Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Professional Horticulture Services

Founded 2005 • With Angi since November 2012

4.8

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

66210 Red Arrow Hwy

Hartford, MI 49057

Description

Locally owned & operated. Serving Southwestern Michigan; Allegan County, Berrien County, Cass County, Kalamazoo County, Van Buren County....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/29/2019


Amy E.

I reached out to Tom from Professional Horticultural Services for a bid in April. His was somewhat expensive but fairly reasonable given the size of the gardens and number of perennials. He showed up on time for the estimate, e-mailed a detailed one shortly thereafter – complete with two money saving ideas (e.g., using old bordering materials). Tom told me he’d return with a couple of workers in May to do the work and he stayed in touch to schedule an appointment with the city to check on gas and water pipes in the ground. Next step -- Tom called first thing this morning and was here at noon with a two-man crew, as promised. They were meticulous and courteous. Before laying the final mulch, they had me check on the project. This proved helpful because one area seemed a bit thin. Thus, they moved one hosta from another area of my yard to fill that void. Professional Horticultural Services provided attention to detail, with quality plants. Tom has a terrific eye. He put down three smaller yellowish plants in one area and when the project was complete –they popped. The two guys on the crew – Kenny and Aldo executed Tom’s plan and then cleaned up after. They worked hard. You would never had known that I had a small crew of gardeners in and out this afternoon with a large truck, a dozen plants and a boat load of mulch. My yard is beautiful thanks to them!

Description of Work
Professional Horticultural Services connected two separate flower beds. This entailed digging up the grassy area between them, clearing out the debris from the two old beds, planting a dozen gorgeous perennials (mainly in the new area), applying fresh mulch for and carting away all the old mulch, old sticks and sickly plants.

Category landscaping

5.0

11/01/2017


Peter P.

We got several quotes initially for our large landscaping and hardscaping project and Tom blew everyone else out of the water. He has an obvious eye for detail and listened very carefully to our input in generating our design. When it came time to start the project, everything commenced exactly when he said it would. His crew is clearly well-trained and their precision and attention to detail was impressive. They were extremely respectful of our property throughout the process. Tom was open and receptive to input as things progressed along and was even willing to make some cosmetic changes in the hardscaping design mid-project. Everything was complete within a week of his estimated date and there were no loose ends. We are extremely pleased with the end product and will be using Tom and his crew in the future for any and all landscaping and hardscaping projects.

Description of Work
Complete landscape renovation with hardscape replacement and new patio in the back.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

5.0

10/02/2017


Timothy E.

He was very responsive and open to any changes. Gave me a few ideas and kept the lines of communication open. The work was done quickly and efficiently without dragging anything out and with no other property damaged in the process. It's been a year and he even came over to check how the patio was holding up.

Description of Work
I wanted a patio installed in the front of my house. I wanted it to flow with the front of the house and look like it belonged.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

07/26/2017


Edward H.

Very good. Got the job done when he said he would.

Description of Work
Rock wall about 60 feet long and 18 inches high. He also did a complete landscape design and build in my back yard 4 years ago. They did a beautiful job on it and we have gotten many compliments on it.

Category landscaping

5.0

07/26/2017


Jennifer W.

Tom & his crews were awesome- they kept us informed throughout the whole process. They were all courteous, respectful, and friendly. Tom has a "good eye" regarding what will look good and work well for the situation being addressed. We are thoroughly enjoying our new space!

Description of Work
We needed to have some drainage issues corrected so that the water would drain away from the house. We also needed to have the sagging retaining wall replaced. In addition, we decided to have pavers placed to expand the usable area under the deck.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

06/09/2017


Lisa B.

Tom and his crew did an excellent job. They brought in soil to regrade the yard, created landscape beds with cobblestone borders, spread many yards of landscape river rock, and reseeded the lawn. We could not be more pleased with the result. The whole crew was courteous, professional, and hardworking. Their work was completed with care and precision. We would not hesitate to hire them again!

Description of Work
Regrade yard. Create landscape beds.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

08/17/2016


Meredith L.

We were extremely pleased with Tom and his staff. They made great recommendations on what would work best for our space. His communication was timely and thorough. And most importantly his team worked extremely hard and their attention to detail was outstanding. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Description of Work
Landscaping and stone work

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

08/14/2016


Barbara W.

We are extremely thrilled in the landscaping that was provided. Everything was quoted up front, great communication (with backup email), workers were very knowledgeable, respectful and conscientious about what they were doing. It took half a day to complete project. Neighbors still continue to give us compliments as the summer progresses.

Description of Work
Even though our project was quit small, Professional Horticulture Services offered a quote to do our residential project.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/21/2016


Jacob S.

From day 1 Tom has been great with communication. Whether through email or phone calls, Tom handled my questions efficiently. I contacted Tom to bid on a paver patio (530 sf) and to remove 2 old Yews, Tom came back with a bid that was a bit out of price for my initial expectations. Tom was 1 of 4 bids I received. He was willing to review his numbers and we came to an agreement if I were to put in sweat equity on the project (a first for his company). That price point was very attractive. Unfortunately, we received a bid from another company that was under his with all work included (no sweat equity on my part). I informed Tom and he politely said he could not compete with that bid and was surprised it was so low. I would absolutely recommend Tom for any project you are looking at.

Description of Work
Tom provided a detailed estimate for a paver patio approx. 530SF.

Category hardscaping

1.0

03/30/2016


Pam M.

Description of Work
I thought for a long time about giving this review because I am not a mean person. I am an honost person who treats others as I would want to be treated. I was going to try to forget about this, but when I received an email from Angies List asking for my experience, I just felt I needed to say something. I am the one who first put this persons' business on Angie's List and gave him a great review. At first he seemed professional and I would always talk good about him to others. I have had him do spring cleanup every yr since 2011 paying $500 each time. He came to me and thanked me for listing him on this website because in doing so it got him a big job nearby and he has gotten other jobs from it as well. I have been a loyal paying customer since 2011. Then last year after having him do some work in my front yard to level the ground where my septic system was sinking between six tubes, things changed. The ground was sprayed to kill all vegetation, dirt was brought in and leveled, reseeded and straw was scattered on top. I paid $1,000 and was told by him that this area would be the best part of my whole yard. When the grass started growing I started getting thick stalky weeds coming in that took over the whole area. His cell phone is his business phone. On June 26, 2015 I texted him and asked him to please stop by to look at my yard concerning the weed problem and other issues. He said he would stop by but never did. I had to contact him again. I sent him a photo of the weeds and asked him what it was and that it was literally taking over my new grass area. My dad stopped by and I showed it to him. He said it either came in the dirt or the straw. I did mention that in my text. This was sent on a Sunday, but being that it was his "business" phone it shouldnt have mattered. I thought he would say something like he was sorry to hear that and that he was going to look into it and get back with me during the week. Instead this is what he texted me word for word: "I can't believe you are blowing up my phone on a Sunday with nothing but complaints!" I was shocked to see that response. I then reminded him that I was the one who listed him on Angie's List and he had gotten other business because of me. I reminded him that I had always spoken well of him to other people and had been a loyal paying customer for 4 yrs. I said I couldn'the believe he was talking to me that way. I told him that if I was bothering him, my money would spend the same elsewhere. He then sent me another text that said word for word: "Excuse me, but I have never wronged you and have always provided great service! I do not appreciate your negativity." |Wow! I couldn't believe the treatment I was now getting. After several days and my daughter contacting him "again" he finally came by to try to explain what the weeds were and what he was going to do to remedy it. My daughter and I told him how we felt he should have handled the situation in a more professional manner. He sarcastically looked back and forth at each of us and said "You are right and you are right" which was definately not becoming of a 50 yrs old "business man". He said he knew he had lost a customer. Instead of saying that he was so sorry for the unprofessional way he handled the situation and that he "did not" want to lose me as a customer. The problem was taken care of, but I will not tolerate that kind of treatment from anyone. Not when I have been a good paying customer and helped him get more business by listing him on this website and by word of mouth. I never thought that I would ever be sitting here having to write something like this, but I think this deserves to be said. Business people should never think they are so great that they can treat good customers in this manner. They need to know that it comes with consequences. I will not use his services again and I caution others to think twice. He starts out acting professional, but when problems arise things change. Keep this in mind if you decide to use this business. I did keep all text messages on my phone. If he is upset about this review it's because his conscience is bothering him.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am disheartened to see that you had such a negative experience with my company. As you know, we consulted with Michigan State University to gain an accurate diagnosis and solution for the situation. We also returned to your home to rectify the issue multiple times free of charge. I do apologize for my off the cuff comment regarding the text that was sent that Sunday. My sincerest apologies for the situation. It is never my intention for customers to feel like I have not provided my best for them. If there is a way I can remedy this situation and make it better, I would like to do so. Please call me so we can discuss further, 269.876.1340. Thank you!
5.0

03/11/2016


Mariann L.

Description of Work
Excellent work, very professional, great communication.

Category landscaping

5.0

11/02/2015


Lynnette H.

They did an excellent job each time. I was not able to be at the house when they did the work and they emailed pictures. They went above and beyond the work needed (i.e. they found the gutter drain had collapsed near the old retaining wall which they replaced at not extra cost). Very professional organization.

Description of Work
Used them twice and plan on using them again when I redo landscaping First they fixed retaining walls, shored up concrete deck, trimmed plants, put in planter Second, they put in french drain so that back of house would not flood Third, they planted the new planter

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

06/29/2015


Mariann L.

As of right now, it has only been emails as we needed to dry out our lower level, and make the necessary repairs to the inside before we started the outside. I didn't want to be faced with digging up his work if we had to do any foundation work. Mr. Johnson also waited patiently while I gathered funds for the work on the house before I sent him his deposit. Mr. Johnson is a person I would recommend for landscaping work.

Description of Work
I contacted about 7-8 landscapers. Mr. Johnson emailed me, called me, came out, sent me an estimate and worked with me. We had set a timeline. Then our house flooded. Mr. Johnson has kept me on his schedule as we went thru clean up, mold remediation and repairs. I am know looking forward to his actually landscaping my home. He was the only one to follow through in a timely and professional manner and that includes a couple of other companies listed on Angie's List.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/30/2015


Mariann L.

Description of Work
I have been having a very difficult time getting a landscaper to come out and to follow through with a plan. Tom and I corresponded several times before we picked a date. Tom was here when he said he would be. We walked the entire yard. He stated he would have a plan for us in 2 weeks.

Category landscaping

5.0

11/23/2014


Michael G.

My little cottage sits on a large irregular sloping lot across the street from the lake. For years I have had a multitude of problems & failed promises from various individuals in dealing with grading and drainage issues. This would be the reason I joined Angie's List. My neighbor who also had major flooding issues had extensive construction & landscaping work done very recently & just could not be more positive about Tom Johnson & his crew. I called Tom in late October and he showed at the appointed time, e-mailed a proposal & kept in touch through texts. Tom listened to my concerns including budgetary and came up with an attractive cost effective approach that no one else had suggested.He told me the work would be done in two stages and would be completed by Thanksgiving, and it was!! I will definitely have Tom and his crew back for lot number two in the early spring.

Description of Work
Grading, lots of fill, retaining wall & drainage installation, reseeding

Category landscaping, lawn treatment, hardscaping

5.0

06/30/2014


Pam M.

Description of Work
I first hired them in 2012 to do landscaping around my home and was very pleased with the service. I did write about my experience here on Angies List and highly recommended them. They have done spring maintenance for me last year and this year. Still pleased and would highly recommend.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

04/24/2014


Edward H.

It went very well. He had all the equipment and personnel to do the complete job in a timely manor.

Description of Work
Excavate, and level yard, built patio and seat bench, created flower beds, built several bolder walls, reseeded lawn, planted several perennials, and pine trees. In other words, a complete back yard rebuild.

Category landscaping

5.0

11/01/2013


Lynn R.

We had a large area in our lawn that had settled over the years to the point that any time it rained hard it would flood, we knew it was time to call in a professional to correct our situation. Our neighbor recommended Tom Johnson who had recently did some landscaping for them and they were very satisfied with his work. Tom was very easy to get ahold of and was prompt on his appointment to look at the job. Tom and his crew finished the job in less than a day which included bringing in 14 yards of top soil and reseeding, we could not be happier with the job. The problem area has never looked so good, we have had many compliments over the summer from friends and neighbors. I would recommend Tom and his company for any landscaping job, large or small.

Description of Work
Raise low area in yard.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

07/29/2013


Joseph D.

Great he was very adaptable. We had some changes from his original proposal but he was willing to work with us on the changes. Nice guy very professional

Description of Work
Landscaped backyard with bushes and brick work for outdoor shower used for rinsing off after beach

Category landscaping

5.0

07/22/2013


Edward H.

The design is great. Will report more when the work is done.

Description of Work
Did a design for our back yard. We have signed a contract to do the job. They will be starting on it in August 2013.

Category landscaping

5.0

11/05/2012


Pam M.

From the very beginning the owner Tom Johnson was very professional and polite. He listened to what I had in mind and made suggestions in keeping with my ideas and budget. Tom was prompt and kept to schedule. If he was running late he always called me. Tom and his team of workers were all very professional in the work performed. Tom was always helpful in explaining everything I needed to know about what was going on and the care of the plants. I could always call him if I had any questions. He was prompt in returning my calls and if necessary would make time to stop by. When the work was done, my home had a beautiful makeover! I have had many comments from people who visit on the beautiful walkway and landscaping all around my home. I would definately call this company again if I needed anything else done and would highly recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Draw up landscape plans, build new deck, layout flower bed lines, remove sod/weeds, install organic soil and cultivate, install new plants, install mulch and stone and edging. Install two boulder walls at corners of house. Excavate soil, prep and install brick paver walkway. Install stone steps at end of sidewalk going to backyard. Cultivate, seed and lay down straw in new grass area by house.

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Conserva Irrigation of Southwest Michigan

    Conserva Irrigation is a team of professionals that specializes in efficient irrigation. We help homeowners and business owners ensure the beauty and health of their lawns while minimizing water waste. Our eco-smart company leads the industry and provides money-saving services to property owners nationwide.  

    Impressions Landscape

    We specialize in all phases of landscaping! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape Contractor; specializing in residential landscape design, construction, and management. Landscaping- Patios and Walkways -Outdoor Living Spaces

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Professional Horticulture Services

    How is Professional Horticulture Services overall rated?

    Professional Horticulture Services is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Professional Horticulture Services open?

    Professional Horticulture Services is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Professional Horticulture Services provide

    Professional Horticulture Services accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check

    Does Professional Horticulture Services offer free estimates?

    Yes, Professional Horticulture Services offers free project estimates.

    Does Professional Horticulture Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Professional Horticulture Services offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Professional Horticulture Services offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Professional Horticulture Services offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Professional Horticulture Services?

    Yes, Professional Horticulture Services offers warranties.

    What services does Professional Horticulture Services offer?

    Professional Horticulture Services offers the following services: Landscape Contractor; specializing in residential landscape design, construction, and management. Landscaping- Patios and Walkways -Outdoor Living Spaces