Service Professor Inc

About

Founded 1978 • With Angi since August 2006

Service Professor is one of the largest home service repair companies in West Michigan! From our base in Grand Rapids we serve more than 15,000 residential and commercial customers in 7 counties providing your electrical, plumbing, heating and cooling, and sewer service and repair needs. When it comes to creating the very best customer experience, few compare to Service Professor! Our commitment to providing exemplary service is the foundation of our business model and the driving force behind everything we do. Choose the team that values transparency and integrity and stands behind the work they do....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Panel Upgrades

+4 more images

Verified Reviews

4.5

(409) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

311

4

37

3

21

2

16

1

22

Rating Details

Price

4.1

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

electrician (250)plumbers (140)water heaters (94)HVAC Companies (82)lighting (21)drain cleaning (20)home security systems (17)ceiling fan installation (8)well & water pump repair (6)water softeners (6)sewer cleaning (4)gas leak repair (3)
Showing 1-25 of 409 reviews
5.0

10/02/2022


Bob M.

Great. Joshua was terrific. We signed on to have Service Professor do twice-yearly service to our system to keep it running. The price was very reasonable.

Description of Work
Evaluation and repair of our HVAC system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2022

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the five-stars and great review of our team! We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project!
5.0

08/01/2022


Elizabeth S.

Andrew Pratt was prompt, courteous and professional. He installed a new faucet and offered an expert inspection of my existing plumbing.

Description of Work
Replace exterior faucet.Install.pex pipe to connect to existing plumbing.

Category electrician, plumbing

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2022

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the five-stars! Andrew is one of the best so you were in great hands with him on the job. We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project!
5.0

06/24/2022


Shannon M.

We had three projects. Some electrical work to add outlets to the outside of the house, and a couple of ceiling lights in the basement. Blake & Greg were professional, friendly, and clear about the work they did. One was a quick checkup of our a/c. Jeff was also professional, friendly, and clear about the work he was doing. We learned some things that will help us plan ahead for future work. The final project was some plumbing work that grew. We have an older house. The initial project was a leak on a faucet with some seized up fittings. Nick was great about trying to keep the project within my original hopes, but the piping behind the faucet was too old, and crumbled away every time he tried to connect to it. When the end of the day came around, it was clear that it was time for a re-piping. We knew this was in the cards, but hoped to avoid it. Nick did his very best to help us, but sometimes it just has to happen. When the re-piping team arrived (Steve, Madison, Riley), they were--as I have come to expect--professional, friendly, and transparent about what was going on. In all three cases, the people in to do the work were quick, but not rushed, and took the time to do the job that they came to do, rather than seeming like there was another job they had to get to and this was in the way. Very good all around.

Description of Work
electrical, plumbing, a/c

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2022

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the five-stars and great review of our team! We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project!
5.0

03/23/2022


Marie E.

Great job as usual by Service Professor experts

Description of Work
AC inspection

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/23/2022

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the five-stars! We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project.
5.0

03/21/2022


Ken W.

Very well. This is done once yearly under contract.

Description of Work
electrician checked panel boxes

Category electrician

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/21/2022

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the five-stars! We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project.
5.0

02/27/2022


Martha H.

Great and very friendly. Explained everything that they were doing.

Description of Work
Installed tankless water heater, replaced bathroom faucet, installed vanity, replaced shop lights in basement, installed toilet.

Category electrician, plumbing, water heater repair

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/27/2022

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the five-stars! We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project.
5.0

01/10/2022


Brad A.

Very professional and efficient service. The only issue I had was I was told the job was first in the morning. That appointment became afternoon and then was canceled (due to an emergency job) and reschedule to Monday, however I was given a substantial discount for the inconvenience.

Description of Work
Unglogging a kitchen sink

Category plumbing

Cost $99

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/10/2022

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the five-stars!
5.0

12/26/2021


Jameson G.

Ridiculously quick (same day) and professional. About what I expected to pay.

Description of Work
EV 220 power outlet

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/23/2021

Service Provider Response

Ridiculously quick so we can fix it in a snap is our specialty! We're so glad to hear that our team took such great care of you and your home.
5.0

09/21/2021


Robert H.

Great experience. Steve and Darrien were wonderful. Very professional and personable

Description of Work
Tankless water heater install

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the five-star rating, [Member Name Removed]! We appreciate your feedback on a job well done by our team. See you again soon!
1.0

09/07/2021


Loreda F.

Very expensive and payment was confusing, complicated and the financing wasn't done according to information received. Then I received no information from finance institution until after my payment was due and was charged late fees. Bad experience!

Description of Work
new hot water heater

Category water heater repair

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2021

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Loreda. We appreciate your feedback so we can continue to improve in the future. Financing is done through a third party that communicates directly with you so you know how to make your payments and when to make your payments. This is just like when you purchase a house and take out a mortgage or purchase a car through a dealership and finance through another institution. Our technicians always provide upfront and honest pricing upon the multitude of different repair options that would solve your problem. By providing options that range in the price you have the power to choose which one is best for your home and finances. Since all of these options are provided upfront you are always in control of what you choose to have completed and fully informed on the pricing so you can choose to finance if necessary. We would love to learn more about your experience. Please give us a call at 616-871-1900 to reach a member of our management team.
5.0

07/25/2021


Jacqueline A.

Andrew came in and did an excellent job. Clean and thorough job!! We were super pleased. Will use these guys again if we have need!

Description of Work
Extremely backed up kitchen sink

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Cost $99

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the five-stars! You can always expect our technicians to leave your home cleaner than before while giving you the highest quality service. See you again soon!
5.0

07/16/2021


Paul H.

Andrew was excellent, professional, and knowledgeable

Description of Work
Air conditioning

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the five-stars! You can always expect our technicians to be excellent, professional, and knowledgeable so you have peace of mind the work was done to the highest quality. We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project.
5.0

04/05/2021


Jon H.

Jonathan did me real solids today. Despite the fact that they were here to clean up bascially messes left by the installers on my HVAC on both AC and furnace, he AGAN went ABOVE and BEYOND when he noticed I was doing my own plumbing project. We had hot water seeping out with our water main shut off on a fixture exchange, and he pointed out we can drain the hot water heater partially to stop this. The last plumber didn't eve care to share this, or even do it. I will not go ANY OTHER PLACE than Service Professor for my plumbing, HVAC and electrical needs. PERIOD. No one else compares!

Description of Work
AC Tune up, install condensate pad, install compressor saver

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair, water softeners, drain cleaning

Cost $915

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/05/2021

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the five-star rating, [Member Name Removed]! Going above and beyond is our goal on every job so you get the best experience possible. Our certified technicians love being able to help and educate on anything you need help with so you feel more peace of mind in your home. We look forward to seeing it again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project.
5.0

04/01/2021


Phil T.

Overall the work went very well with good communication and clear expectations from the quoting process to the installation. Everyone was professional and it was clear they cared about their job. The electrical work done was very good and even the building inspector commented on how well it was done. (Note: The inspector took particular notice because this was the first time Service Professor had done work in our area.) The only complaint I have is that one of my floor joists had to be cut to add conduit to the outside which I did not notice this until later. Instead of making a hole right sized for the conduit, a large upside down u-shaped cut was made taking out ~80% of the load bearing joist. I am a bit concerned about the structural integrity of that joist now and will reinforce it. Otherwise, the work done was truly great.

Description of Work
Install 200 Amp Service

Category electrician

Cost $4,608

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/05/2021

Images

Review for Service Professor Inc - 4770 50th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI - 39275732

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the five-star rating, [Member Name Removed]! Excellent and clear communication is something we strive for from the moment we pick up the phone when you call us. Our certified technicians will always treat your home as if it were their own so you get the best service possible. We hope you enjoy your increased peace of mind with these upgrades and safety improvements. See you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing or electrical project.
5.0

03/11/2021


Amy H.

Fast response to first call, communication provided for upcoming appointment, Technician was very polite and clear in communicating problem, time and cost to fix.

Description of Work
troubleshoot and fix not working furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the A-rating, [Member Name Removed]! We appreciate your kind words and we're glad our team was able to quickly solve the problem. We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project.
5.0

03/01/2021


Brant S.

Tim from Service Professor was extremely competent, friendly, patient, and professional. He and his crew completed their work in good time and with high quality. The pricing was up-front, clear, and fair.

Description of Work
New outlets, breakers, thermostat wiring, whole-home surge protector, mount lighting fixtures

Category electrician, lighting

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/25/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the A rating, [Member Name Removed]! Up-front, honest, and professional are things you can expect every time you call us no matter the job you need help with. Making sure you have a top-tier experience is our top priority. We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project!
5.0

02/20/2021


Johnnie H.

Excellent snake it twice and come unclogged

Description of Work
Drain was clogged couldn't use washing machine

Category electrician, plumbing

Cost $99

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/20/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the A rating [Member Name Removed]! We're glad your home is back to running smoothly. See you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project.
5.0

02/17/2021


Charles S.

Showed up a little early and did a superlative job. Not only cleared the clog but also cleaned out the dump tank and performed a full system check on the furnace

Description of Work
Humidifier Drain Line Unclogged

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, drain cleaning

Cost $183

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/17/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the A rating [Member Name Removed]! Making sure that your home is running smoothly by performing preventive maintenance and helping you when an issue arrives is what we do best. We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project.
5.0

12/28/2020


Ric K.

They gave us a fair price with lots of options. They took the time to figure out everything we needed and added some features we had not considered.

Description of Work
Replaced the electrical box

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/28/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for the A rating and review! Upfront and honest pricing is what we are all about. We want to make sure that you have all the option so you can have peace of mind. We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project!
5.0

12/11/2020


Tim E.

Tom was able to find the leak in seconds and show me where it was. He knew right away the emergency stop under the sink needed replacement and got right to it. I had him replace both stops since he showed me the other one looked leaky too. This is the third time I’ve had Service Professor out to fix the leak under my kitchen sink this year (technically fourth if you count the time someone came out and couldn’t find anything).

Description of Work
Leak under kitchen sink

Category plumbing

Cost $283

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/11/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks for a great review and A rating [Member Name Removed]! We appreciate the opportunity to continue to serve you. We look forward to seeing you again soon for your next heating, cooling, plumbing, or electrical project!
5.0

12/08/2020


Ken W.

Furnace works well now. Thank You to all that help get this fixed. The furnace was put in by a company that went out of business 8 years ago. We had a warranty & asked Service Professor for help.

Description of Work
New Fan in Furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, home security systems

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the A rating and great review [Member Name Removed]! We are happy that we were able to help you in a touch situation to make sure your home stays warm this winter. We look forward to working with you on your next heating, cooling, electrical, or plumbing project!
2.0

12/07/2020


Donald S.

Not good. First they cancelled my appointment that I had for 2 weeks. Than called back and kept the appointment. Their service tech tried to sell me their mainenace plan, a faucet and garbage disposal when I already bought mine from Lowe’s. Their price quoted was twice as much as a certified plumber from another company that I ended up hiring.

Description of Work
Kitchen sink and garbage disposal

Category home security systems, drain cleaning

Work Completed On 12/04/2020