with a more accurate estimate, and asking me to provide dates and times that I could be available. I let them know that I could be available pretty much whenever he could come and that they should let me know when he could come. Several days later, they let me know that he could possibly come out that week, but that they would have to plan it later in the week. In the same email, I was informed that if I should choose to find a different company, they "would completely understand. If not, and as we talked about previously, please know that we are ready to assist you once our prior commitments allows." He never came out again and I never heard from them again. I did not contact them further as I felt that, after stringing me along for months, I had received the brush off. Talking with Bryan during his initial visit to the property, I felt he was highly qualified to do the job and had really good ideas for how to tackle it, much more so than several other less qualified professionals I had interviewed. So I was really looking forward to him getting started. Needless to say, I was quite disappointed in how I was left hanging.

Description of Work
He came out and looked at the job. After many emails back and forth, I never got an estimate from them. I would have hired him, if I had ever gotten an estimate.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Potential customers are notified upon calling that there is a possibility of a wait period due to current projects and pending estimates that may be received. However, we do take time to still provide free estimates for a future timeframe. If a customer does not respond, we assume they have found another contractor. Bryan Craft
5.0

11/12/2015


Grant P.

Professional from beginning to end. Worked very efficiently/ Took pride in their work. Communicated throughout the project. Excellent service from all.

Description of Work
Refinished front and back deck (pressure washed, sanded and stained)

Category handyman service, deck cleaning, pressure washing

5.0

08/31/2015


noreen f. S.

Had to call & remind provider we were coming home and please get our job done... We were gone for 28 days and while there was bad weather, not all of that month was bad. Neighbor had small deck that needed to be redone. My neighbor's application was wrong for her deck - although she did ask for a stain as the previous owner did stain but he also spent a lot of time maintaining same. The sanding was not uniform so the stain saturated more in some areas than others. I am writing about this because I recommended this provider to our community.

Description of Work
paint deck flooring.

Category handyman service, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. Homeland Renovations & Repairs, LLC strives to make every customer happy and every project a success. Weather does play a big factor in maintaining the project schedule. We are happy you were pleased with the outcome of your deck.
5.0

07/14/2015


Karen S.

We are pretty sure they will be working on the drywall and sealing the tab, stop any leaks and address any plumbing issues. They said when they get to it they will let us know, but the quote will not be over $250 although this may change. I will be using their services in the future.

Description of Work
They gave me a quote to make some repairs in the bathroom.

Category drywall, handyman service, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks for allowing Homeland Renovations & Repairs, LLC to help you with another project. As always, we look forward to future projects and thank you for your business. Bryan and Cheryl Craft
5.0

06/30/2015


Donald A.

He did the job when he said he would. He was busy and it was scheduled about a month out.

Description of Work
.

Category screen repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing our company to assist you with your screen repair project. We look forward to helping you with your next project as well! Bryan and Cheryl Craft
5.0

06/01/2015


Tondra B.

I have hired Bryan and his crew for two jobs and I have been very satisfied with both jobs. Response time is great and workers are pleasant. If you are not satisfied with any part of the job, Bryan will make it right.

Description of Work
Painted front porch and back steps, reinforced back steps, put on a handle for sliding door and fixed door, replaced two strips on skirting, took trash away.

Category glass repair, siding, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review! Homeland Renovations & Repairs, LLC appreciates the opportunities we've had to assist you, along with your support of our local disabled-veteran owned small business. We look forward to working with you for future repairs and renovations. Bryan and Cheryl Craft
5.0

05/28/2015


Jackie H.

I was frantic when I called Homeland renovations and repair because I was on a very short time frame. Cheryl was calming and reassuring. She and her husband Bryan showed up that early evening. We showed them the problems and again they were so reassuring. They were working several jobs for other people but were able to get us worked into their schedule. I was given an estimate by the next day. They started the job on Tuesday the 26th. Bryan did find that the job was a little bigger than we had originally thought. He showed me and explained everything to me. Still reassuring me that it was all fixable. He and his workers were all very professional. They cleaned up everything as they worked. It was such a pleasure to work with someone who cared about the quality of his work. If I had any other problem I would call them in a second. I would refer them to anyone!

Description of Work
Repaired sub-floor at a French door,repaired and replaced molding sealed everything and reinstalled my wood floor. Leveled my large back porch, minor plumbing issues, Cleaned and sealed basement inside wall. There was a lot of construction that they did.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, deck cleaning, woodworking, doors, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Homeland Renovations & Repairs, LLC sees a review such as yours and takes pride in knowing we are creating happy customers around the area. Thank you for calling on our company to assist you, your support of our local disabled-veteran owned small business, and the great review. Bryan and Cheryl Craft
5.0

05/27/2015


Karen S.

The services were good. They did what they said they were going to do. They problem solved issues no one else could and the services were fair priced.

Description of Work
The did a lot of work last year. They painted the exterior, pressure washed, replaced screens and rotted wood. They are getting ready to do a new door for us.

Category handyman service, screen repair, pressure washing

5.0

05/23/2015


Patrick H.

Bryan and Cheryl are great to work with ... one hears stories of shoddy work and rip off artists, but these two will recommend what can be done to fix at lowest cost instead of recommending new and expensive solutions. And the finished work is done well and looks fantastic! I highly recommend Bryan and Cheryl for anyone needing a home repair or remodeling project ... and you'll need patience because they are in high demand - if you are in a hurry then you'll probably need someone who is not busy and most likely not that good, and they'll charge you a lot. Bryan is a perfectionist and will keep at a problem area until it is resolved - for instance sun faded siding looked splotchy after power washing, Bryan went up on the ladder and chemically removed the splotches, now it looks brand new.

Description of Work
Removed wallpaper and painted entrance way, repaired one door and painted another door and trim, power washed exterior and repaired stucco, replaced plastic trim around tile in entrance way. Assisted with paint selection (Cheryl has great suggestions for color matching and keeps up with the latest design ideas) .

Category ceramic tile, drywall, remodeling, wallpaper removal, pressure washing, stucco, house painters, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Homeland Renovations & Repairs, LLC appreciates the great review! The house and hallway are definitely beautiful. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service for all your future projects. Thank you again, Bryan and Cheryl Craft
5.0

05/18/2015


Richard W.

We recently purchased a home that needed some work both inside and outside. We wanted to tackle and focus our attention on the outside repairs for now. Bryan and Cheryl of Homeland Renovations & Repairs responsed promptly to our reguest for a work estimate. During the onsite repair review, they were attentive to our questions and concerns and offered some suggestions. It was a relatively a short time after the onsite review, that they provided a work estimate, were hired, initiated and completed all the repairs - all within the estimated time frame despite the added work repairing the water damaged that was discovered after and not included in the original work estimate. Bryan, Cheryl and the staff of Homeland Renovations and Repairs are a pleasure to work with and are true professionals. We were so impressed with them and the quality of their work that we've asked them to provide an estimate for our unfinished garage.

Description of Work
Pressure washed the outside of the house to include the sidewalk, driveway, front porch and rear deck; added lattice skirting to rear deck with easy access under same for added storage space; sanded, painted and stained both the front porch and rear deck; found the source of a small leak and repaired the water damage(rotten wood) from same to our exterior porch ceiling / structure caused by popped roof nails that the pervious owners did not attend to for several years.

Category decks, roofing, water damage restoration, deck cleaning, pressure washing, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing our company to assist you and the great review! We appreciate your wonderful hospitality throughout the project and it was a pleasure. We look forward to assisting in future repairs and renovations that you have planned or may arise. Bryan and Cheryl Craft
5.0

05/01/2015


Katie S.

She did great! She worked with my schedule to find a good time... Did a great job and even came back and did an extra coat in a darker shade at our request at no extra cost.

Description of Work
Paint my children's bedroom.

Category handyman service, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Enjoyed this painting job very much! Please call if you need assistance with other projects in the future. Thank you again for choosing Homeland Renovations & Repairs, LLC to assist you.
5.0

04/25/2015


noreen f. S.

Very well... Mr. Craft not only repaired the wall damage but also made repairs to the structural window framing that was previously water damaged, as well. The window framing is now back to new and the wall repairs were perfect.

Description of Work
Repaired large section of wall that was open due to water damage.

Category drywall, handyman service, water damage restoration, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Homeland Renovations & Repairs appreciates the high review. We are excited about the opportunity to assist within your community for future projects. Bryan and Cheryl Craft
1.0

01/31/2015


Linda F.

It seemed to start out great. We reviewed the floor plan, I requested a construction material list from the contractor so that everything would be onsite and ready when he arrived. I ordered the items from his list and then of course all of the additional materials needed (vanities, tub, toilets, lighting, ceramic tile, grout, thin set, drywall mud, tape, etc, etc, etc.). My daughter lives in the house that was being worked on, I live in another state. As questions arose the contractor would have my daughter be the intermediary he would have her call me with questions instead of contacting me himself. This past Saturday 1/24/15 I flew up to North Carolina. I understood that the tub, vanity and toilet were in and the tile for the tub surround was complete, and since their contract did not include painting, I was going to paint the guest so that the light could be installed and the fan could be finished the switches and outlets could be installed. This would give my daughter at least one fully functioning bathroom, even if the master bath with the laundry facility was not done. Unfortunately, upon arrival, the bathroom was not ready to paint. Even though the contractor had been asked repeatedly to have it ready, the spackling and sanding had not been finished. At one point my daughter mentioned about the room being prepared for painting and the contractor asked her if she had a sanding block, implying that she do the work herself. Not only was the room not ready to paint the tub surround tile work was not done properly. There was lipping, there were areas where they cut a tile to short and filled it with extra grout, there were gaps in the grout, and the decorator tile running in a line around all sides did not match up in the corner. Needless to say I was not happy. I brought it to the contractors attention and he defended his work to the point that we wound up getting into a heated argument. He was blaming it on the wall being crooked, just about every wall I've ever worked with has been crooked, so I knew from my own experience that there was no excuse. After much ado he finally agreed that the work was not done correctly and agreed to fix the tile, but then he wouldn't do anything else, he quit. I emailed him and sent him a text message today to find out where he had left some of the job materials and there has been no response. Unfortunately the tile work, drywall and tub faucet are not the only issues he left us with. His company office worker (his wife) requested a list yesterday which I sent to her. The work was shoddy and unprofessional. He even stated before he left yesterday morning that he should have supervised the tile work since his son and the plumber (who I found out was unlicensed)did the tile. If he had admitted in the beginning that there were problems with the work and fixed them we would not have gotten into the argument which he said made the work environment uncomfortable and he couldn't finish. He also let us know he had another job he had to start. They now have 3/4's of the payment and I don't have one bathroom that is fully functioning. I had to secure a local hotel room in order to take a shower.

Description of Work
We had one large bathroom split into two bathrooms (1=5' x 8 1/2' the other 6 1/2' x 8 1/2'). The framing was completed the concrete board and sheet rock were put up as needed but not completed (taping, mudding, sanding incomplete). The work was started on December 4th, and we were given a completion date of December 19th but to date we still do not have a shower or laundry facilities. The tile was installed for both the tub and shower surround and the tile floor was put down, but the grouting for the walls and the master bath floor have not been done. The electrical wiring has been installed but is not attached to a switch or outlet. Part of the plumbing has been installed, we have one toilet and a sink. The plumbing for the tub has been done, but the faucet runs HOT to Cold instead of Cold to Hot, and of course we couldn't use the tub/shower anyway because the back wall has not been fully grouted and there are gaps in the grout where it has been done. The pocket doors have been installed but they have not been leveled, the drywall around them is not finished and the framing has not been done. That's the extent of where we are at. In the master bath the only thing that is complete is the framing that created the two rooms.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Please know that your concerns listed were received and we will continue to work towards a fair resolution regarding factual complaints in the interest of both Owner and Contractor. Homeland Renovations & Repairs LLC has and will continue to strive for 100% customer satisfaction at the end of each and every project. Our review rate on Angie’s List also shows this to be true. While we understand that it’s the contractor’s responsibility for the means and methods to complete work, it is the Owner’s responsibility to communicate preferences and satisfaction as the project progresses. This was a challenge due to substantial absence of communication between Owner and Contractor. Your refusal to comment or discuss project until your arrival (a 2-week timeframe from the most recent requests to discuss) supports this issue. As the Contractor, we feel had your preference been communicated beforehand and at different levels of the project, work would have not had to be recreated and the project would have been completed within a reasonable timeframe. Homeland Renovations & Repairs, LLC is a family owned business. We may sub-contract for work in areas that we do not hold expertise, in order to be assured work is done correctly. We expect no less of sub-contractors than we would provide ourselves. All inspections passed in a very reasonable timeframe and work was able to proceed; a reassurance that the remodel was going accordingly. Homeland Renovations & Repairs, LLC was unable to complete this project in its entirety, as it was not in the best interest of the company due to the hostile work environment (screaming and harsh argumentative statements). An environment in which we have a policy to not allow ourselves or sub-contractors to endure. Additionally, extra work estimates and material costs provided by Contractor’s payment terms were not met.
5.0

12/06/2014


Margaret Ann J.

First of all, I wish there were grades higher than "A" for Bryan. From the moment I met him he was polite, friendly, willing to listen and answered all my questions thoughtfully. He listened to what I wanted and offered suggestions such as the type of door needed to maximize space. But it did not stop there.... The work was beautifully done. Because the tract for the garage door was in the way, instead of a square corner, he inserted a piece of drywall to clip the corner and give it a custom look. Because no one likes the mess of renovation, Bryan worked quickly and was careful to clean up every day. Most contractors leave nails and boards laying around everywhere. This time there was always plenty of room in the garage for the car. The review would not be complete with a mention of the other part of Homeland Renovation, Cheryl. We communicated by phone and by e-mail. She kept me up-to-date on everything and, whenever I had a question, she was prompt in replying. An absolute delight to do business with! If you have a project, I encourage you to call Homeland. You will not be disappointed. The work is superb and the price is fair. (I am having Bryan back in the spring)

Description of Work
Built a laundry room in my garage.

Category drywall, handyman service, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review! It was a pleasure to meet and assist you with your remodeling project. We look forward to providing you with 110% satisfaction in your future projects.
5.0

09/16/2014


Rita W.

JUST GREAT THE SAME AS LAST TIME

Description of Work
Bryan installed some shelves for us. I thought I would be able to do myself. they were a lot more difficult then I thought. Bryan gave us great service and quality AGAIN!!! This is the second ttime we used him and will call him again when the need arises. Definitely will recommend him to people we know. Thanks Bryan and Cheryl, Jack and Rita

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

It is always a pleasure to assist you with your projects! Thank you for the great review!
5.0

09/14/2014


Mary P.

He is a hard worker and did a good job.

Description of Work
Screened in porch, installed ceiling fan, lamppost light, outdoor outlet.

Category decks, handyman service, screen repair, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

Homeland Renovations & Repairs, LLC appreciates your great review. Maintaining an exact timed schedule in this field of work, along with arising situations, can be challenging at times. It was a pleasure assisting you with your project and we look forward to providing the same great service in the future; adding optimal punctuality!
5.0

09/03/2014


Rita W.

Upon starting the job Brian discovered the hooks we had were not adequate . He stopped the job and drove to the hardware store in Asheville to get materials required , which added more time and gas to complete the job. He was determined to get the job done. Project was completed successfully and to our satisfaction. Would recommend the company highly.

Description of Work
He insmpletedtalled a hanging pot rack through the attic into our kitchen/dining area.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Homeland Renovations & Repairs, LLC appreciates the review. As always, the company never hesitates to go the extra mile to make sure the customer is satisfied and job results are at a 110% satisfaction. We look forward to helping you with future remodel/renovation projects.
5.0

09/02/2014


Linda B.

I met with Cheryl & Bryan in person and was able to go over the work I wanted them to do. They gave me a free estimate and a possible start date. They did not give me the lowest estimate, but they showed up to meet with me on time (others did not) and seemed very knowledgeable about what they were going to do. I felt more comfortable choosing them, since I knew I could not be there during the project. Once I confirmed that I wanted them to do the work, they started on time. This job was on a small cabin that we have in NC. I live in AL and could not be there during the job. Cheryl was very good about keeping me informed and updating me. They stayed very close to the original estimate. We went over a little bc I requested more expensive paint and added some extra trim work we were not anticipating. They completed the job in a reasonable amount of time and overall, the quality of the work seems good. They have offered to make any necessary touchups we need or want.

Description of Work
exterior painting and electrical work

Category handyman service, house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing Homeland Renovations & Repairs, LLC the opportunity to assist you with your exterior painting, trim work, lighting and electrical projects. We realize the importance of having a dependable company perform work, in a trustworthy fashion, to out of area/state customers that may not be readily available or present during the project. Thank you for the review and we look forward to working with you in the future.

    Other local Pros in your area

    HMP Handyman

    HMP Handyman offers home improvement, drywall patch repair, painting, carpentry, plumbing, minor electrical, Hot Water Heaters, Furnace, Bathtubs & Toilets Installation, Kitchen Installation, and more! We service Holt, MI and surrounding areas. We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    DnJ

    DnJ

    N/A

    remodeling and home repair. No job is to big or to small we have the tools and knowledge to do it all. started in 2016 took a break and started back up ready to make your dream home become a reality  

    Angi Certified

    Ameri Pro Restoration

    Ameri Pro Restoration is your full service independent disaster restoration firm serving Mid and West Michigan completing over 5000 projects. We are dedicated to making your nightmare "bearable" by professionally restoring your home or business. We will work diligently for you, communicating to you to make sure everything is taken care in a quality manor with a 7 year workmanship and no odor warranty when we complete the entire project. Our 16 caring employees are here for you. Each of us are background checked, drug free and bonded for your peace of mind. Call day or night to speak to a actual manager or the owner. As the owner I am committed to ensure each project is completed in a timely and professional manor. Ron Brown - Owner.  

    Angi Certified

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    2015 Angie's List Super Service Award for the categories of Remodeling General, Handyman, Painting/Exterior and Drywall!! Pressure Cleaning, Exterior and Interior Painting, Decks and Porch Restoration, Porch Screening, Pergolas and Roof Additions, Carpentry, Drywall Installation and Repair, Kitchen and Bathroom Remodeling, Tile Installation, Wood and Laminate Flooring, Radiant Floor Heating, Door and Window Installation, Roof Repair, Miscellaneous Competent Home Renovations and Repairs

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Homeland Handyman Plus

    How is Homeland Handyman Plus overall rated?

    Homeland Handyman Plus is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Homeland Handyman Plus open?

    Homeland Handyman Plus is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Homeland Handyman Plus provide

    Homeland Handyman Plus accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Homeland Handyman Plus offer free estimates?

    Yes, Homeland Handyman Plus offers free project estimates.

    Does Homeland Handyman Plus offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Homeland Handyman Plus offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Homeland Handyman Plus offer a senior discount?

    No, Homeland Handyman Plus does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Homeland Handyman Plus?

    Yes, Homeland Handyman Plus offers warranties.

    What services does Homeland Handyman Plus offer?

    Homeland Handyman Plus offers the following services: 2015 Angie's List Super Service Award for the categories of Remodeling General, Handyman, Painting/Exterior and Drywall!! Pressure Cleaning, Exterior and Interior Painting, Decks and Porch Restoration, Porch Screening, Pergolas and Roof Additions, Carpentry, Drywall Installation and Repair, Kitchen and Bathroom Remodeling, Tile Installation, Wood and Laminate Flooring, Radiant Floor Heating, Door and Window Installation, Roof Repair, Miscellaneous Competent Home Renovations and Repairs

    Are there any services Homeland Handyman Plus does not offer?

    Ask for details