Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

TENDER LAWN CARE

Founded 1949 • With Angi since June 2006

4.7

(81) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2436 OAK INDUSTRIAL DR NE

Grand Rapids, MI 49505

Description

Tender Lawn Care provides high-quality landscape management and snowplowing services to residential and commercial clients throughout West Michigan. Family-owned and operated since 1949, Tender Lawn Care is dedicated to delivering professional, cost-effective services -- making them one of West Michigan’s leading green-industry companies....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/21/2021


Brandon K.

We have used Tender Lawn Care over the last several years. Each year we are incredibly impressed. From the employees who come to our house for various services, to the front office staff and everyone in between, they are all

Description of Work
Annual Lawn Care

Category landscaping,lawn service,lawn treatment,leaf removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

06/13/2019


Leo D.

Joel and Broderick of Tender Lawn Care did an excellent job in removing and installing new side walks at our home. They had to remove a cement sidewalk and replace with brick pavers and then remove stepping stones and reuse in sidewalk. Joel, especially takes time to ensure a quality job and ensures that the final product looks perfect when finished. There was some weather delay but the job took about four days to complete. When finished the project was better than we actually planned and could have anticipated.

Description of Work
Removed cement sidewalk, remove stepping stones, install brick pavers and reuse stepping stones in a new side walk.

Category landscaping,lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words! We really appreciate the feedback, and we will be sure to pass this on to the crew. Thank you!
5.0

05/18/2018


Carol J.

They did a good job, emailed when they were coming

Description of Work
Lawn mowing and fertilize

Category lawn service,lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review!
1.0

03/02/2018


Jim S.

Scalloped my lawn several times, hit my trailer, hit my gate almost every week, once causing major repair, broke landscape lights, damaged lawn edging. Tender care that was far from tender! Just in a rush, not really caring.

Description of Work
Lawn Care, mowing, edging, weed control.

Category lawn service,lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing this information. We are so sorry that this happened. It looks like our company did reach out to you in March of 2018 to discuss the above issues, and it sounded like things went well when we had that conversation. I just wanted to leave you a note on here stating again that we apologize for any inconvenience. We always strive to provide the highest quality service, and we appreciate it when our customers give us the opportunity to make amends for anything that was not up to standard. We do our best to hire staff that are respectful and careful, and when that expectation is not being met it is important that we know about it. Thank you for helping us be a better company!
4.0

10/07/2017


Kayla J.

It’s been on-going, there’s been many, many visits, so all summer. They don’t even call me, they just show up. I have used them several times for different services. There are so many services they do, it all cost different. It’s real complicated, they’ve done a ton of stuff and at different prices. I have got maybe 10 different services and they are all a different price and at different intervals that they come. Some are one time things, some are 4 times.

Description of Work
They’ve completed work for me.

Category lawn service

5.0

06/14/2017


Jim M.

Very well. The staff was very professional and helpful. I got a quote the same day that I called and my first application a week later. The tech talked with my wife and explained everything he was going to do. As my wife was on crutches, he even moved some pool toys that were in the way and took the time to hand apply the materials around the pool to keep them out of the pool water.

Description of Work
Four annual applications of fertilizer and weed control, grub control, plus aeration later this Summer.

Category lawn service,lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this review, [Member Name Removed]! We are so pleased to hear that you are happy with your experience with Tender Lawn Care. We work hard to provide the best quality service to every customer and we appreciate you letting us know how we're doing. We look forward to working on your property again soon!
4.0

06/05/2017


Len S.

The mowing went well...but I believe the forgot to schedule my spring cleaning. They told me it was would happen the following week after my first cut (as a different team did cleaning I was told). 3 weeks later and still no cleaning. So, the next time my lawn was mowed, it was done that day...and not so great. I think they just hurried and did it unplanned (for the mowing team). In addition to not everything cleaned up, many of the ground plants in my backyard were trampled and destroyed in order to get to the leaves. Not a lot of care taken there.

Description of Work
Spring cleanup and mowing services/edging

Category lawn service,lawn treatment,leaf removal

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], we are going to call you to find out more specific details about this, then will have a manager come and look at the issues. We take great pride in doing the best work possible and will do our best to make this right.
5.0

01/30/2017


Michael H.

Outstanding work. Not the lowest price...but not the highest. Trade off between high-quality and professional work with modest-to-high pricing. They've cared for our lawn for 4 years now. Always show up every week on same day. Tackle things with multi-person team and are done within 20mins or so. They leave our yard, driveway, walks, and street clean. No remnants...you can't even tell they were there other than the pristine cut grass. They also use granular time-released fertilizer (not the liquid spray) which ensures it doesn't grow super long for a few weeks...followed by shorter length. It's just a beautiful healthy green all summer long. We pay as part of package (about $1,100/summer - about $45/cut weekly + $50/fertilizer-weed treatment x 5-6 treatments per summer). Plus they do a nice Fall Cleanup for about $200 - all leaves, clean out the beds, etc.

Description of Work
Ongoing lawn maintenance - cutting, trimming, fertilizer/weed prevention

Category lawn service,lawn treatment,leaf removal

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your business and will strive to continue to provide you with the best service possible. Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey, we are always pleased to hear kind words from our customers.
4.0

01/30/2017


BRIAN M.

Quality of work is very good. The lawn care service is a little pricey.

Description of Work
Both lawn care and plowing service

Category lawn service,lawn treatment,snow removal

5.0

01/24/2017


xinhe W.

Everything is taking care of. We don't need to worry about yard works any more.

Description of Work
Spring and Fall clean, lawn fertilization, and lawn mowing.

Category lawn service,lawn treatment,leaf removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our company, we really appreciate it. It as been a pleasure working with you over the years and we look forward to many more to come.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Kalsbeeks Lawn & Landscaping

    We are a full service lawn & landscape company ready to help transform your property into a beautiful outdoor oasis! Call today for a free estimate!  

    Swinging Blades Lawn Care & Landscaping

    With years of experience serving the area, we are your solution for all your needs. We take great pride in our extreme professionalism, timeliness and superior customer service on every job. We make sure to develop a lasting relationship so that the next time service is needed there will be no question on who to call. Check out our 5 star reviews from happy customers! Call us today so we can discuss your needs and make a plan that fits your budget. Satisfaction guaranteed!  

    Liberty Tree Landscaping Services

    Liberty Tree Landscaping Services is a family owned business that specializes in all aspects of lawn care from simple mowing and mulching to whole yard cleanup and tree trimming. We can also do landscaping projects from patios to retaining walls. Call us today so we can help turn your backyard dreams into a reality.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, Check, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Our mowing program includes spring & fall clean-up, weekly mowing, trimming, and bi-weekly edging. Our fertilizer program includes five applications & a preventative grub control. We can aerate your lawn to open up your soil & reduce thatch. We have a mole control program that will protect your lawn & landscape. We offer weed control programs, pruning, trimming, bed/sod edging, & woodbark spreading & delivery. Our snow & ice programs provide you with safe driveways, parking lots & walkways.

    Services Not Offered

    Irrigation Hardscape Services Hydroseeding Sod Installation

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about TENDER LAWN CARE

    How is TENDER LAWN CARE overall rated?

    TENDER LAWN CARE is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are TENDER LAWN CARE open?

    TENDER LAWN CARE is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does TENDER LAWN CARE provide

    TENDER LAWN CARE accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, Check, MasterCard, Discover

    Does TENDER LAWN CARE offer free estimates?

    Yes, TENDER LAWN CARE offers free project estimates.

    Does TENDER LAWN CARE offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, TENDER LAWN CARE offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does TENDER LAWN CARE offer a senior discount?

    No, TENDER LAWN CARE does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by TENDER LAWN CARE?

    Yes, TENDER LAWN CARE offers warranties.

    What services does TENDER LAWN CARE offer?

    TENDER LAWN CARE offers the following services: Our mowing program includes spring & fall clean-up, weekly mowing, trimming, and bi-weekly edging. Our fertilizer program includes five applications & a preventative grub control. We can aerate your lawn to open up your soil & reduce thatch. We have a mole control program that will protect your lawn & landscape. We offer weed control programs, pruning, trimming, bed/sod edging, & woodbark spreading & delivery. Our snow & ice programs provide you with safe driveways, parking lots & walkways.

    Are there any services TENDER LAWN CARE does not offer?

    Irrigation Hardscape Services Hydroseeding Sod Installation