Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Perkins Custom Remodeling

4.9

(64) Verified Reviews

Founded 2003 • With Angi since July 2011

Licensed
Trade License Number
2​1​0​2​1​7​0​4​5​1
Trade License Locale
Michigan
Trade License Authority
Michigan: Contractors
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

260 Heritage Commons St SE

Grand Rapids, MI 49503

http://www.pcrgr.com
Autumn Ridge

Autumn Ridge

home remodeling2020
Full Basement Remodel

Description

Perkins Custom Remodeling is a family business run by Ted Perkins a licensed general contractor in the state of Michigan. With his sons Mack Perkins and Justin Perkins, Ted specializes in home remodeling and additions with an emphasis on kitchen and bath design and installation....
Autumn Ridge project
Autumn Ridge

home remodeling

2020
Honey Creek project
Honey Creek

home remodeling

2020

Verified Reviews

4.9

(64) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

56

4

2

3

0

2

2

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (50)woodworking (14)electrician (8)decks & porches (8)basement remodeling (7)handyman (7)general contractors (7)lighting (5)door installation (4)ceiling fan installation (4)plumbers (4)patio enclosures (2)
Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews
5.0

11/02/2020


Jennifer K.

We were very pleased with the process (even with the unexpected challenges of going through a remodel during a pandemic), and we love the results. Ted and his whole team are conscientious, professional, and pleasant. Their top concern was always that we were pleased, and if something ever needed to be corrected it was done so quickly. We particularly liked the fact that Ted partners with a wonderful interior designer. Due to the scope of our project, we opted to utilize this service. The collaboration between the entire team was a real benefit and ensured the best results possible.

Description of Work
Main Floor Remodel: kitchen, bathroom, foyer, sunroom, LR fireplace and refinished hardwood floors

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review [Member Name Removed], we really appreciate it and we enjoyed working with you as well. I just saw some of the finished pictures from our designer and they are beautiful.
5.0

10/27/2020


Joe C.

Ted and his team were excellent. Incredibly good work quality, really nice to work with, helped us meet our budget and quality goals. Would hire again in a second. We love the space that the team built.

Description of Work
Total bathroom remodel

Category custom cabinets,electrician,lighting,plumbing,woodworking,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed], the whole team enjoyed working with you on your project, also thanks for letting us get pictures, your soaker tub pictures have been the envy of many potential customers.
5.0

10/26/2020


Stephanie D.

Wonderful! Any issues were handled promptly, very professional, would recommend this company every time!

Description of Work
Kitchen gutted, all new cabinetry, flooring main floor, new deck, bathroom cabinets painted

Category decks,picture framing,woodworking,home remodeling

Cost $85,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2020

Images

Review for Perkins Custom Remodeling - 260 Heritage Commons St SE, Grand Rapids, MI - 38977509

+3 More

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much [Member Name Removed], we enjoyed working for you and hope to get the chance again.
5.0

10/22/2020


Nora L.

Excellently. Professional, experienced, impeccable work, timely, great customer service.

Description of Work
Lighted cabinets in living area, remodeling of kitchen & master bath

Category custom cabinets,electrician,flooring contractor,picture framing,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,ceiling fans,home remodeling,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed], we always enjoy working in your beautiful home.
5.0

10/22/2020


Loren C.

Ted and Mack are fantastic people - hands down the best contractors my wife and I have worked with over the years. They completed a four-month renovation of the lower level walkout of our home in Ada. From the design phase in partnership with their contracted designer, Kristie Koning (who's also a rockstar btw!), to the actual construction, Ted, Mack, and the entire crew were phenomenal. They are true craftsman, providing significant attention to detail and quality. We really enjoyed the collaborative nature of the relationship. They would listen to our ideas and we'd work together to find the optimal solution or design that would fit our budget and desired end result. Lastly, the communication and timeliness of Ted, Mack, and their subs was impeccable. You hear horror stories of contractors deprioritizing projects or taking on too much - this was not that case. I could always get a hold of Ted and/or Mack immediately or within a few hours of contacting them, and they were always on the job on time with minimal disruption to our overall schedule! I'd hire PCR again in a heartbeat!

Description of Work
Full Basement Renovation/Remodel

Category remodeling,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2020

Images

Review for Perkins Custom Remodeling - 260 Heritage Commons St SE, Grand Rapids, MI - 38969242

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed], we enjoyed being a part of your project, thank you for letting us get professional pictures taken, beautiful!
5.0

05/18/2020


Loren C.

PCR did an amazing job on the lower level renovation of our home in Ada, MI. Ted and Mack are true professionals. They communicated very well from start to finish, stuck to the project schedule, and executed the project to plan (including budget). All of their team members are great craftsman with a very keen attention to detail. They are very open to their clients ideas, and are very good at bringing their professional opinion to the table as well. PCR partners closely with Kristie Koning from Interiors by Kristie on the layout and design process. She too is amazing and helped us bring our vision to life! We would recommend PCR and Interiors by Kristie to anyone who asks!

Description of Work
Lower Level Renovation

Category basement remodeling

Cost $110,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/02/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words, Mack and I appreciate the opportunity to be apart of this project. We enjoyed collaborating with you and Kristie and I think the final result speaks to that. Thank You Ted Perkins
1.0

10/03/2019


Joe S.

Owner Ted showed up took measurements. Said he would send me an estimate in 4-5 days. Never sent it. I emailed him after two weeks and he replied that he was on vacation and would get it to me as soon as he returned. That was a month ago. Never received anything.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodeling

Category home remodeling

Work Completed On 10/03/2019

Service Provider Response

This customer was told before, during and after that we don't provide free detailed estimates.
5.0

05/31/2019


Jennifer Z.

Ted was great to work with. He was very customer-oriented. He listened well, gave great advice, and made sure we got what we wanted. He was very professional and always upfront with what to expect and with any changes along the way. When he came out for the initial consultation to finish our basement, we had a few ideas, but we weren’t sure exactly what we wanted. The designer he worked with, Kristie (Interiors by Kristie), was also fantastic. Ted and Kristie worked with us to come up with a plan that was better than anything we could have come up with on our own. Ted and his son Mack are excellent craftsmen and have good attention to detail. They did an excellent job and we are really happy with the results. We would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Finished basement

Category basement remodeling

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank You for the kind words, I and my whole team really enjoyed working with you and [Member Name Removed], it was a fun project and we hope to work with you in the future. Thank You Ted Perkins.
5.0

12/26/2017


Jill T.

We are so pleased with our renovated, beautiful and functional bathrooms in our home that Perkins Custom Remodel did for us this Fall. Ted is the most professional general contractor we have ever worked with meeting deadlines, budget and project objectives. All along we were kept abreast of the timetable and knew exactly who to expect and what work would be done. The quality of the workmanship was top notch and communication about the job was timely and responsive. The Perkins team and tradesmen that came into our home were respectful of our living space, extraordinarily pleasant and professional. We were guided toward very good vendors who helped us with product selection and design. So happy with our choice in partnering with this company and would not look any further for another remodeling contractor should we decide on future work.

Description of Work
Master Bath and Main Bath Remodel, Replacement Doors, Custom Carpentry, Insulation

Category contractors,electrician,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/26/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words [Member Name Removed], we appreciate the opportunity and look forward to working with you again in the future.
5.0

06/11/2017


Carmen K.

Everything went very well. Ted was very responsive to all questions and very pleasant to deal with. Mack and his crew did quality work and were also very professional and pleasant to work with. We would use them again and recommend them for any remodeling work.

Description of Work
Added a bedroom with bathroom in the basement.

Category basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/22/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We enjoyed working with you. Hope to have the opportunity again.

Services Offered

Residential home remodeling, kitchen & bath design & installation.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
Senior Discount
No
Warranties
No

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Perkins Custom Remodeling

How is Perkins Custom Remodeling overall rated?

Perkins Custom Remodeling is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

What days are Perkins Custom Remodeling open?

Perkins Custom Remodeling is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

What payment options does Perkins Custom Remodeling provide

Perkins Custom Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

Does Perkins Custom Remodeling offer free estimates?

No, Perkins Custom Remodeling does not offer free project estimates.

Does Perkins Custom Remodeling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, Perkins Custom Remodeling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Perkins Custom Remodeling offer a senior discount?

No, Perkins Custom Remodeling does not offer a senior discount.

Are warranties offered by Perkins Custom Remodeling?

No, Perkins Custom Remodeling does not offer warranties.

What services does Perkins Custom Remodeling offer?

Perkins Custom Remodeling offers the following services: Residential home remodeling, kitchen & bath design & installation.