Schutz Heating & Cooling

About

Founded 2003 • With Angi since October 2009

Schutz Heating & Cooling is a family owned business with more than 20 years of experience in the commercial and residential heating and cooling industry. We are proud of our reputation for offering honest, first class service to both residential and commercial customers at a fair and reasonable price. Our company's full range of products and services includes a wide range of heating and cooling manufacturer's products, replacement parts, "in house sheet metal shop" for custom duct work, humidifiers, air filters, purifiers, spring and fall system tune-ups, maintenance agreements and more. We can also service any make or model and have the experience to give you accurate replacement parts/equipment at a competitive price. Schutz Heating & Cooling was started in 2003. We have more than 20 years in the heating and cooling business within both the residential and commercial fields. The company started expanding its services in the Livingston County area since it is where we also live. Our work in the community is important to us. We are actively involved with the Livingston County Senior Nutrition Program - Meals on Wheels and we are members of the Howell Chamber of Commerce. Schutz Heating & Cooling carries an A+ rating with the BBB & Angie's List, we are NATE Certified We are an authorized Lowe’s home improvement installation and service contractor. We specialize in HVAC Contractor, Heating Equipment Supplier, Air Conditioning Contractor, Heating Contractor, Air Conditioning Repair Service, Furnace Repair Service, HVAC, AC Repair, Furnace Repair Service, Heating and Cooling, Air Conditioning Repair, Furnace Repair, HVAC Contractors, Furnaces, Lennox, Trane, Furnace Service & Installation, Emergency Service Available, Commercial Services & Equipment, Preventive Maintenance, Gas Fireplace Installation, Water Heater Replacement, Air Conditioning Service & Systems, Air Conditioning Repairs, Residential HVAC Services, Commercial HVAC Services, Heating System Repairs, New Furnace System Sales and Service, Humidifiers Sales & Installation, Replacement Parts and Repairs, Custom Sheet Metal and Duct Work, Design HVAC Systems, Duct Systems, Energy Efficient Equipment, Indoor Air Quality, Tankless Water Heaters, Heat Pumps, Propane Heating Systems, Complete HVAC Systems, Ventilation, Air Purification Systems, Humidifiers & Replacements, Thermostats and Repairs, Zoned Systems, Kitchen Ventilation Systems, New Air Conditioning Systems, Thermostats, Humidifiers, Custom Duct Work and Installation, Air Filtration Systems, Purification Systems, HVAC Rooftop Units, Furnaces, Ductless Split Systems, Economizers, Humidifiers and Humidifier Pads, dehumidifiers...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

.

+4 more images

Verified Reviews

4.7

(100) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

89

4

2

3

2

2

2

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (100)water heaters (8)fireplace services (4)plumbers (4)well & water pump repair (1)
Showing 1-25 of 100 reviews
5.0

12/02/2020


Linda C.

They installed the Air conditioner about a year ago, and they came back this summer to service the unit. The service was good, they have great customer service, they always respond if you need a service, it was a quick response, they practice proper covid safeguards which was very important.

Description of Work
Regular maintenance of my Air Conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $190

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/29/2020

5.0

04/03/2020


Ruth W.

Four years ago, we hired Schutz to install a AC in our older 1960's tri-level home. This has been one of the best home improvement decisions I've ever made. Retro-fitting an older home with AC is no small feat! Yet Tony and his crew did an outstanding job. Not only were they professional and thorough in the installation, but they were impeccably clean as well. The AC they installed has kept us "cool as a cucumber" on many blisteringly hot summer days. When it came time for our old boiler to be replaced, it was a no-brainer to figure out who to call. Once again, Tony and his crew at Schutz did an amazing job of removing our antiquated system and installing a beautiful new boiler and new garage closet to enclose the unit. As before, his guys were professional, thorough, timely, courteous and CLEAN! We have been kept warm and cozy all winter long! I am happy to recommend this company.

Description of Work
New AC and new boiler furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2019

5.0

03/16/2020


Brant C.

They called minutes after I asked for a quote and they showed up at 8:30am Monday morning. The diagnosis was complicated and took several hours. The labor cost was exactly as stated even with the extended evaluation. They were able to diagnose and find the broken part locally in stock. They left to get the part and were back quickly and I had heat by early afternoon. THe cost was $90 plus the cost of the part.

Description of Work
Furnace went out on Sunday

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/29/2020

1.0

02/29/2020


Andrew S.

You're Nutz if You Use Schutz! During the fall, we purchased a house and the furnace had a warranty from Schutz Heating and Cooling. The warranty began in 2012 and was good for 10 years so there were two years left on the original warranty. On January 1st, the furnace stopped blowing hot air so I called them and asked them to come onsite. 1. When they arrived, I was informed that there was no longer a warranty because I had failed to transfer it with Trane. If you look at their warranty on the furnace itself, there is no mention or indication that I would need to do anything to ensure the warranty continued. An image of the Schutz warranty is below. [*** Link removed ***] 2. A technician came out on January 2nd to work on the unit. A sensor ended up being defective. Most of the repair costs would have been covered by the warranty but I was informed that because I didn't call Trane to transfer the warranty I would have to pay for it. Once again, the warranty on the unit, signed by the President of Schutz, makes no mention that new owners would need to transfer the warranty with Trane. I was charged $99 for the trip to the house, $120 in labor and $189 to replace the defective sensor. Unfortunately, they didn't have the sensor but assured me that I would pay for it now and they would order it and return at a later date. An image of the repair receipt is located below. [*** Link removed ***] 3. As of February 11, 2020, they still had not called me or returned to replace the defective part that I had already paid for on January 2nd. I called to request a refund as I had lost all confidence in Shutz. I was left a voicemail admitting that they had not order the part and offering no apology. The office worker informed me that she would refund the cost of the part I never received but not the trip fee or the labor fee. So they still got paid for not actually fixing the problem. Here is a copy of that voicemail. [*** Link removed ***] Now I need to find another company and once again pay their trip fee and labor fee. Bottom line is that you better think twice about using Schutz. They won't honor your warranty and in my case, they actually cost me $219 and my furnace is still not repaired.

Description of Work
Furnace Repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $409

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/02/2020

5.0

12/02/2019


Linda C.

They're really great, they were very professional, they knew the product well, they make sure I was happy. If I have a question, they answered that and they really have a very reasonably price. They were outstanding.

Description of Work
They put in a new heating and ac unit and also hot water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $8,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2019

5.0

09/24/2019


Nathan E.

Schutz provided a quick response and their service representative was extremely professional and courteous. They were upfront and honest about the services they provided. They successfully repaired the leak in my AC unit.

Description of Work
Repair my AC Unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2019

5.0

09/22/2019


Amanda S.

Rebecca was fantastic at answering all of our questions and steering us in the right direction for what was needed for our lake house!

Description of Work
HVAC install

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/22/2019

1.0

09/04/2019


Kyle J.

Very poor experience. WARNING - DO NOT DO BUSINESS! Initially contact was made to have this company repair a humidifier that was not working. Upon the technician's arrival, I showed him the dehumidifier and that I did have a humidistat that I wished to have installed if it was applicable. He agreed to do so and it was quite apparent that he didn't know what he was doing - it appeared that they sent the wrong technician to do the work. After fetching my own towels, mopping up the floor which was soaked as a result of the humidifier being open and running by the technician, coaching the technician on basic wiring and diagram reading, he left with the work unfinished and said "they'd need to do research" (when in reality he wired it incorrectly). So in the end I got a $460 bill for work unperformed and charged hourly for someone terribly inexperienced for the job he was sent for. Sounds like I need to start billing by the hour myself - anyone need a doctor? Never done it before but I'll give it a shot.

Description of Work
Humidifier repair and humidistat install

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $459.95

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/04/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we are sorry your service did not reach your expectations. We try very hard to keep our customers happy. We will be returning your check uncashed. Please let us know if there is anything further we can do to rectify the situation. The Schutz Team

5.0

07/04/2018


Bryan S.

Schultz Heating & Cooling took care of our A/C which was not blowing cold air, on very short notice and was able to resolve the issue on the same trip within an hour. Highly recommend! Company is very responsive and communicates well: I had originally inquired via Angie's List email/messenger after hours and got a reply the same evening saying they could send a technician the next day. The next morning I received a call and was able to schedule the appointment. Tony (technician/owner) was able to give me a 1 hour window (unlike most companies that let you sit around all day) and he arrived during the time frame he gave me. He also kept me informed when he was on his way - this was really helpful so I could plan my day. A/C issue was quickly diagnosed (burnt out capacitor, low on freon) and he had the parts on the truck - repair was completed within an hour and system was blowing cold air again. During the visit Tony was highly professional, friendly, and accommodating. Our system is over 18 years old and he suggested we consider looking at a replacement (we already know that it is coming to the end of it's lifespan, so this was not a surprise) but there was no "hard sell". He was telling me what I already knew, and gave a few suggestions for ongoing maintenance in the meantime. Tony also acknowledged that we had contacted him via Angie's List and gave us a preferred AL price. I appreciate the fact he knew we are AL members and I didn't have to remind/persuade him to give us the AL price (as i have had to do with other companies contacted via AL). Would highly recommend and would use them again!

Description of Work
A/C Service Call on July 3 - Highly Responsive, Highly Recommend

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $495

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/03/2018

2.0

06/23/2018


Eric M.

He charged me $250 for an $18 capacitor. $100 for truck charge. And $150 for the freeon. I do not recommend repairs from them. Way overcharged.

Description of Work
AC unit fix

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2018

5.0

04/27/2018


Mark B.

Schutz was fantastic. They contacted my tenants to schedule an appointment, came the same day, and fixed the problem at a reasonable price. My furnace is getting older and I fully intend to hire Schutz to replace my furnace next year.

Description of Work
Furnace in one of my rental properties stopped working

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/30/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] - Thank you! We are always happy to help!! Please let us know if we can help in the future! Lena Schutz

5.0

01/10/2018


Yvonne M.

Rebecca answered all of my calls, even on New Year's Day. She was great. The installers were also great. Anthony was a true professional and I could tell he took pride in his work. I'm very satisfied and the Trane furnace is great!

Description of Work
Our furnace stopped working and needed to be replaced

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $0.01

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/03/2018

3.0

12/30/2017


Gary M.

Replacement of igniter was fine, but Schutz charged me $249.95 to replace a $68.25 part. And this furnace was installed on 12/08/16 and supposedly included a warranty covering Workmanship and Labor for 25 years and Parts and Labor for 10 years.

Description of Work
Replaced furnace igniter

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $249.95

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2016

5.0

11/10/2017


Kristine J G.

This has to be the best service/installation company I've ever dealt with. Prompt, professional employees. Reviewed my order and explained what they were going to do before starting, and answered any questions I had. Installed/replaced everything within the time frame specified, and cleaned up after themselves. The office also followed up with phone call after the job was complete to make sure I was satisfied and happy with the service/installation performed. I wish all service companies were like Schutz.

Description of Work
Replaced an old furnace from the 70's with brand new efficient Trane model, and installed a humidifier, and central air.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words! We take customer service seriously, so please let us know if there is anything else we can do! Thanks again!

5.0

11/09/2017


Bob D.

Excellent, I called on late Friday afternoon and the company was able to squeeze me in late Monday afternoon, Schutz Heating and cooling is very customer focused and professional from the office to the technicians. I was so impressed I scheduled the preventative maintenance for my A/C unit in the spring and pre-paid for the service

Description of Work
Preventative maintenance on the furnace and humidifier

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you - we truly appreciate your comments. Please let us know if we can help with anything else! We look forward to working with you in the future!

5.0

10/11/2017


Nancy K.

My inquiry was answered very quickly and arrangements were made for someone to come out and take a look at the problem - very little wait at all. A part was ordered (still on warranty) and then Tony came out and made the necessary repairs. I also purchased a yearly maintenance plan for my heating and cooling systems - glad I did! Tony was very professional and informative, as well as friendly. I discovered, later that the water heater was still not quite right (needed a small adjustment) and called their office. Again, arrangements were made quickly and they will come out to repair at no further cost. I'm sure that I might have found another service at a lower cost, but the first place didn't even return my call. Having such prompt care and easy scheduling with helpful, knowledgeable service providers was worth the slightly higher cost.!

Description of Work
Water heater repair and yearly maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/06/2017

1.0

09/26/2017


Hayley M.

After doing their evaluation, the service technician sat down and started trying to sell me a replacement furnace. He had limited information and the only information he had available was for the most expensive products they sell. When inquiring about different options and the pros and cons of each he said the most expensive one available was what he recommended for our house with no explanation of why. I continued to inquire about other options and their pros and cons but he wasn't able or willing to talk about them and continued to talk about how great their most expensive option was. He said their prices won't be the cheapest but they guarantee the price you are given is the final expense with all costs included. At the end of him trying to tell me how much I need their most expensive system he told me I owed him over 2x the cost I was originally told. After he left I called the owner, and expressed my dissatisfaction. She called me back after speaking with the service technician and informed me that he actually undercharged me because he spent more time in our home than he charged for. Even though part of this time was spent trying to sell me a product I didn't want with no willingness or ability to answer my questions about different options and their pros/cons. She reassured me that the 2x the quoted cost for the service technician's time could be applied to a new furnace and AC if I purchase if from them and their "guaranteed" prices. If you want to spend more than twice as much as they tell you service will cost and want to pay them to sit in your home and try to sell you products you don't want without providing information about the products you do want I would recommend them. For anyone else I would recommend looking elsewhere.

Description of Work
I asked for an evaluation of our current furnace and an estimate for replacement. I was told estimates were free and was told what it would cost to have a service technician evaluate our current HVAC system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2017

Service Provider Response

We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We try very hard to be fair and honest. When we spoke we did explain the difference between having a technician come to your home and diagnose or repair your equipment, versus a home comfort specialist who has more in depth knowledge of our products and pricing. Yes, the technician charged accurately for his time, he spent a great deal of time in your home. But, since you were unhappy with our services, we sent your check back to you. We do believe in 100% customer satisfaction. We hope that you can find a heating & cooling company that is right for you. The team at Schutz & Co., Inc.

5.0

07/24/2017


trish P.

Great product, great price, great service

Description of Work
New central A/C

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2017

5.0

06/15/2017


Kirk D.

Right from the start Rebecca called me the day after I had sent a email out from the Trane web site, We set up a time to meet at our home in Pinckney, She came out we walked around the home inside and out , she sat down with my wife and I and went over different types of units then after talking about all the options with Rebecca my wife and I new we would be in good hands she made us feel good about our choices. Then once we made our choice the install day came the guys showed up on time came in looked over the areas where the units would go and went to work Ron and Jeremy I don't think I could have a better crew come in and work on our equipment great job, covered my floors, removed all old units and took them away. I will have no issue calling this company back into our home for anymore work I would need done. Thank you Schutz heating and cooling great job, great people.

Description of Work
New heat & ac & water heater installed We changed from propane to natural gas.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2017

5.0

04/19/2017


Patricia S.

We were very pleased from the first visit through the complete install. Everyone was professional and took the time to explain things along the way. Rebecca was extremely knowledgeable and service oriented. The installers, Ron, Jeremy, Gene, Tom, and Tom were great! They were patient with our questions and were very conscientious about respecting our home - no mess!!

Description of Work
Schutz replaced our old system with a total new high efficiency TRANE heating and cooling system with humidifier and electronic filter.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $10,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/19/2017

5.0

04/17/2017


Bernice C.

It went well and the service man was very friendly and informative. The service call was $89, after a $10 discount. We really didn't think it would cost as much as it did, since it only took a few minutes to discover the problem. But, I guess it was worth having heat, since the weather was cold.

Description of Work
Furnace was making a funny noise. My husband went down the basement and turned it off. Come to find out, he had shut it off with the circuit breaker, which was his mistake. It would not start up again. We called Schutz Heating and Cooling. They were very easy to deal with and sent someone to our house within an hour or so. All that needed to be done was to push a button and let the furnace warm up. Lesson learned.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $135

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/21/2017

5.0

04/13/2017


Patricia W.

Went great. I really liked Rebecca and the installers were great.

Description of Work
New furnace, new hot water heater and new air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair